If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Are Irish men the ugliest in the World?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

sopretty wrote: »
    How's that sense of humour coming along?

Better than yours anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

It was earlier. When I was in secondary school in Cork in the first half of the 90s, Cork schools (not just the posh ones) and UCC were like fecking fashion parades. I think the 90s was about the time. If you look at footage of people in Ireland from the 80s, even the late 80s, the drabness was astounding.
    Baywatch and Beverly Hills 90210 kickstarted it I reckon. :)

Too bad its Tallafornia now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭sopretty

Better than yours anyway.

Ah........ ya got me there!!!

*slinks off trying to think of a come-back to the rapier wit being hurled at me.... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

It was earlier. When I was in secondary school in Cork in the first half of the 90s, Cork schools (not just the posh ones) and UCC were like fecking fashion parades. I think the 90s was about the time. If you look at footage of people in Ireland from the 80s, even the late 80s, the drabness was astounding.
    Baywatch and Beverly Hills 90210 kickstarted it I reckon. :)

Can't say I agree, the 90's was fairly drab too. I was hitting the pubs/clubs in the late 90's/early 2000s and if a girl from today was to walk into a bar/club back then we would have all fainted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

py2006 wrote: »
    Can't say I agree, the 90's was fairly drab too. I was hitting the pubs/clubs in the late 90's/early 2000s and if a girl from today was to walk into a bar/club back then we would have all fainted.

You're from the past?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Maybe it was a gradual/localised thing. I just remember the mid 90s being all about tans, blonde hair, sexy clothes, glam accessories. Looking like Pammy was the ultimate aim. I had black hair and pale skin and 'twas none of my business. :pac:

py2006 wrote: »

Back in them days though there was no smart phones acting as barriers separating you from the girl in question. And no facebook to see embarrassing photos of yourself from the night before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

Just to clarify, we wouldn't have fainted because we saw a time traveller. You know what I meant right? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭CatLou

Most 20s-30s guys here in Dublin don't look half-bad ^^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    Well define fashionable then. Do we have to dress like Italian models to have pride in ourselves?
    Yeh I personally don't care if a guy isn't dressed really "stylishly". Decently-fitting pair of jeans and t-shirt is grand IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Yeh I personally don't care if a guy isn't dressed really "stylishly". Decently-fitting pair of jeans and t-shirt is grand IMO.

I find overly dressed up men a turn off, especially in a bar or club.

Yeah I couldn't be bothered trying to keep up with fashion trends anyway. I wear what's comfortable. A good pair of shoes is a must though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,773 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

about twice a year, this site spins a press release with this crap and the media eat it up. i registered an account myself with fake photos (of course!) and they all look like the type of people who'd be bothered getting into a site like this. PM me if anyone wants the login for a perusal.

i'm always shocked by the different standard whenever i'm in Dublin. and you get chatting to them and they're from mayo or clare. it's like all the attractive people leave the sticks and places like Ennis are left with the welfare mothers in pyjamas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

I get you FF. Hung like a donkey with the hands of an artist :D

Trendy jeans, cool shoes, nice top or t-shirt, beats Dunnes/Levi's best hands down.

The cuter the ass wearing the jeans and the longer the legs, the leaner the body and the wider the shoulders and I'm eh.................

sopretty wrote: »
    Trendy jeans, cool shoes, nice top or t-shirt, beats Dunnes/Levi's best hands down.

The cuter the ass wearing the jeans and the longer the legs, the leaner the body and the wider the shoulders and I'm eh.................

Ahh shur you can always cut the Dunnes label off and nobody will know the difference. Well apart from yourself of course. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Follaton_Wood

Irish guys tend to be less Ken doll and more GI Joe. Which works for me! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

Young Irish men are now starting to take care of themselves more (not sure the catalyst) with a lot going to the gym, watching what they eat and getting tans etc.

I think the catalyst was Geordie shore tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭SupraSonic_26

hefferboi wrote: »
    I spent the last 9 months in Oz and was actually surprised by Irish men. They scrubbed up nicely compared to a lot of the Aussies. They're also better craic and have better manners I found. Aussies were fairly racist and a bit ignorant.

im just back after being there a year and youve hit the nail on the head irish guys actually put in effort i will admit tho aussie guys do gym it more and have the tan but those guys so far up themselves its a joke least irish guys know to have a laugh like.

GalwayGuy2 wrote: »
    I think the catalyst was Geordie shore tbh.

true im a geordie shore head not gonna lie big into my gym and trying to look good hair and fashion but im not full of myself id go out have the laugh chill out chat away, look at it this way years ago before all the jersey and geordie shore irish women complained how lazy and non gym active irish guys were, now if you get a tan and work out alot to get in shape your slagged off for trying to be a geordie shore head you cant win like.

I don't even know what geordie shore is.............

true im a geordie shore head not gonna lie big into my gym and trying to look good hair and fashion but im not full of myself id go out have the laugh chill out chat away, look at it this way years ago before all the jersey and geordie shore irish women complained how lazy and non gym active irish guys were, now if you get a tan and work out alot to get in shape your slagged off for trying to be a geordie shore head you cant win like.

Just work out and stay away from the tan. I work out a lot but I'm pale and hairy like Wolverine. Chicks dig it! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

Yes stay away from Tan.

Also, if you get muscle don't fluant it in an obnoxious wat. Self conciously carrying stuff to show off muscle is kind of charming, but flexing your arms while talking to woman is pushing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

People round here are anti-good looking hunks, why we had a lad who was the spitting image of Zac Efron (bleedin jizzard,I Think he was called) and the mirror he held up reflected badly on the rest of us.So he was decapitated and flayed-or banned,I can't remember which.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

One word.
    Albania.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I don't think so no.

Of course I'm bias as I'm an Irishman but still...

GalwayGuy2 wrote: »
    Yes stay away from Tan.

Also, if you get muscle don't fluant it in an obnoxious wat. Self conciously carrying stuff to show off muscle is kind of charming, but flexing your arms while talking to woman is pushing it.

Absolutely. You should never flex your muscles when talking to women. You save that for the riding. :D

Just work out and stay away from the tan. I work out a lot but I'm pale and hairy like Wolverine. Chicks dig it! :cool:

lol im not hairy dave i dont that luxury like yourself lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Follaton_Wood

Yes please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Nesta99

Sure just look at the head on Wayne Rooney...