Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

Girlfriend has the car in Dublin, I'm in Cork until tomorrow evening. She says one side is cracked/scratched, but it got her home. Happened in a gym car park, there was a note left on the car and at reception, luckily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Girlfriend has the car in Dublin, I'm in Cork until tomorrow evening. She says one side is cracked/scratched, but it got her home. Happened in a gym car park, there was a note left on the car and at reception, luckily.

You were very lucky, most would drive away and not say anything.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

That sucks but fair play to an honest driver

@sobanek working from home for me is a serious perk couple of times a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Knock --> Tuam --> Galway --> Depot in 45 mins in a boxy transit this evening, soul destroying with no power :p

At least it started:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Sobanek wrote: »
    Soo... today supposedly there was more guards on the road.

Haven't seen a single garda car :pac:

There was a checkpoint in my local village, with hair dryer :eek:
    Carrigahorig co Tipp! After going the whole way to Kilkenny and back without any sign of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

You were very lucky, most would drive away and not say anything.
    Stheno wrote: »
    That sucks but fair play to an honest driver

@sobanek working from home for me is a serious perk couple of times a week

Yeah, i'm delighted that they bothered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Gona have a poke around the 900 tomorrow to see why it wont start, hopefully its something as simple as a loose earth or something like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Got new bulbs from powerbulbs today. I can't get the feckin' retainer clip off the headlight bulbs though. :(

I fit the silver indicator bulbs though. They look great! much brighter also. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I will be heading home from work soon, I am sure I will see some police out, maybe around the O2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Anyone know a place in cork that would refurb a focus instrument cluster? I think kc systems probably do it but don't know for sure or anyone else. Main stealer want 750 for new one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Going to check out a 98 Mr2 tomorrow as a replacement for the Suzuki..original Irish car non turbo t bar.revision 3 or 5 I suppose. Should be fun for the grimey damp winter roads!

Best part is my insurance will not rise going from a 1.5 to a 2 liter..benefits of being an old moany git !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

davycc wrote: »
    Going to check out a 98 Mr2 tomorrow as a replacement for the Suzuki..original Irish car non turbo t bar.revision 3 or 5 I suppose. Should be fun for the grimey damp winter roads!

What happened the ignis sport?

Still have it be hoping to swap it...got 47 mpg according to that calculator posted a few pages back...impressed

Mr davy, do you want this bleeder back? I'm done with er :)

No your OK keep it will come in handy for you! I haven't used it in years anyway..I'm too lazy for all that DIY stuff since I started buying mundane bangers..

Ah lovely :) much obliged :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Someone asked me if my car was a 1.9 Diesel today :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

A Navan solution to reversing cameras
    14998369984_b59c0d0f72_h.jpg

Someone asked me if my car was a 1.9 Diesel today :pac:

What car have you got again?

525i which already blew a rad :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Anyone know what a 99 Colt JDM import would be like? I know nothing about then but I hate to say no.

525i which already blew a rad :pac:

Oh yeah forgot that was yourself sorry! Hope the new rad cures it completely, I used too tell local joyriding skangers my old sierra cosworth was a diesel rep to put them off the scent lol,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Anyone know what a 99 Colt JDM import would be like? I know nothing about then but I hate to say no.

Mostly harmless :p

I find the seats in them dreadfully uncomfortable. What's the car for?

Oh yeah forgot that was yourself sorry! Hope the new rad cures it completely, I used too tell local joyriding skangers my old sierra cosworth was a diesel rep to put them off the scent lol,

It seems to, had some small spikes in traffic but we think that was an air lock in the system, nothing at all since. Rebuild will be coming soon!

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Mostly harmless :p

I find the seats in them dreadfully uncomfortable. What's the car for?
    Operation rescue. If I don't want it it'll be sold to a cash for scrap guy. Its low miles apparently with a missing rear spoiler. The owner says it has to go.

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Operation rescue. If I don't want it it'll be sold to a cash for scrap guy. Its low miles apparently with a missing rear spoiler. The owner says it has to go.

What reason do you have to want it? If you want it for yourself certainly get it, There would be no money in flipping it I don't really think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Aunt had a bit of a crash this evening. Small country road, she met a car coming fast, went for the ditch to avoid the car. She was half up on the ditch but her front wheels were turned out. Que said car still lunging right into her front wing and front driver wheel, pushing it back. Myself and the Uncle went this evening to try and see if we could drive it a mile to the mechanic, but would it hell go, it would drive for about a meter then the wheel would stop and get jammed into the arch. The car all the while trying to go forward (similar to the effect on the rear wheels when trying to drive with the handbrake on, but to a greater extent). Took off the wheel, and couldn't see too much wrong, although the hub is bent back somehow. Remarkable how the bonnet, bumper and even the drivers door are without damage, and the wing is mangled. Any suggestions what could be goosed? Car after passing the NCT and all yesterday!

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    What reason do you have to want it? If you want it for yourself certainly get it, There would be no money in flipping it I don't really think.
    Just for myself. I wouldn't be flipping it. I'd easily spend more than its worth making it mint and original. I also have no use for it lol

You're worse than my! I'll tell you what I hope you head is telling you and leave it where it is!

In other news, I was driving along the Old Bawn Road this evening and what do we see driving the other way but a Delorean! Did a cheeky 3 point turn in front of an Evo (sorry :p) and followed it. It pulled into St Anne's GAA club where it was met by a few lovely girls. No idea what was going on, we talked briefly to the driver who turned out not to be the friendliest individual though :o

Left happy with the knowledge that the 166 would run rings around it anywhere.