Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Protestors disrupting World War 1 commemoration at Glasnevin

• 31-07-2014 1:55pm
    Registered Users Posts: 18,011 ✭✭✭✭

Don't know who they are but it is absolutely disgusting to hear at such a sombre event

• Registered Users Posts: 18,011 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

They're even trying to shout down President Higgins....incredible

• Registered Users Posts: 41 stringofmisery

Yeah,it's embarrassing and ignorant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

That's disgusting. 10 million men died from all sides ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Who are they? What's their protest about?

God knows....I'm wondering if it's because the Duke of Kent is present but they were even heckling the President

• Registered Users Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭comongethappy

Rent-a-mob.

Doesn't matter what, who or why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Tomorrow, Thursday the 31st, Republican Sinn Féin will be holding a picket at the main gate at Glasnevin Cemetery in opposition to the Royal and British Army visit. We will be meeting at the gate for 11:30am, please try to attend if possible.

From Republican.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 43,024 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

republicans gauging the public mood perfectly again i see

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

You could bet that it was the usual ira scumbags.

• Registered Users Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

Feckin eejits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Maybe they're sore the germans didn't win?

Seriously though, there are enough 'prime candidate' posters on here who may very well be out threre protesting (presumably because so many Irish men fought with the allies). If the poppy threads on boards.ie are anything to go by there is an annual outporing of pure hatred at any and all WWI commemorations in Ireland, so I guess these dim wit hecklers may represent their sentiments? questionmark.

[/COLOR]

From Republican.ie

Absolutely shameful. This is a commemoration of the IRISH war dead in WW1.

It's going from bad to worse. They're shrieking their disgusting mouths off during the one minute's silence for the dead :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

They must have gotten the day off work to protest :rolleyes:

Horrible creatures.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Shame, shame, shame on you

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

Can't understand why RTE didn't mute the microphones for the silence, the noise of those eejits was beyond offensive!

Maybe might have been worth deploying some water cannon.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

• Registered Users Posts: 78,253 ✭✭✭✭Victor

LordSutch wrote: »
    Maybe they're sore the germans didn't win?

Seriously though, there are enough 'prime candidate' posters on here who may very well be out threre protesting (presumably because so many Irish men fought with the allies). If the poppy threads on boards.ie are anything to go by there is an annual outporing of pure hatred at any and all WWI commemorations in Ireland, so I guess these dim wit hecklers may represent their sentiments? questionmark.
    Just because someone is loud or visible doesn't mean they are representative. They could just be shills.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Irish republicans always seemed to have found grasping the precise definition of the word 'republic' a tricky one to master.

Lads you don't represent me, you don't represent an awful lot of the people living here, kindly fcuk off.

• Registered Users Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    You could bet that it was the usual ira scumbags.

Taking a break from accusing everyone and anyone of being pro child murder on the Israel/Palestine thread.

Where are joyriders when ya need them?

Can't understand why RTE didn't mute the microphones for the silence, the noise of those eejits was beyond offensive!

Maybe might have been worth deploying some water cannon.

It's surely one of the worst stunts Irish republicans have ever pulled. You do not go along and disrupt a solemn memorial service for the dead.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Absolutely shameful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Victor wrote: »
    Just because someone is loud or visible doesn't mean they are representative. They could just be shills.

True Victor, but they make their presence very loudly here evey year on or around the commemorations of the Irish WWI dead.

Will be interesting to see if they pop up on this thread. (hopefully they wont).

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

A good few soldiers came back and fought for independence, but I suppose nuances are kind of lost on these people.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

They must have gotten the day off work to protest :rolleyes:

Horrible creatures.

Nah they probably headed down after collecting their dole.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

LordSutch wrote: »
    True Victor, but they make their presence very loudly here evey year on or around the commemorations of the Irish WWI dead.

Will be interesting to see if they pop up on this thread. (hopefully they wont).

Well you're the first on the thread with an agenda, so you broke the seal so to speak.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

its nothing to do with the poppy or any pro british malarkey no reason to try and fire up that debate that's poor form and not required.
    Its a memorial for the dead Irish people are among the dead so the republicans decided to heckle deceased Irish people? Right......that's just stupid no matter what way you look at it. It also makes **** all sense so far as republicanism...heckling deceased Irish soldiers and the actual Irish president????????? God even the WBC would probably find those protests stupid...........what the **** was it meant to achieve other than showing complete ignorance and stupidity?

Just as a side, could the Gardaí not have tried to run these gob****es off or take their megaphones? They shoulda been made shut up.

K-9 wrote: »
    A good few soldiers came back and fought for independence, but I suppose nuances are kind of lost on these people.

To portray those men as "traitors" is disgusting. They were brave and principled men (unlike those horrible scumbags outside Glasnevin).

• Registered Users Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

Well you're the first on the thread with an agenda, so you broke the seal so to speak.

a clear agenda to provoke.

its nothing to do with the poppy or any pro british malarkey no reason to try and fire up that debate that's poor form and not required.
    Its a memorial for the dead Irish people are among the dead so the republicans decided to heckle deceased Irish people? Right......that's just stupid no matter what way you look at it. It also makes **** all sense so far as republicanism...heckling deceased Irish soldiers and the actual Irish president????????? God even the WBC would probably find those protests stupid...........what the **** was it meant to achieve other than showing complete ignorance and stupidity?

Just as a side, could the Gardaí not have tried to run these gob****es off or take their megaphones? They shoulda been made shut up.

Maybe the Gardai assumed beforehand that nobody would be so cretinous as to go along and disrupt and heckle a memorial service for the dead? That's one possible explanation