Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leaving Cert 2016/17 Off-Topic Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭Msrebeckyxo

EireLemon wrote: »
    Disrespected by the second years today. Took my chair in the library while I went to get a copy. The brats are getting worse!

Ah sure I'm a first year mentor and theyre all ignoring me when I'm trying to help :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Mr Rhode Island Red

We're doing the plough and the stars for the comparative in English, and our teacher sprung a test on us without warning.

First question was a bit about the characters in the play, some quotes and stuff, which was fine.

The next question asked us to list the signatories of the proclamation, which I suppose is relevant in a way.

Then we were asked for a paragraph on "gender roles in Ireland in the 1920s" and following that "Write a paragraph on the health and social care system in place in Ireland in the 1920s"

A few of us asked what this had to do with English, and our teacher (who doesn't teach history, may I add) said that it was important to have an in-depth understanding about Ireland at the time.

I then told her that the play is set in 1915/16...not the 1920s, at which point I was told to be quiet and do the test.

I don't do history, but even the lads that do agreed that our English teacher is seriously losing it.

Needless to say half the class along with myself have probably failed.

Looks like this year is going to be a real "paddle your own canoe" scenario for some of my subjects by the looks of it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭Bazinga_N

We're doing the plough and the stars for the comparative in English, and our teacher sprung a test on us without warning.

First question was a bit about the characters in the play, some quotes and stuff, which was fine.

The next question asked us to list the signatories of the proclamation, which I suppose is relevant in a way.

Then we were asked for a paragraph on "gender roles in Ireland in the 1920s" and following that "Write a paragraph on the health and social care system in place in Ireland in the 1920s"

A few of us asked what this had to do with English, and our teacher (who doesn't teach history, may I add) said that it was important to have an in-depth understanding about Ireland at the time.

I then told her that the play is set in 1915/16...not the 1920s, at which point I was told to be quiet and do the test.

I don't do history, but even the lads that do agreed that our English teacher is seriously losing it.

Needless to say half the class along with myself have probably failed.

Looks like this year is going to be a real "paddle your own canoe" scenario for some of my subjects by the looks of it...

That's ridiculous! There's no need to have that much of an in-depth look into a comparative text :P Also you're right about the play being set in 1915/16 so what's happening in the 20s aren't really relevant at all. You really don't need to know about who signed the proclamation either, as none of them actually feature at all in the play (apart from Pearse whose supposedly the Voice of the Man). The play isn't about the 1916 rising and the politics with it. It's about the effects the 1916 rising had on the lives of the poor common people of Dublin.

Also cultural context isn't even prescribed for 2017 so social class and gender roles aren't relevant to your course either :P No idea what your teacher's at :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭Consonata

Bazinga_N wrote: »
    Also cultural context isn't even prescribed for 2017 so social class and gender roles aren't relevant to your course either :P No idea what your teacher's at :pac:

You can technically get away with using it in GV&V, though there are much better topics. I can see why a teacher might want to do it, but it does seem rather pointless.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,378 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Consonata wrote:
    You can technically get away with using it in GV&V, though there are much better topics. I can see why a teacher might want to do it, but it does seem rather pointless.

Sounds like a teacher teaching about the play, not just how to answer possible exam questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭BadBannana

Barely understand my physics and maths homework and I've still got four chapters of biology to study as well as two French opinion pieces to write.

Pray for me lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭matthew1998

BadBannana wrote: »

What Physics/Maths are you doing :rolleyes: ?

Differentiation and heat. Nothing hard if you're not me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Telo123

What are ye hoping for points wise in the Lc?

Telo123 wrote: »
    What are ye hoping for points wise in the Lc?

I've got no courses in mind tbh but I'd like to get about 450

Differentiation and heat. Nothing hard if you're not me.

I'd find calculus the hardest in maths. Prefer geometry,trig ect.
    I learned therom 12 today ...twaz grand!

Im doing heat aswell, im a bit iffy on this ice fusion experiment :confused: gonna talk to my teacher about it tomorrow ..haha you are not alone :rolleyes:

I've got no courses in mind tbh but I'd like to get about 450

what do you wanna do after school ?

Somehow can't reply to two comments at once on mobile.

I have trouble with all of maths tbh but I just about keep my head above water. The formulas in the latent heat experiments I just can't remember.

And I haven't a clue what I want to do after school :/

god loves a trier :pac:! do you not get all the formulas in the log books?

Yeah you get bits of them but I don't understand it well enough to put it together. It needs a bit more study I think

look up tutorials on khan academy and youtube :pac: thats what i do with maths ect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭EireLemon

Looking for 515/520. I got 540 points in the summer exams but I feel like my results will go drastically down this year.. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭padraigmck

Got our CAO handbooks there last class, I really feel like a 6th year now

EireLemon wrote: »
    Looking for 515/520. I got 540 points in the summer exams but I feel like my results will go drastically down this year.. :(

It's important to have confidence in yourself , some people keep freaking out about the possibility of there grades going wrong and all the negitive thinking can actually effect your grades :rolleyes: same goes for people who are too nervous on the exam days.

padraigmck wrote: »
    Got our CAO handbooks there last class, I really feel like a 6th year now

Be sure to tag any spoilers :p

got mine today as well , there so pretty, you can just smell the education off them!:P any of ye off to the higher options thing in the RDS tomorrow?:rolleyes:

Does anyone know where I can get a definitive list of apprenticeships available in Ireland?

I don't know if it's a complete list, but it has a lot of the newer more uncommon ones ...as apposed to the classic plumber, carperder, electritian, mechanic ect. !

http://www.careersportal.ie/apprenticeships/index.php#.V9gwgJgrKUk

http://www.careersportal.ie/apprenticeships/modern_apprenticeships.php#.V9gwY5grKUk

http://www.careersportal.ie/apprenticeships/apprenticeships2.php#.V9gws5grKUm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭pizzamad

Does anyone know any revision books that cover each poet on our LC course?!

Any tips for HL Lc Business as i got a teacher who doesnt teach.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,378 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

You seem to be doing OK with your non-teaching teacher, if your other posts are to be believed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭meganob

got mine today as well , there so pretty, you can just smell the education off them!:P any of ye off to the higher options thing in the RDS tomorrow?:rolleyes:

Did ye get them off your careers teacher? Going Friday ,have no idea what to ask as I've too many courses in mind anyone any suggestions?
    Hopefully there'll be college students there as well who actually did the course

spurious wrote: »

You seem to be doing OK with your non-teaching teacher, if your other posts are to be believed.
    Well im getting good results but exams are very easy and ask us non exam style questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭EireLemon

pizzamad wrote: »
    Does anyone know any revision books that cover each poet on our LC course?!

Key Notes 2017 is an excellent book. It summarises all the poems as well as Hamlet & comparative.

meganob wrote: »

From what I hear it like a giant open day, but with bitesize information from each institution , you wouldn't get someone from each course like a proper open day, but maybe just a person from the faculty.

I'd use the higher options to decide what open days you want to go to as opposed to what course you want to do... if you get meh.:rolleyes: