Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

They're not a bad car, them 206s. But I hated driving ours!! No get up and go to them at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

Anyone on here have an idea of what to look out for on integra dc2s.
    Looking at them at the moment so would be good to know.

Insurance! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

They're not a bad car, them 206s. But I hated driving ours!! No get up and go to them at all.

First car I legally drove on the road was a 2002 Pug 206 . All I remember was the rubbery gear change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

Maybe it was just the one I was driving (convertible version (not mine!!)) but the pedals are very small and very close together? Drove me mad anytime I had to drive that car but I've never heard of anyone else complaining about it before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

I don't think I'd be able for anything smaller than focus / Megane segment size myself but at the same time I'm not sure if I'd want something as big as a Passat or whatever not that I'd feel it was too big for me to drive or something stupid like that more that I'd feel I'd have no need for something that big well at the moment anyway. Even the Megane is only just ok interior space wise kind of fells like I'm sitting in the back to drive it sometimes if you get me but on the upside it has a big boot for the size of the car and the interior space doesn't overly bother me it's enough.

@SH from the post a picture thread it looked like a fine little car I don't think it makes any real difference what it cost whether it was 400 or 4K once you like it and it's suits your current needs that's all you want. If I was in your position and was happy with it id look at it as an opportunity to save up money so that when you are sick of it you can comfortably buy whatever replacement you want whether that be in 6 months time or 2 years time.

Maybe it was just the one I was driving (convertible version (not mine!!)) but the pedals are very small and very close together? Drove me mad anytime I had to drive that car but I've never heard of anyone else complaining about it before.

I had that issue but the 106 was worse. I could press all 3 pedals at once.

ba_barabus wrote: »
    I had that issue but the 106 was worse. I could press all 3 pedals at once.

Work boots + Corsa B = bad time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Just applied to go back to college! YAY. No more underpaid technician work. Well, not after September hopefully.

I basically just can't wear boots and drive full stop. When I'm working I have to be in safety boots at all times so I used to wear normal shoes on the commute and then change into my safety boots in the morning and out of them before leaving. I'm like that with all cars not just the Megane it's just too difficult to drive with boots so I don't bother. I'm size 12 which doesn't help.

My 96 Combo was like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,427 ✭✭✭Dartz

Yay!

Ice and RWD.

Wheeeeeeee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭scottp68877

Insurance! :P

Haha that was the first thing I checked before I even looked at one on done deal ðŸ˜

Any ideas for what I could use to clean the roof of a few transits? They're all bright colours and the green needs to come off. It can be seen sometimes, especially in high up lorries/coaches etc. I was thinking one of those sponge mop things and go hell for leather?

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Just applied to go back to college! YAY. No more underpaid technician work. Well, not after September hopefully.

Fair play best of luck with it :) it can be tough depending on the course your doing but it's well worth it in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Work boots + Panda = many revs while braking :pac:
    Any ideas for what I could use to clean the roof of a few transits? They're all bright colours and the green needs to come off. It can be seen sometimes, especially in high up lorries/coaches etc. I was thinking one of those sponge mop things and go hell for leather?

Powerhose should get it all off, what's left should come off with strong APC.

It's all hollows, ridges etc. 2 skylights and all around them need to be gotten to. Power washer wasn't good enough in the past. Needs some sort of scrubbing action.

Always works for me and I deal with quare mouldy/green yokes :p AutoSmart G101 in a strong dilution would work wonders.

Do you use any of the industrial detergents on them when cleaning them you know the weak acid solution you get in 5 gallon drums and dilute down with water and spray on and rinse off with a power washer to take off the heavy dirt before you actually clean them with shampoo that would work on the roof. I can't think of the exact name of the stuff there are various types but most bus, truck companies / car cleaning places would use it we have a drum of it in the shed which I don't use on my car as there is no need to really but for the roof it would work perfect.

CIP4 wrote:
    Do you use any of the industrial detergents on them when cleaning them you know the weak acid solution you get in 5 gallon drums and dilute down with water and spray on and rinse off with a power washer to take off the heavy dirt before you actually clean them with shampoo that would work on the roof. I can't think of the exact name of the stuff there are various types but most bus, truck companies / car cleaning places would use it we have a drum of it in the shed which I don't use on my car as there is no need to really but for the roof it would work perfect.

He gets all his stuff off some company in Tuam. Can't think of it off hand. Good stuff though. They're never let get that dirty, it's just that on weekly washes, the roofs aren't washed (as is the case with the majority of busses).Don't think these were done in a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

I know Alfa Romeo aren't liked on this forum but my god there are few cars better able to just Hoover up motorway than a 166:cool::cool::cool: They do consume many petrols at speed though:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

CIP4 wrote: »
    So you would go with the 4000k as opposed to the the 6000k or would the 6000k be more of a factory LED look as opposed to super white or is it yellow like and just looks like bright halogens.

I only really want them for number plates not sidelights as I think I'll leave them as is as I never have them on on their own either use DRLs or dipped lights and I wouldn't mind them being bright but then there is too bright too you know lighting up half the road under the number plate. Thanks for your help.

Neither car is "canbus" for the lights so I can't say if you get errors or not with them. No flicker during use or "half life" after switch off.

Philips are probably too bright. Their colour temp is accurate in my eyes. 4000k version is white maybe with a tiny hint of yellow. no blue. As it should be afaik. Nightbreakers are below 4000k so you notice that the Philips are more white less yellow. 6000k could be super super white or it could be getting into slightly blue.

Only fitted them recently so have taken more notice.

Osram.. more blue in their white than I would expect at 4000k. Not into skanger ebay led territory yet, not by a long shot, but maybe there would be too much blue at 6000k.
    A while since I fitted these, mainly fitted for longevity as it is an ordeal to change sidelights on that car. Will take a better look tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Here in T2 heading back over to the land of opportunity.

I wonder what sort of rental I'll get this time :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,547 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Toyota Echo. Let it be a Toyota Echo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Oh God yes, first few drives were horrible lol. My feet size is not huge, but I still wear size 11. I though something is wrong when I first started driving it. :D
    I think I more love it's dort cheap bangornomics aspect. :D I didn't liked my bangornomics Monday, but it was a beast on reliably :)

I finally got around to replacing my castellated rear tyres. The noise difference is huge. And there was me thinking before Christmas that the gearbox was fooked

Neither car is "canbus" for the lights so I can't say if you get errors or not with them. No flicker during use or "half life" after switch off.

Philips are probably too bright. Their colour temp is accurate in my eyes. 4000k version is white maybe with a tiny hint of yellow. no blue. As it should be afaik. Nightbreakers are below 4000k so you notice that the Philips are more white less yellow. 6000k could be super super white or it could be getting into slightly blue.

Only fitted them recently so have taken more notice.

Osram.. more blue in their white than I would expect at 4000k. Not into skanger ebay led territory yet, not by a long shot, but maybe there would be too much blue at 6000k.
    A while since I fitted these, mainly fitted for longevity as it is an ordeal to change sidelights on that car. Will take a better look tomorrow.

Thanks for that that kind of back to square one so as I don't want something that bright. My car has a canbus system but doesn't have blown bulb warning but they still might cause trouble or die quickly if they are not for a canbus system I thought they were. Ah I might just stick with the WhiteVision ones there not all out what I want be they are certainly better than standard halogens thanks for your help and clearing up the 4000k vs 6000k for me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

They won't blow any quicker etc but will not have the correct resistance for your Canbus system to recognise them.
    You'll get a never ending warning for blown bulbs :)

YbFocus wrote: »
    They won't blow any quicker etc but will not have the correct resistance for your Canbus system to recognise them.
    You'll get a never ending warning for blown bulbs :)

There is no blown bulb warning so I won't get that anyway. It must be the only warning thats not on the car tbh I've never had a yoke that beeps so much and has so many various pointless warning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Dem feels when you see your old car out in the wild.

24122480230_a052f5fbf7_b.jpg

IMG_20160116_170013_zpsvcezp68h.jpg

Daily ritual :pac: