If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Are Irish men the ugliest in the World?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,564 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

I'd be interested to know how they come up with their results.

Do they just ask people to rank from a list? Rank based on a number of photographs? Either way it's unlikely to be very scientific.

You're not going to get a collection of photographs that adequately represented the population. How many people would you need and what would be the sampling process? If it's just based on a list, respondents are unlikely to have come in contact with enough nationals of a particular country to make an informed choice. These type of polls are generally always lacking in any sort of proper statistical procedure and aren't worth giving credence to.

What troubles me is the Irish Times continuing slide into complete mediocrity. The IT has generally been my paper of choice since I started reading newspapers as it was of a much higher standard than anything else that was available. This no longer seems to be the case, Ireland seems to be sorely lacking in terms of decent print media.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,564 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Knex. wrote: »
    Is there even 200 countries?

Ya, close enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Montroseee

My mum tells me I'm bloody gorgeous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

Irish women in top 10?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭sopretty

I'd be interested to know how they come up with their results.

Do they just ask people to rank from a list? Rank based on a number of photographs? Either way it's unlikely to be very scientific.

You're not going to get a collection of photographs that adequately represented the population. How many people would you need and what would be the sampling process? If it's just based on a list, respondents are unlikely to have come in contact with enough nationals of a particular country to make an informed choice. These type of polls are generally always lacking in any sort of proper statistical procedure and aren't worth giving credence to.

What troubles me is the Irish Times continuing slide into complete mediocrity. The IT has generally been my paper of choice since I started reading newspapers as it was of a much higher standard than anything else that was available. This no longer seems to be the case, Ireland seems to be sorely lacking in terms of decent print media.

The 'Newsagent Irritants' thread is this way >>>>>>>>>>>>>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭FullblownRose

I don't think you'd find anywhere in the word with an average heigh of 6'4 ! The human race is too short for your liking :p

England has a slightly higher proportion of freakishly tall men. My husband is an import :)

Do you have to pay some sort if import duty?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Pocoyo

Interesting fact we were the tallest men in europe pre famine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭RoboRat

BIC... Benefit in Cu..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Angry_Mammarys

Jesus that's ridiculous, Irish men are great:D , sure look at Daniel O'Donnell:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭sopretty

Pocoyo wrote: »

Tall men STARVE!!!!

I always wondered about the low doorways in old cottages. Is that because peope were short or because of some kind of tax like the window tax?

py2006 wrote: »

He didn't cost me a cent

sopretty wrote: »
    Tall men STARVE!!!!

Tall men easily barge through ques,they all went to america. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. By the way, that is a ridiculous news story. It seems that whoever came up with it doesn't like Irish men, it must have come from some angry feminist movement.

Now, does anyone have a spare few beers ?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Couldn't afford a sandwich, but there we all were with the measuring tapes out.

My Father's side of the family have always been tall. I'm 6ft2". My auld fella is 6ft1", and his two brothers are around the same, if not taller.

My Grandfather and his brothers were all 6ft or over, and apparently his Father, and his Father's brother's again were tall too.

I know that the human race as a species is getting taller and taller, but I wonder what used to be considered tall in the late 1800's/early 1900's, during my Great Grandfather's time?

If he was 6ft as well, would that have been considered the equivalent to being, say, 6ft4" today?

Sorry if my mindless rambling has taken this a little off topic...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

BBDBB wrote: »
    Pat Mustard FTW
    The cheek!
    I was accepted onto that site. So yay me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

py2006 wrote: »
    Irish women in top 10?

Ahh shur any lower than that would be politically incorrect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Not until you go abroad do you realise how fecking ugly we are..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Ann Landers

funk-you wrote: »
    Bit of a confused spud head on a lot of us alright.

-Funk

I think ye're a handsome bunch, by the way.

Some other nationalities are sort of generically good-looking if that makes sense? Not for me, thanks.

Zardoz wrote: »
    Short back and sides haircuts do most Irish men no favours at all .
    Longer hair would suit alot of people .

Yes! Scruffy hair *ahem* does things to me...

Seconded. or thirded? love floppy hair actually..

wprathead wrote: »
    Not until you go abroad do you realise how fecking ugly we are..

Not true swedish people dont see us as mutton heads or see our women as rag dolls,to them were exotic,The irish are and always have been a race of self loathers.... the polish are the only people iv heard saying that we were ugly and the rest see me for what i am, a beautiful independent irish man.. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

Ugliest in the world is stretching it a bit (aborigines and pygmies?) but on the whole probably the ugliest in Europe. There are good looking men here, but they don't look Irish...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Skeleton XIII

sopretty wrote: »
    Ah God bless ya. You're giving out about THEIR superficiality, when you admit to having submitted your own photo to THEIR website? I actually thought you were taking the piss.

Just a pretty face it appears!

You're very passive aggressive for some reason.

I'm sorry for whatever that person did to piss you off, but I'm not them, ok?
    You can pm me if you want, I think you'll find that I'm a delight.

If you must know, I was curious. Like anyone else, knowing if strangers found me physically attractive was (at the time) interesting to me. I got accepted, got a date out of it (I was single, this sort of helped the old motivation) and then deleted the profile a couple of weeks later because so what, right?

Happy?

Irish women are ugly too says Beautifulpeople.com website
    Irish women fare better than Irish men according to the latest figures from Beautifulpeople.com, but they still have one of the highest rejection rates for joining the "beautiful people" site.

Irish men are considered attractive,Foreigners like irish men,But they arnt into our women.

What a masterfully-constructed sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,206 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...the rest see me for what i am, a beautiful independent irish man.. :)

Fair moxy to ya. Furk the begrudgers, and g'wan Kilteely!!

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    Ahh shur any lower than that would be politically incorrect.

Why would an international site care about political correctness towards Irish women?