Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,446 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

What's your ph?

6.3-6.5 soil tested in January gone

How many litres/ha are these lads putting out and what is there replacement+stocking rate?

Litres /ha?
    You mean solids/ha any where from 1500 up from the last few farms I've visited
    Generally all 2.5-2.7/ha on whole farm and any where from 3-3.7/ha on MP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Litres /ha?

When people say solids/ha is it the whole farm or the milking platform spoken off? I'd be 906 kg/ha over whole farm but 1350kg/ha over MP with 40 acres of 2 cut silage off the mp but 25 of maize bought in also stocked at 2.85/ha over whole farm but locked up.

Mooooo wrote: »
    When people say solids/ha is it the whole farm or the milking platform spoken off? I'd be 906 kg/ha over whole farm but 1350kg/ha over MP with 40 acres of 2 cut silage off the mp but 25 of maize bought in also stocked at 2.85/ha over whole farm but locked up.

The figs I put up there are mp

Okay assumed that alrite, I guess when talking of nitrates it would be better to talk of whole farm as it would be spread over all the acres. Have been in dero here for a while so any reduction could be an issue. Altho we'd be fairly high input so change to a lower input setup would be a possible solution as well, esp as for out inputs our yields wouldn't be quite up there anyway. BUT with heavy ground small cows or not there will be a lot of feeding some years. And obviously reducing stocking rate can reduce output so a balance would have to be found. ground we bought is mostly drier so will give some leeway once I have it up and running right. taking longer than I'd like but will get there eventually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Those silage pushers? Are they good and reliable or another for the ditch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Those silage pushers? Are they good and reliable or another for the ditch.

Effin brliant yokes.

I presume you mean the loader mounted ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Effin brliant yokes.

I presume you mean the loader mounted ones?

Yep! Are they hard to grab with the loader? Is the single wheel adequate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Bally closes every year for Dec. Any major phuck ups in Bell this summer?

None that I heard of. Things went curly on one occasion but only a few hours delay. Bally closes usually but I was told substantial refit of part of it being done this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

where did ye hear belview was at full capacity this year?

last we heard from our ceo was 800 of us were supplying belview, and its great quality they were getting we got a nice pat on the back, but it was only at half capacity

no serious issues in belview this year, well besides the obvious...not able to sell product got chinese market wrong, although workers have been well warned as lads are geting sick of dealing with bad press

issues in ballyragget instead, twil be cavan next year and then back to mexico the following year:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

where did ye hear belview was at full capacity this year?

last we heard from our ceo was 800 of us were supplying belview, and its great quality they were getting we got a nice pat on the back, but it was only at half capacity

no serious issues in belview this year, well besides the obvious...not able to sell product got chinese market wrong, although workers have been well warned as lads are geting sick of dealing with bad press

issues in ballyragget instead, twil be cavan next year and then back to mexico the following year:)
    Aren't ye lucky Nigeria is flying, so?:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,745 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I got the motor on my big set of scrapers redone during the summer. Change over valve is now giving trouble. Delayed me by 30 minutes milking this evening. Scraped some of them with hand scraper to speed things up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Yep! Are they hard to grab with the loader? Is the single wheel adequate?

Make it so that you can grab it with tines on loader to save swapping attachments constantly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Make it so that you can grab it with tines on loader to save swapping attachments constantly.

Got an old lorry tire complete with the wheel sitting here, I was thinking of welding/bolting a pipe on top to us as one. Do I need to let the tire rotate still?

I got a lad to make up a blade and welded it in to the frame of an old shear grab. Just drive along and then silage slides in to the barrier, blade pushes it beyond the wheel. Should of got him to put the same on the the other side as passage is narrow enough to do both sides at the one time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I got a lad to make up a blade and welded it in to the frame of an old shear grab. Just drive along and then silage slides in to the barrier, blade pushes it beyond the wheel. Should of got him to put the same on the the other side as passage is narrow enough to do both sides at the one time

Photos please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Timmaay wrote: »
    Got an old lorry tire complete with the wheel sitting here, I was thinking of welding/bolting a pipe on top to us as one. Do I need to let the tire rotate still?

Few years now since used it but was a truck tyre/hub sitting at a small angle down towards the silage (when in use#). Just welded a bar on with 2 smallish hoops at each end to fit on the grab tines.

Photos please!

Had to crop photo to make it fit but that's basically it. Other Side of blade is just straight bit at the back can be adjust to push beyond wheels

Photos please!

Had to crop photo to make it fit but that's basically it. Other Side of blade is just straight bit at the back can be adjust to push beyond wheels

401434.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Litres /ha?

Milk removes between 0.6-1g/p per l, liveweight 10g/p a kg. I'd be surprised if there was many farms in a deficit who were spreading their allowance.

Litres /ha?

Milk removes between 0.6-1g/p per l, liveweight 10g/p a kg. I'd be surprised if there was many farms in a deficit who were spreading their allowance.

Would you combine liveweight and milk figures for your cow then for the total?

It'd be (average milk sold/ha × 0.001)+(average lw sold/ha × 0.01)= kg/p/ha sold off farm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Yeah it's the wheel rotating the slides the silage in to one side otherwise it will just push the silage forward into a heap. I have the McCabe one seen on Journal. Very well made but you have to leave it on a few pallets so you can see where to line forks up with slots when picking it up. Great job with pit silage but I don't tend to use it as much when feeding bales

It'd be (average milk sold/ha × 0.001)+(average lw sold/ha × 0.01)= kg/p/ha sold off farm

That for me would be about 12kgs P/ha gone out in the tanker. So that leaves 15 kgs/ha left in soil.
    Supposed to take 100 units to lift 1index.

There inlies my point. It'll take me another 4 or 5 years to get to index 3 at my current production level. When my herd matures and milk output increases and milk platform SR increases I'll either have to rob P from outside blocks or just accept I'll never get to index 3 never mind 4

That for me would be about 12kgs P/ha gone out in the tanker. So that leaves 15 kgs/ha left in soil.

There inlies my point. It'll take me another 4 or 5 years to get to index 3 at my current production level. When my herd matures and milk output increases and milk platform SR increases I'll either have to rob P from outside blocks or just accept I'll never get to index 3 never mind 4

How do you spread your p through the year? When do you spread your slurry/dung? Do you outwinter heifers every year?

Edit. Could also be worth getting a proper pH meter for yourself, the lab test can give a misleading result as the soil is ground up before testing potentially changing the pH of the sample compared to the field

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

You'll have to add in cull cow and calf sales to your total sales as well, G2M, so there will be more than 12kgs/ha leaving every year.

How do you spread your p through the year? When do you spread your slurry/dung? Do you outwinter heifers every year?

Edit. Could also be worth getting a proper pH meter for yourself, the lab test can give a misleading result as the soil is ground up before testing potentially changing the pH of the sample compared to the field

Spread a big lump in start of season in form of 15 10 10 and then use up rest of my allowance between 10 10 20 for reseeds and pasture sward. Always get great grass with that regeime but the P allowance is what ms holding back the farm I think.
    Dung and slurry is spring and autumn

Spread a big lump in start of season in form of 15 10 10 and then use up rest of my allowance between 10 10 20 for reseeds and pasture sward. Always get great grass with that regeime but the P allowance is what ms holding back the farm I think.
    Dung and slurry is spring and autumn

I'd be of the opinion that to get the best efficiency out of it, a little and often through from patricks day to august is best. If there's any sort of a big hit of p there's going to be more locked up in totally unavailable forms. Slurry/dung should be treated similar where possible.
    If you really wanted to go mad at getting the most from your p you could try something deep rooted, chicory, red clover, festuloliums etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,121 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Massive earthquake is just after hitting the south Island in new Zealand, could knock about dairy farmers out their considerably, could drive on the next gdt auction nicely depending on damage to factories/roads etc, reported casualties too hopefully their isn't to much loss of life