Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2015 All Ireland Senior Football Championship

• Registered Users Posts: 327 ✭✭Jampip

DDC1990 wrote: »
    What on earth was McQuillan doing giving Cavanagh a black card?

What rule book did he consult that told him that challenge was anything near a black card?

Cavanagh pulled a man running past him down. That's the definition of a black card for me.

Thought it was a great game of football. The weather and off the ball stuff took away from it second half but still great intensity and a great way to start the coverage this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,363 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Jampip wrote: »
    Cavanagh pulled a man running past him down. That's the definition of a black card for me.

Thought it was a great game of football. The weather and off the ball stuff took away from it second half but still great intensity and a great way to start the coverage this year.
    He didn't pull the man to ground deliberately or come anywhere near it!

He grabbed the jersey, and the Donegal man threw himself down but that in itself is not a black card.

If it was, then Lacey and Reilly would have been sent off for their high tackles instead of yellows.

It was a yellow at best.

McQuillan wasn't helped by the players one bit either, with some serious fúck-acting all day, diving, sledging, body checking etc.

But its all ok, shur its a mans game, good hard football... :rolleyes:

EDIT: The last part isn't aimed at you but the likes of Martin Carney who joked about the off the ball stuff all game as if it was just to be expected and taken lightly. Rory Gallagher's comment on the half time fracas were "Shur it was just two teams going in at half time". Micheael Murphy commented, that "Its Ulster championsjip, its no different to any other year".

DDC1990 wrote: »
    He didn't pull the man to ground deliberately or come anywhere near it!

He grabbed the jersey, and the Donegal man threw himself down but that in itself is not a black card.

If it was, then Lacey and Reilly would have been sent off for their high tackles instead of yellows.

It was a yellow at best.

Cavanagh's hand was near the player's neck and he brought him down. For me, he pulled him down and it was a black card.

I don't know the other tackles you talk about but the problem with the black card is that it's nigh on useless. Refs just don't use it now.

• Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭MattB11

What did people honestly expect from the likes of Murphy and Gallagher when asked about the off the ball stuff? It happens in GAA and not only in ulster stop bloody moaning

MattB11 wrote: »
    What did people honestly expect from the likes of Murphy and Gallagher when asked about the off the ball stuff? It happens in GAA and not only in ulster stop bloody moaning

The amount of Ulster bashing on this thread has been ridiculous tbh. I read through it after the game.

Nice to see people are still taking an interest in the utterings of that idiot Spillane.

One poster even predicted before the game that the two teams wouldn't have ten points between them by half time.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,770 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Cavanagh's was 100% not a black card

keane2097 wrote: »

This reminds me of the time Roy Keane said Nani's red card was a red card and Bryan Robson said nobody else in Old Trafford thought it was. Keane's response, "well the ref obviously thought it was".

You can't say something 100% wasn't a black card. The rules are far too grey and it's a ridiculous statement to be honest.

Have a look at Twitter. Opinion is divided on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,520 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Jampip wrote:
    You can't say something 100% wasn't a black card. The rules are far too grey and it's a ridiculous statement to be honest.

If it wasn't a Black Card then it probably deserved to be a Yellow as it was high. End result would have been same.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,327 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

keane2097 wrote: »

Well then it was a yellow. Same result. It was very similar to O'Reilly's yellow early on and nobody is complaining about it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 146 ✭✭LiamNeeson

Tyrone players have always been fond of acting the maggot, I have a newspaper from 2001 in my drawer with a photo of the clown "Mugsy" grabbing Derry manager Eamon Coleman by the t shirt and pulling it.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

LiamNeeson wrote: »
    Tyrone players have always been fond of acting the maggot, I have a newspaper from 2001 in my drawer with a photo of the clown "Mugsy" grabbing Derry manager Eamon Coleman by the t shirt and pulling it.

No way? That's awesome.
    I'm so jealous.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭zetecescort

what are the GAA's rules regarding dealing with incidents after a game? plenty footage to look back on today!

Slattsy wrote: »
    No way? That's awesome.
    I'm so jealous.

a clown, a dub no doubt

• Registered Users Posts: 17,770 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

It was possibly a yellow definitely not a black

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

Sledging in Gaa is new?. The word may be new, but thats all.

However surprised, ahem, that none of the Sunday Game panel tonight mentioned Aidan O'Mahony's pioneering role in launch of this so-called new aspect of Gaelic Games.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭threeball

delaad wrote: »
    Sledging in Gaa is new?. The word may be new, but thats all.

However surprised, ahem, that none of the Sunday Game panel tonight mentioned Aidan O'Mahony's pioneering role in launch of this so-called new aspect of Gaelic Games.

I thought his main contribution to the world of Gaa was feigning injury.

Sledging goes back to the 70's

• Registered Users Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Might be time for a clear out pal.
    a clown, a dub no doubt
    Feckin Dubs :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

That point from Brian Kavanagh was incredible.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭zetecescort

They should have microphones in those GPS sports bra yokes so we can hear whats said.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

threeball wrote: »
    I thought his main contribution to the world of Gaa was feigning injury.

Sledging goes back to the 70's

Agree with you 100% about sledging being around since, for sure, the '70's.

Just, in an admittedly clumsy way, referring to O'Mahony's no doubt by now legendary role in negativing Murphy in last years final.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

They should have microphones in those GPS sports bra yokes so we can hear whats said.

Business plan for next year's Ulster championship - have a coupe of those boom mikes with the sideways umbrella yokes on them targetted at the likely offenders and broadcast it on a radio signal (like they used do with rugby refs) so that the crowd can listen in. Would really add to the atmosphere.

#nothingbeatsbeingabletohearthesledging

• Registered Users Posts: 307 ✭✭North of 32

Will the CCCCCCCCCCCCCCC be reviewing today's brawls?

I would imagine there a few political insults used within that sledging caper, Joe Brolly wrote a good article about that

http://www.derryjournal.com/news/columnists/brolly-s-bites-north-men-south-men-comrades-all-my-arse-1-3674549

However to be fair if I was playing against a team like Tyrone or Armagh I would most likely call them Brits too even though I am a Northern Ireland native too.

I was thinking that a good insult a Donegal man could use on a Tyrone man is that Tyrone is actually named after a Donegal man, Eoghan MacNeill, he is buried in Inishowen too.

STB. wrote: »
    Might be time for a clear out pal.

Feckin Dubs :)

no, my 1993 newspapers have turned yellow though

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Boom__Boom wrote: »
    Business plan for next year's Ulster championship - have a coupe of those boom mikes with the sideways umbrella yokes on them targetted at the likely offenders and broadcast it on a radio signal (like they used do with rugby refs) so that the crowd can listen in. Would really add to the atmosphere.

#nothingbeatsbeingabletohearthesledging

That's actually a damm fine idea !

• Registered Users Posts: 967 ✭✭✭J Cheever Loophole

Jampip wrote: »
    One poster even predicted before the game that the two teams wouldn't have ten points between them by half time.

To be fair Jampip, that poster was Stinicker.
    Stinicker wrote: »
    I expect it to be pure vintage puke, the combined score will be less than 10 points at half time.

A valuable poster here in so far as he generates a lot of mirth.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,756 ✭✭✭corny

royaler83 wrote: »
    Not nearly as despicable as Tyrone. Justin McMahon spent his afternoon trying to get a rise out of murphy, murphy as cool as a breeze with those frees, mcmahon was wasting his energy

I know the lads on the Sunday game highlighted this with indigence but the truth is Murphy was the one creating the hassle. He barged Cavanagh, was first man in more than once and generally had chat for all and sundry. Cavanagh on the other hand was generally reactive and not proactive.

I'd argue Tyrone were well up for the shenanigans alright but they weren't half as calculating as the likes of Murphy, Magee and Gallagher. There's method to their general nastiness. They're (Donegal) best in the business at that stuff.

BTW McMahon had a very good game.

corny wrote: »
    I know the lads on the Sunday game highlighted this with indigence but the truth is Murphy was the one creating the hassle. He barged Cavanagh, was first man in more than once and generally had chat for all and sundry. Cavanagh on the other hand was generally reactive and not proactive.

I'd argue Tyrone were well up for the shenanigans alright but they weren't half as calculating as the likes of Murphy, Magee and Gallagher. There's method to their general nastiness. They're (Donegal) best in the business at that stuff.

I wouldn't see Donegal as any better than any of the top teams at it, and I'd include Kerry in it. Did O'Shea not even say that on The Sunday Game that one of the first things you teach a young lad at training is to leave the hand in.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

What a crock of shÍte that post is.

Poor Sean, the wee lamb himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,327 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Don't let your hatred of the "despicable" :rolleyes: Donegal cloud your judgement! Were you at the game? If you weren't you didn't see half of what went on. I watched the full game after and it missed 99% of the off the ball stuff. Every time Murphy went to make a run, McMahon stepped in front of him and grabbed his jersey by the scruff of the neck. He fouled him all day long and got away with it.

Then they had that other clown of a Maor Forine running down the line abusing the linesman for the whole game and started the melee at half time when he ran in and pushed Murphy in the back and then had a go at Durcan.