Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jan and Klodi's Party Bus - part II **off topic discussion**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭Idleater

VW 1 wrote: »
    Similar setup in the Stephens Green southside to leeson street cyclist light, miniscule amount of time allocated to it in comparison to traffic and pedestrians.

Vaguely related, I cycled along the canal cycle path today at lunchtime (grand canal dock - portobello roughly) and barely had to stop at the lights. They seemed synchronised to say 25kmph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,161 ✭✭✭buffalo

Some mornings seem to bring out the chancers. At two side roads on the way in this morning I saw drivers occupying the oncoming lane, because the car in front was turning left and they were turning right, so sure, why not just make the oncoming lane into a right-hand turn lane? It makes sense for everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

buffalo wrote: »
    Some mornings seem to bring out the chancers. At two side roads on the way in this morning I saw drivers occupying the oncoming lane, because the car in front was turning left and they were turning right, so sure, why not just make the oncoming lane into a right-hand turn lane? It makes sense for everyone!

Cyclists always complain about cars being an inefficient waste of road space. So drivers come up with innovative, outside-the-box ways of utilising that space, and what do they get? More complaints!

You just can't please some people.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,995 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

buffalo wrote: »

Happens in the evenings as well, one of the side roads near my house, they love to swing out early turning right and come into the estate on the wrong side of the road. Really lucky there have only been a few fender benders but undoubtedly my insurance will go up because of this idiocy.

bc5df61cf9d3d2637bc5399f40911798--motorcycle-sayings-motorbike-quotes.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,275 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

But it's OK to match your bike to your kit, right? Right?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,319 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

as per one of the comments, SHUT UP AND TAKE MY MONEY

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=68dph_NDrdE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Pigeon Reaper

as per one of the comments, SHUT UP AND TAKE MY MONEY

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=68dph_NDrdE

I've seen the use of bicycles in many countries. It's amazing how much people can utilise them for transport if needed. Rwanda uses bicycle taxis which is impressive as it's very hilly and they're all single speed. Uganda has a repair shop at every major crossroads as they use bicycles as vans with 200kg+ loads. The bikes are all Chinese made and are pretty bomb proof.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,319 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

mental note to self - don't change the batteries in lights when dealing with a mild migraine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

OK. I'm calling it. Orwell have obtained access to human cloning technology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Anyone with a 64/65cm head got a recommendation for caps? Even handmade XLs that claimed to be up to 65 are like skull cap thats been through the drier one too many times.

ED E wrote: »
    Anyone with a 64/65cm head got a recommendation for caps? Even handmade XLs that claimed to be up to 65 are like skull cap thats been through the drier one too many times.
    I am around a 64cm, most are too tight, a buff seems to be the only one that works OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,090 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I've seen a few lads with a slit cut to the back of the cap presumably to alleviate the problem.

CramCycle wrote: »
    I am around a 64cm, most are too tight, a buff seems to be the only one that works OK.

As in buff the brand? They seem to max out at 62cm with lots of "one size"(biggest lie ever).
    I've seen a few lads with a slit cut to the back of the cap presumably to alleviate the problem.

I've done that with a "Castro Cap" before but the problem is that just moved the pressure ring slightly higher. Think I'll use reversed woodworking clamps to try and stretch this yoke.

The Kask Mojito has great airflow which rocks for summer but its like being in a chiller during the winter so I really should get this sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

As in buff the brand? They seem to max out at 62cm with lots of "one size"(biggest lie ever).

I seriously would have counted Watergste scandal in there first. But everything’s fake news these days so maybe Buff’s one size only really does beat it.

64cm head too and any brand of “whatever they’re called” buff type things work.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Just put a weaker or longer elastic insert at the back. Open Up the seam, unpick the elastic and pop a bigger one in. Fiddly enough to do but but at all difficult. Pins are your friends.
    Or bring it to an alterations shop and they'll do it for you.
    I have a tiny pea head and I have to make all mine smaller :pac:

nee wrote: »
    Just put a weaker or longer elastic insert at the back. Open Up the seam, unpick the elastic and pop a bigger one in. Fiddly enough to do but but at all difficult. Pins are your friends.
    Or bring it to an alterations shop and they'll do it for you.
    I have a tiny pea head and I have to make all mine smaller :pac:

That only works when you've got not enough elastic but plenty of cloth, the cloth is fully taught on mine.

Not specifically their brand, but most I have used (actually all bar one) managed to fit my over sized noggin.
    The Kask Mojito has great airflow which rocks for summer but its like being in a chiller during the winter so I really should get this sorted.
    I was the opposite, I found it like wearing an oven during the summer and kept me warm during winter, different strokes for different folks.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

That only works when you've got not enough elastic but plenty of cloth, the cloth is fully taught on mine.

You could add a bit to the band? The elastic would hide the join largely-You won't be able to see it if it doesn't anyway :P

I can't sew, but might ask if any of the family are willing to try their hand at fatheadifying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,070 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Had to go to LBS to get a chain fixed and ended up with Look Keo Movistar csrbon pedals as they match the TCR plus did a deal on Mavic Cosmic Pro Carbon wheels for the racing season, a quick end to €880 that I didn't plan on spending, ah well..

Chain is fixed anyway so that's a relief!!!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Good deal on the wheels !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,070 ✭✭✭✭dahat

RobFowl wrote: »
    Good deal on the wheels !

Indeed considering the pedals were €80 and not needed at all, happy with the purchase and my current Mavic wheels are bombproof so hoping these are the same.

i'm really beginning to dislike motorbikes, specifically for the smell of half burnt petrol some of them emit, which is not pleasant when they're sitting beside you at lights.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,904 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Following recent discussion on self driving cars;

self_driving_car_milestones.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

smacl wrote: »
    Following recent discussion on self driving cars;

self_driving_car_milestones.png

(rollover text)

I'm working on a car capable of evaluating arbitrarily complex boolean expressions on "honk if [...]" bunper stickers and responding accordingly

I can't wait till they use text identification to read the how's my driving stickers, and their messaging services get filled with voicemails from Kitt either complimenting their lane discipline or ridiculing the number of deaths they nearly caused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

i'm really beginning to dislike motorbikes, specifically for the smell of half burnt petrol some of them emit, which is not pleasant when they're sitting beside you at lights.

Currently waiting on candles from car throttle https://shop.carthrottle.com/products/race-fuel-scented-candle

A lot of pedestrians in dark clothing along the unlit canal path this morning. Miraculously I hit none of them, but I reckon I'm still going to get on to Joe!