Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Denis O'Brien Irelands Sinister Fringe.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Beaner1

stop lying dennis. you were found out

I'm actually a paid FG/DOB shill as that story seems to make most of you happy.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Wurly wrote: »
    Here's the thing though. The fed is privately owned. So it's not owned by the government. It's owned by the banks.

Why wouldn't they show? The government are doing an appalling job at much more than water. I'll happily stand in solidarity with any of my fellow citizens on issues that concern them. I know most of my friends feel the same. The mass movement that is going on at the moment is trying to tackle the unfair distribution of power and wealth. So it's not all about water. But it's a start.

Jaysis, I know. Utter disaster.

Do you honestly believe that the world's biggest bank is going to make the minutes of their last meeting available for public viewing? Think about it.

And if it's not available for us to see - why? What have they got to hide? If it's not transparent, why isn't it? Shouldn't we have transparency?

The trouble with chasing 100% transparency is that so few would sign up. If Ireland became 100% transparent it'd be so easy for the rest of the world to take advantage. The same goes for any country.

The only way this could work would be for every single country (or the major ones anyways) to become 100% transparent at the same time. If the US, IMF, World Bank, whoever, just decided to release all private info tomorrow, don't you think that Russia, China etc... would have a field day?

So I think that kind of trumps your apparent right to view World Bank documents, which let's be honest, nobody would bother reading anyways. Just look at Wikileaks - they were mostly spun into clickbait and are now long since forgotten. The main benefactors weren't ordinary people or 'democracy' - it was the BRIC nations who had a huge number of sensitive documents compressed into a handy .zip file - no spies or hacking on their part even required. Happy days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

Beaner1 wrote: »
    I'm actually a paid FG/DOB shill as that story seems to make most of you happy.

What's your opinion on the whole thing, Beaner1?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,370 ✭✭✭Phoebas

wrong. its to do with the fact he has been proven guilty of corruption

He wasn't. A tribunal finding is not proof of anything.

Dean0088 wrote: »
    The trouble with chasing 100% transparency is that so few would sign up. If Ireland became 100% transparent it'd be so easy for the rest of the world to take advantage. The same goes for any country.

The only way this could work would be for every single country (or the major ones anyways) to become 100% transparent at the same time. If the US, IMF, World Bank, whoever, just decided to release all private info tomorrow, don't you think that Russia, China etc... would have a field day?
    Absolutely 100% agree with you. So we would all have to become transparent. It's a great concept. And if we push for it enough, it will happen. I'm not sure if everyone believes in people power though. So nothing happens.
    So I think that kind of trumps your apparent right to view World Bank documents, which let's be honest, nobody would bother reading anyways. Just look at Wikileaks - they were mostly spun into clickbait and are now long since forgotten.
    No, i'm not saying i'd be trawling through world bank docs on a saturday night. :) I'm saying I can't supply you the minutes of their meetings because they're not available to us.

Surely though, for others that would be interested in reading the docs, shouldn't the docs be available to view in the first place? For every country, I mean.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,652 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

im lost , if your refering to my comments on AGS corruption , what has that to do with o brien ?

If there is corruption in the Garda and corruption in what O'Brien did then you cannot praise one and castigate the other. Simples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭AboutaWeekAgo

Phoebas wrote: »

What would you deem worthy of proof?

I believe that he was involved in corruption back then. I don't think this has only relevance to the current situation as DOB, Irish politicians and society has moved on quite a bit since.

Phoebas wrote: »

"The money was just resting in their account" :pac:

Beaner1 wrote: »
    I believe that he was involved in corruption back then. I don't think this has only relevance to the current situation as DOB, Irish politicians and society has moved on quite a bit since.

Jokes forum
    > :D:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 103 ✭✭gene_slackman

If there is corruption in the Garda and corruption in what O'Brien did then you cannot praise one and castigate the other. Simples.

where did i praise o brien ?

i said the single focus on him of late is borderline hysterical

• Registered Users Posts: 9,370 ✭✭✭Phoebas

The normal standard of a verdict of a court of law.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

is it me or has the level of hostility towards this individual become borderline hysterical ?

the media in this country ( broadly speaking ) is very much left wing so i dont think his influence is anywhere near as profound as some appear to believe

Wrong.

The head of the NUJI was on radio during the week and said O Brien has total editorial control of all aspects of INM.

Look what happened Sam Smyth when he dared to write a column about Fine Gaels Uncle Denis!

Absolutely 100% agree with you. So we would all have to become transparent. It's a great concept. And if we push for it enough, it will happen. I'm not sure if everyone believes in people power though. So nothing happens.

No, i'm not saying i'd be trawling through world bank docs on a saturday night. :) I'm saying I can't supply you the minutes of their meetings because they're not available to us.

Surely though, for others that would be interested in reading the docs, shouldn't the docs be available to view in the first place? For every country, I mean.

You're living in a fantasy world. The entire population could storm the Dáil and declare a puppy dogs and candy floss republic and Vladamir Putin still wouldn't bat an eyelid.

Power resides where there's money, weapons and means. But ultimately power is just ability. You could give €10 million to the average person and he or she would be no more powerful. To mistake money for power is a common error and temptation.

"People Power" is a slogan and it's 'power' is often misplaced. The only times people (as in populations) have ever succeeded in becoming powerful has been by using force or by attacking the sources of money (strikes, blockades etc...) which ultimately fund regimes which are based on power. I'm taking about actual protests over real human rights issues like the Polish Shipyards in 1989 or the riots that toppled Ceaușescu in Romania.

If you (or others) want to paint Denis O' Brian as some kind of corrupt super villain that controls everything on this island fine - but your "People power" is focusing its power on the wrong target.

And, as an observation, the people power in Ireland are so easy to divide you'd be forgiven for mistaking them for a domino pizza. There is simply no big issues worth fighting for, despite was the Socialist Daily would have us believe. I'm not a FG supported but I'll probably still vote for them at the next election (best choice IMO). But if I could give one piece of advice to the left in Ireland it'd be to present models similar to Scandinavia that can be successful (and backed up) - instead of the usual "tax the rich, spend all the money, sure it'll be grand!!" policies. I'd still vote against it but at least I could respect their position.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭Curly Judge

Jokes forum
    > :D:D

If Jarry's supporters can demand forgiveness for his actions a long time ago, can the same not be granted to Dobbo....assuming he was guilty in the first place?

Not interested in "Jarry" at all. Was he mentioned in the Moriarty Tribunal?
    Dobbo being defended here solely on him being connected to FG.

You're living in a fantasy world. The entire population could storm the Dáil and declare a puppy dogs and candy floss republic and Vladamir Putin still wouldn't bat an eyelid.
    Have the entire population ever stormed the Dáil in the past? So how do we know what would happen if we were to all do it?

Are you forgetting that the government are supposed to be working for us as our public representatives?

Remember, big corporations and governments and whoever else can do absolutely nothing without our consent. If everyone stopped going to McDonalds tomorrow, McDonalds would fail and shut down. Not saying that we'd get anyone to do that. But my point is that they need us to exist. If we stop buying into it, they have no control.
    Power resides where there's money, weapons and means. But ultimately power is just ability. You could give €10 million to the average person and he or she would be no more powerful.
    What is your definition of power?
    "People Power" is a slogan and it's 'power' is often misplaced. The only times people (as in populations) have ever succeeded in becoming powerful has been by using force or by attacking the sources of money (strikes, blockades etc...) which ultimately fund regimes. I'm taking about actual protests over real human rights issues like the Polish Shipyards in 1989 or the riots that toppled Ceaușescu in Romania.
    Sorry, i find the above confusing. How do you mean, they fund regimes? And what is the difference between an actual protest and a real human rights issue in your opinion?
    If you (or others) want to paint Denis O' Brian as some kind of corrupt super villain that controls everything on this island fine - but your "People power" is focusing its power on the wrong target.
    Where and on whom should our focus be? Do you disagree that Denis O'Brien is corrupt? If you don't believe he is, can I ask you how you came to that conclusion and what news sources helped you to build your opinion?
    And, as an observation, the people power in Ireland are so easy to divide you'd be forgiven for mistaking them for a domino pizza.
    Are you talking about Wednesday's protesters? If so, then I agree that there are some issues within the movement. It's not perfect but at least we're trying.
    There is simply no big issues worth fighting for, despite was the Socialist Daily would have us believe.
    So you believe that there's no need to change anything in the world at the moment and everything should stay as is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭Thurston?

moxin wrote: »
    It's ironic that the brigade who moan about balancing the national accounts promoting water charges, spending cuts etc also support an exiled tax billionaire controlling our media and fuel stations.

I would have thought 1 of the main criteria for becoming a successful businessman, is that you don't particularly need 'support'?

Have the entire population ever stormed the Dáil in the past? So how do we know what would happen if we were to all do it?

Are you forgetting that the government are supposed to be working for us as our public representatives?

Remember, big corporations and governments and whoever else can do absolutely nothing without our consent. If everyone stopped going to McDonalds tomorrow, McDonalds would fail and shut down. Not saying that we'd get anyone to do that. But my point is that they need us to exist. If we stop buying into it, they have no control.

What is your definition of power?

Sorry, i find the above confusing. How do you mean, they fund regimes? And what is the difference between an actual protest and a real human rights issue in your opinion?

Where and on whom should our focus be? Do you disagree that Denis O'Brien is corrupt? If you don't believe he is, can I ask you how you came to that conclusion and what news sources helped you to build your opinion?

Are you talking about Wednesday's protesters? If so, then I agree that there are some issues within the movement. It's not perfect but at least we're trying.

So you believe that there's no need to change anything in the world at the moment and everything should stay as is?

We won't agree politically so there's no point debating with one another. That ground is long since covered in AH :P

My definition of power isn't so much a definition, but an understanding. Many people think power is whoever has the most money (ie. can buy their way in). It's easy to fall for this as money often lends a person ability and is also posessed by those "in power" (office).

But true power comes from the ability to control and operate sans money or support from the majority. It's an ability to influence and it's often possessed by those who know how to leverage their position to an amount greater than its sum, instead of just using blunt force (ie. using the "sum" of your "power" by throwing money as a strategy.).

I'm not saying that money isn't important or indeed a tool for power, but attacking money (Denis O Brian) as though it's power is a fools game.

I realize that I'm taking very airy fairy here and I apologize for that. Power in all its forms (military, financial, personal) is a very interesting subject and it's something I've read a great deal of classic philosophy and works on. It's easy to dismiss the entire issue of power as Machiavellian in nature or the obsession of psychopaths but it surrounds us all in every day life.

If you've ever been in a group in work where people listen to a member instead of the manager that's power. If you wonder why the IRA have little trouble with informers in Derry it's because their tactics are based on real power, instead of people power. As disgusting as it is, it's the truth. From military to personal life the definition of power remains constant. The Taliban hold the keys to power in Afghanistan despite the fact that they can't even enter the capital of the country they control.

Feel free to dismiss it as anecdotal but every ounce of power ever held (as opposed to those who simply buy "yes men") has come from the ability to have people do as you say for no financial reward whatsoever.

How quickly bought regimes tumble and the "yes men" scatter - Libya 2011 is a great example.

Thurston? wrote: »
    I would have thought 1 of the main criteria for becoming a successful businessman, is that you don't particularly need 'support'?

I doubt Denis O' Brian is crying in his mansion in Malta because 30,000 people protested against IW. :pac:

We won't agree politically so there's no point debating with one another. That ground is long since covered in AH :P
    Fair enough. :) I'm not sure what your political views are since I post here in a rather ad hoc fashion. But whatever your views are, I completely respect them.
    My definition of power isn't so much a definition, but an understanding. Many people think power is whoever has the most money (ie. can buy their way in). It's easy to fall for this as money often lends a person ability and is also posessed by those "in power" (office).
    I think we are indirectly in agreement here. :)
    But true power comes from the ability to control and operate sans money or support from the majority. It's an ability to influence and it's often possessed by those who know how to leverage their position to an amount greater than its sum, instead of just using blunt force (ie. using the "sum" of your "power" by throwing money as a strategy.).
    Yep, we definitely are in agreement on that point. :)

So now, let's take that thinking and apply it to the world today. In my opinion, it is not a true power society as per our agreed definition above. At the moment, it's all about money. And some people in this world being in a desperate situation because they don't have enough of it. It just so happens that the banks with the biggest wealth own the federal reserve, for instance.

So if we, the ordinary citizens, take our power (which, at the moment, is money, due to the type of society we live in) and place it somewhere else, big business can't thrive. If all of us withdrew our money from the big banks and placed it in credit unions or local banks (depending on the country you live in), there would be huge change. If we bought our food from local sources instead of Tesco, for instance, then we'd see huge change. Nothing is going to change overnight. They are all just small steps to be taken. And they all begin with each individual.

But a lot of us think that our small contribution can't make a difference. But if we all believed the contrary, then massive change can happen. It's what we allow ourselves to believe, I think.
    I'm not saying that money isn't important or indeed a tool for power, but attacking money (Denis O Brian) as though it's power is a fools game.
    At the moment, in the world, it is. Money is cited as the be all and end all. And it's causing more problems than it solves. If you removed money from the planet, imagine what would be different? So... my point is that we need to find a way for the world to operate out of the true power you described so well above.
    I realize that I'm taking very airy fairy here and I apologize for that.
    :) I don't agree. And no apology is necessary.:P
    Power in all its forms (military, financial, personal) is a very interesting subject and it's something I've read a great deal of classic philosophy and works on. It's easy to dismiss the entire issue of power as Machiavellian in nature or the obsession of psychopaths but it surrounds us all in every day life.
    I'd love to hear your thoughts on where power presents itself in everyday life, if you ever had the time. It is such an interesting topic and something we should be contemplating more in my opinion.
    If you've ever been in a group in work where people listen to a member instead of the manager that's power.
    It sure is.
    Feel free to dismiss it as anecdotal but every ounce of power ever held (as opposed to those who simply buy "yes men") has come from the ability to have people do as you say for no financial reward whatsoever.
    Agreed in terms of true power. But the world is not running this way at the moment. It's about money. That's the problem. If it ran as you said above, the world would be a much fairer place.

Fair enough. :) I'm not sure what your political views are since I post here in a rather ad hoc fashion. But whatever your views are, I completely respect them.

I think we are indirectly in agreement here. :)
    Yep, we definitely are in agreement on that point. :)

So now, let's take that thinking and apply it to the world today. In my opinion, it is not a true power society as per our agreed definition above. At the moment, it's all about money. And some people in this world being in a desperate situation because they don't have enough of it. It just so happens that the banks with the biggest wealth own the federal reserve, for instance.

So if we, the ordinary citizens, take our power (which, at the moment, is money, due to the type of society we live in) and place it somewhere else, big business can't thrive. If all of us withdrew our money from the big banks and placed it in credit unions or local banks (depending on the country you live in), there would be huge change. If we bought our food from local sources instead of Tesco, for instance, then we'd see huge change. Nothing is going to change overnight. They are all just small steps to be taken. And they all begin with each individual.

But a lot of us think that our small contribution can't make a difference. But if we all believed the contrary, then massive change can happen. It's what we allow ourselves to believe, I think.

At the moment, in the world, it is. Money is cited as the be all and end all. And it's causing more problems than it solves. If you removed money from the planet, imagine what would be different? So... my point is that we need to find a way for the world to operate out of the true power you described so well above.

:) I don't agree. And no apology is necessary.:P

I'd love to hear your thoughts on where power presents itself in everyday life, if you ever had the time. It is such an interesting topic and something we should be contemplating more in my opinion.

It sure is.

Agreed in terms of true power. But the world is not running this way at the moment. It's about money. That's the problem. If it ran as you said above, the would would be a much fairer place.

I think you're equating a system (capitalism) to power, which is quite the same as equating money too power seeing as capitalism is based on the green stuff.

Money is quite a good measurement of success because it stacks just so damn neatly. People on a large enough scal (like say, populations) stack just like money too. So it's damn easy to have power of a population without using money as a tool.

Your economic examples, I suspect, are based on your political ideas (which, I'm guessing, are socialist) instead of logic. We could spend ages comparing economic models that are based on politics instead of logic. In my opinion, capitalism kicked off during the Industrial Revolution and has been thriving since.

If we all switched to local markets instead of Tesco/Aldi/Lidl I think two things would happen:
    • We'd need more unskilled workers which are useless to the economy and over their lifetime are a drain (we're leaving emotions out of this debate, right?)
    • Prices would go up particularly in rural areas.

So yeah, unemployment would drop to 1% but go speak to an LC student or a college grad and ask them if their life's ambition in 2014 is to work as a baker or carpenter in a system not unlike the one that existed in the Middle Ages (local business for local markets under local economies).

Today's world is all about money. And so was yesterdays world. We could go back to the year 0AD and discover every Tom, Dick and Harry was more interested in making a buck than he was in fixing the worlds problems.

The idea of "wealth distribution", while vague on the tactics that'd be used to implement it is interesting. But ultimately I couldn't care. People can redistribute whatever they hell they want. We'd still have lemmings creaming themselves over the next iPhone, stores filled on Black Friday, idiots getting 30% credit cards, school leavers buying investment property and taxi men cursing the government. Within a few years the rich would be rich and the poor would be poor, with the exception of a small percentage who understand power and actually seize their ill gotten opportunity (and fair play) and those who were rich due to corruption, nepotism who never worked a day in their lives.

If you're interested in power stay away from the self help crap. It's all disillusioning "Empowering" logic circle jerks.

Machiavelli, Plato and Sun Tzu ( Sun Tzu for tactics) are great reads. I think most people read them as they are (ie. political or military manuals) but at their core they contain very applicable, logical explanations of people and why we bend to power.

Mentioned several jobs in this post. Not knocking any profession or career - just citing for examples' sake.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,934 ✭✭✭20Cent

Tenders are publicly posted and available.
    Once the deadline passes why not also publish the bidders proposals then everyone can see the offers. Once a decision is made publish an explanation of why the job was awarded to the particular bidder.

Simple, transparent and cheap to do.

Ok. I've read your post, Dean and I have a question for you.

Why is the economy so important?

If we were to possibly sustain ourselves locally, we could create new jobs and put money back into our local communities. So think big for a second, right.. What if everyone did this? Do you see pitfalls to this? And if so, what are they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

is it me or has the level of hostility towards this individual become borderline hysterical ?

the media in this country ( broadly speaking ) is very much left wing so i dont think his influence is anywhere near as profound as some appear to believe

Yeah, he's completely hands off

http://www.theguardian.com/media/greenslade/2014/jul/28/irish-independent-denis-o-brien
    http://www.broadsheet.ie/2014/07/28/continuity-rae/

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2014/08/03/sorry-boss/

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2014/08/24/the-steaks-are-low/

Not to mention that he is highly litigious and threatens journalists on a regular basis by means of the solicitors letter.

If we were to possibly sustain ourselves locally, we could create new jobs and put money back into our local communities. So think big for a second, right.. What if everyone did this? Do you see pitfalls to this? And if so, what are they?

You're talking about a closed, protectionist economy which has been shown to be a ruinous policy the world over.

So let's say, you invent a cure for cancer right there in you basement labratory. Good luck conquering the world. The first anitbiotics for cow pox were only discovered, manufactured and distributed thanks to the industrial revolution

That keyboard your typing on might have been put in a box in Cork (if it's a Mac) but it was designed in California, with help from a team of European engineers, Canadian programmers and highly illegal labor somewhere in China.

It's not nice to think about, but at least we can type about it.

I don't remember a big meeting where everyone made local economies illegal or shuttered local business. In fact, most businesses start off as one person, an idea and a garden shed. None have ever succeeded on that scale for the betterment of humanity though.

I don't deliberately p my boss off if I can help it. I don't need to be sent a memo about it. If a journalist has plenty of topics to write about why write about the guy who owns half the industry. Even those who don't work for him would be thinking they could well be in the future. Then the few who still write about him get sued. I think going after Sam Smith was a warning, he didn't sue the paper he went after Smith personally to ruin him.

20Cent wrote: »
    Tenders are publicly posted and available.
    Once the deadline passes why not also publish the bidders proposals then everyone can see the offers. Once a decision is made publish an explanation of why the job was awarded to the particular bidder.

Simple, transparent and cheap to do.

Competition rules. They are only released after a few years when prices and details are deemed unlikely to be sensitive.

For example, the exact details of a bid in Ireland by Siemens would make for interesting reading by an US State looking to tender water meters. Siemens wouldn't apply for the Ireland gig because it'd show their hand to the Americans. It's a courtesy routed in logic, not corruption.

Competition rules. They are only released after a few years when prices and details are deemed unlikely to be sensitive.

For example, the exact details of a bid in Ireland by Siemens would make for interesting reading by an US State looking to tender water meters. Siemens wouldn't apply for the Ireland gig because it'd show their hand to the Americans. It's a courtesy routed in logic, not corruption.

Ok, so have the bids for the telecoms license been published?