Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Traveled on a stretch of National road (100km speed limit) this evening from 8:20 to 9:00 and met a grand total of 3 cars. It's great to have the road to yourself!

What road is that? Castlebar to Newport? Westport-Newport?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

What road is that? Castlebar to Newport? Westport-Newport?

Clifden - Westport. Fastest I ever done it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Where's the best place to get pressed Irish plates lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭String

eireplates.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Does a back box like this offer any performance increase or just make the car louder?

No noticeable performance difference, but the right exhaust will make it sound better, the wrong one will make it sound farty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Does a back box like this offer any performance increase or just make the car louder?

SS1408.jpg

On a naturally asserted car it may cause you to lose power.
    Just a back box on anything will do SFA really.

What you planning on sticking it onto?

The more we know, the more we can help. :)
    (And I have a terrible memory for what everyone drives)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

CianRyan wrote: »

ha, auto correct got you? It should read naturally aspirated.

Balls, yes it did. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

So I've been asking around and found that I can get the 530d mapped to adjust the parameters on the turbo's boosting.
    This will allowing my slight overboost problem to be fixed and stop the car going into limp the whole time!
    Its at for 1.6 bar at the minute and we reckon moving the goalposts will fix the problem, well not fix but tell it that's fine :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

+1 on eireplates.com I got a set of pressed plates recently for my car. They look great!

Looks like we have our first problem on the e39, overheating :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

Be very careful. Don't continue driving it until you know what is the cause. The sister did on her avensis and even a short journey with it overheating blew the head gasket.

Are you low on coolant? If not is it overheating when are stationary or while driving?

nd wrote: »
    Be very carefull. Don't continue driving it until you know what is the cause. The sister did on her avensis and even a short journey with it overheating blew the head gasket.

Yup, lucky I was just pulling in to park in college, the previous owner is coming down around 11 to look at it/take it away, was supposed to be going to Dublin in her tomorrow :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Previous owner looking at it? That's unheard of!

He's a mechanic himself with his own place, he specifically told me if there's any problems then get on to him :)

Right now it's looking like it might need a cooling system overhaul I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Told you to replace the thermostat, ya bloody tick!

If that doesn't help, then the head might be gone.

Speaking from experience.

Sobanek wrote: »
    Told you to replace the thermostat, ya bloody tick!

If that doesn't help, then the head might be gone.

Speaking from experience.

That was in relation to the 7mpg, which wasn't a thing :pac:

No point replacing the system piece by piece, all or nothing really.

But sure if it's only a thermostat there's no need to rip the head man.
    Worth a shot rather than skimming heads etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 goodfin

Hi I hope I'm.posting in the right place here. My car is quit bad on petrol can anyone tell me if its extremely bad pls. With mainly school run driving so plenty of short trips I'm getting 180miles for €60 petrol. And the petrol I'm getting is not an overly priced garag . Thanks

goodfin wrote: »
    Hi I hope I'm.posting in the right place here. My car is quit bad on petrol can anyone tell me if its extremely bad pls. With mainly school run driving so plenty of short trips I'm getting 180miles for €60 petrol. And the petrol I'm getting is not an overly priced garag . Thanks

Are you in a town? What car are you driving?

If you're in a town 20mpg (what I calculated) ain't bad.

YbFocus wrote: »
    But sure if it's only a thermostat there's no need to rip the head man.
    Worth a shot rather than skimming heads etc.

Ah I know, we'll see what he says anyway, I'd say an overhaul is due anyway on it as they tend to need them around 100k miles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Ah I know, we'll see what he says anyway, I'd say an overhaul is due anyway on it as they tend to need them around 100k miles.

Mine had its gearbox rebuilt, but nothing done with the cooling system.

Doesn't overheat at 187k miles.

Sobanek wrote: »
    Mine had its gearbox rebuilt, but nothing done with the cooling system.

Doesn't overheat at 187k miles.

E39's had famously weak cooling, not sure if it's the same on E46's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

E39's had famously weak cooling, not sure if it's the same on E46's.

If the rad is good , leave that for now as its an easy one to change. However doing the upper and lower rad hose, thermostat and expansion bottle is recommended. Check to see is there any play in your water pump pulley, shouldnt move at all

The previous owner came a minute ago and found the problem to be a crack on the rad, he's going to replace it with a second hand unit until we sort a new one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

The previous owner came a minute ago and found the problem to be a crack on the rad, he's going to replace it with a second hand unit until we sort a new one.

I got a nissens one for the e38 and the rolling of the metal over the plastic looks a lot more solid than the behr/bmw one. Get the thermostat and hoses done at the same time and youll be grand.

Yeah, this repair should do for a while and then I can get to revamping the whole system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

CianRyan wrote: »

I'm thinking of putting it on my Mitsubishi Mirage asti. 1.6 mivec. It is de-catted and also has a cat back exhaust done by souhans. It sounds good now but I see a lot of car's with exhausts similar to the one I showed above, so was just wondering if they have any performance increase.

None absolutely whatsoever.

You're already set up and YB covered the back box issue. :p