Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**ALL THINGS IRISH WATER/WATER RELATED** Part 2 - MOD WARNING IN OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    teddy_303 wrote: »
    main stream media pushes bull**** stories and twists them to suit their agenda, equally hiding or minimising the stories that don't suit their agenda. whats confusing about that?

How is anyone able to quote a source to you that you will accept? All you have to do is refer to the Indo either carrying it or not carrying it in order to dismiss it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Tinkersbell

I do not want to pay for water in any way
    Here's a representative example of the people who attended the protest at Coolock. Have a read through the comments and pick out the peaceful one. There are some extremely sinister and disgraceful comments.

https://www.facebook.com/EdenmoreSaysNo/posts/1552716361625721

Or is it all, as a previous poster suggested, just banter?

Has anyone got any videos of Gardai or IW workers being assaulted as Denis O'Brien's media outlets state?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭masculinist

main stream media pushes bull**** stories and twists them to suit their agenda, equally hiding or minimising the stories that don't suit their agenda.

If only one good thing comes out of this recession/liquidization of Ireland - a big leap forward in civic citizen maturity and wisdom would be on my wishlist. A grassroots change would be a blessing for us all.

Nobody should trust the media. And people dont any longer because they like many previously blindly trusted institutions have abused their position in Irish society. They are told directly what to write and which angle to take or else they are fired. Ireland is such a small country that they can't find work anywhere else. Indo journalists dont want to be handng their CVs into Supermacs now do they ?:D Ethics in journalism doesnt exist. It is a post WW2 Hollywood concept from old black and white movies starring Jimmy Cagney.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 479 ✭✭In Lonesome Dove

dragoneye wrote: »
    Ok so I I have been following this thread and have never posted but I feel I kinda off have to now...

On Monday evening my husband came in from work with a beautiful gash on his forehead and nose

I obviously asked what happened he said someone threw a stone at him - he is working at installing meters

I asked did he ring the guards as technically I think that's assault although I stand to be corrected on that.

he said no that all lads on his gang WERE used to it by now.. Getting insults called scabs scum of the earth ..

How is this even possible that hard working men can be treated like this they didn't bring in charges

I don"t understand it

I'm sorry to read this happened to your husband. Please be mindful that this and other stuff that I read lately about violence being used, it isn't coming from all against the water charges. I'm sitting on the fence regarding water charges leaning towards against in it's currant form. I remember when the lads were out working in my area installing meters around April or May or June - I'd be out walking and I'd pass them by and smile graciously and salute them.

I think it's wrong targeting the installers of meters. They are not to blame for these charges or the new quango that is Irish Water.

I think some peoples frustrations about water charges is being directed at the wrong sources. I attended my local rally and march last weekend and there was no violence, while I was there, thank god. I marched for a good bit, then hopped out and fceked off for lunch and to browse a bookshop before heading home. I saw on Facebook that night that the march went onto a topaz garage. Like WTF is that about? A topaz garage. What was the aim of that like? What was that going to achieve? OK, I get that there are connections with Denis O Brien, but it's not like he's sitting in a topaz petrol station in ballygobackwards and all it would have achieved is p1ssing of motorists and those who work at the station.

I hope your husband is feeling well. Unfortunately gone are the days where one can walk from a job if they are not happy in it and walk into another one. It's just not that easy any more.

If only one good thing comes out of this recession/liquidization of Ireland - a big leap forward in voter maturity and wisdom would be on my wishlist. A grassroots change would be a blessing for us all.

Nobody should trust the media. They are told directly what to write and which angle to take or else they are fired. Ireland is such a small country that they can't find work anywhere else. Indo journalists dont want to be handng their CVs into Supermacs now do they ?:D Ethics in journalism doesnt exist. It is a post WW2 Hollywood concept from old black and white movies starring Jimmy Cagney.

If people in this country believe everything they read/hear in a media, mostly controlled and owned by Denis O'Brien (the same Denis O'Brien who got the meter contract and the ESAT license the last time FG were in power), then either their very gullible or very stupid.
    I think there's a lot of wilful ignorance at play, it's at play because the truth about this corrupt country is too hard to face for a lot of people.

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    Has anyone got any videos of Gardai or IW workers being assaulted as Denis O'Brien's media outlets state?

Why quote my post and ignore its content?

I'm asking you and others here a question.
    Has anyone got any videos of either Gardai or IW staff being assaulted?
    I mean, this would be priceless stuff for the pro water tax posters.
    There's no videos because it never happened.
    Simple as that.

So what?
    It's a facebook page where people are venting their anger.
    At least most of the people on it are there to see, pictures and details and all.
    More than can be said about the posters on this site.....

Simple as that.

Pretty sure this has been answered already. There are two people present at protests, protesters and Gardaí. The protesters aren't going to release footage of them assaulting people and the Gardaí cannot.
    So what?
    It's a facebook page where people are venting their anger.
    At least most of the people on it are there to see, pictures and details and all.
    More than can be said about the posters on this site.....

It's a clear indication of the crowd that was outside Coolock Station and a pretty solid indicator of their idea of peaceful protest.

Pretty sure this has been answered already. There are two people present at protests, protesters and Gardaí. The protesters aren't going to release footage of them assaulting people and the Gardaí cannot.

Bollox.
    There's journalists, there's IW workers, there's people around who actually agree with a water tax.
    You're also trying to say that Gardai wouldn't release videos or information??
    Are you actually serious? Maybe you should ask Mick Wallace...
    There's no videos because the alleged assaults didn't happen.

More lies by the pro tax side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Simple as that.
    The video evidence was presented to a court and accepted and it along with other evidence was the basis for an injunction being granted.
    The video evidence taken at protests in October appeared to
    show “a significant deviation from lawful protesting” while other evidence
    seemed to suggest workers were being intimidated, assaulted and had been
    followed home, he said.

Phoebas wrote: »
    The video evidence was presented to a court and accepted and it along with other evidence was the basis for an injunction being granted.

So, nobody here, nobody in the media, nobody on the pro tax side has even one video of either a Garda or a IW worker being assaulted.
    That's all I need to know.

So, nobody here, nobody in the media, nobody on the pro tax side has even one video of either a Garda or a IW worker being assaulted.

So you're in complete denial about the evidence accepted by the court. OK so.

From your own post,

"The video evidence taken at protests in October appeared to
    followed home, he said."

Do you want to point out where the judge said there is video evidence of Gardai and IW workers being assaulted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭teddy_303

How is anyone able to quote a source to you that you will accept? All you have to do is refer to the Indo either carrying it or not carrying it in order to dismiss it.

i said main stream media... you actually are obtuse... any bit of truth in the indo is only there to provide a thin veneer credibility.. you must be the only person online that dosen't know how stories are embelished or played to or plain ignored... good day..

From your own post,

followed home, he said."

Do you want to point out where the judge said there is video evidence of Gardai and IW workers being assaulted?

The judge didn't say there was video evidence suggesting assault; he said there was other evidence suggesting assault.
    The judge accepted the evidence and granted injunctions.

To argue that because you can't find a video on YouTube that it didn't happen is just moronic in the extreme.

Bollox.
    There's journalists, there's IW workers, there's people around who actually agree with a water tax.
    You're also trying to say that Gardai wouldn't release videos or information??
    Are you actually serious? Maybe you should ask Mick Wallace...
    There's no videos because the alleged assaults didn't happen.

More lies by the pro tax side.

The only time Gardaí release footage is in order to identify someone, and even then it is only done after all other avenues have been tried. If you can find a single occasions when this was deviated from please show us. Like I said before, releasing this footage could prejudice a potential jury pool and so cannot be done. Try and strawman the discussion with Mick Wallace all you want.

i said main stream media... you actually are obtuse... any bit of truth in the indo is only there to provide a thin veneer credibility.. you must be the only person online that dosen't know how stories are embelished or played to or plain ignored... good day..

You dismissed a posters claim because it did not appear in the Indo. You dismissed another posters claim because it did appear in the Indo. You have to be able to see the contradictory stance in that.

You lads are quit funny really.
    You actually think that only the Gardai would have videos of themselves and IW workers being assaulted.

In one of the videos posted, you can clearly see a thug shove a Garda IN THE BACK and then turn and disappear into the crowd.

You lads are quit funny really.
    You actually think that only the Gardai would have videos of themselves and IW workers being assaulted.

No, I think the protesters do too.

In one of the videos posted, you can clearly see a thug shove a Garda IN THE BACK and then turn and disappear into the crowd.

And that is a serious assault on a Garda?
    FFS!
    Actually, show us that video there, will you?

No, I think the protesters do too.

You do?????
    OMG.

FFS!

Ah so only serious assaults count now. You're backpedaling faster than Enda.

If a shove in the back is classed as assault, the courts would be full from now 'till the end of time.

They must be 'serious' and the must be on YouTube. That's the standard of evidence required here. A judge hearing evidence in a court and issuing injunctions on the strength of it isn't enough.

This thread is funny.:p

Enda?
    The one who's bring in you favourite new tax on water?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

christ above!!
    FFS!

it's probably the same protest where protestors were shooting sawn-off shotguns from their ar$e$

jebus wept!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,076 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

This thread is being hijacked by a few posters trying to highlight a few spats.

Let the gardai deal with the spats and the rest of us talk about the vast majority of the orderly protests and marches which were well organised and peaceful and where the thousands of people really showed that they have had enough of austerity and being dumped on.

Maybe if IW was not owned by DOB and the charges were lower things might not have seemed so bad but he's like a red rag to a bull and is a FG favourite so the people are not having it, cronyism and jobs for the boys and all that.

They must be 'serious' and the must be on YouTube. That's the standard of evidence required here. A judge hearing evidence in a court and issuing injunctions on the strength of it isn't enough.

This thread is funny.:p

Maybe you should read the words of the judge again.
    The words you posted.

seemed to suggest workers were being intimidated, assaulted and had been followed home", he said.

My question to you all was
    "Has anyone got any videos of Gardai or IW workers being assaulted as Denis O'Brien's media outlets state?" Post 603.