Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Metropolis - new festival?

• Registered Users Posts: 24 drawde55

Anyone driven mad by the amount of talking at gigs these days? It's been bugging me for a while but yesterday at metropolis took the pi**
    I'm all for socialising but it's really affecting my enjoyment of gigs. I went to see tiga yesterday, seen him at body and soul this year, brilliant show but yesterday I was stood middle of stage pretty far up the front and I was surrounded by people with their backs to the stage talking s**t (loudly)
    Tiga is there playing absolute bangers and at one side of me there's lads discussing which season of vikings is best, on the other there's a girl on the phone making plans for next weekend and on front me theres a pack of lads with their shirts off chatting up every girl that walks past. Then I went to see the roots and it wasn't much better
    Might sound like I'm getting old but I pay good money and idiots ruin the experience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

drawde55 wrote: »
    Anyone driven mad by the amount of talking at gigs these days? It's been bugging me for a while but yesterday at metropolis took the pi**
    I'm all for socialising but it's really affecting my enjoyment of gigs. I went to see tiga yesterday, seen him at body and soul this year, brilliant show but yesterday I was stood middle of stage pretty far up the front and I was surrounded by people with their backs to the stage talking s**t (loudly)
    Tiga is there playing absolute bangers and at one side of me there's lads discussing which season of vikings is best, on the other there's a girl on the phone making plans for next weekend and on front me theres a pack of lads with their shirts off chatting up every girl that walks past. Then I went to see the roots and it wasn't much better
    Might sound like I'm getting old but I pay good money and idiots ruin the experience

Half the time, people are going to gigs just to say they were there. It's like a night out in the pub instead of actually being at a gig and listening to the band. Drives me insane!:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭frantic190

I think I've spent more time queuing at this festival than actually enjoying the music. Also anyone see that lawsuit waiting to happen outside the mens toilets in the main hall? Every 3rd person slipping on the floor last night.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

tried to queue last night into Tiga but they weren't letting anyone in, so just went to the main hall.
    no problems today, saw Benji B at Arcadia who was great. Four Tet was ok, seen him better tbh, Jamie xx was brilliant, Jeff Mills smashed it out. Heard Gorgio Moroder was laughably bad, cheesy EDM ****.
    pity it was POD organising it as they're always poor but not bad enough to ruin it. overall pretty decent festival, would definitely go back next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,243 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Jamie XX was phenomenal! After party wasnt great thou

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭lbj666

tried to queue last night into Tiga but they weren't letting anyone in, so just went to the main hall.
    no problems today, saw Benji B at Arcadia who was great. Four Tet was ok, seen him better tbh, Jamie xx was brilliant, Jeff Mills smashed it out. Heard Gorgio Moroder was laughably bad, cheesy EDM ****.
    pity it was POD organising it as they're always poor but not bad enough to ruin it. overall pretty decent festival, would definitely go back next year.

You can knock POD, but they are the only one of the bigger promotors that would actually come up with the idea for a festival like this.

Aiken wouldn't bother their arse , MCD would wait for someone else to try it and take the risk and then steal the idea for themselves. The smaller operations like the lads who do Life have had a mix of events that have gone well to total disasters.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,791 ✭✭✭sweetie

would have been nice if your ticket got a discount at the after parties. Saw a lot of people going into the sugar club and coming back out when they found out it was €20

• Registered Users Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭lc180

Had a good weekend overall, thought the setup was cool and had zero problems getting to/from the festival which is a massive plus.

Thought The Roots were really disappointing, crowd didn't get going at all and the lead singer looked pretty unimpressed. They had some fella doing a 15 min Mario Bros solo on a synth deck...... what the hell was that about? The noise bleed from Industries was also really noticeable.

Will probably go back next year but depends on if I snag an early bird.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

I was impressed with it, the only time I had any issues queuing was going in for Todd Terje, I probably missed the first 20 minutes of him but didn't find myself queuing that long for anything else (well, apart from the toilets!). Pretty much every act I saw was very good, Le Galaxie, Get Down Edits, Kellyanne Byrne, Todd Terje & Flight Facilities were all good on the Saturday and then Mark Ronson, Jamie XX, Chic and Kaytranada were all good yesterday. Giorgio Moroder was brutal, left after about 15 minutes because he was playing crappy EDM remixes of all his songs, the crowd weren't into it at all. Sound was good at all of the stages, my favourite stage was probably the industries hall as it was quite spacious and had multiple bars.

Went to the Flight Facilities after party too which was also good fun, fairly packed though and the hour or so it took us to get to District 8 after the RDS really took it out of me, I was wrecked by the time it hit 2am.

Line up was brilliant when you think about it, got to see a good few of my favourite Irish and international acts and that's factoring in missing the likes of Tiga & Four Tet, heard that Kerri Chandler was brilliant too. Spent a small fortune but would definitely go back next year if they can get a similar standard of line up!

• Registered Users Posts: 427 ✭✭MGMTea

anyone already thinking about next year's line up :D ? Bringing back Four Tet and getting Caribou there would be class.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Caribou would get me on board again straight away, tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

I was just talking to someone about this, was out a club gig recently and the amount of people who just talk at the top of their lungs around you is astounding, if you want a chat go to the bar or something. People on the phone is another thing. I've noticed it more here compared to European festivals I've been at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭Sever Tomorrow

lc180 wrote: »
    Thought The Roots were really disappointing, crowd didn't get going at all and the lead singer looked pretty unimpressed. They had some fella doing a 15 min Mario Bros solo on a synth deck...... what the hell was that about? The noise bleed from Industries was also really noticeable.

Only went on the Saturday for The Roots myself. I seen some lad criticizing them for the gig on Questloves personal instagram. Ended up getting a pissy response from the man himself and explanations saying that they were given 1hr 15 down from their usual 3hr long sets, stuff about catering to fans and people who'd never heard of them before, not just the diehards.

I can see his view but the critic absolutely had a fair point. There's so much great Roots material, they had a set with more than a few covers and that "solo break" with Jeremy Ellis on the samplers got old and tiresome fast. Most of the band were essentially taking a break and drinking sidestage at this point. Questlove said Ellis' section went on for 5mins, it seemed longer than that, that's not to mention Questloves drum solo. This section was a real dampener in my opinion and I was really hoping the band would get back on and play some great Roots material.

Enjoyed songs like the Fire, You Got Me and The Seed 2.0 but with the sections of the gig that killed any momentum and energy, along with some eejits either drunk/on drugs (one topless idiot in particular) bashing off people in the front rows, took away from the enjoyment. Security had a lax attitude. Two lads standing at the side and not really engaged or bothered with the trouble in the center of the crowd.

I guess this is marketed as an EDM festival mainly, wasn't the best place to see them but they don't gig a lot anymore.

Someone mentioned the toilets earlier, not much organization there. 80% of the people in one particular mens toilets (one at the back to the right) were women at any one time. There was a womens toilet right beside that mens one too. Were women undercatered for or something? I noticed at least two other womens toilets in the place.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭lbj666

Only went on the Saturday for The Roots myself. I seen some lad criticizing them for the gig on Questloves personal instagram. Ended up getting a pissy response from the man himself and explanations saying that they were given 1hr 15 down from their usual 3hr long sets, stuff about catering to fans and people who'd never heard of them before, not just the diehards.

I can see his view but the critic absolutely had a fair point. There's so much great Roots material, they had a set with more than a few covers and that "solo break" with Jeremy Ellis on the samplers got old and tiresome fast. Most of the band were essentially taking a break and drinking sidestage at this point. Questlove said Ellis' section went on for 5mins, it seemed longer than that, that's not to mention Questloves drum solo. This section was a real dampener in my opinion and I was really hoping the band would get back on and play some great Roots material.

Enjoyed songs like the Fire, You Got Me and The Seed 2.0 but with the sections of the gig that killed any momentum and energy, along with some eejits either drunk/on drugs (one topless idiot in particular) bashing off people in the front rows, took away from the enjoyment. Security had a lax attitude. Two lads standing at the side and not really engaged or bothered with the trouble in the center of the crowd.

I guess this is marketed as an EDM festival mainly, wasn't the best place to see them but they don't gig a lot anymore.

Someone mentioned the toilets earlier, not much organization there. 80% of the people in one particular mens toilets (one at the back to the right) were women at any one time. There was a womens toilet right beside that mens one too. Were women undercatered for or something? I noticed at least two other womens toilets in the place.

Well considering EDM is a term reserved for Guetta and Avicii and the likes it certainly isn't, but what i found it no matter what type of lineup you put on in dublin now, those knobs more at home at a Guetta gig seem to show up everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Le Galaxie, Chic, Arcadia and Jeff Mills were my highlights. First time i seen Four Tet and was well disappointed. His 10 minute intro was a pain in the hole. The next 40 minutes had a few good bits but not enough to keep us there so we legged it to mark Ronson. He was another pain the hole. Playing no more than 20 or 30 seconds of every song. Thank God for Chic and Jeff Mills

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭byrneg28

Nah man I'm 24 - (not sure what you call old) but it's ridiculous. I was at KiNK in Serpentine Hall and there was this bloke in like a nike windbreaker and a bucket hat. He walked right back and took a picture of three girls all hunzo characters arms around each other, skirts, heels. Walked right through me and gave out that I stood in front of the photo (while dancing). Alright, benefit of the doubt.

Then they reviewed the picture, didn't like it and asked him to take another. To which I said 'f**k your picture, if you want to take it, take it over there by the wall or I'm dancing right in front of it' don't come to a 'music' festival to take pictures on the dance floor.

So frustrating

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

If you paid for him you should have got to see him, you should have went in and pulled some people out of there, you have every right to see him. You should get a ticket refund seeing as you didn't get to see who you wanted.

Im guessing your taking the piss. Terje should have been in the main hall.

Was there a big crowd at The Roots?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

byrneg28 wrote: »
    Nah man I'm 24 - (not sure what you call old) but it's ridiculous. I was at KiNK in Serpentine Hall and there was this bloke in like a nike windbreaker and a bucket hat. He walked right back and took a picture of three girls all hunzo characters arms around each other, skirts, heels. Walked right through me and gave out that I stood in front of the photo (while dancing). Alright, benefit of the doubt.

Then they reviewed the picture, didn't like it and asked him to take another. To which I said 'f**k your picture, if you want to take it, take it over there by the wall or I'm dancing right in front of it' don't come to a 'music' festival to take pictures on the dance floor.

So frustrating

The hunzos are all heading out to techno gigs in the past couple of years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭Sever Tomorrow

lbj666 wrote: »
    Well considering EDM is a term reserved for Guetta and Avicii and the likes

Haha, I realise that now. Didn't intend for that to sound derogatory, should have just said electronic music. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

EDM is a phrase Americans use is it not? We just call it electronic music or dance music?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

What a hunzos?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭lc180

Bowlardo wrote: »
    What a hunzos?

u ok hun???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

What was the crowd like?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

bigpink wrote: »
    What was the crowd like?

I didn't think it was bad at all. Most people were there either for the music, or to have a laugh, or both.

Didn't feel too rough or anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

lc180 wrote: »
    u ok hun???
    inbox me bbz xx

• Registered Users Posts: 41 Sineadbcoyle

Any women's toilet had at least a 30 minute wait - some girls resorted to finding somewhere to pee outside and even at the edge of the stages! I think you're talking about the toilets at the Shelbourne Hall? If so, there were 2 disabled toilets next to the men's, as well as a women's toilet. It was quicker queuing for the disabled ones, but not by much (35 minutes).

Great weekend though. Maybe if they promised to put in some portaloos for next time, I'd have very little to complain about.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

I didn't think the organization was too bad. Was at Tiga then left to meet a friend and wasn't let back in when I came back but that's more my fault I suppose. Crowd was grand, though with some of the more less engaging acts you could notice that most people in the room were having chats or had their back turned to the stage the further out you got. Wasn't a rough crowd at all, though there was the usual few people who were a bit too out of it.

Was underwhelmed by Todd Terje. Left Four Tet during his intro (probably should have stayed to see some of the rest of his set) to go see Mark Ronson and he really got the crowd going, even if he was playing two or three tunes a minute at times. Hot Chip were fantastic. Enjoyed sets by Booka Brass Band and Le Galaxie. Flight Facilities after party on Saturday night in District 8 was also great craic, the two lads were really getting into it.

Was a big fan of the Arcadia Tower. Some tasty techno there over the weekend and was good craic dancing on the "branches".

• Registered Users Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Yeah I thought there was a good crowd at it. Didn't see many scumbags at all, there was a fair share of the hunzo crew and people who were too mad out of it but you're going to get them at any event like that, they don't really bother anyone in fairness. My memory of Todd Terje is a bit hazy to be honest, remember him playing Lanzarote, Inspector Norse, Whitney Houston, Eurodans and Ragysh(?) but can't remember much else. Some friends of mine thought that for a lot of acts in the Shelbourne Hall that the crowd didn't really get into it, would possibly agree having seen Todd Terje, Flight Facilities & Kaytranada in there, although everyone was well up for Jamie XX.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,876 ✭✭✭Easy Rod

I only went on the Saturday and had a great time, Cloud Castle Lake, Booka Brass and Hot Chip my highlights.

I wasn't overly fussed on some of the bands with queues so just gave them a miss. I thought it was quite well organised other than that as I wasn't affected by the toilet issue either.

Hopefully it's back next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭Blut2

What were the crowd size like on the different days? Was it close to full? Outside the RDS seemed very quiet whenever I was passing by.

I wonder if it'll be back next year.