If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

No they didn't cause it, it's more that the owner told one of the lads to check those fuses, said he had so we looked at other options, which lead to a new key being bought from BMW, to make up for this he wants to do me a favour :)

Can't argue with that. Nice one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Must be a decent body shop so, most places would have been complaining the car is still in their place or on their grounds and would demand it to be moved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Especially since he was gonna get a new key anyhow. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Eyeballed em so I'd say rather than a multimeter test. That's good of them to make an effort to see you right. Other places would just grunt and stick their fingers in their ears until you went away. Spare key isn't completely wasted anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Eyeballed em so I'd say rather than a multimeter test. That's good of them to make an effort to see you right. Other places would just grunt and stick their fingers in their ears until you went away. Spare key isn't completely wasted anyway.

I only eyeballed them too to be fair :pac:
    Big Nasty wrote: »
    Especially since he was gonna get a new key anyhow. :)

Now just to get it working remotely :P

Yep, not complaining at all.
    Must be a decent body shop so, most places would have been complaining the car is still in their place or on their grounds and would demand it to be moved.

It helps that one of the owners is one of my dad's oldest friends :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

My car is lurking in the background! Wheels done looking forward to collecting in the morning!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I had kkv's old 407 in work tonight :pac: the guy did more giving out about it haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I had kkv's old 407 in work tonight :pac: the guy did more giving out about it haha

Infairness he got it seriously cheap. You got to love people that spend 2k Euro on a car and are annoyed over anything going wrong even small things because they expect it to be as reliable as a new car. I mean you can't have it everyway.

Bpmull wrote: »
    Infairness he got it seriously cheap. You got to love people that spend 2k Euro on a car and are annoyed over anything going wrong even small things because they expect it to be as reliable as a new car. I mean you can't have it everyway.

Thats what he was saying, and he was giving out that bulbs kept blowing on it and little bits and bobs, ah well, be grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Gavman84 wrote: »
    My car is lurking in the background! Wheels done looking forward to collecting in the morning!

Refinished? where'd you get that done?

Need to get my fiat's wheels redone.

Dord wrote: »
    Refinished? where'd you get that done?

Need to get my fiat's wheels redone.
    Ya got them refurbished and changed colour to anthracite too. Sodablast are doing them there in marina commercial park.

What did that cost ya again if you don't mind me asking? Debating going there for locality sake or Wheel Wizards.

400 that's giving them car and all so they refit and get them balenced and all for yA. Cheaper to just give them the wheels then if ya can do that.

Might get them to do mine so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Bit far out for me but they definitely look good. Thought about getting mine refinished a bit darker.

That's not my car I own focus behind it but ya going on that looks spot on can't wait to see mine now tomorrow! I'll throw up pics tomorrow once I collect it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

Looking forward to some pics when they're done! Might get them to do the wheels on my z4 cause they leave it down a bit!
    Unfortunately I can't drive the blood thing after spending half my life's savings on it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Sent an email to traynors there asking if they have any 17 inch mondeo alloys, got back to me saying 200 pounds. Stupidly I didn't specify 4, but I take it that 200 for 4 is right, although seeming super good value. Them wheels are 180 pounds each to buy off ford new. I'd have them scooped up but I'm not prepared to go to Belfast to see them, any kerbs, buckles etc? Bad idea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

They accept returns and will exchange if any issue. I've used them once so far but all I've read is good things about them.

Hal1 wrote:
    They accept returns and will exchange if any issue. I've used them once so far but all I've read is good things about them.

Do they deliver do you know?

11051867_966827103328340_2243992430408199689_n.jpg?oh=7c2be365ed01733d7e1fb1d08901e3aa&oe=55B8FBBE

If I say to someone why is your engine management light and they say ah it's only a sensor causes no harm to the engine not worth fixing. I always then say what happens if a more serious fault happens there is only one engine management light so you won't know seems to blow some people's mind. I just wouldn't be able to drive around long term with any warning lights on would wreck my head.

Bpmull wrote: »
    If I say to someone why is your engine management light and they say ah it's only a sensor causes no harm to the engine not worth fixing. I always then say what happens if a more serious fault happens there is only one engine management light so you won't know seems to blow some people's mind. I just wouldn't be able to drive around long term with any warning lights on would wreck my head.
    Reminds me of the Big Bang theory episode where sheldon is giving out to Penney about the same thing :D

I've never seen it although the brother does watch it.

Lying out in the sun relaxing here in Spain about 24 degrees c. Turning into a great holiday a couple of late nights though 6-7 am by the time we would be back most night clubs stay open till 7am here.

On car related news everyone here seems to have white old model diesel leons I mean everyone a lot of mk1 diesel octavia out here too all white they put tour badges on them instead of tdi. By the looks of it they still sell the old model leon as well as the new model here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

I've always found it strange that cars sold in US have 'unleaded/diesel fuel only' written on the cluster. Can't trust the Americans to remember that much?

IMG_0811_zpsrfg75dua.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

Do they deliver do you know?

They have a pick point and do a run two days a week.

Bad accident at Nurburgring today one spectator killed more injured. How the car lifted like it did I don't know. RIP to person that died.

SEAT have come a long way in recent years!!

http://www.rochfordmotors.ie/viewanad.php?ad_id=1142836&r=

• Closed Accounts Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

RCZ might be going mid next week. Bringing it up to Dublin on Monday for the dealer to have a look at it.

Never thought I'd see the day haha

GvidoR wrote: »
    I've always found it strange that cars sold in US have 'unleaded/diesel fuel only' written on the cluster. Can't trust the Americans to remember that much?

[img][/img]

Id say I'll have to stick petrol stickers all over my first petrol car when I get one for the first few weeks anyway :) as I've literally only ever bought diesel all along from day one learning to drive. The only thing I've ever put petrol in is a Jerry can for the lawnmower/ power washer.