Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I noticed the NCT have a lot of new rules in regards modifications, After market Seats, Steering wheel's and steering components all need an Engineers report now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,427 ✭✭✭Dartz

Clocked at 200kph

Welp, that's the high score taken for the time being.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Dartz wrote: »
    Clocked at 200kph

That's his last high score for quite a while i reckon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Clocked at 200kph

Surely if he just tells truth he'll get away with it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

I thought it was me, but I never went 120 over the limit :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

I noticed the NCT have a lot of new rules in regards modifications, After market Seats, Steering wheel's and steering components all need an Engineers report now.

well, that's bs!
    If they are supposed to test the roadworthiness of our cars why do we need an engineers report aswell?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Surely if he just tells truth he'll get away with it?

Flash of clevage, be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

dgt wrote: »
    Flash of clevage, be grand

Feckin discrimination.
    That didn't work when I tried it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Feckin discrimination.
    That didn't work when I tried it.

And theres a sight that will haunt me for the rest of my days :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Clocked at 200kph

I know where he was caught, and tbh a dog with a hammer up his arse would know to slow down as plod and the gocash vans live on that stretch.

I'll be on that stretch tomorrow morning, not enough road (or engine ;) ) to get me up to 200 there, anyone want to lend me a faster car:pac:

I noticed some coolant on the ground a few weeks back and noticed the coolant reservoir bottle was low, I am always watching out for HG failure just incase but there is the possibility of a split hose. I got the car lifted up on ramps but couldnt find any leaks. Oil is fine, no mayo and the car does not run hot.

I did the rad cap off test and when I rev there are bubbles and the coolant rises. The rad was very full so coolant from the reservoir went back into the radiator, what should I do? Get a compression test?

video: http://vid1110.photobucket.com/albums/h446/heilong79/bubbles.mp4

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

M50 traffic is driving me nuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Stheno wrote: »
    You're not alone. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Stheno wrote: »

Leave 10 mins earlier!:)
    Did I ever tell you about my 15 mins of twisty road commute to work? :p

I noticed some coolant on the ground a few weeks back and noticed the coolant reservoir bottle was low, I am always watching out for HG failure just incase but there is the possibility of a split hose. I got the car lifted up on ramps but couldnt find any leaks. Oil is fine, no mayo and the car does not run hot.

I did the rad cap off test and when I rev there are bubbles and the coolant rises. The rad was very full so coolant from the reservoir went back into the radiator, what should I do? Get a compression test?

video: http://vid1110.photobucket.com/albums/h446/heilong79/bubbles.mp4

My car runs hot, but the temp needle sits happily in the middle of the dial, i do need to top up my coolant about once every two months though, not by much now, but none the less, ybfocus done a compression test on it and it was apparently better than it should be, the rad does have a small leak on it though, been meaning to swap it out for the one i have here, but ive feck all time to do it :(

Yep I was dead surprised how good she done :)

YbFocus wrote: »
    Yep I was dead surprised how good she done :)

Me too! :D I was expecting "shes on the way out man, sorry!" Or something along those lines :o

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Leave 10 mins earlier!:)
    Did I ever tell you about my 15 mins of twisty road commute to work? :p

I left Swords at 7:05 Monday and Tuesday and got to the Sandyford exit at 8:30 each day :eek:

In August that would have had me at my desk at 7:55 as opposed to 8:55 if I'm lucky

It's seriously insane and enough to drive me to jobhunt

Four hours a day at 12.5mph is not a happy life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Galway is without doubt one of the worst cities to get through. Took me an hour and a half to get from Newcastle through the city to Bohermore (grand total of 3.7km!!!), albeit during rush hour. I don't know how some of ye go through city traffic every day, it would crack me up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Cork is fairly horrific for traffic too. Hitting dunkettle anytime after 7.30 from m8 side good luck that's 30-45 minutes to travel the 2-1.5 km back up to the roundabout. Makes me smile when I think where I have my work placement out in the wilds no traffic at all I think there is only 1 set of trafic lights on the commute. Oh thank god I didn't get cork on placement.

Galway is without doubt one of the worst cities to get through. Took me an hour and a half to get from Newcastle through the city to Bohermore (grand total of 3.7km!!!), albeit during rush hour. I don't know how some of ye go through city traffic every day, it would crack me up!

I was once sent down to Galway on a day long assignment, which meant leaving home at 5am as my work were too scabby to pay for a hotel overnight.

I arrived there at 8am or so, and then got lost.

Finally reached where I was going at 10

No traffic between Clonaslee and Roscrea in the morning :)
    25 miles in 30 mins :)

I just read up about the 4C

Mahoosive crash on the m7 :o

A car chase apparently, few cars involved and a fatality too :(

take her handy people

Mahoosive crash on the m7 :o

A car chase apparently, few cars involved and a fatality too :(

take her handy people

A 3 car collision, near junction 13.

Yeah but also this

http://www.thejournal.ie/garda-gsoc-crash-1743203-Oct2014/

Yeah thats the one, I just had to do up a map on it in work.

Oh lovely, I was passing over the bridge on j12 and there were a few ambulances were passing under

Which is J13 on the M7?

Kildare, down by kildare village