Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Kildare, down by kildare village

Was thinking it was far enough down alright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Kildare, down by kildare village

Is Kildare not a town???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Is Kildare not a town???

The outlet center in Kildare is called the Kildare Village.

Some good news today, got 125 euro back today from my insurance, extra year no claims maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Is Kildare not a town???

Stheno is a woman so to avoid confuse junctions are best referred to by their closest shopping centre :pac:

By the way stheno 12.5 mph on the m50? Would you be faster leaving at half 6 and going through town? I know if I leave celbridge at 10 to seven il be in merrion sq for quarter past. If I leave celbridge at quarter past seven, it's more like half 8 by the time I'm at merrion sq.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

Galway is without doubt one of the worst cities to get through. Took me an hour and a half to get from Newcastle through the city to Bohermore (grand total of 3.7km!!!), albeit during rush hour. I don't know how some of ye go through city traffic every day, it would crack me up!

That was your mistake :pac:. Across the bridge, straight through the massive new junction, up the hill and right at the little topaz roundabout and that's bohermore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Interslice wrote: »
    That was your mistake :pac:. Across the bridge, straight through the massive new junction, up the hill and right at the little topaz roundabout and that's bohermore.

That's what a normal person would do, but I had a passenger who wanted to be dropped smack bang in the middle of eyre square, poor soul didn't want to get wet!! :P

Mahoosive crash on the m7 :o

A car chase apparently, few cars involved and a fatality too :(

take her handy people

Passed through there around half eight tonight. Some heavy rain and a few eejits on the road. There was a lad hogging the faast lane on the M8 for a while doing about 110km/h. He eventually got out of the way with after a few flashes. I overtook him and he pulled back out into the fast lane. No cars up ahead at all :confused::confused:.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Is Kildare not a town???

No. For us fashionistas that junction donates Kildare Village, a haven of joy in which one can immerse onself

Those on here who've met me might be bemused, but I'd be quite the fashionista in work :D I just look like a slob at the weekends :) In work I wear very smart clothes, with appropriate assessories and makeup, I've had work colleagues not recognise me at the weekend. My mechanic also went into shock the first time he saw me in work mode :D

Quad once told me I looked like **** one weekend, even pred was not that rude :pac:
    Stheno is a woman so to avoid confuse junctions are best referred to by their closest shopping centre :pac:

By the way stheno 12.5 mph on the m50? Would you be faster leaving at half 6 and going through town? I know if I leave celbridge at 10 to seven il be in merrion sq for quarter past. If I leave celbridge at quarter past seven, it's more like half 8 by the time I'm at merrion sq.

For the first point see above. :pac:

As to the second, I've decided to see what leaving at 6:55 does and if it improves :) Much as you said :)

Earlier I get in, earlier I can leave

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Passed through there around half eight tonight. Some heavy rain and a few eejits on the road. There was a lad hogging the faast lane on the M8 for a while doing about 110km/h. He eventually got out of the way with after a few flashes. I overtook him and he pulled back out into the fast lane. No cars up ahead at all :confused::confused:.

It was heading towards dublin, there was shocking rain for a few minutes alright, I won't lie I feel fairly weird knowing just a few minutes away someone's been killed on a road i know very well, not by her own doing, but none the less

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

That's what a normal person would do, but I had a passenger who wanted to be dropped smack bang in the middle of eyre square, poor soul didn't want to get wet!! :P

Ha, been there! Cork's far worse though. At 8 in the evening one side of galway to the other is about 10 minutes through the city centre. Cork is near 40! Even without a bit of traffic the one way streets, road works and traffic lights will wreck your head.

It was heading towards dublin, there was shocking rain for a few minutes alright, I won't lie I feel fairly weird knowing just a few minutes away someone's been killed on a road i know very well, not by her own doing, but none the less

Jesus, someone was killed? Dunno if you remember the giant crash in 2007 on that same stretch of road during fog, a woman ran into the back of a fire truck, and there were hours of tailbacks.

It was scary wondering what was going on.

Ye that rain was very wet! It hit me on the backroads from maynooth across to dunshughlin.

Stheno wrote: »
    Jesus, someone was killed? Dunno if you remember the giant crash in 2007 on that same stretch of road during fog, a woman ran into the back of a fire truck, and there were hours of tailbacks.

It was scary wondering what was going on.

Yeah, what happened was, she was coming onto the motorway, cops were chasing a car, which ended up in the back of hers, and then well yeah, that pile up was out on the motorway by my old school, we were down near it for something or other, when there was no cars and it was quiet, you could hear the cars hitting into things, it's a sound ill never ever forget

Thoughts to the womans family tonight though :(

Ye that rain was very wet! It hit me on the backroads from maynooth across to dunshughlin.

Got me just as i pulled into the yard, so i had an "extended period" sitting in the car :P

Yea that poor woman. I know this is a bad thing to say but it might help others who come across the same situation. Keep checking your mirrors even if you are cruising along a motorway. Like if she was checking her mirrors and seen that coming along behind her she could have pulled right into the hard sholder.
    RIP.

Ok forget my last post. Just seen she was just entering the motorway.

Yeah they were trying to box the car in or something and it backfired by the looks of things

Yeah, what happened was, she was coming onto the motorway, cops were chasing a car, which ended up in the back of hers, and then well yeah, that pile up was out on the motorway by my old school, we were down near it for something or other, when there was no cars and it was quiet, you could hear the cars hitting into things, it's a sound ill never ever forget

Thoughts to the womans family tonight though :(

God love her family getting that news tonight :(

Hope you are ok, awful experience :(

No. For us fashionistas that junction donates Kildare Village, a haven of joy in which one can immerse onself

Those on here who've met me might be bemused, but I'd be quite the fashionista in work :D I just look like a slob at the weekends :) In work I wear very smart clothes, with appropriate assessories and makeup, I've had work colleagues not recognise me at the weekend. My mechanic also went into shock the first time he saw me in work mode :D

Quad once told me I looked like **** one weekend, even pred was not that rude :pac:

For the first point see above. :pac:

As to the second, I've decided to see what leaving at 6:55 does and if it improves :) Much as you said :)

Earlier I get in, earlier I can leave

Oh dear jesus!!! :eek:

God love her family getting that news tonight :(

Hope you are ok, awful experience :(

Ah yeah I'll be fine, I dunno how I'd manage if that was someone i knew, don't even want to think about it

Oh dear jesus!!! :eek:

Is this in response to my posting that you told me I looked like a ghoul?
    Ah yeah I'll be fine, I dunno how I'd manage if that was someone i knew, don't even want to think about it

Don't.

Yes and what's scaring me is that I don't remember and that I actually did....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Yeah they were trying to box the car in or something and it backfired by the looks of things

Just passed over this on the bridge toward the Japanese Gardens,

Numerous emergency services vehicles & a Hearse parked up on the road, saw a small blue car in awful condition (Citroen of some sort i think, not sure) and another upside down, awful air of sadness about it, poor woman and gardai involved in such a horrific incident.

That stretch of road has seen far too many fatalities at this stage.. :(

Don't.

I wont be!

Ah you get used to not remembering after the first few times, :P

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Just passed over this on the bridge toward the Japanese Gardens,

Numerous emergency services vehicles & a Hearse parked up on the road, saw a small blue car in awful condition (Citroen of some sort i think, not sure) and another upside down, awful air of sadness about it, poor woman and gardai involved in such a horrific incident.

That stretch of road has seen far too many fatalities at this stage.. :(

Yeah the citreon was the womans :( it's scary to think that minutes before it all happened she was just going about her business while the others were trying to out run the cops, and then bang :(

You did repeatedly last time we were up in dgt's, three times, I actually checked how I looked in a mirror at one point after you said it a couple of times, and realised you expect great beauty :D

Don't worry, I took no offense and have enjoyed embarassing you, god love you if pred sees this :D heeeheeeee

p.s. it was after the pesto breakfast (that's all I remember of that disgusting conversation)

I noticed some coolant on the ground a few weeks back and noticed the coolant reservoir bottle was low, I am always watching out for HG failure just incase but there is the possibility of a split hose. I got the car lifted up on ramps but couldnt find any leaks. Oil is fine, no mayo and the car does not run hot.

I did the rad cap off test and when I rev there are bubbles and the coolant rises. The rad was very full so coolant from the reservoir went back into the radiator, what should I do? Get a compression test?

video: http://vid1110.photobucket.com/albums/h446/heilong79/bubbles.mp4

I'd be surprised if your HG gone. That vid looks like just the water pump pushing water through into the rad as you rev it. Leaks are hard to find. If you start the car when it's cold and get under it with a good torch you can see the coolant running from a leak as the system starts to pressurise but it's all still cool enough that it doesn't just evaporate. Either that or leave it for about half an hour after a drive and have a look then. Any salty residue is a good sign of a leak. Are you topping up water regularly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Take it handy folks. Bank holidays bring out the worst in drivers.