Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MORE crap on the way.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭hexosan

And In typical political waffle their replies don't even suggest if their with you or against you on the matter.

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭habitformin

hexosan wrote: »
    And In typical political waffle their replies don't even suggest if their with you or against you on the matter.

They don't give a rats ass ! . All they care about is their own skin.you and I and everybody else are nothing more than a means to getting their fat custy jobs and they will never ever take a side in case it turns out to be the wrong one. Fence sitting, self gratifying, waffle spinning, money wasting aholes. So expect nothing from these people they are on their own side only.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

Brilliant, but very long, article by one of the world's top security experts.

I'm not sure whether I can post the whole thing, but here's a link to it.

https://www.schneier.com/blog/archives/2015/11/policy_repercus.html

Though the essay is ostensibly about surveillance, the same tactics are being and will be used by many of the people behind the draft Directive and others. If you understand them, you can find ways to oppose them.

<SNIP>

There are a ton of useful links in that essay too.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭goz83

Same rubbish, impersonal sh1te from them all.

Dear abc,

Politician bloodsucker has made representations and paster the same lazy a$$ letter/email to xyz on your behalf. When xyz reply with their pasted middle finger letter, we will inform you and hopefully you will crawl back into your hole and vote bloodsucker in the upcoming elections. Either way, we have our pensions for a rainy day.

Sincerely,

I hate my job.

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭Mississippi.

BattleCorp wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    I got exactly the same reply, word for word.

I thought she was not going to reply at all she took so long compared to mc carthy.
    Did anyone get a reply from Ming yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,951 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Mr Ming seemingly has a bit of computor problems.He was asked as to why he hadnt replied on one of his FB threads today, and he apologised for not responding and thought his secetary had replied to this already.All within 10 mins of it being asked on FB.Kudos to the guy, whatever he is and whether he is pro or anti on this issue ,at least he makes the effort to keep it on a common touch.Something that cant be said for a lot of those gobaloons in Brussells.:rolleyes:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Amazing that our dear leader isnt viying with the pork molesting prime minister of Britan for having" the toughest gunlaws in the EU".I can just see the Germans who just got rifd of this looks like nonsense from their gun laws about eight years ago, the Czechs and Swiss signing up and listening to Cameron wanting UK gun laws all over the EU. Sooner the UK does depart the EU the better for everyone.

https://www.all4shooters.com/en/Shooting/law/2015-news/EU-Gun-Ban-European-Council-United-Kingdom-proposal/

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Amazing that our dear leader isnt viying with the pork molesting prime minister of Britan for having" the toughest gunlaws in the EU".I can just see the Germans who just got rifd of this looks like nonsense from their gun laws about eight years ago, the Czechs and Swiss signing up and listening to Cameron wanting UK gun laws all over the EU. Sooner the UK does depart the EU the better for

Hi Grizzly,
    Trouble with the UK is they always want to be in charge .The empire must have its say.!
    They really need to fcek off and please leave the EU on one condition only ..that is we stay in. If our simpleton leaders see the UK leaving they might just be thick enough to opt out too.
    If they stay in the EU we might consider leaving then ..As far away from their rubbish policies as possible I say.
    Their own leader the infamous iron lady once said"the trouble with socialism is eventually you run out of someone else's money" that's where this shower of losers are dragging us .down.

Naw,our lot want to run with the hare and hunt with the hounds.IOW with the UK they havent a clue what to do.The UK goes,watch what happens with NI and Scotland,and watch the cost of living go up 200% in Ireland. It stays,it has to knuckle under some EU legislation wth things I think the avearge sane Englishman would chuck himself off Tower bridge before accepting it.Only real solution is that the EU disbands and goes back to an EEC style trade situation with a NATO common defence.Every nation in the EU man on the street is admitting this is becoming a bloated disaster run from the defacto capital of beuraccy namely Brussels.:(

Yes I agree 100%
    Can't see these PC bureaucrats doing it tho they won't admit being wrong looks like they will destroy the planet before they do that. Shower of die hard commie brainwashed institutionalised missguided individual's.

[Emphassis mine]

Germany has no tolerance for EU arms law tightening
    DTS NEWS AGENCY
    Saturday, December 19 2015 08:22 GMT
    The Federal government slows down the planned tightening of the EU Firearms Directive. This emerges from a confidential report of the German representation in Brussels for the mainstream press, "Der Spiegel".
    There German representative announced in an internal meeting of the EU member states, that they will implement the planned stricter rules governing the possession and sale of weapons to individuals at the earliest within two years. The European Commission would like, however, that this is already happening within three months after entry into force of the Directive.
    At the meeting the German representatives also criticized the planned Brussels ownership ban for particularly dangerous-looking semi-automatic weapons that resemble weapons of war and therefore can spread more fear.
    The mere "similarity to certain types of weapons is not a criterion which is applicable in practice", quoted the German representatives in the report. Since EU member states like the Czech Republic, Austria and Finland criticize the details of the reform, the draft directive should be corrected.
    Officially informed the competent federal ministry, they had no "final positioning" to the reform, but wanted to "actively participate in the deliberations."

[Emphassis mine]

Germany has no tolerance for EU arms law tightening
    DTS NEWS AGENCY
    Saturday, December 19 2015 08:22 GMT
    The Federal government slows down the planned tightening of the EU Firearms Directive. This emerges from a confidential report of the German representation in Brussels for the mainstream press, "Der Spiegel".
    There German representative announced in an internal meeting of the EU member states, that they will implement the planned stricter rules governing the possession and sale of weapons to individuals at the earliest within two years. The European Commission would like, however, that this is already happening within three months after entry into force of the Directive.
    At the meeting the German representatives also criticized the planned Brussels ownership ban for particularly dangerous-looking semi-automatic weapons that resemble weapons of war and therefore can spread more fear.
    The mere "similarity to certain types of weapons is not a criterion which is applicable in practice", quoted the German representatives in the report. Since EU member states like the Czech Republic, Austria and Finland criticize the details of the reform, the draft directive should be corrected.
    Officially informed the competent federal ministry, they had no "final positioning" to the reform, but wanted to "actively participate in the deliberations."

Hope that this is the goodnews we needed more of this kind of thing.

The mere "similarity to certain types of weapons is not a criterion which is applicable in practice", quoted the German representatives in the report.

Yay! Well done The Germans.

OzCam wrote: »
    The mere "similarity to certain types of weapons is not a criterion which is applicable in practice", quoted the German representatives in the report.

Yay! Well done The Germans.

Yes common sense .:-)

https://www.facebook.com/1512949822332469/photos/pcb.1518348195125965/1518348175125967/?type=3

Someone knows their stuff about our fkd up laws! And they pose a very good question that should be posed at the FCP,whenever that get 's going...

Why does a odd ,and rather uncomfortable stock that once people have played around with it for awhile and got bruised shoulders or strained wrists and doesnt perceptibly shorten a minimum lenghth 24 in barrel shotgun by much either.You are still not going to hide it under your coat,unless you are over 6'5" and are buit like Schwarzenegger Which they wil proably dump in their spare parts box and go back to "normal shaped " gunstocks very quickly,be treated as somehow especially dangerous?

I used contact.ie to send a letter to Irish MEPs late last night, objecting to the plan to reclassify replicas (all replicas, not just airsoft) as Cat. C, and pointing out that while there are things that need to be done in Europe, this draft won't help make anyone more secure as it's so ill-conceived. I also mentioned that many of the other devices mentioned are already treated as firearms in Ireland.

I got a reply at 11:07 this morning from Brian Crowley (Ireland South, ECR) which also mentioned concerns of hunters/shooters etc.

At least he's on the ball, and he seems to be listening.
    Dear [redacted]

Thank you for your email. The Directive is part of a package of measure recently adopted by the European Commission to make it more difficult to acquire firearms in the EU, including a revision of the Firearms Directive, an Implementing Regulation on common minimum standards of deactivation of firearms and an action plan against the illegal trafficking of weapons and explosives.

There has been EU legislation on firearms since 1991 and it was last reviewed in 2008. The current proposals were foreseen in the European Security Agenda adopted in April 2015 but have been significantly accelerated in the aftermath of the attacks on Paris. In light of these tragic events, it is right that we look at what can be done on a practical basis to tackle terrorism and criminal activities.

There are positive elements to the proposal, including improved traceability, enhancing the marking of weapons, the tracking of deactivated arms and the establishment of an EU-wide database. These, I believe, are important components in effective gun control.

However, the weapons used in the Paris attacks were illegal and this proposal will not tackle black-market trade. It is my firm belief that alongside any new legislation concerning legal firearms, there must be much greater enforcement against illegal arms, crime and terrorism.

From the large volume of correspondence I have received on this issue, I also know the insecurity the proposal creates for legal gun owners, hunters, sport shooters, and those, such as yourself, engaging in activities involving replica firearms and the feeling that they are being punished in the cracking down on the illegal use of weapons. It is clear that a balance is needed.

As you may be aware, the issue was recently discussed for the first time at the IMCO meeting on 7th December and it will continue to be debated at length. The European Parliament will be proposing amendments to the draft proposal and I will certainly pass on your own concerns to my colleagues. Please be assured that I will also take your concerns on board when the matter eventually comes before the Parliament for a vote.

Kind regards

Is mise le meas
    Brian

Brian Crowley MEP

Well it's that time of year again.This time last year we were suffering major apprenhensions as to what the new year would bring us in legislation in Ireland. All in all we emerged out the other side alot better than we expected.But that chapter is still unfinished! There is an election next year in the more or less accepted centenary year of our nations birth in 1916.Now it seems we have a greater challange from a organisation that while it might have brought us great good ,has also the potential to bring us greater harm in our day to day lives as Irish citizens. Idont know about you ,but I owe NO loyalty to the EU flag.I didnt elect any of these people and I think we all know whats better for our own good than some Italian and Swedish Socialist or British Tory with agendas.

The good thing is this struggle is..WE ARE NOT ALONE. This involves all of the shooting sports ,the countries that trust their citizenery to posses arms for self defence,the EU arms manufactures,the shooting organisations,some if not pro gun media outlets at least willing to print our unabridged side of the story. Its a formidiable sleeping giant that the gun banners have awoken in the EU,and it is despite best efforts of ignoring the facts not just "sports shooters" but all firearms related fields from airsoft to blank firing pistol makers to concealed carry owners to defence policies of two EU nations.This affercts everyone who owns a "gun" in the EU,and already thetr have been sneaky attemptd to say especially in the UK organisations like the CPSA "oh leave our semi auto .22s alone theres a good chap,as we dont have any nasty semi auto CF rifles."

Be under NO illusion your ruger 10/22 is at much of a risk as my .308 semi auto is.As is your .22 handgun and 3 shot Benelli with a odd shaped buttstock. 850 Irish people have signed this petition sofar...To them Thank you for standing up to this gun grab.To the rest of those who havent signed....Whynot?
    It is a shame that our national organisations after doing such good are now at loggerheads again while this greater threat faces us.I ask again for everyone to consider that with a greater crisis facing us.WHERE IS THE LEADERSHIP being displayed by people who want your authorithy and money to repersent you at either national govt level or EU level at the current minute??Leadership requires that you lead and not rely on past deeds or that you have a nice face or personality.Has anyone of any of our organisations made much comment on the EU situation?Demanded a position statement from the govt on this?Or asked you as individuals or clubs to lobby like last year?? Next year is supposedly a year of change...It is up to us to make the changes if we are not happy with our lots.
    Wishing you all and your fammlies a happy christmas ,yule ,or whatever you are having yourselves and a peacefuland prosperous new year.
    Grizzly 45.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭goz83

I am very new....in fact, so new to this, that I don't have a firearm yet. However, what I have noticed in this very short period of time is that there is very much a defensive attitude to firearms, rather than a pro-active movement.

It is very much a reactive behaviour here in Europe and most definitely in Ireland, where the USA seem not only to vehemently defend their "rights" and any pro-gun legislation, but they seem to actively lobby their politicians to reverse prohibitive gun laws.

Don't get me wrong. I certainly wouldn't want laws and legislation where a child can go into the local Londis, or Gala and buy a rifle. But it would be nice (imo) to be able to own proper pistols, rather than those restricted to 22cal.

I do agree with controlled licensing and each firearm should be licensed to one owner with the usual "joint use" being allowed when licensed. But there is a better way of doing this. Currently, you have to go find a firearm, get the serial number and details of the seller and then apply for a license and wait. I believe it would make more sense to categorise firearms according to their type, calibre and muzzle velocity (or whatever criteria) and each person can apply for a license of that category. If approved, the person should be able to go purchase any firearm in that category and have the chosen firearm added to the license when purchased from the seller. The seller is responsible for entering the firearms details and previous cert number onto the buyers new category license and the buyer must register the purchase within 24 hours (or other reasonable time limit) in their local Garda station. This would be a life line for RFDs who currently have to hold deposits and stock for consumers, often for months at a time.

goz83 wrote: »
    I am very new....in fact, so new to this, that I don't have a firearm yet. However, what I have noticed in this very short period of time is that there is very much a defensive attitude to firearms, rather than a pro-active movement.

It is very much a reactive behaviour here in Europe and most definitely in Ireland, where the USA seem not only to vehemently defend their "rights" and any pro-gun legislation, but they seem to actively lobby their politicians to reverse prohibitive gun laws.

Don't get me wrong. I certainly wouldn't want laws and legislation where a child can go into the local Londis, or Gala and buy a rifle. But it would be nice (imo) to be able to own proper pistols, rather than those restricted to 22cal.

I do agree with controlled licensing and each firearm should be licensed to one owner with the usual "joint use" being allowed when licensed. But there is a better way of doing this. Currently, you have to go find a firearm, get the serial number and details of the seller and then apply for a license and wait. I believe it would make more sense to categorise firearms according to their type, calibre and muzzle velocity (or whatever criteria) and each person can apply for a license of that category. If approved, the person should be able to go purchase any firearm in that category and have the chosen firearm added to the license when purchased from the seller. The seller is responsible for entering the firearms details and previous cert number onto the buyers new category license and the buyer must register the purchase within 24 hours (or other reasonable time limit) in their local Garda station. This would be a life line for RFDs who currently have to hold deposits and stock for consumers, often for months at a time.

Welcome aboard to the club.
    To give you a few pointers...
    1] Dont bother comparing anything here in Ireland or the EU to the USA. From a pro or anti viewpoint ,its like comparing a blue whale to a door mouse.Especially with firearems.They have over est 350 million plus known guns for about 280 million Americans,and just bought on Black Friday last enough guns in ONE day to reequip the entire US Marine Corps and had enough left over to resupply two full army divisions.:eek: Imagine if our minister for justice had to deal with us suddenly buying in all +/- 250 thousand of us about 8guns each in one day to get a comparison.

2] Contary to much erronious belif.You cant as a "child" [thats 18 in US law],diddy bop into any store and buy a gun and toddle off with it without violating about a dozen Federal,state and local laws.Nor can your parents buy you one and leave you off with it either.The Charleston church shooters parents are in deep water because of that sort of carry on.He would have to have been 21 for even laegal possesion of a handgun.

3] We dont have this right in the EU.In the US its constitutionally enschrined as a basic fundamental citizens right.It's been argues backand forward for about 180 years by some of the finest legal minds on both sides of the pond as to what a simple two sentence means,and the majority of times it comes down to an individual right to keep and bear arms. The nearest EU country to the US in gun laws would be the Czech Republic with concealed carry and full auto possesion[in limited capacity]

4] The only reason is that it is reactive here and in Europe is we havent the time and manpower and money to counter and push back like the NRA does.Although they are reactive too most of the times.They just have an exellent 100% fit&able grass roots lobby network ,who phone,email,and lobby and keep it up non stop.Compared to some of the special intrest groups in DC.The NRA is actually a pip squeak group financially compared to the billions anti gun Blomberg is pumping into campaigns.Even the anti gun groups admit they wish they as dedicated people in their grass roots as the pro gun people.
    have.However,I think thats going to change next year with Firearms United and others in the EU.

As for your liscense points.FFD Do you want to confuse the poor AGS completely with that hig falautin talk and terminology??:D Not to mind rebuild the entire PULSE system?
    Simpler way would be. go away and do a proficency course in safe handling of all types of firearm groups ,shotgun,rifle ,pistol. There isnt that much of a difference. in the main groups of learning the difference. Go away and prove need for a firearm.IOW target pistol shooting,cF or .22 in a recognised club should be enough "good reason" for anyone.
    Likewise deer hunting or bird hunting or busting clays. Then give you say the right to own five firearms of every type on your liscense straight away.5 handguns,5 rifles,5 shotguns and 5 restricted firearms of the 3 above categories.If you want more in one cat than other you have to lose one to gain one or make an exceptional good reason as to why you want 6 in a particular category. This BTW could all be done on smart card technology and transacted at a dealer,rather than in an AGS paperwork office.But it isnt a state pirority and they arent oing to do it,so we are stuck with what we have at the moment. hopefully with the FAAA and FCP coming on line [maybe] in 2016 things will be streamlined abit in the future.The system isnt bad here,its just jammed by those not knowing with no intrest being in charge.

THIS IS YOUR ENEMY!!!

944690_1520080121619439_3644430839728792912_n.jpg?oh=05615605a072fff5dac44a73a6e06052&oe=571E0686

THIS IS YOUR ENEMY!!!

944690_1520080121619439_3644430839728792912_n.jpg?oh=05615605a072fff5dac44a73a6e06052&oe=571E0686
    Add your reply here.
    What a piece of work.just look at the head of her,

THIS IS YOUR ENEMY!!!

Add your reply here.

THIS IS YOUR ENEMY!!!

That's rather sexist. Her head doesn't matter a damn. What matters is her agenda and the opportunity she has to push it.

OzCam wrote: »
    That's rather sexist. Her head doesn't matter a damn. What matters is her agenda and the opportunity she has to push it.

What??
    I am talking about the smug know it all attitude on her face,not her actual appearance,I don't give a damn if she is a supermodel or not .
    how is what I said sexist ?
    I never said a single thing about her gender.
    Not one word,so no it is not sexist at all .look up the meaning of the word. Ozcam

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Steve012

I think shes pretty..

Steve012 wrote: »
    I think shes pretty..

Whatever cranks your crank!;)

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭rsole1

Steve012 wrote: »
    I think shes pretty..

I wouldn't shag her with your.

The French response from their gun group UNPACT is exellent and well worth reading ..One of the best reports from an organisation I've read in a long time.;)