Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

I push the door in a few times. Helps break the seal a bit and then opens fine. Worked this morning on her car. The door handles feel very plastic on it and felt like they would give had I tried to just pull it open. Once the doors are all open, then I piss on the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Applying Gummi Pflege to rubber seals and along where the top of the door comes into contact with the frame (there's usually rubber on the door here) will reduce the adhesion of the door hence making it much easier to open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Another car I had in mind and I bet I will be Lynched for it.... 159 1.9 JTD....

Though I know that when it comes to running costs and reliability its going to be........ Hard...

Have one here 5 years, 170k km. in that time it's had regular servicing, two wishbones and a timing belt kit. Averages 43-44mpg and is running very well.
    i'd love something like that.

joking aside, could you just drive that for years and years with not much more than general maintenance or are they actually a little bit fally aparty?

it could be a really nice option if the 15 year old rule gets me out of the Celica this year.

If you want to buy something and not put any money into it then an Alfa won't be for you. Alfa 159's are good cars. Just make sure you get one that wasn't abused.
    CIP4 wrote: »
    If I was looking for a nice car in the morning for 3-4K euro the 159 would be hard to beat. I suppose pred is the one that has all the experience with them but I never heard him mentioning engine issues but they do wear out suspension parts at an accelerated rate compared to most cars from what I can tell hard on tyres too. Still your getting alot of car for the money and they still look very modern inside and out.

156's wear suspension quickly. The 159 was still on all its original suspension after 160k km, better than most cars Id imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

166man wrote: »
    Have one here 5 years, 170k km. in that time it's had regular servicing, two wishbones and a timing belt kit. Averages 43-44mpg and is running very well.

If you want to buy something and not put any money into it then an Alfa won't be for you. Alfa 159's are good cars. Just make sure you get one that wasn't abused.

156's wear suspension quickly. The 159 was still on all its original suspension after 160k km, better than most cars Id imagine.

Thats right, our resident Alfa man. :D

I googled a bit and looks like 159 suffer some gearbox issues. Bearings go off and whole box goes in to flames. Something to do with using very bad opel gearbox?

I have to admit, 159 or GT are tempting me a lot. Plus they dont cost a fortune.

Thing is that in that budget there is not much choice for diesels. Its aither A4 or A6, which are really nice, but I am just afraid of them, they will break my heart and I dont have spare money to be putting in to it. 320d e46 or e90, but pretty much same issue as Audi.
    It then boils down to VRS or Alfa gt/159.

I sow a cool Corsa OPC on donedeal for reasonable money, but if I get that... Well... I am not far from the problem I had with Subaru. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I googled a bit and looks like 159 suffer some gearbox issues. Bearings go off and whole box goes in to flames. Something to do with using very bad opel gearbox?

I have to admit, 159 or GT are tempting me a lot. Plus they dont cost a fortune.

Thing is that in that budget there is not much choice for diesels. Its aither A4 or A6, which are really nice, but I am just afraid of them, they will break my heart and I dont have spare money to be putting in to it. 320d e46 or e90, but pretty much same issue as Audi.

I sow a cool Corsa OPC on donedeal for reasonable money, but if I get that... Well... I am not far from the problem I had with Subaru. :o

I believe the gearbox issue is related to early production 159, depending on what year you are looking at I don't think I'd let be a factor.
    I also think the 150 has a DPF whereas the 120 doesn't but if you are looking at a diesel then you must be doing enough kms for it to regen normally.
    The biggest issue it suffered from was the steering rack failing. There needs to be the green coolant and not red.
    The earlier models were also heavier amazingly. 2008 onwards are actually 100kg lighter and are therefore easier on fuel and suspension parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭shietpilot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

GvidoR wrote: »
    I'm a bit worried opening doors on frosty mornings like this. They're frozen shut and I'm afraid of breaking the door handles off.
    If it's anything like the POS Mondeo I had, you will rip the rubber seals around the door off - gummi pfleg as MM says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I pulled my drivers door handle on the mondeo clean off the attachment today. Wasn't frozen or anything. The door handle is attached by the bit of plastic, but it won't open the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

davycc wrote: »

That wasn't up there for very long.
    adverts.ie wrote:
    The ad Hyundai ix20 2011 has been withdrawn.

i must have messed up the link ?

hope this works

http://www.adverts.ie/car/toyota/corolla/1999-toyota-corolla/9631106

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

i must have messed up the link ?

hope this works

http://www.adverts.ie/car/toyota/corolla/1999-toyota-corolla/9631106

Yeah, that works. I would add some more pics.

Also, that's not how you spell "brake". :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Not that we are all in final year and soon to be in work and actually have money the car conversations have started in my college class. Now bunch of lads with no need for a big saloon young, car you would think that everyone would want golf gti's, focus st that kind of think you know around the 10k mark.

Not in my class oh no the current favourite is Jaguars Xe's but mainly Xf's and they have to be brand new because the facelift models are nicer :eek: Couple of people are deadly serious about getting them too. Infairness if I was spending 40k on a saloon they are hard to look past way less common than BMW's and Audi's etc. However I think buying your first brand new car at a young age 25k would be enough to spend.

Also jag have an offer on the Xe at the moment 399 per month pcp 11k deposit and 16k final payment. In other words 399 euro a month for a jag :cool: I feel so sensible for once being the one who doesn't intend buying a new car. You might think it's a joke but this Jaguar conversation has been going on months and there is a few that would genuinely buy them. I can't say I've ever seen a 22 yo driving a jaguar never mind owning one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Sure their image has changed totally, I'd have no problem owning one now :)

YbFocus wrote: »
    Sure their image has changed totally, I'd have no problem owning one now :)

The face lifted version is nice I never really rated Jaguars that highly but I was in my uncles Xf a good bit on holidays and they really are a lovely car such high quality especially inside. There's one lad wants a mk5 golf gti alright that's about as low as things go :pac: You'd want to be keeping a brand new jag for about 5 years though or depreciation would surely be massive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I'd be smarter and be buying after 5 years.

YbFocus wrote: »
    I'd be smarter and be buying after 5 years.

Ye that makes the most sense although there is a huge gap in the market at the moment because of the recession meaning there isn't a great selection of 5 year old cars unless you want a diesel poverty spec car that people are looking way over the odds for because it's a diesel. It's mad at the moment petrols that age are bordering on non exsistent and the few that are around are 1.2 100 bhp yokes.

GvidoR wrote: »
    Yeah, that works. I would add some more pics.

Also, that's not how you spell "brake". :pac:

cant even blame auto correct as i used my laptop:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Them feels when you go out defrost your car go to open drivers window to listen for traffic while leaving driveway but instead of it opening it rips clean off the motor and now you haz a no worky window 4 days before nct

YAY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭shietpilot

Yeah opening the windows is dodgy on a cold car right now.

I tapped the window button on the Focus this morning and it didn't sound well so I didn't continue opening it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

shietpilot wrote: »
    Yeah opening the windows is dodgy on a cold car right now.

I tapped the window button on the Focus this morning and it didn't sound well so I didn't continue opening it :pac:

I also only touched it once as you do but all i heard was it continuing to grind and spin, bad buzz :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Gearbox is either good or bad, mines got 300k on it hardly going to go now ;)
    But beware, I don't know where 166man is driving his, but mine has had 3 sets of upper arms and one set of lower arms, one rear spring, and a pair of rear drop links in 160k. But I drive like I stole it, every day :D it's nowhere near as bad as the 156, but you do pay for the handling :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

pred racer wrote: »
    But beware, I don't know where 166man is driving his, but mine has had 3 sets of upper arms and one set of lower arms, one rear spring, and a pair of rear drop links in 160k. But I drive like I stole it, every day :D it's nowhere near as bad as the 156, but you do pay for the handling :rolleyes:

After 202k kms mine has only had a lower wishbone but bear in mind it literally only does motorway driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

ba_barabus wrote: »
    After 202k kms mine has only had a lower wishbone but bear in mind it literally only does motorway driving.

Mine has hit every bump in the country. Still haven't met a skangered up vw that can keep up with me ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Mine has hit every bump in the country. Still haven't met a skangered up vw that can keep up with me ;)
    I've also not had the same issue :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Alfa 155 8v?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

10k miles on my K&N, time for a recharge :) €19.99 in Halfords.

IMG_20160114_214524.jpg

Struggling to see any benefits so far. Don't really see any MPG difference I don't think, maybe it sounds a bit throatier though. €50 for the filter and €20 for the recharge would have bought me a lifetime supply of paper filters, so it's much of a muchness economy wise imo.

I knew your one had had a good bit of suspension work hence why I said it but with 300k km on it you wouldn't mind a bit of suspension work considering the engine and gearbox are good. Almost every 159 has quite high mileage even considering they are diesel most people must use them for long commutes etc.