Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car insurance - tell us your quotes/renewals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

Insurers can 'risk assess' that women have fewer, or less expensive, accidents than men. They can identify occupations, types of cars and other features usually associated with a particular sex. When they have identified such a profile, they compete hard for that business. However, the same rate must be offered to both sexes. There should be no discrimination based on gender.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭duffman3833

There should be no discrimination based on gender.

well that's still not the case, doing quotes online, still favors women

If it is a different premium for the EXACT circumstances other than gender, you should contact the Regulator.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,251 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Claire Byrne Live is going to talk about Car Insurance with the insurance industry

• Registered Users Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭The Guvnor

Lads whether it favours men or women, I think unfortunately we are all being screwed - the only difference is by how much!:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 22,251 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

CEO of Insurance Ireland on now

• Registered Users Posts: 7 seller2345

Really struggling with car insurance this year and don't know why...

Car: 2010 Peugeot 308
    NCD: 7 years
    License: full for the last 8 years, 3 penalty points
    Cover: comprehensive, NCB fully protected
    Best quote: €956 with AIG through its4women
    Worst quote: €3968 with Aviva through Chill

I heard insurance costs were rising but this seems ridiculous!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,460 ✭✭✭vandriver

seller2345 wrote: »
    Really struggling with car insurance this year and don't know why...

Car: 2010 Peugeot 308
    NCD: 7 years
    License: full for the last 8 years, 3 penalty points
    Cover: comprehensive, NCB fully protected
    Best quote: €956 with AIG through its4women
    Worst quote: €3968 with Aviva through Chill

I heard insurance costs were rising but this seems ridiculous!
    What was the 3 point offence,and did you have get the points this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 seller2345

3 points for exceeding the speed limit (57km in a 50km zone) in July this year. Do you think that's the problem? I always though one offence didn't affect insurance cost but maybe that's changed..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭MayoForSam

Car: Volvo S40 2.0D (25000 miles per year)

NCD: 7+

Licence: Full 20+ years, 0 points

Cover: Fully comprehensive, windscreen cover

Last years premium: 486 (AIG using XLNTdriver app)

Best quote: 548 (AIG renewal)

Not too bad at all, I was expecting a lot worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭brock92

Car: 2008 Volvo S40 1.8
    NCD: 9+ years
    License: full for the last 8 years, 0 penalty points
    Cover: comprehensive, NCB fully protected, Wife is also down as 2nd driver
    Best quote: €454 An Post & Aviva (exact same quote)
    Worst quote: €713.89 123.ie

And I have been with 123.ie for last 6 years, they were always the cheapest I could find until this year

seller2345 wrote: »
    3 points for exceeding the speed limit (57km in a 50km zone) in July this year. Do you think that's the problem? I always though one offence didn't affect insurance cost but maybe that's changed..
    Put all your details in the same,but omit the points.You'll find out quick enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Four Phucs Ache

Car : 04 focus 1.4
    NCD : 10 +
    Lic : full Irish 12y ...0 points
    Cover : fully comp protected ncd
    Best : BOI 347
    Worst : axa 680

Last year with BOI : 302

• Registered Users Posts: 321 ✭✭CitizenFloor

Car: 08 Golf Sportline 1.4 (120bhp)

NCD: Full

Licence: Full, 7 years, no points

Cover: Fully comp, protected

Renewal: Aviva €470

Best quote: Yet to shop around.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,130 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Car: 06 Volvo S60 d5

Licence: Full, 8 years, 4 points

Renewal: Cornmarket €788 (05 Mondeo st last year was €636 and a change to a S60 d5 at the time added €500 on)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭donkey balls

Car : 13 Audi A4
    NCD : 19
    Lic : full Irish 19y ...0 points
    Cover : fully comp protected ncd
    Best : Arran insurance 675
    Worst : AIG 1100

I got rid of a perfectly good working car due to its age and companies refusing to insure the car, So went up a few years and the average price I'm getting is around the €900 mark.

• Registered Users Posts: 474 ✭✭MintyMagnum

37 y.o. Full licence held 16yrs, 8years ncb driving 1998 1.7dsl Bmw.
    Last year paid under €350 fully comp.,
    Renewal quote this year is €760.
    I assume that it's the age of the car that's doing me harm but it was still over 15years old last year and my insurance was less than half the renewal price.

Have you gotten any better rate since?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭Paudee

My lesser half is after getting a renewal quote from An Post.

Female
    5 Years NCB
    Full Licence
    No claims
    Driving an 06 Almera
    Myself as named driver 29 male and have own car.

€1180

Here's the kicker, I had a look at her policy
    - 3PFT
    -No NCD protection
    -No windscreen cover
    -No driving other cars
    Literally zero extras.

That's an absolute disgrace. For the laugh I started looking around and am after getting a quote on a Petrol Octavia VRS for €200 euro cheaper Fully Comp with all the trimmings. Explain that one.

Paudee wrote: »
    Explain that one.

When you buy cover online from organisations not directly involved in insurance, the offering is usually inferior. The insurer underwriting the cover usually tailors a 'yellow pack' product at a reduced rate to take advantage of the organisations client base

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭Paudee

When you buy cover online from organisations not directly involved in insurance, the offering is usually inferior. The insurer underwriting the cover usually tailors a 'yellow pack' product at a reduced rate to take advantage of the organisations client base

I see.

Rang An Post this evening. Explained my predicament. They quoted me €788 TPFT and €935 Fully comp with no claims protection on the Almera.

Asked about a VRS for the laugh. €80 cheaper. Going car shopping at the weekend.

FWIW, we live in a particularly high risk area for insurers.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,130 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Car: 06 Volvo S60 d5

Licence: Full, 8 years, 4 points

Renewal: Cornmarket €788 (05 Mondeo st last year was €636 and a change to a S60 d5 at the time added €500 on)

Shopped around today. Mainly in and around 1500 even as far up as 2200. Madness.

Managed to get it for 705 in the end from Cornmarket.

• Registered Users Posts: 29 nd272

Car: 05 Integra Type R

Licence: Full, 2 yrs

NCD: 4 years

Cover: Everything- Fully comp/Open driving/NCB Protection

Price: €3590 Britton

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

nd272 wrote: »

Car: 05 Integra Type R

Licence: Full, 2 yrs

NCD: 4 years

Cover: Everything- Fully comp/Open driving/NCB Protection

Price: €3590 Britton

Fúck that is some price. I know it is a Jap import and decent power but still.

My brother in Manchester has just insured his son(17) who's just passed his test in his own name on a Hyundai i10 for £850.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭dennyk

Car: 2006 VW Golf 1.6l Petrol
    Licence: Full Irish, <1 yrs (full US for 15 years prior)
    NCD: 5+ years
    Cover: Full comprehensive, €300 excess, NCB step-back, windscreen cover

So last year Liberty was the only one who would insure me on a US license. They accepted my US insurer's no-claims history, so I got the full NCB discount; came to €807. This year, after getting my full Irish license, they quoted me €1310 for a renewal! :eek:

Called around a few places. AIG, Chill, and Bank of Ireland all refused to quote me because I've only been resident in Ireland for a year (they all required at least three years of residence). Allianz, however, was willing to give me a quote: €688 for the same coverage and extras as Liberty. So Allianz it is for me this year, I guess. :pac: Hopefully they stay reasonable for next year's renewal as well, until the other places are willing to quote me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

The wifes insurance is up next month so the fun and games have started.

2010 Mondeo Titanium X, 2l turbo 140 power.

Have 9 years certified NCB and would like to keep it.

Herself main driver, hubby named, living in Dublin 24

Renewal from Aaron Insurances with Allianz, all bells and whistles, €936

First Ireland in Leixlip yesterday quoted €760

FBD online €750.

Aviva online with "8 weeks free and online discount" €951

AA online €750, BUT, phone call from them this morning. May be able to do something. Got a quote for 680 odd, but if you join AA, the quote drops more than the AA membership! Go on I say, €200 euro for AA (yeah right!), but I can give it to you for 80 odd euro, that brings your car quote down to €540 (plus 80 for the membership). Includes full NCB protection, full AA cover, Homestart, driving other cars, etc etc

WHERE's ME FECKING CARD !!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭9935452

The wifes insurance is up next month so the fun and games have started.

2010 Mondeo Titanium X, 2l turbo 140 power.

Have 9 years certified NCB and would like to keep it.

Herself main driver, hubby named, living in Dublin 24

Renewal from Aaron Insurances with Allianz, all bells and whistles, €936

First Ireland in Leixlip yesterday quoted €760

FBD online €750.

Aviva online with "8 weeks free and online discount" €951

AA online €750, BUT, phone call from them this morning. May be able to do something. Got a quote for 680 odd, but if you join AA, the quote drops more than the AA membership! Go on I say, €200 euro for AA (yeah right!), but I can give it to you for 80 odd euro, that brings your car quote down to €540 (plus 80 for the membership). Includes full NCB protection, full AA cover, Homestart, driving other cars, etc etc

WHERE's ME FECKING CARD !!!

If you fo with the AA option , just know that they will automatically renew it next year if you dont cancel it at the high rate

• Registered Users Posts: 810 ✭✭✭fermanagh_man

Car: 2008 Opel Astra 1.7 Diesel
    Licence: Full UK 3yrs
    NCD: 3 years
    Cover: Full comprehensive with windscreen, breakdown over

Last year - 854 with Allianz through Glennons

Renewal - 882

The renewal is the cheapest I can find
    AXA 912 was the next best option

• Registered Users Posts: 805 ✭✭✭bigboss1986

Wife's renewal:
    Car: 2013 1.5dCi Megane
    Licence: Full 5y
    NCD: 5 years
    Cover: Full comprehensive with windscreen, breakdown over and driving other cars
    ME as named driver with 3 points
    Last year 676

Renewal from Post Insurance(aviva) 1021 incl renewal fee of 50(!!!!!!!!!)
    Did few quotes online as I didnt have time to call.I was looking for same level of coverage as renewal.
    BOI :878
    AXA:950
    Allianz 1012
    Liberty:965

Will try few more tomorrow

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,539 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Renewal from Post Insurance(aviva) 1021 incl renewal fee of 50(!!!!!!!!!)

This is actually a thing?!? FFS. I would be less offended if they just increased the premiu by 50euro and not included that charge. It's offensive to my intelligence. Insurer: Your premium is only X this year
    Me: Its actually X + 50euro
    Insurer: No it is only X, your getting a great deal
    Me: So I don't have to pay the 50euro
    Insurer: No, but then you won't be insured, but at least your premium is only X and we can advertise X
    Me: https://youtu.be/XNoIU786-W0?t=7s