If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

YbFocus wrote: »
    Jesus :)

They should fit :)
    I'll cut a good deal anyway. I don't have the room in my apartment regardless of what i tell myself :)

What are ya looking for for them? I'll give him a shout about them. 16's?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

So I didnt expect to be going to thurles today!

Or ever mind you

Not exactly a whole lot to see in thurles. Although everytime be been there I've either been going through or there to get something in particular. I've never gone there for just a look.

Also it's just over 20 degrees here in Spain I'm here Sitting out in the sun looking out on the sea from the house its class the weather and views are hard to beat :) I hope it's nice in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

What are ya looking for for them? I'll give him a shout about them. 16's?

15's FN.
    Standard fitment original style 5's.
    Stamped bbs/bmw.

Will i pm you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Got a call from DPD courier this morning asking for directions, and after I told him he said that they don't go that far. Anyone heard anything like that before? Had to drive into town to get my delivery.

GvidoR wrote: »
    Got a call from DPD courier this morning asking for directions, and after I told him he said that they don't go that far. Anyone heard anything like that before? Had to drive into town to get my delivery.

That's ridiculous man!

YbFocus wrote: »
    That's ridiculous man!

I thought so too, especially since DPD has been here before. A couple of times, in fact. I'm very happy with what I ordered though, so I'm not that mad about it. :P

I'd say he forgot about you or something!
    Didn't want to go out to you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

we get that a fair bit (with a townland address, living in the country) usually not with DPD but with another popular Irish courier service.

they often ask would we meet them in town and ****. Yeah, that's why i'm paying for a courier, so i could drive somewhere to pick it up :rolleyes:

we get that a fair bit (with a townland address, living in the country) usually not with DPD but with another popular Irish courier service.

they often ask would we meet them in town and ****. Yeah, that's why i'm paying for a courier, so i could drive somewhere to pick it up :rolleyes:

That's exactly what I was thinking. Standard post comes to your house all the time and you expect better service from a courier.
    OSI wrote: »
    It's why I only ever got stuff delivered to work or a Parcel Motel. "Yeah we tried to deliver your parcel when you were guaranteed to be at work. You can collect it after we've tried twice more when you're guaranteed to be at work, from our depot. Which is only open during hours your guaranteed to be in work."

6799_5611.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

On deliverys related stories I once ordered something for my mother over the phone spelled everything the courier arrives at the door we live in central kilkenny so handy enough I take the parcel sign grand. Then read the label and literally not one line of the name or address was right I actually don't know how they managed to deliver it to the right house it was completely wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

The problem i can see is that the courier lads are kind of self employed with their own van and fuel bills

so the less they have to travel to do their job then the better i suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

So I didnt expect to be going to thurles today!

Or ever mind you

What came into your mind that made you come to Thurles? I live in Thurles and spend most of my time trying to get out of it :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

What came into your mind that made you come to Thurles? I live in Thurles and spend most of my time trying to get out of it :pac:

Yknow i was wondering why i even bothered as i was leaving the place :pac:

Ah no, long story short, i was given a bottle sterilizer thingy in work last night, it was literally thrown at me and i was told "its yours now!" so someone i know in thurles wanted it so i dropped it down to them

Christ what a miserable place :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

joujoujou wrote: »
    Never heard of 101hp 4A-FE or 3ZZ-FE engines - both have 109hp in T22 avensis. Must have been a typo.

Thanks. It's a 4A-FE engine. When I put the reg ( 00ts4850 ) into micks garage or others it brings up a 101 or 110 hp option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

nd wrote: »
    Thanks. It's a 4A-FE engine. When I put the reg ( 00ts4850 ) into micks garage or others it brings up a 101 or 110 hp option.

I'd go with the 110 hp. Micks Garage can be a bit off with the horsepower values. Maybe they store car power values in kW and it goes wrong during the kW -> HP conversion :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

Aw lads, saw a Phoenix yellow M3 on my way home there. Stunning yoke, stood out a mile... think I have a new car aspiration!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

One of the lads had this at work today. Been storing it away. Some car!

mWN2zbP.png

FY7w8fj.png

Hoping for a little bit of help. What can I expect to sell my Bora for? I have it advertised for €550 but I have a feeling I'm not going to get that. It drives very nicely and all but I just found out there is a bit of a coolant leak and mayonnaise under the cap. There's no NCT and it's about to run out of tax as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Hoping for a little bit of help. What can I expect to sell my Bora for? I have it advertised for €550 but I have a feeling I'm not going to get that. It drives very nicely and all but I just found out there is a bit of a coolant leak and mayonnaise under the cap. There's no NCT and it's about to run out of tax as well.

1.6 right? Put it up for €350 and take the first offer of €300 for it

Yeah. I could've gotten 350 for it an hour ago, maybe should've taken it.

A 1.6 Bora with the head gone, I wouldn't be long taking yer man's hand tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Ring him back tell him you were thinking about it and will agree on that price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Bpmull wrote: »

Also it's just over 20 degrees here in Spain I'm here Sitting out in the sun looking out on the sea from the house its class the weather and views are hard to beat :) I hope it's nice in Ireland.

Yesterday was artic conditions really cold wind and rain, today wasn't too bad.

Saw a spotless mk1 escort (possibly RS 2000) nearly meet its maker today. I see the car nearly every lunch time. I think the owner is a mechanic in the Limerick motor centre. Anyway, he tends to show it off on the Ballysimon road and took a roundabout far too quick and the car in front had to brake sharply exiting causing Mr escort to slap on the brakes and even pull the handbrake. He spun and avoided the car in front by inches and miracously stopped paralell to a pedestrian island. This is peak lunch time traffic on the ballysimon roundabout in Limerick.

He was lucky that:

1) no one was on the pedestrian island,
    2) he has great brakes and a great handbrake,
    3) he didn't go up the arse of the car on front,
    4) he didn't send the car sideways into the pedestrian island and
    5) that I don't own a dashcam yet.

I'd say he needed a new pair of jocks afterwards. I nearly did.

****ing idiot.

It's clowns like that that give Rwd Escort drivers a really bad name. And from experience these make up a good 90% of owners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I see a lad in a white Capri around Walkinstown roundabout some evenings. Often gives it a little blip coming out of the junction resulting in a tidy little slide. Not sideways or anything now just lighting up the rears.

Warms my cockles it does.

****ing idiot.

It's clowns like that that give Rwd Escort drivers a really bad name. And from experience these make up a good 90% of owners.

Today was a textbook example of one of those twats. No doubt I'll see him fcuk acting again in the same spot next week. Nearly tempted to go into the garage where he works and fcuk him out of it.

Also, it was the perfect car for the oldest car you've seen today thread! :P

Big Nasty wrote: »
    I see a lad in a white Capri around Walkinstown roundabout some evenings. Often gives it a little blip coming out of the junction resulting in a tidy little slide. Not sideways or anything now just lighting up the rears.

Warms my cockles it does.

This fella was just taking the piss. Far too fast around the roundabout. Can't believe how lucky he was. I would have been heartbroken if he trashed the car though. Must try get a pic of it. Its only around the corner from work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Gotta admit I used to get a great kick outta coming out of junctions sideways when I had the Trans Am. Buddy has a Torino with a 429 Cobrajet and would regularly leave you sitting in a cloud of tire smoke if you were behind him at a junction on a run.

I miss those days. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Gotta admit I used to get a great kick outta coming out of junctions sideways when I had the Trans Am. Buddy has a Torino with a 429 Cobrajet and would regularly leave you sitting in a cloud of tire smoke if you were behind him at a junction on a run.

I miss those days. :(

You making growing up sound so great