Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

How the hell have you not noticed that until now? :eek:

It was behind the panel. Someone was putting cd in, but instead of putting it inside the cd-player they shoved in the gap between panels.

What is really scary, the previuos owner of this scooby owns a 69 Dodge Charger...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

I had one of those, a draper one, biggest load of balls ive ever bought, I find them as useful as a chocolate teapot :o

You must be a bad workman so :pac:.

The one I've been getting is a big bluepoint with 36 inch handles. Jaw opens to about 7 inches. So far I've used it too remove a stubborn oil filter and fuel filter, remove a siezed caliper slider pin, and to fit the droplinks on a kangoo. Awkward little fookers where the droplink itself is a bolt and you have to press the wishbone towards the ARB, to compress the bushing in between, to get the nut onto the bolt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Interslice wrote: »
    You must be a bad workman so :pac:.

The one I've been getting is a big bluepoint with 36 inch handles. Jaw opens to about 7 inches. So far I've used it too remove a stubborn oil filter and fuel filter, remove a siezed caliper slider pin, and to fit the droplinks on a kangoo. Awkward little fookers where the droplink itself is a bolt and you have to press the wishbone towards the ARB, to compress the bushing in between, to get the nut onto the bolt.

Shhh :P :pac:

Bluepoint stuff is the diggty though, we have a pile of bluepoint stuff in work, Great stuff altogether i find, i used my one on the coolant bypass valve on the saab, it took more time to get the hose clips off than it did to change the bloody thing, I ended up using a €2 pliers from tesco and it done the job rightly :o

Shhh :P :pac:

Bluepoint stuff is the diggty though, we have a pile of bluepoint stuff in work, Great stuff altogether i find, i used my one on the coolant bypass valve on the saab, it took more time to get the hose clips off than it did to change the bloody thing, I ended up using a €2 pliers from tesco and it done the job rightly :o

Ye very high quality tools alright. Made by snapon he said. A fews years of abuse on this one and it's like new. Did you get a job in a garage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I bloody hate multi grips, they're a pain the in the ass.

Ad don't lie, SH, you jammed to this non stop, right? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Ye very high quality tools alright. Made by snapon he said. A fews years of abuse on this one and it's like new. Did you get a job in a garage?

Yeah i have that about two months now! its a handy set up cos the guy said just come in whenever, used to be an architect himself so he knows how "intense them courses can be" his words not mine! So yeah!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

4 car crash on the finglas road earlier, just beside the hotel outside Clearwater. It wasn't too bad though.

Some awful eejits out there today!

CianRyan wrote: »
    I bloody hate multi grips, they're a pain the in the ass.

Ad don't lie, SH, you jammed to this non stop, right? :p

You fecking got me... thats what I jam too when no one around! :pac:

Anyway, lads. I need a cheap 2 din stereo with USB. I am not meloman and I dont really give a **** as long as I can put up my Sugar Babes tunes in car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Coming from Naas to Newbridge on the dual carriage way this afternoon, 2 absolute fools pulled out of a side road and proceeded in the wrong direction down the overtaking lane of the wrong side of the road, middle aged woman in a saloon corolla in full blown animated conversation with the passenger & business suit wearing man followed her in a silver 131 Audi A4 repmobile with his phone welded to his ear, complete with hand gestures.

She got some fright and ditched it into the centre median when she finally realised why the 10-12 cars that passed her along the way were beeping and flashing wildly at her. Fella in the Audi overtook her and continued for about 50m before realising his error and whipping it around in front of oncoming cars :rolleyes:

I'm not one to report anything, but I called the station for this one, gobsh1tes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Cheensbo wrote: »

She got some fright and ditched it into the centre median when she finally realised why the 10-12 cars that passed her along the way were beeping and flashing wildly at her. Fella in the Audi overtook her and continued for about 50m before realising his error and whipping it around in front of oncoming cars :rolleyes:

I'm not one to report anything, but I called the station for this one, gobsh1tes.

Typical...:pac:

Nothing worse than doing the first service on a car. Took me an hour to get the oil filter off my dads laguna last week. Never come across one so tight. Wasn't even tempted to put a screwdriver through it. I've been getting a loan of one of these multi grips pliers off a mate every few weeks to do various jobs. Must get a set for myself. Very handy yolks.

180ve.jpg
    I got a great set of 3 in lidl last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

You fecking got me... thats what I jam too when no one around! :pac:

Anyway, lads. I need a cheap 2 din stereo with USB. I am not meloman and I dont really give a **** as long as I can put up my Sugar Babes tunes in car.

Had one of these in my subaru. Worked with subaru steering wheel controls once the right adapter lead was sourced.

Bluetooth seems good. Music streaming is new to me and was happy with it. Although no head unit I've used in the last 5 years has matched an old sony I had in terms of sensible menus and decent graphic equaliser settings.

The alpine is very annoying to change equaliser settings but it's good otherwise and the price is right, especially if you get 10% off from Halfords.

I think I saw your car near newtwopothouse a long time back. Red is a good colour :cool:

Maybe, if you have a spare sump nut that is, cut a groove in the one in there and use a hammer and screwdriver to get it out? Last resort of course

I might square it off with my lidl dremmel thing. I'd say it would come loose if I could just get a good grip. Ive plenty of tools to grip it, just nothing to grip onto

Had one of these in my subaru. Worked with subaru steering wheel controls once the right adapter lead was sourced.

Bluetooth seems good. Music streaming is new to me and was happy with it. Although no head unit I've used in the last 5 years has matched an old sony I had in terms of sensible menus and decent graphic equaliser settings.

The alpine is very annoying to change equaliser settings but it's good otherwise and the price is right, especially if you get 10% off from Halfords.

I think I saw your car near newtwopothouse a long time back. Red is a good colour :cool:

Cheers, but that is way more then I want to spend. :o I need something cheap and cheerful. Like I said, I am not really big in to sound, just need something functional.
    I work near Newtwopot house. :D

I might square it off with my lidl dremmel thing. I'd say it would come loose if I could just get a good grip. Ive plenty of tools to grip it, just nothing to grip onto

You could try bashing a smaller socket onto it now that it's well chewed. Dremel will help it fit. Hope you have a spare ready :pac:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Cheers, but that is way more then I want to spend. :o I need something cheap and cheerful. Like I said, I am not really big in to sound, just need something functional.
    I work near Newtwopot house. :D
    Second hand I'd say.
    Halfords have a JVC double din for cheaper but in my experience the JVC menus are the worst menus on any branded headunit ever.
    I'd do you a good price on an original Subaru 6cd double din but it has no MP3 cd or USB so probably no good to ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

bear1 wrote: »
    Thanks again :)
    Oddly it's coming back at 37.8mpg or 7.46l per 100km :( not great.

Is it not a diesel accord you have. I have an uncle with a 04 accord 2.0 ivtec and he's getting late 30s - 40 mpg out of that mainly long trips. Granted yours is an estate but them 2.2 diesels are normally good for 50mpg. Is it all sort trips you do or is the fuel / air filter in need of a change or something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Bpmull wrote: »
    Is it not a diesel accord you have. I have an uncle with a 04 accord 2.0 ivtec and he's getting late 30s - 40 mpg out of that mainly long trips. Granted yours is an estate but them 2.2 diesels are normally good for 50mpg. Is it all sort trips you do or is the fuel / air filter in need of a change or something like that.

The diesel accord is well known for it's thirst;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Knock --> Tuam --> Galway --> Depot in 45 mins in a boxy transit this evening, soul destroying with no power :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I think I saw your car near newtwopothouse a long time back.
    I work near Newtwopot house.

That's some fecking name. Kind of like a tongue twister trying to pronounce it. Or maybe it's just me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Soo... today supposedly there was more guards on the road.

Haven't seen a single garda car :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,324 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Sobanek wrote: »
    Soo... today supposedly there was more guards on the road.

Haven't seen a single garda car :pac:
    You see, how well hidden they were! :D

joujoujou wrote: »
    You see, how well hidden they were! :D

They were doing a poor job then.
    Hint: I was late for work :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,324 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

They were doing a poor job then.
    Hint: I was late for work :p
    Who knows?

Hint: expect a letter...

joujoujou wrote: »
    Who knows?

Hint: expect a letter...

No gatsos, I'm very sensitive to them.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

No gatsos, I'm very sensitive to them.

Working from home is the solution here

Stheno wrote: »
    Working from home is the solution here

I wish!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

Some tit has reversed into the front of the rcz. Theres damage, balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,548 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

No way :(
    Did you catch them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Uncool :mad:

Hope you get those who did that