Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What games have you been playing lately?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

thoroughly enjoying the culling. great fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

After ages of sitting around on the 3rd last level I finally got around to finishing Homeworld: Deserts of Kharak.

The campaign is a lot of fun. You need to get a feel for the squishy units (and that kinda works against the veterancy system they have) but it's solid.

The balance is a bit fiddlier than the other Homeworld games and how you manage your army doesn't quite gel as well.
    There's only 1 "fighter" unit, and it's ****, so you basically dont use it once you don't have to.
    The "corvette" unit is a must, because it has smoke grenades that obscure LOS which is very important.
    Railguns are irritating to deal with but fairly useless to have because they're so slow, weak and relatively impotent.
    You don't need AA until the last mission because the AI never uses aircraft.

Bombers can't hit moving targets, fighters have bad targeting AI where you could have 15 of them and they all shoot all their missiles at 1 strikecraft and you only get max 2 gunships, which are the most fun and the only thing that's any good against smaller units.

It's only a pity that the rest of the missions weren't as dynamic and difficult as the last.

Most missions you go from site to site gobbling up resources and playing conservatively, but all of a sudden you need to get more mobile and defend yourself from all angles and it makes the whole thing much more interesting.

Good clean fun. Solid RTS and some cool lore if you're a fan of Homeworld as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Getting plenty of time with Witcher 3 over the bank holiday. :D

Just wrapped up the final achievement in Sheltered a couple of days ago. On a bit of an achievement buzz atm. Working through Neon Chrome, Viridi, Lego Minifigures Online (before it shuts down) and Time Clickers atm. My to-do list is getting out of control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭Robert ninja

The Ultimate Doom with GZDoom source port. So good.

Chivalry. Finally getting around to getting my money's worth out of it. Great game but hate the way all the cosmetics are DLC and the slow levelling. Really not into levelling much for PvP stuff.

Insurgency. Doing PvP with that now, too. Quite difficult.

MGSV. Still doing a few FOBs to keep up with the grind. Need crazy resources to upgrade my security devices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Internet Friend

Have had The Long Dark in my library since christmas and hadn't played it yet so downloaded it last night and fired it up thinking it'd be a nice relaxing game. Well I was fooled, did the usual and stuck it up to hardest settings, within minutes I'd sprained my characters wrist and ankle and was then mauled by a wolf. Didn't even last an hour (in game time)...wonderful, time to learn how to survive!

Lots of KSP and Fallout 4 (new survival mode is a drag) has been played too.

Played a little bit of MGSV last night, but got quickly bored.

Had a game of Crawl with herself, seriously good fun and I really enjoyed how it worked, shame it's local multiplayer only, because if we could get some more folks in on this it would be an absolute blast.

Also started The Fall which was the game I got from the Steamgifts boards group, and had kinda forgotten about until someone reminded me about it. Oops. Only a little into it, but it's already reminding me somewhat of side-scrolling Stasis with the dark, sci-fi type of vibe. Controls took a little getting used to, but so far I'm really liking it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I really enjoyed The Fall but its been a couple of years since its release and still no sign of the second part of the trilogy.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭sirboby

I got a free Air brawl steam key and im loving it!
    Its like a better TF2, but with planes :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,192 ✭✭✭Glebee

Call of Duty: Ghost was on sale somewhere last week so I gave it a try.
    Its not as bad as i though it was going to be. Campaign is very linear but has some nice set pieces. Multiplay is ok, but not really into multiplayer. On the last mission, think ill give Assassin Creed:Rogue a go next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

I *finally* finished off Lords of Shadow 2. I absolutely loved the first one, but the second one never quite hit the same heights. Firstly, the forced stealth sections were dire, and absolutely pointless in the context of the game. I get that you're supposed to be weaker at the start, but when you've gotten stronger, it would have made sense to be able to beat those guards instead. Never happened.

Secondly, the story. It relied waaaaaaaaay too much on the Mirror of Fate 2D game that came out in between. Firstly, it's primarily a 3DS game. Yeah, they released it on other consoles eventually but it's still a portable game ported to home consoles. It wasn't particularly good either. It was released on the PC the day before Lords of Shadow 2 as well, so you're unlikely to have played it before this game.

I've glad I've finally gotten through it, and it had some good sequences, but compared to the first, which I'd easily rate as one of the top 10 games from the last generation, it was very disappointing.

Moving onto GTAV now, with WWE 2K16 and Alien Isolation when I get bored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭Cravez

Playing alot of Dark Souls 3 since its release. Running few character builds, currently running an SL1 build and a good chunk completed.Going to try get all the achievements for DS3 also.

Other than that still playing Rainbow Six Siege as my go-to Multiplayer FPS experience and looking forward to the new Map/Operators dropping this week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

I played Masochisia from start to finish the other day (<2 hours) as part of trying to beat my backlog.

I can't say I enjoyed it but it's a unique experience, based on a boy following his abusive family into psychosis. It wasn't what I thought it would be when I bought it and I'll never play it again, but I appreciate that the developer tried something different and dealt with some difficult subject matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Lately I don't have much time to play, specially pc, but I got mad max in monthly bundle and I always wanted to play it. Mad max universe is just flipping amazing. I bet they would make awesome mmorpg hehe.
    So I started it and really loving it. Everything is done so damn well. Great sound, Musoc, driving feels amazing, love upgrades. Usually I don't like games like far cry as they are just bloated with to do lists, but somehow mad max does it right. I don't feel like bombarded with crap yet amd game have not turned In to "to do" list, but more of a "need more scrap amd oh, what's there!" voice acting and characters are pretty damn cool. Put 5h in to it in last so far and that's impressive, knowing my limited time.

It's a shame it was launched with some other high named game back in the day. Was it metal gear? I think release date damaged it a lot. I really hope it did well financially and they will make one more. Meanwhile I will play that.

Last week I started playing on private wow server. Lads found some vanilla server and I played pretty much my whole day off! It was fantastic!!! I haven't had so much fun in wow since... Since vanilla I guess lol, my interest completely gone with cataclysm expansion, since then I bought every wow and never reached max level for expansions, while they were new. Shocking how wrong they did it.
    I still got 1 year sub voucher in drawer and beta access for legion. I way more prefer vanilla. Its a shame blizzard are not doing vanilla servers as I would be subbed day one!!! I can't play on that private server on my days off, because it's down from all ddos attacks. Its coming back up Sunday, but I am back to work from tomorrow on. :(

Finished up with The Fall there, god damn that's a cliffhanger!

Also played a bit of Armello, only played the prologue/tutorial so far, but it seems really good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Taylor365

Lately I don't have much time to play, specially pc, but I got mad max in monthly bundle and I always wanted to play it. Mad max universe is just flipping amazing. I bet they would make awesome mmorpg hehe.
    So I started it and really loving it. Everything is done so damn well. Great sound, Musoc, driving feels amazing, love upgrades. Usually I don't like games like far cry as they are just bloated with to do lists, but somehow mad max does it right. I don't feel like bombarded with crap yet amd game have not turned In to "to do" list, but more of a "need more scrap amd oh, what's there!" voice acting and characters are pretty damn cool. Put 5h in to it in last so far and that's impressive, knowing my limited time.
    Forget the scrap, unlock the solo Mad max car and you're golden. Feels like a much better game just cruising around in the iconic motor solo. I got sick of scrap half way through and had more fun not collecting stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Playing through the Dreamfall games at the moment. Finished Dreamfall:the longest journey last week. Terrible voice acting and comat aside I really enjoyed it and now im playing Chapters, which a couple of hours in is really good so far.

Picked up Salt & Sanctuary, only played about an hour, but so far I'm fairly impressed.

Also played a game of Armello and didn't fare so well.

Besides that, and some Witcher 3 yesterday, haven't had a huge amount of time for gaming this week at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭Asaiah

Factorio, a great game but my what a time-sink!

Giving Volume a go tonight, having some weird controller glitches though which is making it annoying, but so far so good. Nice pure stealth game very inspired by MGS VR missions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,768 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

Spaz 2 - super fun for less than 20 quid, i've racked up nearly 60 hours so far!

Cities skylines.

Iv spent so long on it the past weekend, its nearly as bad as civ :P
    I love makeing small parts of the city look nice(usually with tress), but i can never seem to keep myself focused on one city, i keep changing maps :)

Slowly making my way through Doom doing one mission per day at most. I'm shocked at how good it is after being horribly disappointed by the multiplayer beta.

Multiplayer is still ****. It doesn't know what it wants to be. Its a weird mish-mash of CoD, Halo and Quake. The loadouts ruin it. Every weapon has to be balanced since you can spawn with them. Its okay for weapons to be imbalanced if they are scattered around the map like every arena shooter has done for eternity. Rocket launcher feels neutered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Spaz 2 - super fun for less than 20 quid, i've racked up nearly 60 hours so far!

Man, I do love me some high quality energy weapons.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Dragons Dogma,man I love that game, I love recruiting new pawns, one of the guys I have atm sounds like pee wee herman :-p.

Playing Overwatch atm and can't get enough of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

I've been sinking a good few hours into ArmA 3 and FFX.

I can easily see ArmA taking over my life!

Overwatch is consuming me. I played a game of CSGO last night. First time in weeks. I can't believe I'm saying this but I think I'm finally done with that franchise. I've been playing for 20 years.

I started playing Steamworld Hesit seems like a pretty good game :)

Been a little burned out with Overwatch

Enjoying the hell out of Steamworld Heist, really good so far.

Attempted to launch the Doom demo, but something went horribly wrong.