If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Nintendo Switch (Nintendo's next console)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Oh yes, project it onto the ceiling!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

Some writers are saying it might have the power of a ps4 ,this makes no sense ,If you put ps4 chips into a 5 inch console it would overheat
    and have maybe 1 hour battery life .
    Going by the trailer it looks as if it has graphics similar to a wii u .
    Maybe the dock could have a 2.5inch hardrive or an sdcard slot to allow games
    to be downloaded from the e shop onto a 32gig card .
    This will have to be less than 300 euro,s to compete with the ps4 ,xbox 1
    or else it,ll be limited to just older nintendo fans .
    casual gamers are used to playing games on phones ,or tablets ,
    Android games are 2 to 10 euro and theres loads of free to play games .
    Its very smart how they designed the joy con controllers ,but you can also play mario kart
    or say skyrim using the more advanced xbox style controller on a hd tv from the dock.
    i,d hope the dock has a wifi chip and an 10/100 ethernet port for easy online gaming .
    Nintendo have a lot of patents for gadgets and console add ons , which are never
    actually put into production

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Banjo wrote: »
    Look, if the last couple of years taught us anything it's that :
    Nintendo are willing to get behind a developer for a niche project in the right circumstances ( Bayonetta 2)
    Nintendo and Microsoft can see eye to eye in the right circumstances (Minecraft, Rare replay)

And when you put that together, you get Nintendogs vs Kinectimals : Melée.

The Switch puppy needs to be a pre-order bonus... I know that would set the whole "Nintendo is for kids!" arguement back about 100 years but **** those teenage fanboys, no one cares what they think and that thing is adorable.

Anyone read up about the Switch's R2D2-esque projection system?
    http://www.polygon.com/2016/10/24/13379434/nintendo-switch-secret-projector

Oh Banjo, you were doing so well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,644 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Pac1Man wrote: »
    Oh yes, project it onto the ceiling!

Their projections for the Switch are through the roof!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    Their projections for the Switch are through the roof!

29931927594_af96f9384b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,644 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Someone had to do it and I'll gladly take the bullet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

I feel its very important that we all take a moment to accept that the best case scenario here is a device that's slightly too big to fit in your pocket, doesn't have quite as much power as the WiiU and has insufficient battery for true on the go use.

That way we can, at worst, feel a dead sense of resignation when the preorder is delivered.

And at best, when the PS4-killer in your pocket beams a 6 inch high Iwata on to your hand and he tells you that he will always live on in yours and the hearts of all true gamers (but your battery life is now under 10% : find an outlet or save your game!), well you'll be pleasantly surprised. And weeping.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Unlike you shower of cynical so and so's I shall remain blissfully happy with the state of the new Nintendo console and can't wait to see more!
    March 2017 can't come quickly enough!

I'm really happy with the switch and I can't wait for it. I'm just not excited for the third party content, or lack of it. Which is fine, cos I wouldn't want the switch to end up as a second fiddle XB1 or PS4 anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,451 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

I need to know so much more. We know very little and I've about a billion questions. I think we'll get a bit more from the investor meeting despite Nintendo's denial. I haven't been blown away but there's still time. It could be great but I don't know yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭764dak

With each passing day Nintendo disgusts me even more.

Once again Nintendo's financials make for grim reading.

Nintendo loses less money, but Switch can't come fast enough
    The games maker has more bad news for Mario.

https://www.engadget.com/2016/10/26/nintendo-loses-less-money-but-switch-cant-come-fast-enough/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭ambro25

Banjo wrote: »
    And at best, when the PS4-killer in your pocket beams a 6 inch high Iwata on to your hand and he tells you that he will always live on in yours and the hearts of all true gamers (but your battery life is now under 10% : find an outlet or save your game!), well you'll be pleasantly surprised. And weeping.
    r2d2-projector-cake.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Unlike you shower of cynical so and so's I shall remain blissfully happy with the state of the new Nintendo console and can't wait to see more!
    March 2017 can't come quickly enough!

I don't think I've ever said "Can't wait till bleedin Christmas is over" before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Hey, so it the new Zelda still coming out on WiiU?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,236 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Hey, so it the new Zelda still coming out on WiiU?

Yes. That's what it was designed for originally I believe. Then the Wii-U tanked so Nintendo made a wise choice in creating a port for their next console. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭ectoraige

ThisRegard wrote: »
    What's the black block in the middle of the controller, just part of the holder/charger station?

It's called the Joy-Con Grip and I assume it houses a battery pack/charger unit. The controllers, Joy-Cons will each have to have their own internal battery for wireless play. I guess they are charged up while connected to the Grip or the Console. If they are smart the Dock will fit in the Grip so that it may recharge while not in use, or it will have it's own charging station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭ectoraige

just got to watch the trailer there, it looks great, nice premium look to it, the ad seems to have been aimed at an older audience than usual, i wonder were the mariokart and splatoon ports from the wiiu or nintendo switch version or just demos. cant wait to hold one in my hand. cmon march smile.png
    Varik wrote: »
    It wasn't the 20/30 year old roof top party basketball player buying 3ds' that let it hit 60m, I'd say the ad is just focused to those who would be watching the reveal (the age range not the roof/basketball part) rather than be inherent of anything else.

Think this is good for me but not sure how much appeal they'll be for the general population, can't image a 5 year old with one but parents give them Ipads so who knows. As with anything it'll be price dependant.
    It's a bit of a weird one:

Absence of kids in the ad and grown up industrial design say a lot I think.
    What will this cost? If it's expensive (300 euro plus) a lot of parents are going to be nervous letting their kids go out with it.
    Actually one thing I just though off when you mentioned 7 year old.
    I got 7 year old on the house and she loves her tablets, so I cam see her loving this, but at the same time I can see her losing those damn controllers in the first 24 hours.

I love mentioning above that ad was completely aimed at adults. It was really weird.

It's very clearly aimed at a high-disposable income segment of the market so I'd be concerned about the price point. I bet if kids are seen in another ad, it'll be in the back seat of a car quietly playing a two-player co-operative game together - giving the parental fanboy a justification for why the family needs a new console that they can't quite afford.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I like the Switch but I in no way fit the demo as described in the promotional presentation.
    I don't get invited to roof top parties.
    I am not a young fit person who enjoys social sports events.

I wonder when they'll present the reveal of Switch for mid forties men who play games when they are on a day off and has the house to themselves or at 1am when everyone else is asleep.
    Also he has a console/games collection that is starting to fill most rooms in the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    I like the Switch but I in no way fit the demo as described in the promotional presentation.
    I don't get invited to roof top parties.

Fuck sake, Karen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭druss

Rhyme wrote: »
    Fuck sake, Karen.

Look, Karen is cool and any young-one bringing Mario to a party is a treasure. (plays Zelda treasure chest opening riff in my head)

Forty year old me wants to warn her though. Children will destroy her swish apartment, destroy her console and feck most of the amibos out the rooftop window while recreating Bowser fatalities.

Make an appropriate lifestyle choice Karen. It's too late for me. Not that I'd have been invited to the party in the first place.

I regularly bring my 3DS to the pub. I don't drink and its better than doing nothing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

:eek: All of them?

A bit late to reply, but kind of yes. I just don't enjoy them. I got 2 "new 3ds" right now and not a single Mario game. Two zelda games, but only played ocarina of time a little bit when bought my original old 3ds back in the day. Amd I got that new zelda, which is still in wrapper, was cheap, so I took it.

All I want on switch is new Monster Hunter, advance wars, fire emblem etc.

IGN have a detailed 3 page article on the Switch.

NINTENDO SWITCH: THE UNANSWERED QUESTIONS

http://ie.ign.com/articles/2016/10/26/nintendo-switch-the-unanswered-questions

There's also a rewind trailer embedded in the first page. Does anybody else keep having to remind themselves it's the Switch and not the NX?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

January 12th.

Mark it down folks.

Price, software lineup and launch date will be all revealed.

https://twitter.com/NintendoAmerica/status/791455799302246400

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

It sounds like it's going to be a live stage presentation of some sorts a la E3 etc. Fair play to Nintendo for putting a set date so soon after the reveal, rather than an unknowing wait for info. The public will also be able to play it for the first time in Tokyo on Jan 14-15th.

REDMOND, Wash.--(BUSINESS WIRE)-- In a presentation to financial analysts today in Tokyo, Nintendo Co., Ltd. president Tatsumi Kimishima announced that major details regarding the company’s new Nintendo Switch home gaming system will be shared at the Nintendo Switch Presentation 2017. This will be an event for invited media, financial analysts and trade partners in Tokyo that will be globally livestreamed on Jan. 12, U.S. time. The presentation will include the launch date and pricing for Nintendo Switch, as well as a look at the lineup of games currently in development.

Kimishima also announced that Nintendo Switch sampling events for invited media, partners, and consumers will take place in the U.S. and Europe after the presentation at later dates. There will be opportunities for the public to participate in other hands-on events around the same time, details of which will be announced later.

The exact time of the Nintendo Switch Presentation 2017 will be announced through Nintendo’s social media channels in the coming weeks. Last week, Nintendo Switch was first revealed in a video, available at http://www.nintendo.com/switch.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,236 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Shame it's over two months away but I guess they don't want to damage potential Christmas sales by getting folks too hyped for it. Maybe I'm being too pedantic but I hope "a look at the lineup of games in development" actually means they'll announce the launch lineup, not just games coming to the system at some point in the future. Jan to March is not a long time to complete "games in development".

Fingers crossed the console + pro controller + 1 game comes in under €400!

They picked peculiar timing to announce this, when Europe is fast asleep and it's nighttime in the States. Still, it's good to have a set date and in picking a date so far in advance they're giving the media a chance to attend.

Well at least they gave us a date in advance this time.