Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nintendo Switch (Nintendo's next console)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    A more traditional controller arrangement this time is essential, although it has to be said that it was always an option with the Wii and WiiU, just up to developers to implement it.

Agreed, it has to be something that adds to the games, not something gimmicky. Regards the developers not utilising the pro controller, I feel if the pro controller had been the defacto pack in controller, with the pad as an optional extra...things would have been different. They're not going to put many man hours into coding for something that not everyone has...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

As regards to the "not a successor the Wii U" craic, it is worth recalling Nintendo also said the same thing about the DS not being a successor to the Game Boy line. In that instance, it was a couching for a potential failure, given the DS's then unconventional nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,386 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Rumour: Nintendo's Next Generation Handheld Is Codenamed "MH"

Monster Hunter? Miyamoto Hotness? Mobile Home? Much Hype?

Ever since the NX was announced it was suspected that the system would be a hybrid that offers both home and portable gameplay. However, according to DHZ Financial Research's Trader's Web site, Nintendo is also working on a next generation handheld codenamed "MH" alongside NX.

While the piece was more focused on Nintendo's share price and its plans to expand its business via mobile games and theme parks, the mention of a new piece of hardware is interesting. Could "MH" - which is noted in the report as being a tentative name - merely be the NX's controller? Or is this a totally new system which somehow links with the NX in the same way it's possible to use a 3DS to control Super Smash Bros. on Wii U?

Here's a translation of the report, courtsey of Twitter user BlackKite:

Nintendo - Mitsubishi UFJMS cutting stock price benchmarks, targeting long-range investment

Nintendo <7974.T> continue to see their stock prices fall. At the Mitsubishi UFJ Morgan Stanley Securities, the new traction for mid-term profit growth is being changed to next-generation game console. As a target for long-term investment, the investment judgment "Overweight" is continued. The stock price benchmark is being reduced from 34000 yen to 32200 yen.

By doing things like changing money order premises, forecasts from FY March 2017 to FY March 2020 are being revised downwards. The driving force for economic growth has been switched from previous new businesses like "Health service, Theme park & Mobile games" to the next generation game console NX and next generation portable game console MH (Tentative title). There is no change in mid-term growth scenario.

Things being predicted from now on are new factors to profit impact when NX and MH are to be fully announced, and monetization of mobile games. If the skepticism on these can be wiped away, there is a high chance that their stocks will be greatly revalued, and as a premise for long-term investment, now is perhaps the [best] entry timing [to invest here].

http://www.nintendolife.com/news/2016/05/rumour_nintendos_next_generation_handheld_is_codenamed_mh

https://twitter.com/FarmboyinJapan/status/735050907323240448

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭talking_walnut

I do hope that there's handheld integration in some way. I really like the gamepad on the Wii U. Lets me play games when the rest of the family want to watch TV. Now if I could just get the controller synced with my Xbox One I'd be laughing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

I'm hoping that Nintendo's "a new way to play games" tagline is just a misleading quote to cause mass hysteria when they just reveal a really nice looking, fit in the hand controller.

That's all I want. A throwback to the Gamecube/Wavebird controller.

"And now ladies and gentlemen, the moment you've all been waiting for... a new way to play games..."

*audience groans*

"... except with a much better controller than what the other lads have."

Yeah?

Right?

P... please???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Be funny if the portable did make it out this year after all.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,806 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

That_Guy wrote: »
    I'm hoping that Nintendo's "a new way to play games" tagline is just a misleading quote to cause mass hysteria when they just reveal a really nice looking, fit in the hand controller.

That's all I want. A throwback to the Gamecube/Wavebird controller.

"And now ladies and gentlemen, the moment you've all been waiting for... a new way to play games..."

*audience groans*

"... except with a much better controller than what the other lads have."

Yeah?

Right?

P... please???

Amen to that Brother That_Guy....

I love my bird,
    3cfbf62d43dd65a6f6806a92bc00f277.jpg

My Wavebird that is!
    51JFSBXC7ML.jpg

All it needs, to be the best current gen controller, is rumble, otherwise the thing is fantastic.
    There's a thing though, with modern battery tech, you could easily build a Wavebird but in the space that the original GC controller had, with a rechargeable cell inside.
    Man, that would be fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

image.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

Controllers ? Old way to play.
    VR headset? A little current but... not new.

Wireless groinal socket? Now that would be new, it'd shake off the kiddie tag that's dogged them for decades and coupled with the new fad for VR and a couple of key launch day titles (Princess Peach's Palace of Filth and Super Mario Where The Sun Don't Shine : Warp Pipe edition) this could absolutely kill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

Controllers ? Old way to play.
    VR headset? A little current but... not new.

Wireless groinal socket? Now that would be new, it'd shake off the kiddie tag that's dogged them for decades and coupled with the new fad for VR and a couple of key launch day titles (Princess Peach's Palace of Filth and Super Mario Where The Sun Don't Shine : Warp Pipe edition) this could absolutely kill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

I do hope that there's handheld integration in some way. I really like the gamepad on the Wii U. Lets me play games when the rest of the family want to watch TV. Now if I could just get the controller synced with my Xbox One I'd be laughing :D

Linx vision 8 inch tablet can be bought with a controller and the xbox one streams to it.

I want a second screen on the NX. Be it in the controller, though using the handheld NX for that function would help keep costs down. I use the gamepad daily as a browser and for off screen play while watching TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

sligeach wrote: »
    I want a second screen on the NX. Be it in the controller, though using the handheld NX for that function would help keep costs down. I use the gamepad daily as a browser and for off screen play while watching TV.

I have to say that wii u tablet controller was just most amazing thing. Playing monster hunter 3u and having a custom layout on controller with shortcuts to specific items I need was just stupidly simply and efficient. In a way I got this now on 3ds, but touchscreen on it is ancient ass amd due to it having bazels it's not the se, but still very handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭talking_walnut

Linx vision 8 inch tablet can be bought with a controller and the xbox one streams to it.

Hadn't heard that before. Thanks Iseedeadpixels. I'll do some research and see if it's worth getting. My wife will be delighted :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

The 'MH' codename has zero in it from what it seems. 'MH' is an arbitrary codename that Morgan Stanley have used for the purpose of the article, not Nintendo.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,806 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

You browse on the WiiU gamepad?
    Why??
    When it's so much easier to use your phone, iPad or Android tablet or just use the damn computer!
    The tablet browser, just like the PS3, PS4 and XB1 browser, is slow and a pain in the bum to use without a mouse, plus you've different plugins that won't work.
    A phone and chrome is all the body needs, I've my Nexus 6 and it's still great for browsing the web 2 years on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,120 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

So apparently, Shadow of the Eternals is a thing again. I know Denis Dyack is almost an industry joke now, but I loved Eternal Darkness, and would love to see this happen...

You browse on the WiiU gamepad?
    Why??
    When it's so much easier to use your phone, iPad or Android tablet or just use the damn computer!
    The tablet browser, just like the PS3, PS4 and XB1 browser, is slow and a pain in the bum to use without a mouse, plus you've different plugins that won't work.
    A phone and chrome is all the body needs, I've my Nexus 6 and it's still great for browsing the web 2 years on

It has its limits, yes, and using my phone is better in some regards but the gamepad has a larger screen, is better for watching Youtube videos and is easier for typing. It can be slow alright but it's decent.

It has its limits, yes, and using my phone is better in some regards but the gamepad has a larger screen, is better for watching Youtube videos and is easier for typing.

A 6.2 inch, low resolution screen, my phone has a 6 inch screen with four times the resolution.
    A terrible and unresponsive browsing device, sorry mate.

A 6.2 inch, low resolution screen, my phone has a 6 inch screen with four times the resolution.
    A terrible and unresponsive browsing device, sorry mate.

Haha, I thought you might say that. For important videos or screenshots, I watch them on my full HD TV.

You don't have to suffer for your Ninty love, you can use other browsers without upsetting the plumber god you know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Hadn't heard that before. Thanks Iseedeadpixels. I'll do some research and see if it's worth getting. My wife will be delighted :D

I have one its great if you have a good internet connection, larger pad takes time to get used to.

So, an E3 incoming with a Nintendo Treehouse event devoted to one bloody game.
    Now, I know it's Zelda, and this is great, I'm sure it'll knock our socks off and could well be the game of the show, but....
    It's being released on a primary platform that no one is buying anymore.
    Splatoon is one of the most impressive franchise debuts on any platform in the last 5 years, but no one who doesn't have the WiiU knows or cares. I really wish they'd made it for the 3DS as well, at least then it might have sold in the numbers it deserved.

It's such a mistake not to have the NX at the E3, unless Nintendo have something even bigger in mind for the TGS, they had better have, if they expect anyone to hold off on investing in the PS4.5 and a PSVR.

I think they just see themselves as being in a different play-field than the other manufacturers. It's a flawed view imo, but their decisions are often so bizarre at times you can't help but wonder what they're thinking. I also think missing E3 is a huge mistake, given the task they have in shaking off what most believe to be a failed console (the Wii U). A stonking good E3 event is what Nintendo need to make them relevant again (in the eyes of non Nintendo fans), & with the eyes of the entire gaming world watching E3, it seems a prime opportunity. But no, "lets let Sony & MS run away with the show, we'll run our own treehouse thingy...be grand like" :rolleyes:

Yes, still, clearly a stage 2 veteran here :(

And Microsoft will be there.

http://www.express.co.uk/entertainment/gaming/674328/Microsoft-E3-Xbox-One-slim-PS4-4K-Sony-Microsoft-Scorpio

I haven't really been following the competition but they've so much more mindshare, media presence, advertise, etc. Anyway, reading that article and others, this new XBOX1 is going to be 4 times more powerful than the original PS4. Like what on Earth are Nintendo going to do? What level of power do they go for? I know that games are meant to be playable on all levels of Sony and Microsoft hardware but if Nintendo make NX just comparable to PS4 I think it'll be dismissed by a large section of the gaming community. They've got a major battle on their hands.

And Microsoft will be there.

http://www.express.co.uk/entertainment/gaming/674328/Microsoft-E3-Xbox-One-slim-PS4-4K-Sony-Microsoft-Scorpio

I haven't really been following the competition but they've so much more mindshare, media presence, advertise, etc. Anyway, reading that article and others, this new XBOX1 is going to be 4 times more powerful than the original PS4. Like what on Earth are Nintendo going to do? What level of power do they go for? I know that games are meant to be playable on all levels of Sony and Microsoft hardware but if Nintendo make NX just comparable to PS4 I think it'll be dismissed by a large section of the gaming community. They've got a major battle on their hands.

The sooner E3 comes around the better, all the rumour & click bait out there has become quite tiring. I'd agree though, whatever happens, it looks like yet again Nintendo will severely hampered tech wise re the NX. That in itself doesn't necessarily mean bad things, but it does make it less attractive to 3rd party devs, & the story can write itself after that

Whatever about Nintendo, one company I couldn't give a fig about is Microsoft and their Xbox One.
    Such an irrelevant console, for precisely the reasons why the Nintendo is relevant.
    There's nothing for me on the Xbox One that I can't get elsewhere, and at a higher frame rate.
    The exclusives are pitiful and not the games I want to play, with the possible exception of Forza Horizon 2, but then Drive Club and Mario Kart 8 kinda have that stuff covered.
    Nintendo and the WiiU, on the other hand, will be relevant and necessary until the day I fall of my perch because the exclusives are so bloody good.
    The only thing that could affect that is possible backward compatibility, in the same was that the Wii and WiiU made their immediate predecessors irrelevant, otherwise the presence of such excellence as Super Mario 3D World and Pikmin 3 means that, if you call yourself a player of only the best games, you're going to have to stump up for a WiiU.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Chain Smoker

Myrddin wrote: »
    I think they just see themselves as being in a different play-field than the other manufacturers. It's a flawed view imo, but their decisions are often so bizarre at times you can't help but wonder what they're thinking. I also think missing E3 is a huge mistake, given the task they have in shaking off what most believe to be a failed console (the Wii U). A stonking good E3 event is what Nintendo need to make them relevant again (in the eyes of non Nintendo fans), & with the eyes of the entire gaming world watching E3, it seems a prime opportunity. But no, "lets let Sony & MS run away with the show, we'll run our own treehouse thingy...be grand like" :rolleyes:

Yes, still, clearly a stage 2 veteran here :(
    If they don't have enough for E3 I'd rather not see them there than debuting the Wii U one year with nothing to show for it, then a year of nothing only to follow up with Nintendoland and **** all else.

No E3 is better than a ****e an E3.

Yes, if you're Rockstar or Naughty Dog perhaps. Nintendo though, I dunno...ask the great unwashed and all you'll hear is how they make games & consoles for kids. Of course, we know that to be untrue...but there is without a doubt an image problem out there for Ninty. Made worse given they're on the back of the Wii U...by coming to E3 & having something to knock that image out of the park would have caught everyone's attention. I just see a trend of silly decisions, arrogance, and gimmicky devices set to continue - I desperately hope I'm wrong, but this E3 decision is nuts. Can they not even talk about the NX, demo some of the content that's going to be there for it, and so forth? Things couldn't be that tight, less than 10 months from launch...because if they are, that's even more worrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

I'd rather us get a kind cool direct soon then a rubbish E3 like last year.