Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Fingal General Election

• Registered Users Posts: 4,459 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

Would she not just be following sinn fein policy though? I don't think it's just a matter for rte to keep asking sinn fein candidates to condemn gerry mc cabe's killers up to the election (or any other republican murder or violence), and the sinn fein vote will collapse. We can only presume most SF voters are ok with it, and that more and more are ok with it because more have been willing to vote SF as time moves on.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭Tropheus

They're trying to convince us there was a war in Adare... Any politician that doesn't condemn the cold blooded murder of an unarmed Guard is not worthy of election.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭martinn123

If she knocks on my door looking for a vote.

Simple question, Yes or No.

Do you Condemn the murder of Garda Gerry McCabe....

Any words spoken other than YES ....door closed.

• Registered Users Posts: 930 ✭✭✭robertpatterson

Tropheus wrote: »
    They're trying to convince us there was a war in Adare... Any politician that doesn't condemn the cold blooded murder of an unarmed Guard is not worthy of election.

Think he was armed he was a detective on a cash in transit theyre armed afaik

• Registered Users Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭Tropheus

Think he was armed he was a detective on a cash in transit theyre armed afaik

True, they were carrying weapons in the car, but their car was sprayed with automatic gunfire before they had any chance to react.

• Registered Users Posts: 556 ✭✭✭dslamjack

The past is gone , and going on it ,then finna fail ,fine gits, sinn feinn, greens, democratic left, labour etc, should all be proscribed.
    Terrible terrible things were done,I remember being woken from bed to see the sight of people from Belfast looking for help,their homes having being burnt by Police RUC and their protestant ''neighbour's'' while the UDR,UDA,UVF,British Army covered for them.
    Jack Lynch and Finna Fail sat on their hand's crying what are we to do?.
    Just like the good book ,history can be bent to suit the need's of who ever want's to use it.
    Violence can never be condoned,but it can be justified,how else do we enjoy the freedom's we have today but for the ultimate sacrifice given by those who fought for Ireland during the war of Independence,and don't fool your self, there were terrible atrocities carried out then.
    Likewise the Civil War spawned countless atrocities,do we ask ourselves what our families did then?,for a lot of us ,no we don't and don't want too.
    Let sleeping dog's lie, when it comes to who will vote for Sinn Fein, then it will be the younger generation, who can't remember last week,let alone 30 years of bitter blood shed ,chances are that if it don't figure on an app on their I Fone,it won't even register in their brain,let alone their vote.

ps Teresa Mannion -- ye're a rock -- throw that girl a rope

• Registered Users Posts: 210 ✭✭jwwb

Brendan Ryan gets a passing mention in abandonment of tender

https://twitter.com/EmmaJaneDempsey/status/673436436851531776

People's Debate 11 January:

http://www.northcountyleader.ie/2015/12/16/the-peoples-debate-comes-to-north-county/

Wonder will the FG and Labour TDs show. They've been absent from recent debates

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

jwwb wrote:
    People's Debate 11 January:

Can you just show up for these debates?

I'm looking forward to it.

Can you just show up for these debates

Open to everyone. Wear a large sunflower in your lapel so we can recognise you

Well I have to say, I was considering giving Clare, a preference in the upcoming GE, but I have to reconsider when I read this

Offering to put up Bail for a person arrested on Terrorism Charges, and who has been refused Bail twice in the High Court

What's going on here

http://www.herald.ie/news/three-tds-stand-bail-for-man-accused-of-ira-membership-34297668.html

Aye Clare seems to be gone completely as nutty as a fruitcake since going off with himself,(property developer/airport raider)Wallace.
    She should have known better than going causing trouble down in Shannon,trying to do away with good work and income for that Airport,especially with her connection in Dublin Airport + its connection with Sword's.
    She wants to stop her gallivanting and carrying on, and get on with what she's paid to do,representing NCD,not what the Yanks do in Shannon.
    There's homelessness , job's ,schools, hospitals that need her attention ,She better jump to it or she will have loads of time on her hands to wander around Shannon with himself and visit her Bud's n hoes in Limerick Prison.

Actually ,while were at it, is it not time NCD had its own General Hospital, because Beamount hospital just ain't working.
    Beaumont is bursting at the seam's and can't cope with its Northside catchment area let alone the populace of NCD.
    The idea of building the National Childrens Hospital at Lissenhall is probably one of the better idea's to come to the fore in recent years.
    http://www.independent.ie/regionals/fingalindependent/news/plans-for-megahospital-in-swords-28976522.html
    It never ceases to amaze me , how all the serious development money goes south of the Liffey , I think its time for Fingal to get ''real'' county status and become the 27th County if need be in order to get our fair share of the tax dollar and investment money,that somehow seems to elude Fingal when its being doled out,we truly are the forgotten county out here.

There's another thing ,someone was saying it about Rush Garda station,that it should be reopened.
    I think it was sold so it can't be reopened without massive exspense to the taxpayer,maybe I'm wrong, Leo might know.
    It was some where else too ,150 or so stations closed country wide at a saving pf 4k euro's each ,the Dept of Justice saved the huge sum of 500,000 euros.
    That amount was probably stolen in the first few days of the closure's.
    That Francis Fitzgerald needs to go along with the General Secretary of the Justice dept,just another tick on the list when they come knocking.

ps I really hope they knock on my door this time around,the word got around I think,but I'll be ready , they usually run from my house.

dslamjack wrote: »

It never ceases to amaze me , how all the serious development money goes south of the Liffey , I think its time for Fingal to get ''real'' county status and become the 27th County if need be in order to get our fair share of the tax dollar and investment money,that somehow seems to elude Fingal when its being doled out,we truly are the forgotten county out here.

Well we nearly got the SuperDump, in The Nevitt

We nearly got the Giant Sewerage plant in NewtownCorduff, Lusk.

The actual Dump, in Lusk was finally closed

It's a better quality of Politician we need,
    look at what ''Rambo'' did for Swords:D;)

I meant to say , I love when they knock on my door,especially if I'm just back from the Top Shop.
    I all way's agree with em first,just looking at there little smiles and hearts lifting brings me no end of joy,let em rabbitt on a bit,throw in an ''a yes'' every now and then to let em think yere listening -Then just like an avalanche on a cold snowy mountain, the nasty icy hatchet drops, like a knife thru butter, their little hearts break at the realisation yere not going to vote for em and what's worse their trapped and you're gonna eat them.
    AAAhh yes,I've had more than a few run from me house, Rambo made the deadly mistake once, put the come hither on him,look what happened him.
    Remember chasing one Finne Failer up the road before the Septic Tiger, telling im what Bertie wud do,he still got that tinnitus I'll wager.
    Yep I like a nice candidate me ,just hope the weather is't too cold for standing at the door.
    Yep they'll be crying like onion peeler's that have just been given redundancy notice, too their Party Whip after I'm finished with em.
    Best of all, being a Dub of the worst darkst kind,I'v enough chip's on me shoulder's for Sam Spud's and Tayto combined,what's more it would be wrong of me not to share me view's n black thought's with em,God I'm a candidates worst bleeding nightmare,boy do I love the hustings.

P.s Clare better not bring himself around my way,or his perm getting wet or the Yank's reading her emails will be the least of her problem's,that's it, the throat's at me again I'm off to the Top Shop.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

dslamjack wrote: »
    I meant to say , I love when they knock on my door,especially if I'm just back from the Top Shop.
    I all way's agree with em first,just looking at there little smiles and hearts lifting brings me no end of joy,let em rabbitt on a bit,throw in an ''a yes'' every now and then to let em think yere listening -Then just like an avalanche on a cold snowy mountain, the nasty icy hatchet drops, like a knife thru butter, their little hearts break at the realisation yere not going to vote for em and what's worse their trapped and you're gonna eat them.
    AAAhh yes,I've had more than a few run from me house, Rambo made the deadly mistake once, put the come hither on him,look what happened him.
    Remember chasing one Finne Failer up the road before the Septic Tiger, telling im what Bertie wud do,he still got that tinnitus I'll wager.
    Yep I like a nice candidate me ,just hope the weather is't too cold for standing at the door.
    Yep they'll be crying like onion peeler's that have just been given redundancy notice, too their Party Whip after I'm finished with em.
    Best of all, being a Dub of the worst darkst kind,I'v enough chip's on me shoulder's for Sam Spud's and Tayto combined,what's more it would be wrong of me not to share me view's n black thought's with em,God I'm a candidates worst bleeding nightmare,boy do I love the hustings.

P.s Clare better not bring himself around my way,or his perm getting wet or the Yank's reading her emails will be the least of her problem's,that's it, the throat's at me again I'm off to the Top Shop.

Having a candidate knock on your door is a great opportunity for voicing your opinion and I like to make the most of it too.
    Mind you, you could be a politician yourself given your talent for making your point in a roundabout way ;)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

The People's Debate with Vincent Browne will be filming in the Grand Hotel in Malahide on the 11th of January for the "Dublin Fingal 5 seater constituency debate". They reckon it'll be a lively one :)

http://www.northcountyleader.ie/2015/12/16/the-peoples-debate-comes-to-north-county/

Tnk's D,praise from you is praise indeed,me a politician nawww,I mean I'm loike pretty good with the wurd's ,but a politician,holy moley n pumkin pie no, it's just about as low as a human can get(exception of Randolf Scott + uncle arthur and the lad invented the remote),I mean most of em hate them selves more than the public do,they don't even do affair's ,loike no man or woman would have any of them.
    The only warm thought I'd have about that lot would amount to throwing em a molotov cocktail of the non alcoholic kind and shouting catch.
    I hate saying it,but they are a necessary evil,some thing to be endured ,like a bad dose of Montezuma's revenge on a long train trip or having yere pile's treated with a hot pliers.
    Suppose love em or hate them,if they wer't there,I just don't know what we'd all do at tall at tall,yes I do , get on with it like we do the other 280 days a year they ain't in the dail.

Reminder:

People's Debate Monday in the Grand Hotel Malahide. Doors open 7pm.

Couple of amendments from the original post:

Tony Murphy is running for the Independent Alliance
    Clare Daly is running as an Independent
    Barry Martin is now the running mate of Clare Daly LINK

No sign of Keith Redmond running for Renua (yet)

I think that the Daly/Martin thing is interesting as I always thought she'd get more than a quota particularly since the return of Rivervalley into the new 5 seater. Can she bring in a running mate??

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,636 Mod ✭✭✭✭pinkypinky

People's Debate last night: did anyone here go?

None of the government TDs showed up so Clare Daly was the only currently elected TD.

8 election candidates who included (I didn't get all their names) Daragh O'Brien (FF), Tony Murphy, Barry Martin, another FF woman, Gerry Molloy for Renua (who Vincent was quite hard on), a Green party guy called Joe, an AAA guy, I didn't get his name and Louise O'Reilly from SF.

Remarkable number of people asking questions from SF/AAA.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users Posts: 22,766 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

pinkypinky wrote: »
    ...a Green party guy called Joe...
    Probably Joe O'Brien.

People's Debate last night: did anyone here go?

I went along last night. You might even see me on the tellybox as I found a spare seat amongst a cluster of lefties asking questions. I'm the one trying to look invisible and clicking my heels together saying there's no place like home repeatedly
    None of the government TDs showed up so Clare Daly was the only currently elected TD.

James Reilly was at a photo op with the winners of the Young Scientist from Balbriggan. No idea about the other two.
    8 election candidates who included (I didn't get all their names) Daragh O'Brien (FF), Tony Murphy, Barry Martin, another FF woman, Gerry Molloy for Renua (who Vincent was quite hard on), a Green party guy called Joe, an AAA guy, I didn't get his name and Louise O'Reilly from SF.

In the back row L-R Tony Murphy, Darragh O'Brien, Joe O'Brien and Gerry Molloy Front Row L-R Lorraine Clifford-Lee, Terry Kelleher, Barry Martin, Louise O'Reilly.
    Remarkable number of people asking questions from SF/AAA.

Thought that was mainly due to not one FF, FG or Labour supporter turning up/asking a question. Thought the greens asked a few questions

My main observation was that apart from the "Mr/Mrs Perpetually Angry Socialist" there was genuine hostility towards the gov TDs even a multiple than displayed towards FF.

Other minor memories: Lorraine Clifford-Lee has a 16 month old daughter - she told us that on three separate occasions. It's the first time she's standing for election
    in Fingal
    Joe O'Brien, Tony Murphy and Terry Kelleher all came across as very genuine people.
    Darragh O'Brien very polished, up to speed on his brief
    Barry Martin was very quiet
    The audience age profile was seriously tilted towards an older age group

Hot buttons in the constituency:
    Health by a mile
    Housing
    Environment
    8th amendment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭rubberdiddies

Watching the Vincent Browne people's debate in fingal and Brendan Ryan, James Reilly and Alan Farrell didn't bother showing up.

Says a lot really.

I would like to know if government TDs have shown up to other People's Debates. There were a number of comments on twitter about it being a regular thing. If it's a policy decision by the 2 parties, then there's little the individuals can do to get around it.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users Posts: 22,766 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Has anyone used Smartvote.ie?

I came across it last night & it gives you the opportunity to enter your personal preferences on a range of topics. These are then compared with the responses given by the candidates in your constituency.

I was honestly surprised at the results & the candidates that came back with close matches to my own preferences.

(And I just heard this morning that it is a Skerries man - Keith Moore - who was involved in putting it together. Well done, Keith!)

Just tried Smartvote.ie.
    I was surprised as well, with the outcome

Couple of comments however
    Clare Daly has not registered her preferences so she scores Zero.

James Reilly, and Alan Farrell, scored low, however when you look at their preferences you will see they picked, '' neither agrees or disagrees'' for the majority of their replies.

this may have been an attempt, to be closest to our picks, on each topic, but as it looks for an exact match, I think it has backfired on them, as they will score low, without an exact match.

One for the Party Handlers to ponder on.

jwwb wrote: »
    Barry Martin was very quiet

Hard to take serious when he was wearing a pair of red nike air max runners.

I was in the audience and I couldn't see anyone's feet but the runners really stood out on tv. It's not an indicator of qualification for the job though.

Genealogy Forum Mod