Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leaving Cert 2016/17 Off-Topic Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

padraigmck wrote: »
    Got our CAO handbooks there last class, I really feel like a 6th year now
    got mine today as well , there so pretty, you can just smell the education off them!:P any of ye off to the higher options thing in the RDS tomorrow?:rolleyes:
    Yanno what will make you feel even more like 6th years?!

Taking an hour or two to browse through them ... ;)

Seriously, I know I say this as often as Brendan Grace tells the same jokes, but it never fails to amaze me that students will spend 2 years trying to maximise their points, but won't spend 2 hours figuring out how to use them to maximum advantage! :p:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭matthew1998

students will spend 2 years trying to maximise their points, but won't spend 2 hours figuring out how to use them to maximum advantage! :p:D

I'm the opposite </3 ! i spend ages procratinating browsing career sites while i should be doing my homework. that in mind still not sure what I want to be :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Telo123

Have any of ye any experience with studyclix? Is it good?

Telo123 wrote: »

I have it, its grate for revising coming up to big exams (xmas or summer). It shows you what the examiners are looking for and how much detail you need for your answer! They also provide a few sample answers. For EUR35 its well worth it , could easily put you up a grade or 2!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭BadBannana

The social scene in my school is now solely based on getting drunk every weekend. I can't hang out with my friends anymore, either they're at grinds or parties or with a girlfriend or a billion other reasons.

BadBannana wrote: »
    Just make fake friends on boards till you get to college ;)!
    Maybe you could take up a sport / go running with a friend? I'm on a stict no going out/alcohol rule unless its the holidays or a close friends birthday... Or you could find a gf/bf...although probably not the best idea as it could be a bit distracting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Mr Rhode Island Red

"I am to my friends as Y is to the vowels"

Spotted that on reddit the last day, and for some reason it really struck a chord with me.

But I still got one main homie who got ma back :pac: ...it's kind of a House and Wilson friendship (for those of you who have seen House)

I have a lot of...acquaintances...who I can have the craic with and whatever but I wouldn't trust them with anything of merit if you get me.

But I know that feel BadBanana, it can be fairly alienating if you're not into getting smashed...but I like to think it's better from the outside looking in.

"I am to my friends as Y is to the vowels"

Spotted that on reddit the last day, and for some reason it really struck a chord with me.

But I still got one main homie who got ma back :pac: ...it's kind of a House and Wilson friendship (for those of you who have seen House)

I have a lot of...acquaintances...who I can have the craic with and whatever but I wouldn't trust them with anything of merit if you get me.

But I know that feel BadBanana, it can be fairly alienating if you're not into getting smashed...but I like to think it's better from the outside looking in.

Believe me, I've gone to some of these things. They're ****e. Or at least with the big crowd in my year.

For the fella suggesting a girlfriend, I don't think it'll happen this year

I don't think it'll happen this year
    Haha, Sure you can get a russian one online :rolleyes::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭Ponguin

Does anyone else have grads coming up in October? :P

Ponguin wrote: »

Who organised that?!

Ponguin wrote: »

In October? :eek:

EDIT: is it a normal thing to have a grad in october?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Manutd_4life

Anyone here experience this year's Higher Options event?

Didnt go myself but just curious how other people felt about their experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭carefulnowted

I'm not sure if I'd go again. It was really crowded and stuffy, but it did give me a chance to pick up a few prospectuses I wanted. I think it would be helpful if you had a very definite idea of what you wanted to get from it, but I didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭VG31

The problem I had and a lot of my friends was that the people there didn't seem to know much and couldn't answer any questions on the courses that wasn't already mentioned in the prospectus.

One man I talked to actually knew what he was talking about but other than that it was a waste of time. There really wasn't anything there that I couldn't lookup online.

Perhaps for people who are not sure what they want to do it might be more helpful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭Ponguin

I'm not really sure why it's called "grads" as we haven't actually graduated from anything yet. It's mainly just an excuse for another debs/ night out/ way for the lads in the year organising it to make money lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Bored_lad

I know some schools have them they seem to be a less formal debs. They don't actually mark anything just an excuse for a night out. Some schools bring dates to them some don't.

Ah right! Jaysus, that reminds me , i'll have to get a suit! i wonder should i buy one or rent one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Bored_lad

Ah right! Jaysus, that reminds me , i'll have to get a suit! i wonder should i buy one or rent one?

Probably best to buy one given you'll have grads, debs, actual grads etc over the next few months. It'll also be handy for weddings and interviews and stuff in the next year or so.

Bored_lad wrote: »
    Probably best to buy one given you'll have grads, debs, actual grads etc over the next few months. It'll also be handy for weddings and interviews and stuff in the next year or so.

You probably have a point, there will also be college Balls next year aswell! I think its around 300 for a nice full piece, about 80 to rent it then:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,378 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Or hit the charity shops. You might be surprised what is in some of them.

spurious wrote: »
    You might be surprised what is in some of them.
    I might have a look in Oxfam
    I can just imagine :P :D

AustinDumbJC.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,378 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

My brother got an Armani tux in one the other year. He now buys and sells them on as a bit of a sideline. Plenty value to be got, especially if you have long legs, it seems.

You would probably need a trained eye to known if you are buying a good suit or piece of shet.:rolleyes:

Well, yes, particularly for some designer stuff that looks like you'd need to be off your head to wear it, but shops seem to get stuff in in batches, so if you find one tasteful suit, there will probably be another, or many more.
    He sometimes wonders is it young people dying, or jealous partners getting rid of someone's wardrobe.

Just thinking there.... An important thing for suits is the fit of them :) might be difficult to find

Went for a "nap" Friday evening and ended up sleeping until Saturday morning. Had a long lie in today too but I think I'm better for it.

A nice morning run turned into a swimming class when the heavens opened....

I hate when it starts raining mid run...

..........The chafing :pac:

I hate when it starts raining mid run...

..........The chafing :pac:

I've never gotten chafing and I'm always glad if it. I saw some bleeding nipples at the marathon this year actually....

I saw some bleeding nipples at the marathon this year actually....

Sounds like something you'd hear on live line :rolleyes::pac:
    Joe Duffy:Hello Caller
    Runner: Hey Joe , just finished the marathon....and my nipples are bleeding
    Joe Duffy:...... Ah Jayyysus