Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

GvidoR wrote: »
    Dem feels when you see your old car out in the wild.

How long ago did you have that one I think I remember it from here it was a few years ago anyway was it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

CIP4 wrote: »
    How long ago did you have that one I think I remember it from here it was a few years ago anyway was it ?

Acquired it January 2014, drove it for a bit, then it was parked up for a while and then sold it in May 2015.

Was it you that bought it for €50 because the wires were chewed and fixed it?

No, that was YbFocus.

I swapped a 1996 BMW 318TDS for it. That was horrible decision. :(

Ah ok I didn't think it was that recent for some reason. It's nice to see to see cars you once owned I always think even though I almost never see any of my old ones the golf was the only one I saw after I sold it. I'd see cars the parents owned the odd time but it's rare enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Yeah that was me, still here but just no nct :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

IMG_20160116_175900_zpsqyj1nac2.jpg

Got the bitch some discs, bitches love discs :D

Lights really still on the dash however :o:(

How did you pass NCT then? Put tape over them? :pac:

Pure and utter luck :P Thought it was sorted, came back on when I reached the center, turned car off for a few mins, turned it back on and toddled over, yer man came over saw them off, turned on and off the car to make sure they were off which they stayed off.

Now on the other side, no idea what I'm looking at to sort it now, hopefully not the ABS module :(

Check if it's the same in the e36, I'll be losing the abs now for the track!
    If it does its yours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Weight reduction yo! get some poly carbonate windows, serious weight in standard glass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Went to Murphy & Gunn this morning to avail of their offer of free bulbs until the end if January. I rang during the week to see what the story was and they reminded me that the e46 was recalled for an airbag replacement which they would do with the bulb. So I popped up this morning at 930 and a little under an hour and a half later they has it ready. They also hoovered and washed it. All for free. Happy days!

Hal1 wrote: »
    Weight reduction yo! get some poly carbonate windows, serious weight in standard glass.

Looking at fibreglass Overfenders, carbon canards and diffusers for a time attack look :)

May stop looking and actually do something :)

YbFocus wrote: »
    Check if it's the same in the e36, I'll be losing the abs now for the track!
    If it does its yours!

Sound for the offer, I don't think they're the same but I'll check anyway if it turns out to be the ABS unit, going to get it Snap-Oned soon :)

Yeah that was me, still here but just no nct :)

Still the bargain of the century though!

Especially when it passed the nct with no work :)

Whats the story with the newest astra you got are you using it as a daily I remember you saying you bought one but heard no more since :)

CIP4 wrote: »
    Whats the story with the newest astra you got are you using it as a daily I remember you saying you bought one but heard no more since :)

Yeah 600 miles on it since!
    Keep forgetting to get a pic.
    Hatch back, 98, 1.4.

I don't think you're missing anything :)

Yeah 600 miles on it since!
    Keep forgetting to get a pic.
    Hatch back, 98, 1.4.

I don't think you're missing anything :)

Cool what colour is it ? does it take a lot of getting used to going from the rwd bmw dream machine :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

The steering lock came on in the Tipo on the Malahide road today and it was probably the most frightening experience of my life.

New pants are needed

The steering lock came on in the Tipo on the Malahide road today and it was probably the most frightening experience of my life.

New pants are needed

God that would be a horrible experience hope all is ok with you and the car now other than the fright.

New pants are needed

Fcuk! One of my many motoring fears. At least you're OK.

Yeah thankfully all is good now and I got it started quickly again. Felt like an age though!

Im sorry but the front of this is fcuked up on so many levels its the 2016 Kia Sportage btw. Maybe its just me and maybe some of you think its nice but to me you have the Tucson, Qashqai, Kadjar and then this yoke is like the ugly sister. The back is ok to be fair.

kia-sportage-2016-(3).jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

In the flesh it's a lot nicer than the rest of them tbh (been looking at them with the old fella).

I seen one in the flesh and still wasn't gone on it. Its trying to be a bit different which is fair enough. I wouldn't be mad about the LED lights on the front they are too emphasised I don't like the big 4 circles on the bumper fogs / DRLs at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,558 ✭✭✭JoeA3

New pants are needed

Fix It Again Tony.

JoeA3 wrote: »
    Fix It Again Tony.

Okay.

Or as a result of little scum bags who tried to take something that wasn't their's

My Punto proved that the whole Fix It Again Tony/Tomorrow stuff is bs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

So lads/lassies what does this need

kBkpgnn.jpg

cat, or cheaper option?