Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Morris Moss

On a different note did anyone get a letter from them dept ***** today going on about over claiming and fines for the bps? I think k it was a general one and not directed at me but as usual you wouldn't know what it was about really.

Yeah got that myself today.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

Is it just a load of ****e morris? I didn't really read it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Morris Moss

Is it just a load of ****e morris? I didn't really read it.

Yeah just the usual, basically if your claiming you have more land than you do you'll get a fine, tis nothing to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

Fixture wrote: »
    You are right that no every processor needs spare capacity at peak but how much spare capacity was available in Ireland this year and where was it? Not much as far as I'm aware. And that was after crap April weather that affected peak cow yield.

One of the best dairy processors in the world Friesland Campina had to pay farmers 2cpl this year to curb supply as they had no capacity for the growth surge.

Take care with the use of this argument. I agree fully, Friesland Campina are one of if not the best processor is the world. It was probably great judgement that they did not employ overcapacity at this early stage.

The last 3 years have seen a massive increase in cow numbers on Dutch farms not for expansion or profitability reasons but so as to have the maximum number of cows possible loaded on before the intoduction of phosphorus limits. It turns out that they must now reduce numbers by 100,000.

Incidentally, profitability on farms went out the window due to this increase in cow numbers, but farmers took the decision that it was far more important to end up with as high a numbers Base as possible and sacrificed a number of years profit for it.

Luckily the coop have not overspent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

greysides wrote: »
    Rangler, I'd be using a poultice.....

Antibiotic seems to be working, it's finally starting to heal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Note to self, first thing to do is check that the fecking tank washed after collection.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

The main scraper in the cubicle house stopped working last night so there was 2 inches of crap on the floor this morning.

Had to wash all the cows:mad:

Turned out it was only a bolt holding the ram onto the track had ripped and fell out.

Winter has arrived, alright:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,747 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Long scraper off rail at botyom of track this morning. My back hates me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

whelan2 wrote: »
    Long scraper off rail at botyom of track this morning. My back hates me

Them scrapers seem temperamental enough in general remember working for a lad before that had 3 reckoned could cost 1000/1500 maintenance

They are great when they work right

6 scrapers here and in all fairness all bar one are 20+ years old it's mainly ware and tare really. Replacing tongues and catches, putting wings back on and the like the odd hydraulic hose Newest one is in since 09 and has never stopped or been touched. Altho it's got a thing in front of it that move along the track and clears the track

I see cork marts aren't going exporting calves anymore. Only saw headline not article could hit calf prices in spring

simx wrote: »
    Them scrapers seem temperamental enough in general remember working for a lad before that had 3 reckoned could cost 1000/1500 maintenance
    The one at the feed face has my patience tried at this stage but the one just between rows of cubicles is a dream with only the odd pair of nuts holding the track together coming off in 15 years and one hydraulic oil leak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

In the context of milk surveys have an oul Google for SmartAppi tssg. Amazing how cavalier govt agencies are with our info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

Mooooo wrote: »
    putting wings back on and the like
    What do you mean by this? On my old scraper (in since 96) the wings dont seem to fold out to the side anymore. Move them twice a day myself and no big issue but I've one cnut of cow that lies with her udder on the ground of the passage. Front half on mat, other half off it. I've tried everything with her from tying her up in a cubicle for 2 weeks straight a few times to watching her all day for a few days and not letting her lie wrong etc but she beat me. She's a serious cow so worried now she'll pick up something & was going to replace the whole scraper unless you know some knack for fixing the wings?

Signpost wrote: »
    What do you mean by this? On my old scraper (in since 96) the wings dont seem to fold out to the side anymore. Move them twice a day myself and no big issue but I've one cnut of cow that lies with her udder on the ground of the passage. Front half on mat, other half off it. I've tried everything with her from tying her up in a cubicle for 2 weeks straight a few times to watching her all day for a few days and not letting her lie wrong etc but she beat me. She's a serious cow so worried now she'll pick up something & was going to replace the whole scraper unless you know some knack for fixing the wings?

It's dairymaster ones I have. what happens generally is the split pin holding in the pin the wing hinges off rusts and the pin falls out or the part the pin sits into rusts and a new bit needs to be welded on. If yours aren't folding to.the side I think there is a bolt that keep them out far enough so when they start out after going back the will fold out as opposed to staying in front of the scraper

Ours are dairypower. I am fairly good at sorting out any problems and repair man is always at the end of the phone to tell me what to do if I cant sort it. Normally a broken wire or switch/solenoid needs replacing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Fixture

Mooooo wrote: »
    I see cork marts aren't going exporting calves anymore. Only saw headline not article could hit calf prices in spring

Yes it's a big blow. hopefully someone will take up the slack. They lost big on it this year apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Ye are overachieving in the price of ye'r calves already , its about time they took a bit of a bump. Dawg was selling limo sucks for 100€ so a rebalance was required imo

We accept the price we get, got 60 euro a head more in the mart a few weeks ago than what I was getting out of the yard. Who's the fool thats paying that extra money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,826 ✭✭✭visatorro

was introduced to teagasc profit monitor recently. was wondering is there is similar model in app form anyone uses or do you have to be a teagasc member. the teagasc on seemed very handy.
    something similar to the way herdwatch operates where you could literally stick in money spent as you go along would be fierce handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

The main scraper in the cubicle house stopped working last night so there was 2 inches of crap on the floor this morning.

Had to wash all the cows:mad:

Turned out it was only a bolt holding the ram onto the track had ripped and fell out.

Winter has arrived, alright:(

I have develop a serious dislike for auto scrapers..... Slatted tank only job

It wouldn't have worked here, the rock breaking alone would have broke me not to mind the poor lad (Ger) on the rock breaker.

I'd say he's still vibrating from the couple of days with it in the pit we did manage to dig:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

visatorro wrote: »
    was introduced to teagasc profit monitor recently. was wondering is there is similar model in app form anyone uses or do you have to be a teagasc member. the teagasc on seemed very handy.
    something similar to the way herdwatch operates where you could literally stick in money spent as you go along would be fierce handy.
    Not sure is this what your after? http://www.cashminder.ie/ Its not profit monitor but its a handy way to keep track of all your accounts online, or at least thats what it looks like! Going to set it up in December so can comment more then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,446 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Does anyone know what the stuff is that lads in U.K. (Especially) paint on there feed passages so cows aren't licking the rough concrete?
    If it'll work my idea is to paint the inside of the troughs with it so they've a smooth surface to lick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,704 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Does anyone know what the stuff is that lads in U.K. (Especially) paint on there feed passages so cows aren't licking the rough concrete?
    If it'll work my idea is to paint the inside of the troughs with it so they've a smooth surface to lick

U should try mr Barkley on Twitter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

It's a resin of some description. An extra 20' of feed space would give more RoI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

The GII survey must be very welcome to the guys constantly belly aching on here. It must be a great chance to tell them what ye think and the really great thing is it's not anonymous;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,446 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

It's a resin of some description. An extra 20' of feed space would give more RoI

Just on troughs in the parlour is all I'm thinking, concrete troughs. I wouldn't like licking sand paper all day either

The GII survey must be very welcome to the guys constantly belly aching on here. It must be a great chance to tell them what ye think and the really great thing is it's not anonymous;)

Alot of lads are saying they will not be sending it in. I don't know why, you dont have to fill it all in if you dont want. Also it gives a chance to have your say. Way too inquisitive imo. 2 pages would have been plenty. Glanbia seem to love wasting paper for some reason