Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tánaiste Moany Burton: IW protesters 'seem to have extremely expensive phones'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,981 ✭✭✭KomradeBishop

It's a bit early in the day to be Godwinning threads.
    Might as well - people have already performed the 'Reductio-ad-Communism' earlier on.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

greilly123 wrote: »
    Did she answer the question or did she just go on that rant?

She's not really the answery type.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

So easy to criticise the spongers when you're not a part of the working class.

But spongers aren't working class

Upper class

Middle class

Working class

Hand out class ( who love nothing more to complain about wasting tax payers money )

• Registered Users Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

She's not really the answery type.

"STOP HORRANGING ME"

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭IrishAlice

TheDoctor wrote: »
    I wouldn't know, I would be very much part of the working class.

Sociologically speaking you're more than likely part of the middle class. Once you enter into 3rd level education you are no longer deemed working class.

I'm assuming based on your username that you indeed have a 3rd level qualification but am open to correction :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Jesus....I don't agree with some of the pro-protest views in the thread (it's not a 'rich vs poor' dichotomy), but advocating that people have their dole cut off, for their political views/actions - that's ridiculous and highly authoritarian/subservient.
    These people are spending time protesting when they should be looking for work.
    so does that include the thousands that go to Dublin for protests are can people only protest about issues directly effecting them outside their front door now?

Spending a few hours a week or going to Dublin on saturday would be absolutely fine but this woman and her ilk are almost professional protesters! she stated herself that they go to all the protests to take part even when local people do not want them there! This means they are not available for work and are not actively seeking work!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Who's Moany Burton?

Call me old-fashioned, but I refuse to take people seriously if they can't refrain from making up childish names to further their agenda.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,713 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Tánaiste Joan Burton has questioned how protestors objecting to water meters on the grounds of ability to pay can have video equipment that would "put Hollywood in the ha'penny place".

This
    The Labour Party leader was quizzed in the Dáil about a number of protests which have resulted in arrests, and whether it was appropriate use of Garda resources.

She expressed her surprise at the standard of equipment protestors have. "All of the protesters that I have seen before seem to have extremely expensive phones, tablets, video cameras," she said.
    "There has been the most extensive filming in relation to any of these actions that I have ever seen anywhere.

"Hollywood would be in the ha'penny place compared to what's done here."

personally i think this woman is way out of line here, i've seen those videos, most of them and i haven't seen one truely expensive piece of camera equipment amongst the protestors, unless you count the RTE cameraman that was around the other day, took footage and never showed it anywhere!

she's doing her best now to try tarnish the protestors in the lead up to saturdays march with buses coming from all over Ireland to show the government and those on the fence that there's a rising tide of people going to stop the installation of meters across the country and it's growing everyday, despite and in some cases directly because of the garda crackdowns and all the government spin/propaganda fcukin lies!! :pac:

moany auld tramp is all she is in my opinion and she can get it out of her head if she thinks the country are going to elect her as president a few years from now!!

this government deserve to be told to fcuk off out of it now and we elect a new crowd in asap, one that has an almost tangible fear of doing the wrong thing by the people and who may then actually stand up for us all instead of selling us all out!

Childish name calling doesn't really do a whole lot to strengthen whatever point you're trying to make.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

IrishAlice wrote: »
    Sociologically speaking you're more than likely part of the middle class. Once you enter into 3rd level education you are no longer deemed working class.

I'm assuming based on your username that you indeed have a 3rd level qualification but am open to correction :)

No Alice, your correct in that. Neither of my parents went past Leaving Cert and I was the first in my family to go to third level so I suppose I have moved away from my working class roots so to speak.

Neither of them have anytime for the protesters either.

However as mentioned before, I'm still a trainee, 25 y/o, earning 24.5K a year, renting in Dublin. So would not class myself as full middle class material.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,088 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

People talk about "sneering" politicians... how do you know they are sneering? I'm sure JB & Co aren't exactly happy that they have to do this, watching their rating plummet. They'd like nothing more than to do a "giveaway" budget like McCreevey used to do to buy some votes and a couple more years in power, but there's a country to run and debt to be paid, so... not an option.

I've never particularly liked Burton but she's got a point... but... to all those people "protesting" or sending back their letters to Irish Water... just stop, because it isn't going to change anything. You'll only end up paying more. Lots more. If someone is going to struggle to pay the charge, the best thing to do is to help them complete their form properly, so they get their proper allowance. Not force them into a situation where they end up owing a load of money.

The so called "real" Socialists ("cup of strong tea socialists"?) are just using this as another bandwagon to jump on - another way to push against sensible governing and reality. After a while they'll realise it didn't work and they'll move on to the next thing, but what about the people who bought into their propaganda and now face large bills or even court appearances?

Same thing happened with the bin charges. Now we have a free market essentially, with more than one waste disposal company to choose from. I'm happy with my waste collection, I recycle more and know what I am paying each month.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Who's Moany Burton?

Call me old-fashioned, but I refuse to take people seriously if they can't refrain from making up childish names to further their agenda.

Brenda Rodgers is another pathetic one.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,981 ✭✭✭KomradeBishop

foggy_lad wrote: »

Spending a few hours a week or going to Dublin on saturday would be absolutely fine but this woman and her ilk are almost professional protesters! she stated herself that they go to all the protests to take part even when local people do not want them there! This means they are not available for work and are not actively seeking work!
    You're highly ignorant for 1: assuming they are jobless, and 2: assuming that if they were, that protesting/looking-for-work are mutually exclusive.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Honestly I doubt most of them had the brain power to notice something like that.

Aren't you just lovely. Snobby fcuken attitude.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,413 ✭✭✭chupacabra

If you want free water then go dig your own well. Everybody should have to pay for their water and waste disposal. Typical modern irish entitlement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Young Blood

Who are the water meter installers anyway?

Ireland never seems to be short of a few scabs to carry out the dirty work, the only difference now is that most scabs are coming in from Europe.

Is this that same case here?

Ireland never seems to be short of a few scabs to carry out the dirty work, the only difference now is that most scabs are coming in from Europe.

Sierra/Siteserv employ a lot of contractors.
    A lot are indeed foreign.
    Though this isn't new.

I've been having dealings with them through work for years & its been that way for the few years I've known them.

They are contracted to do a job, no one is on strike.
    They are not scabs.

just to make a point here, redundant I know but anyway.
    I remember in the boom hearing on my car radio while driving into town near easter (April) that the government had expected "X" billion from joe taxpayer in that year. It turned out they had exceeded that figure on that particular day!! that was exceeding the annual take within the first quarter!!
    I couldn't believe my ears. So really everything thereafter was a bonus, and at that rate in the billions!! So really all that extra revenue could have fixed the water and everything else in between! the government at that time misappropriated, squandered, blew, pet projected our money!!
    So realistically, people do have a right to be angry over water, Them fianna fail bast*rds took us for a ride and now fianna gael/labour are doing the same, TAXING us all over again for something we paid for already. and on it goes!!
    depressing, no matter who ya put in. F*ckwits the lotta them!!
    It's like someone taking your money to buy new lifelong shoes you badly need, spending it on a dress "they" like and then giving you old worn out yokes that last two weeks!! then their brother comes along and asks you to give em another 100.00 for the same new shoes you were promised in the first place!! ah but we need a port tunnel!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I bet she wrote her speech from the comfort of her leathered interior, chauffeured driven Audi.

That we all paid for.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Immigants! I knew it was them! Even when it was the bears, I knew it was them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

Go on then, show us some figures.....

http://www.theguardian.com/business/2014/jan/20/oxfam-85-richest-people-half-of-the-world
    Utter nonsense. What did you think this country was going to have to do after it was busted?

What did people think was going to have to happen?

It's the usual evasive nonsense - silly sound bites about how unfair everything is and how no one should take responsibility for the mess this country was in other than Fianna Fáil and a handful of people with money.

It's begrudgery, denial and complete delusion for people to say the steps taken were not needed.

we were apparently bullied into the bailout program, i say apparently because world government are apparently bullied into lots of decisions in public while bending right over with deep pockets or aspirations of a better job when they retire on state pensions, we are shouldering 42% of europes debt even though we account for about 1% of it's population, the government we gave a mandate for change too were afforded by the majority the luxury of changing the illegal promissory notes into more legally bound repayments that go on as far as 2040, the only bond holders they burned was the credit union, the state shut down the post bank when it began to capitalise on the dwindling bank deposists. there's so many more examples of government ****ting on the people but lets continue to fool ourselves this was all for the good of the people ;)
    Honestly I doubt most of them had the brain power to notice something like that.

what's your excuse then?
    foggy_lad wrote: »

many of them do work, they get to every protest because that's what real citizens are supposed to do, not be a sheep creating endless excuses as to why the particular time/date/agenda/type of people expected to turn up doesn't suit them, when in reality if the public got behind protests they would out number even the largest trade union groups in the country ;)
    Who's Moany Burton?

my 11 year old daughter knows who moany burton is without having to do be told. if this is all you got from the thread then good luck to ya
    People talk about "sneering" politicians... how do you know they are sneering? I'm sure JB & Co aren't exactly happy that they have to do this, watching their rating plummet. They'd like nothing more than to do a "giveaway" budget like McCreevey used to do to buy some votes and a couple more years in power, but there's a country to run and debt to be paid, so... not an option.

I've never particularly liked Burton but she's got a point... but... to all those people "protesting" or sending back their letters to Irish Water... just stop, because it isn't going to change anything. You'll only end up paying more. Lots more. If someone is going to struggle to pay the charge, the best thing to do is to help them complete their form properly, so they get their proper allowance. Not force them into a situation where they end up owing a load of money.

The so called "real" Socialists ("cup of strong tea socialists"?) are just using this as another bandwagon to jump on - another way to push against sensible governing and reality. After a while they'll realise it didn't work and they'll move on to the next thing, but what about the people who bought into their propaganda and now face large bills or even court appearances?

Same thing happened with the bin charges. Now we have a free market essentially, with more than one waste disposal company to choose from. I'm happy with my waste collection, I recycle more and know what I am paying each month.

jb and co dont give a $hit about their ratings plummeting, up til now they've been pretty much guaranteed to make it til mar 2016 when they'll walk into the sunset with another full term pension and top jobs for implementing the corrupt agendas, they dont need to buy anybody off to be in power another 2 years ffs, what they are tryint o do is divide the country so they can stay until they've creamed as much as they can for themselves and those around them.

i am fcuking gobsmacked over your post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Childish name calling doesn't really do a whole lot to strengthen whatever point you're trying to make.

Childish name calling is generally uncalled for but the prissy champagne socialist brigade might want to be careful of getting on their high horses, less they be adjudged guilty of hypocrisy. As then leader of the Labour party, Pat Rabbitte's 2002 election slogan was "let's kick the bastards out" IIRC! The Labour party didn't mind straight talk back then! How the times have changed.

A situation Orwell might have recogised perhaps:

"No question now what has happened to the faces of the pigs. The creatures outside looked from pig to man, and from man to pig, and from pig to man again: but already it was impossible to say which was which."

• Registered Users Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Meathlass

My cousin is working for them. He's been working in the family business for the last number of years on a 3 day week so delighted to get the job. Very long days though. I don't know how long his contract is.

So, no, he's not foreign and he's not a scab.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

chupacabra wrote: »
    If you want free water then go dig your own well. Everybody should have to pay for their water and waste disposal. Typical modern irish entitlement.

we already pay for it ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Young Blood

Immigants! I knew it was them! Even when it was the bears, I knew it was them.

I don't see whats funny about it. Poles and Romanians are likely to have less solidarity with the Irish people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

no tax! more services!

Irish socialists,a grand bunch of lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

that kind of comment from a minister detracts from the issue.
    people irrespective of their income, are entitled to protest in a proper manner.

or is ireland not a free country any more?

Poles and Romanians are likely to have less solidarity with the Irish people.

Soooo bloody what?
    (Before this thread descends down a dark path & gets all 'Eirigi')

I don't see whats funny about it. Poles and Romanians are likely to have less solidarity with the Irish people.

Sure we're all Europeans now

that kind of comment from a minister detracts from the issue.
    people irrespective of their income, are entitled to protest in a proper manner.

or is ireland not a free country any more?

When was Ireland ever a free country?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Any polish person i know has integrated heavily into Irish society.They work in irish companies,live in housing estate/apartments with Irish, pay tax,send their children to Irish schools where they even learn as gaelige.

I think the polish attutude to the current problem is the truth, we have a grand time in ireland in the grand scheme of things.

The polish,a great bunch of lads.