Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another black teenager shot by police in St Louis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Dan_Solo wrote: »
    You said from the off you believed the cops, so sorry, we do.
    Hard luck on that. Evidence is annoying isn't it?

so sorry, but no , you dont, So cop on with your post.

Now look at the CCTV and check it out now.

Hard luck. Cops are not shooting people for no reason.

Im a big fan of evidence. Are you a fan of evidence when the facts do not suit the story you wish to portray?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Kitty6277

I can't see any reason why the officer had to shoot and kill him though. Okay, fair enough, maybe he had a gun but could the officer use non-lethal force and shoot him somewhere like the kneecap or something?

And really, can you blame black teenagers for carrying weapons? I'm sure they fear for their life more than white cops with a whole police force begind them do.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,872 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Kitty6277 wrote: »
    I can't see any reason why the officer had to shoot and kill him though. Okay, fair enough, maybe he had a gun but could the officer use non-lethal force and shoot him somewhere like the kneecap or something?

And really, can you blame black teenagers for carrying weapons? I'm sure they fear for their life more than white cops with a whole police force begind them do.

Would be hard to pick out a kneecap while ducking and diving moving and shooting.Unlucky he died,doubt it was a head shot.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭bennyl10

The gun was aimed point blank at him.. Instinct says shoot, and if i was the cop,id have shot to kill in that situation too!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭h2005

Hoping this post is in jest.

Also looked suspect that the victim quickly approached the two people walking across the parking lot .Only guessing but it looked like an armed robbery on them was about to happen when all of a sudden a police car pulls in, at that point victim left those people alone.

bennyl10 wrote: »
    The gun was aimed point blank at him.. Instinct says shoot, and if i was the cop,id have shot to kill in that situation too!

Instinct says crouch move duck dive shoot off a few round and hope your training makes them some what accurate enough to get the job done.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

o look ! an expert :-)

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

So why do you include them?

Because they are state-sanctioned.

mynamejeff wrote: »
    o look ! an expert :-)

I never said I was an expert, I'm just stating my opinion on the matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Soo.. Are we looking at every black person legitimately killed by police being put on the news as if they are doing drive bys in black neighbourhoods ?

How many Latinos, Whites, Indians, Chinese have been killed by police since MB ?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,559 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Because its not a movie.

Yes, I can blame them. Certainly this guy was not carrying a gun for self defence given he drew it on a police officer with little or no provocation. Initial reports are this guy was not a good boy as claimed by his mother.

Guy looked paranoid and guilty of a crime. He was thinking he was busted in the act of ''about to rob someone'' All bad timing and over reactions by victim . He could of simply walked away, he had walked away no one was following, no need to turn back drop your things and point a gun. Just keep walking...no one was detained. Had he legged it I doubt police would have even followed.

I never said I was an expert, I'm just stating my opinion on the matter.

you really mean that was a serious post ?
    you really think that anyone who feels that the police are out to get them should carry firearms ?
    its your opinion that when a person who appears to be caught in the act carrying out a armed robbery turns his gun on a police officer that the officer should prioritize the criminals well being before the victims or his own ?

is that your opinion ? really ?

from reading this thread it seems fairly clear what some of you fine people want from your police

for the police to be under 24 hour surveillance both on duty and off incase they let the mask slip and the evil inside shines through

to be genetically engineered in a lab not to gain weight or physically deteriorate after working 10 to 12 hour long shifts in a patrol car with a constant state of alertness

to operate with out fear for thier selfs or loved ones despite constant threats on both

to operate with out any human emotions what so ever really

to never defend themselves unless already shot or shot at by someone

to be able to easily over power and arrest a 300 pound violent teenager without hurting him

to solve crimes using techniques you may have seen on CSI or some other crappy tv show

to apply the law rigidly to anyone who wrongs you but ignore any breaches of the law by you or yours

to deal with pressure and the abuses of management who are both politically corrupt glaringly incompetent in many cases .

to do your job with the cheapest equipment and least manpower because why would police need fast cars effective CS spray tazers and access to firearms ballistic vests(not stab vests) or a proper functioning computer system

not to suspect that some one who looks and acts in the same way as criminals who they have previously encountered in the same location might possibly be criminals too

but hey im sure you know better right ................

You know, this is the kind of flippant binary argument that's normally trotted out by apologists of state criminality. No room for debate or reason or rationale, just: if you complain about anything then you MUST favour the extreme opposite end of the spectrum. If one criticises the harshness of someone getting 10 years imprisonment for smoking a joint then people like you come out and say "Oh so you favour hugging every criminal and giving them therapy and some nice courses to attend!" or some such crap.

Waste of time trying to reason with your ilk, to be honest

• Registered Users Posts: 12,559 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Soo.. Are we looking at every black person legitimately killed by police being put on the news as if they are doing drive bys in black neighbourhoods ?

How many Latinos, Whites, Indians, Chinese have been killed by police since MB ?

It seems to be going that way - if any black person is killed for any reason by a police officer in the US, the assumption will be the cop is murdering racist thug. He (or she) will have to prove their innocence, which will be tricky as his (or her) accusers are totally oblivious to evidence.

Operation Ghetto Storm: 2012 Annual Report on the Extrajudicial
    Killing of Black People ??

ya that seems like it wouldn't be a little bit bias

Read the sources of the information.

It seems you will find ay excuse to ignore facts even if the facts clearly show a pattern that you want to ignore. Citing bias as a reason to ignore bias is a pisspoor excuse.

I was a little dubious myself at the nomenclature of the study but after I checked the sources then I was satisfied with the veracity.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Lot of Eggonaface in this thread now after the video!

Egginacup wrote: »
    You know, this is the kind of flippant binary argument that's normally trotted out by apologists of state criminality. No room for debate or reason or rationale, just: if you complain about anything then you MUST favour the extreme opposite end of the spectrum. If one criticises the harshness of someone getting 10 years imprisonment for smoking a joint then people like you come out and say "Oh so you favour hugging every criminal and giving them therapy and some nice courses to attend!" or some such crap.

Waste of time trying to reason with your ilk, to be honest

just because i dont agree with you kid dont get all pantsy ,
    your sort of proving your own point right there aint you.

and having read some of your previous posts believe me i have no interest in trying to reason with you either.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,031 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

apparently the officer involved in this murder was issued with a body cam but wasn't wearing it at the time. i wonder why.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

Tugboats wrote: »
    I like my murders like i do my porn black on black. Any stats on this?

Don't try to frame the issue with that old canard as if it's in any way relevant.
    Saying that cops who disproportionately kill, beat, arrest or otherwise harass blacks are ok because there's lots of black-on-black crime is a ridiculous and vile assertion.

I don't even know why you're bringing it up...or rather I DO....it's called deflection, muddying the waters, framing the debate, etc.

you really mean that was a serious post ?
    you really think that anyone who feels that the police are out to get them should carry firearms ?
    its your opinion that when a person who appears to be caught in the act carrying out a armed robbery turns his gun on a police officer that the officer should prioritize the criminals well being before the victims or his own ?

is that your opinion ? really ?

No, that is not my opinion because that isn't what I'm trying to say.

No, I don't think that "anyone who feels that the police are out to get them should carry firearms" but given that there's been such racial conflict in St Louis of late, people are bound to arm themselves, especially as cops who kill unarmed teenagers seem to get off with no punishment whatsoever.

Obviously, I don't know what went down that that gas station because I wasn't there, and neither were any of ye. Maybe there was an armed robbery in progress but maybe there wasn't. Remember in the Michael Brown case, that's what the police said too but this was later denied by the store.

apparently the officer involved in this murder was issued with a body cam but wasn't wearing it at the time. i wonder why.

What would that change in the facts of this case ?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,722 ✭✭✭irelandrover

Are you going to provide any sort of backup for this claim?

• Registered Users Posts: 795 ✭✭✭kingchess

It is not illegal to carry a gun in the US.there is plenty of vids. on youtube of people people wearing guns on their hip walking down the street and getting stopped by police,which then leads to the police demanding ID(legally the police can NOT ask for your ID.unless they suspect you of a crime).the person with the gun usually quotes the Constitution and Bill of Rights etc and sometimes they get to carry on with-out showing any ID or,if arrested will sue for Civil rights violations.there are also plenty of vids showing police behaving ,well,like a law onto themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,917 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Apparently the guy never pointed a gun at the officer despite seen to in the CCTV. The camera never lies. Also there's no doubt footage of this caught on the dash cam. Case closed one less potential criminal and one more gun off the streets.

kingchess wrote: »
    It is not illegal to carry a gun in the US.there is plenty of vids. on youtube of people people wearing guns on their hip walking down the street and getting stopped by police,which then leads to the police demanding ID(legally the police can NOT ask for your ID.unless they suspect you of a crime).the person with the gun usually quotes the Constitution and Bill of Rights etc and sometimes they get to carry on with-out showing any ID or,if arrested will sue for Civil rights violations.

Do they unholster them and wave them at the police ?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,786 ✭✭✭SeanW

Egginacup wrote: »
    The vigilantes are people like the racist, sexist, wifebeating thug and "neighbourhood watch" gobshite George Zimmerman who was told by cops not to go near Trayvon Martin but followed and shot and killed him anyway.
    Her's the thing about Trayvon Martin. Yes, his killing may have been a murder, but 6000+ black people are murdered each year in the United States (more than whites, 5800+) and this correlates to the murder rate by race as well.

To be clear, I use these statistics only for one purpose - to question why Travyon Martin is so important.

To be clear also, it's reasonable to assume that T.M. may have been murdered, and we should all be appalled by this. As we should about any murder.

But I find it bizarre that all the people mourning for Trayvon Martin (and actual thugs like Michael Brown) don't give a ***k about the tens of thousands of black people that have been murdered (by other black people, in 94% of cases) over the last few years.

• Registered Users Posts: 795 ✭✭✭kingchess

Do they unholster them and wave them at the police ?

no.not unless they want to get shot:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 203 ✭✭irish coldplayer

Dan_Solo wrote: »
    And you choose to ignore those bits, so pot kettle black Mr Bias.
    If a NYPD tale is irrelevant, funny how you didn't jump down the throat of the guy who posted it, huh? Biased much?
    "I and many other..." you mean the EMS, cop and military guys here? No bias there either, oh no!

Now you're just descending into farce.
    Show me any part of the article (not taken out of context) that contradicts anything I've posted in this thread.

And if you're going to quote me and use it as an alleged example of bias, you could at least be intellectually honest and quote me in full.

I said:
    "since you have read the article yourself and then chose to cherry pick the quotes to suit your agenda while ignoring aspects of it that dont.
    I and I think many other people would think that it shows an obvious bias."

I am referring to readers of this thread, I made no mention or inference that I was talking about "EMS cop or military guys"

BTW I have no problem in saying that the NYPD like any large force has issues with corruption and rascism within it. Perhaps even more than most police forces, I dont know but to say that every cop is like that is akin to saying all muslims are terrorists.
    It is neither true nor verifiable even if it were true.