Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tánaiste Moany Burton: IW protesters 'seem to have extremely expensive phones'

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Meathlass wrote: »
    My cousin is working for them. He's been working in the family business for the last number of years on a 3 day week so delighted to get the job. Very long days though. I don't know how long his contract is.

So, no, he's not foreign and he's not a scab.

I heard pay is pretty decent, has he had any hassle from the public while working? We'd a situation with an old codger verbally assaulting workmen, I was kind of half hoping one of them would floor him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Young Blood

Meathlass wrote: »
    My cousin is working for them. He's been working in the family business for the last number of years on a 3 day week so delighted to get the job. Very long days though. I don't know how long his contract is.

So, no, he's not foreign and he's not a scab.

Were your ancestors also gombeen men during the famine?

Anyone with a conscience wouldn' t take a job like that.

Drug dealing is probably a more honest profession. At lest they provide a service.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Drug dealing is probably a more honest profession. At lest they provide a service.

This thread is taking a turn!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

No words

• Registered Users Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

rusty cole wrote: »
    just to make a point here, redundant I know but anyway.
    I remember in the boom hearing on my car radio while driving into town near easter (April) that the government had expected "X" billion from joe taxpayer in that year. It turned out they had exceeded that figure on that particular day!! that was exceeding the annual take within the first quarter!!
    I couldn't believe my ears. So really everything thereafter was a bonus, and at that rate in the billions!! So really all that extra revenue could have fixed the water and everything else in between! the government at that time misappropriated, squandered, blew, pet projected our money!!
    So realistically, people do have a right to be angry over water, Them fianna fail bast*rds took us for a ride and now fianna gael/labour are doing the same, TAXING us all over again for something we paid for already. and on it goes!!
    depressing, no matter who ya put in. F*ckwits the lotta them!!
    It's like someone taking your money to buy new lifelong shoes you badly need, spending it on a dress "they" like and then giving you old worn out yokes that last two weeks!! then their brother comes along and asks you to give em another 100.00 for the same new shoes you were promised in the first place!! ah but we need a port tunnel!!!

Best post I've read on boards in ages.

Fianna Fail = Cute hoor irresponsible politics
    Fine Gael = Fianna Fail Lite
    Sinn Fein = Angry morons
    Labour = Too small to be effective so go along with the bigger party & look like hyprocrites.
    Greens = See labour
    Socialists = Indealistic lunatics
    Independants = Mixed bag, (see all of the above).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Brought to you by people before profit.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Meathlass

I heard pay is pretty decent, has he had any hassle from the public while working? We'd a situation with an old codger verbally assaulting workmen, I was kind of half hoping one of them would floor him.

Don't know what he's on, but he leaves home around 6.30 and they could be in Athlone etc for the day so it's long hours.

Yeah, they've had hassle. Don't think they've had any organized protests, it's more people deliberately parking cars so they can't get to the footpaths or occasionally shouting and screaming at them and threatening to call the guards as they're interfering with private property.

They just move on to the next house; doesn't make any difference to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 Tubbins

I don't see whats funny about it. Poles and Romanians are likely to have less solidarity with the Irish people.

It's hard to have solidarity for a nation (Ireland) where even the unemployed (can) make more money that you do.

Let's not begrudge anybody decent work and wages working for Sierra etc, especially not people from countries where there are a lot more poor people worse off than even the lowest economic strata in Ireland.

I also find what JB said to be completely and utterly hilarious because although it's satire it cuts pretty much to the point, we need to have a better smarter system of welfare.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

That we all paid for.

Yeah, except we didnt pay for it. We borrowed for it. Like we borrow for every nurse, teacher, garda snd dole payment in this country. And that all has to be repaid. Hence water charges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 457 ✭✭CaptainInsano

They are breaking the rule of their jobseekers allowance. Instead of dicking around harassing ordinary people and workers they are suppose to be looking for work. Simple.

You realise that you're not expected to spend every waking moment of your existence posting off CVs while on the dole right? Maybe they had interviews or dropped off Cv's earlier on in the day.

Any polish person i know has integrated heavily into Irish society.They work in irish companies,live in housing estate/apartments with Irish, pay tax,send their children to Irish schools where they even learn as gaelige.

I think the polish attutude to the current problem is the truth, we have a grand time in ireland in the grand scheme of things.

The polish,a great bunch of lads.

Essentially cheap labour imported from eastern europe to undercut the Irish working classes

• Registered Users Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Meathlass

So, you'd rather be a drug dealer than an Irish Water employee?

I suppose drugs are a more socially cohesive product than water alright :rolleyes:

Essentially cheap labour imported from eastern europe to undercut the Irish working classes

Imported? Its called freedom of movement, and it's for all European countries.

Yep thats exactly what happened...

jebus.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Well played. I tip my hat.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

mine were planters...so we were fine!!

• Registered Users Posts: 12 Tubbins

Poland is in Central Europe, but then you appear to care little for reality anyway...

• Registered Users Posts: 23,551 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

You realise that you're not expected to spend every waking moment of your existence posting off CVs while on the dole right? Maybe they had interviews or dropped off Cv's earlier on in the day.

Or maybe they are just unemployable scrounging troublemakers.

Tubbins wrote: »
    I also find what JB said to be completely and utterly hilarious because although it's satire it cuts pretty much to the point, we need to have a better smarter system of welfare.

You can get a lot of smart phones for free if you take them out on billpay. Hardly the issue though.

Tubbins wrote: »
    Poland is in Central Europe, but then you appear to care little for reality anyway...

Anyone beyond the 'Iron Curtain' is eastern to me.

daveyeh wrote: »
    Best post I've read on boards in ages.

Sinn Fein = Angry morons
    Labour = Too small to be effective so go along with the bigger party & look like hyprocrites.
    Greens = See labour

cheers pal :o

The 1980s called and want their international references back

• Registered Users Posts: 4,413 ✭✭✭chupacabra

If these "protestors" saw what life was like on this side of the European Union (the baltics) they would wise up fairly sharpish. Hopefully these new water charges will lead to reduced waste of water and hopefully go a long way to reducing the 41% of unaccounted for water in the system.

Yet you'd align youself with socialists.Clever.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,843 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

I couldn't believe my ears. So really everything thereafter was a bonus, and at that rate in the billions!! So really all that extra revenue could have fixed the water and everything else in between! the government at that time misappropriated, squandered, blew, pet projected our money!!
    So realistically, people do have a right to be angry over water, Them fianna fail bast*rds took us for a ride and now fianna gael/labour are doing the same, TAXING us all over again for something we paid for already. and on it goes!!
    depressing, no matter who ya put in. F*ckwits the lotta them!!

I posted similar a week or so ago, how in gods name after the boom to end all booms, do we end up with an appalling water infrastructure, dublin still without a propert intergrated transport system etc! Literally every cent was thrown at vote buying, even looking back and several years later, I have to ask myself was FF recklessness actually that bad or am I imagining it?! :confused:
    Sinn Fein = Angry morons
    Greens = See labour

FF buy off everyone regardless of merit, FG may not be perfect, but they are streets ahead of the rest of them in my opinion.

TheDoctor wrote: »
    The 1980s called and want their international references back

Must be nice to get paid 24k a year to troll boards.ie Mr 'I'm not Middle Class' Accountant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

You can get a lot of smart phones for free if you take them out on billpay. Hardly the issue though.

They are "free"? Ah that's ok then.

Yet you'd align youself with socialists.Clever.

National Socialists that is

It will be interesting to see how many will turn up on Saturday for the protest. The behaviour of some of the "protesters" leaves a very bad taste. Not only are they wasting valuable Garda time, they are damaging their "cause".

Willfarman wrote: »
    They are "free"? Ah that's ok then.

Unlike water it seems