Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

kowtow wrote:
    do you need anything special for the capacity from the pump to the parlour or is it just the single unit?

kowtow wrote:
    Are they expensive? A few hundred or so plus a bulb each year?

Mine feeds the house and parlour at the well, one pipe. Can't remember kt but reckon it was between 3 and 500 euros. Could get vat back for some reason either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,851 ✭✭✭✭Water John

It's fixed equipment. Plumb/wire in so that it comes on when the pump starts.
    Could be put at the outlet line from a water collecting tank also. Come on when the washer pump kicks is switched on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Hopefully lads don't lose the run of themselves and put in fairly optimistic projections our you'll see Bergin/Talbot reckon they need to invest another small fortune in processing and we'll be the clowns left footing the bill

I wouldnt like to see what sh1te I put down on mine back in 2013 or whenever the last one was, I was in utter dream land, thinking I'd double milk output within 2 or 3yrs etc ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,747 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Timmaay wrote: »
    I wouldnt like to see what sh1te I put down on mine back in 2013 or whenever the last one was, I was in utter dream land, thinking I'd double milk output within 2 or 3yrs etc ha.

Would they not be better off doing an annual one. Sure no one knows what they will be at in 4 years time. I'd say even from this time last year people have changed track

The one done for DG in 2012 is still hanging around the necks of their farmers.

Inthepit, your replies after a feed of pints should be interesting. Please copy here!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Water John wrote: »
    The one done for DG in 2012 is still hanging around the necks of their farmers.

Inthepit, your replies after a feed of pints should be interesting. Please copy here!!!

Not really, we fill out an an annual forecasting form anyway. more or less heading where I said I would anyway

Moo, the capital spend of DG was based on what people filled out in 2012.

The annual forecasting is not very important. May give management some idea of the volume to expect. But then that can vary with weather etc as well.

Really a one line answer should be sufficient, with some indication of calving pattern. The rest is scoping for info.

whelan2 wrote: »
    So did all ye Glanbia suppliers get your milk planning census 2017-2020? I'd say there will be some interesting comments on page 7. I am only filling in a few bits of it as I dont agree with the way the farmer has been treated this last 12 months. Also they are looking for way too much information in some parts of it.

7 pages? ours is one page, a couple of lines really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wats the craic

Mooooo wrote: »

glanbia always try their best to confuse and annoy their farmers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

Kerry sent a 1 page one last year, the quality of the paper used was absolutely brilliant for lighting the fire! When they want to commit to how they will pay long term I will start to inform them of my long term plans. Want to know what you ate for breakfast but won't tell you what price your milk is getting until 6 weeks after you supply it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

glanbia always try their best to confuse and annoy their farmers

It's not too hard in fairness.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,747 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Mooooo wrote: »
    Its actually 8 pages, interesting as the first msa will be up before the period of the census ends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,123 ✭✭✭jaymla627

whelan2 wrote: »
    Its actually 8 pages, interesting as the first msa will be up before the period of the census ends

It's unreal how intrusive the survey is, they basically want to know every facet of your plans going forward and basically get a insight into how much milk you'll produce even if they are paying a crap price, my one will be " sent in " but I reckon the f**s in an post will misplace it a haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Fixture

It's unreal how intrusive the survey is, they basically want to know every facet of your plans going forward and basically get a insight into how much milk you'll produce even if they are paying a crap price, my one will be " sent in " but I reckon the f**s in an post will misplace it a haha[/quote

Seems far too detailed for what they really need - which is a clear picture of how much peak processing capacity will be needed in next few yrs.

If they don't build enough we'll be hit with peak penalties or B pricing like U.K. and elsewhere.

Build too much and we are left to foot the bill.

Hopefully a large number of suppliers give their best estimate on that piece - how many cows you likely to milk in 2/3 years time.

PS would love to know why there's a question on zero grazers!?!

There is no shortage nor will there be of capacity in this country for many years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Bullocks wrote: »
    Will you get rid or bull her again , she would be getting a one way ticket here

She's staying, she's a pb cow and does have good calves in fairness

Fixture wrote: »
    It's unreal how intrusive the survey is, they basically want to know every facet of your plans going forward and basically get a insight into how much milk you'll produce even if they are paying a crap price, my one will be " sent in " but I reckon the f**s in an post will misplace it a haha[/quote

Seems far too detailed for what they really need - which is a clear picture of how much peak processing capacity will be needed in next few yrs.

If they don't build enough we'll be hit with peak penalties or B pricing like U.K. and elsewhere.

Build too much and we are left to foot the bill.

Hopefully a large number of suppliers give their best estimate on that piece - how many cows you likely to milk in 2/3 years time.

PS would love to know why there's a question on zero grazers!?!

To be fair they did try to introduce the seasonality pricing where suppliers who went over 16% of their annual supply in the may/June months where penalised and this was ment to go into a pot that payed out winter bonuses if you qualified....it was shot down and rightly so at the time as milk quotas where at play but present day theirs noting stopping them re-introducing the above

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

Mine will be a 3 word response to their survey, Go **** yereselves.

There is no shortage nor will there be of capacity in this country for many years.

That's not the case for the peak weeks as Arrabawn CEO confirmed at their agm this year. New drier coming on stream in LacPatrick next year but very little spare capacity at peak. There was 5% more cows this year. All the extra cows joining the herd are spring calvers that peak together. Cows that joined herd in last few years will yield more as they mature. Go to icbf website if you don't believe me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Maybe we need to draft an eight page questionnaire to send to the creameries so they can bring us up to date with their product plans, salary forecasts, competitive position, how they are going to determine milk price etc.

It's important to prepare ourselves to support them fully. Best practice.

They like best practice.

Every processor doesn't need peak capacity and spare. From a national point of view and farmers, wholly inefficient. Willy waving by managements. Cooperation, gradual rolling capital investment between processors.

You are right that no every processor needs spare capacity at peak but how much spare capacity was available in Ireland this year and where was it? Not much as far as I'm aware. And that was after crap April weather that affected peak cow yield.

One of the best dairy processors in the world Friesland Campina had to pay farmers 2cpl this year to curb supply as they had no capacity for the growth surge.

My understanding was that the two large new plants in Bellview and Mallow when working at full capacity can cater for expansion to 2020.

Again, as per West Cork. it is relatively cheap to have a second hand drier, which is what you do with peak, for small money.

Fixture wrote: »
    You are right that no every processor needs spare capacity at peak but how much spare capacity was available in Ireland this year and where was it? Not much as far as I'm aware. And that was after crap April weather that affected peak cow yield.

One of the best dairy processors in the world Friesland Campina had to pay farmers 2cpl this year to curb supply as they had no capacity for the growth surge.

It's pretty simple, glanbia and all the other co-ops can simply start to pay worthwhile bonuses for autumn/winter milk that will help level the supply profile our go drop another couple of 100 million on fancy dryers that churn out smp/wmp that will be dumped on the commodity market our end up in intervention....
    Unfortunately the current mindset of having everything calving in the spring and 90% calved in 6 weeks as per the teagasc handbook along with lots of grass and no meal "that's a big no no" mean on the vast majority of dairy farms will churn out 70% of their milk supply from April to August and in between you have milk lorries driving the country trying to gather up a load and factories on the go-slow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

just getting to read the gii milk planning census, from reading it it seems they are looking to use data to show why we should pay for extra capacity, hope they dont mind all my extra boxes drawn in as their section criteria is very narrow, should have left more space for extra comments:)

My understanding was that the two large new plants in Bellview and Mallow when working at full capacity can cater for expansion to 2020.

Again, as per West Cork. it is relatively cheap to have a second hand drier, which is what you do with peak, for small money.

Mallow is going in 2 stages if second one isn't required it won't be put up. hence the reason for annual forecasting g

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

On a different note did anyone get a letter from them dept ***** today going on about over claiming and fines for the bps? I think k it was a general one and not directed at me but as usual you wouldn't know what it was about really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

jaymla627 wrote:
    It's pretty simple, glanbia and all the other co-ops can simply start to pay worthwhile bonuses for autumn/winter milk that will help level the supply profile our go drop another couple of 100 million on fancy dryers that churn out smp/wmp that will be dumped on the commodity market our end up in intervention.... Unfortunately the current mindset of having everything calving in the spring and 90% calved in 6 weeks as per the teagasc handbook along with lots of grass and no meal "that's a big no no" mean on the vast majority of dairy farms will churn out 70% of their milk supply from April to August and in between you have milk lorries driving the country trying to gather up a load and factories on the go-slow

jaymla627 wrote:
    in between you have milk lorries driving the country trying to gather up a load and factories on the go-slow

Wasn't there a cost analysis a whole ago which calculated the cost differential of a flat supply profile.... think the dead capacity came to 1 or 2 cents a litre, and the upshot was spare capacity was cheaper than AYR calving? Might have it wrong.

Don't remember what approach it took to land labour etc..

News to me that there is a second hand drier in west Cork! Maybe you meant North Cork?? That drier handles milk from a co op with 100 suppliers but there's another 17500 of us that need milk processed.

It's there in WC for peak supply cover TMK.