Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brave thugs mount daring rescue mission for scummy friend

• Registered Users Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Antisocial behavior is rife across the country, the gardai seem not to care, if I had a euro for every time I heard "There's nothing we can do" then I would be doing alright. Politicians don't give a crap cause they don't have to live with it. And even if the gardai do decide to prosecute they are put up in front of judges who will give them a tap on the wrist and they will be on their way again to annoy, assault and damage the property of the ordinary decent citizens of the country.

My own personal idea is to reopen spike island, if you want to be antisocial then you don't get to impede the life of everyone else, leave them out there with a lorry container to live in and drop off food with a helicopter once a week and leave them out there to fight, kill and be antisocial to each other.

As far as I was aware you weren't allowed to be on a council housing list if you had been convicted of antisocial behaviour, the gardai are supposed to notify the council, no council list, no rent allowance. Cut their dole to pay for damage, fines and compensation. They are getting away with it because they can, they can do whatever they like without any consequences.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

thomasm wrote: »
    This stuff is not even surprising anymore.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/exclusive-watch-shocking-scenes-as-violent-group-attempt-to-kick-in-shop-door-after-theft-of-kit-kats-30187602.html

20 minutes this went on for with no guards arriving. Is there a solution to this sh1te or do we just have to accept it

Your telling us this went on for 20 min's, and no Gardaí arrived or even happened to be passing!? on Dublin's Ireland's main St.:confused:

FFS

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

wrong, nonsense, our boys do fantastic work, peace keeping and when the **** hits the fan here such as floods our boys are always there to help

That's laughable, many countries our size don't have armed forces, and getting them out to help with floods every 2 years doesn't justify having them in barracks scratching their arse, you could hardly call bad weather "the **** hitting the fan "

The army should be put to good use by being put to control there little ***** in maximum security prisons

• Registered Users Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

whupdedo wrote: »
    That's laughable, many countries our size don't have armed forces, and getting them out to help with floods every 2 years doesn't justify having them in barracks scratching their arse, you could hardly call bad weather "the **** hitting the fan "

The army should be put to good use by being put to control there little ***** in maximum security prisons

Other than Costa rica who else?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    Antisocial behavior is rife across the country, the gardai seem not to care, if I had a euro for every time I heard "There's nothing we can do" then I would be doing alright. Politicians don't give a crap cause they don't have to live with it. And even if the gardai do decide to prosecute they are put up in front of judges who will give them a tap on the wrist and they will be on their way again to annoy, assault and damage the property of the ordinary decent citizens of the country.

My own personal idea is to reopen spike island, if you want to be antisocial then you don't get to impede the life of everyone else, leave them out there with a lorry container to live in and drop off food with a helicopter once a week and leave them out there to fight, kill and be antisocial to each other.

As far as I was aware you weren't allowed to be on a council housing list if you had been convicted of antisocial behaviour, the gardai are supposed to notify the council, no council list, no rent allowance. Cut their dole to pay for damage, fines and compensation. They are getting away with it because they can, they can do whatever they like without any consequences.

We could also sell TV rights, have betting around which gangs would win the day, add in special weekend bonus fights where instead of food they get weapon drops and danger areas, basically the best parts of the Hunger Games, Death Race and Battle Royale.

Would be great for the economy, and just FYI im not actually joking im deadly serious that this should be considered

Other than Costa rica who else?

Ok a lot of countries of various sizes don't have armed forces, we could do a deal with the British for protection from invading vikings:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

The Gardai don't turn up until the fighting has stopped.

All Gardai on patrol and in vehicles should carry a baton and be backed up when they use it is situations like this one!

here are what could be a day and night version.
    http://gallery.nen.gov.uk/assets/0811/0000/0178/img_1006_mid.jpg

Gardai are all issued batons but most chose not to carry them because they are too heavy and because they rarely get involved in fights or other situations where they would need a baton.

I am not anti Gardai but feel they need to Man up and regain the respect they once had from all citizens. Normal people are beginning to see them as useless wimps who are afraid of shadows.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,027 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

That's laughable
    no it isn't
    many countries our size don't have armed forces
    well we do and you will show our boys respect
    getting them out to help with floods every 2 years doesn't justify having them in barracks scratching their arse
    they don't scratch their arse, and yes floods and everything else does justify having them
    you could hardly call bad weather "the **** hitting the fan "
    those effected by it would disagree.
    no they shouldn't, not their job, thats the job of guardai and prison officers

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

sdeire wrote: »
    Agreed, however:

Cops in the US can be prosecuted if they use too much force, and they're ALL armed. Three quarters of Gardaí don't have that problem. In a way the cops in the US are almost easier to look after - if you attack a cop, you are liable to be shot. Shooting someone is fairly final.

Here, on the other hand, if you attack a Garda, all sorts of questions get asked about how much force was used in return, whether a baton should have been used, whether the pepper spray was too aggresive for poor wee Jimmy who was trying to beat up the Garda.

It should be this simple: if you're stupid enough attack a Garda, you get put on the ground and your threat to them stopped by whatever means necessary. Period.

I agree with the free legal aid scheme. The problem is not the solicitors. The problem is the judiciary. I've no doubt the Gardaí are doing the very best they can given the societal restrictions placed on them by generations of "ah it'll be grand".

Remember: any crime that does not carry a maximum sentence of two years or more does not require a jury. Judges are free to hand down sentences once they are convinced beyond doubt that the person is guilty. They need to start doing this.

As for sentencing, it's simple. Take the example of the Sheriff of Maricopa County, Phoenix, Arizona - his inmates wear pink stripes, are accommodated in the baking heat all day every day, and don't get let out early. Why? Because it acts as a deterrent.

The judiciary here are effectively feeding the scumbags by ignoring the problem, but the problem also lies with policing. They all need to be arrested and some of them, if a case can be proven, will go to jail. I can't see Gardaí fighting to arrest every little scrote when they know they'll be out hours later. Not that I blame the Gardaí, it's a society issue. Why? Because we're too easy going and because jails are overflowing.

How to fix? Again, this simple:

1. Increase jail capacity. How? The Army. The Army in this country is good for two things: ceremony and peacekeeping. Only because it is utterly neglected and under-equipped. However, what they have in abundance is spare time and guns. Set up prison camps if need be, and have them provide security, until we can afford to build a couple of extra medium security prisons.

2. Sentence people who deserve jail to jail. The problem is not with the legal system, or whether the scumbags are guilty or innocent, it's with the morons who are sentencing them.

3. Rinse, repeat. Problem solved. Cost? €0.

Common sense overload, what are you trying to do break AH.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

no it isn't

they don't scratch their arse, and yes floods and everything else does justify having them

They have some role in the security of Portloaise prison, IIRC

• Registered Users Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Raven Runner

Hope they didn't get away with it, They should allow security guards to use handcuffs or give them some power to restrain people who break the law

no it isn't

they don,t scratch their arse, and yes floods and everything else does justify having them

It is very laughable,

We don't need an army, a well trained armed garda specialist unit would do the job the army is currently doing

I'll decide for myself who I need to show respect

A well trained well staffed civil defence force could do the job of the army in times of flooding and other similar situations

What is exactly their job title in times of peace, keeping warring tribes at peace in deepest Africa.that's the truly laughable part, let's keep peace in other countries and forget about our own

I

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

http://www.geekologie.com/2008/02/05/peruvian-antiriot.jpg

this is how the Peruvian police dress when dealing with serious street disorder

• Registered Users Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

It is very laughable,

We don't need an army, a well trained armed garda specialist unit would do the job the army is currently doing

A well trained well staffed civil defence force could do the job of the army in times of flooding and other similar situations

What is exactly their job title in times of peace, keeping warring tribes at peace in deepest Africa.that's the truly laughable part, let's keep peace in other countries and forget about our own

I

You don't understand the first thing about the Defence Forces

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    You don't understand the first thing about the Defence Forces

I understand to the ordinary Joe on the street, they're a bunch of overpaid overrated navy seals wannabes who think that just because they're in the army entitles them to hero status.it would be no harm to make them earn their wages by doing something for the country rather than counting down the days to an army pension

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

O'Connell street was surprisingly junkie free this evening after some media attention today. I hope it lasts but doubt it!!

There is,of course,always more than one point of view....;)

The Gardai,have to source "Intelligence" from somewhere and the transmission of this is a business in itself,thus many of the OC St "regulars" are that for a reason...they are a highly useful conduit for tittle-tattle and guidance on "whats goin down" in the residential areas where Gardai are not normally to be found patrolling....If the forces of Law & Order cannot physically patrol certain locations,then they are forced to get inventive if they are to remain ahead of the game.

It is when OC St is empty of it's regulars,that the Gardai start worrying.....best place for your enemies is "Inside the Tent-Pissing Out" rather than "Outside the Tent-Pissing IN" :eek:

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

Just got back from my local shop. I noticed they have a very large baseball bat behind the counter. Almost like they wanted people to see it .

It is very laughable,

A well trained well staffed civil defence force could do the job of the army in times of flooding and other similar situations

I
    its not laughable at all, ireland needs an army so it has one, africa has a hell of a lot of problems with wars unlike here so stop sensationalizing irelands crime problem and stop reading sensationalist gutter trash rags, and yes you will respect our boys in the army

I understand to the ordinary Joe on the street, they're a bunch of overpaid overrated navy seals wannabes who think that just because they're in the army entitles them to hero status.it would be no harm to make them earn their wages by doing something for the country rather than counting down the days to an army pension
    the ordinary joes like me do not think like that, only begrudgers do who have no respect for anyone and who believe that because they don't get something nobody else should have it, you do not speak for me, you know nothing about the defence forces

• Registered Users Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Private Joker

what about a military school for young offenders ? Hire some of retired saergent majors and drill the feck out of them for a year or two? and use some of the closed down army barracks.

• Registered Users Posts: 259 ✭✭HIB

This is on O'Connell Street, just at the spire. One of the most heavily populated tourist areas in the country and we have skangers kicking doors down and hurling racist abuse at a security man doing his job.
    Anything to do with O'Connell Street is not a local issue, its a national issue or at least a county issue.

I agree. Stayed in a hotel in Dublin for the first time last year, right on O Connell street. Had been up visiting friends a few times in Dublin, but this time I decided to have the 'tourist experience' - see the sights etc.

Walked out of the hotel on O Connell street at 3pm on a Saturday to see a tourist lying on the street covered in blood. Some skanger had robbed his camera and knocked him to the ground.

Later, I went up to Templebar and passed a different skanger, bleeding from the mouth, where someone had obviously given him a dig. And later again, I was witness to a pushing and shoving type row between four homeless lads, outside a takeaway.

What an experience for any tourist. The word '****hole' comes to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

HIB wrote: »
    I agree. Stayed in a hotel in Dublin for the first time last year, right on O Connell street. Had been up visiting friends a few times in Dublin, but this time I decided to have the 'tourist experience' - see the sights etc.

Walked out of the hotel on O Connell street at 3pm on a Saturday to see a tourist lying on the street covered in blood. Some skanger had robbed his camera and knocked him to the ground.

Later, I went up to Templebar and passed a different skanger, bleeding from the mouth, where someone had obviously given him a dig. And later again, I was witness to a pushing and shoving type row between four homeless lads, outside a takeaway.

What an experience for any tourist. The word '****hole' comes to mind.

To be fair I imagine guides such as Lonely Planet would warn tourists about the dangers of O'Connell Street and Dublin city centre but yeah I agree with you, that whole area has become a cesspit. Dublin natives seem to be ok with because either they have "seen worse" or it doesn't directly affect them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

This is just another example of the centre of our capital city being policed badly.

There's a very easy way to deal with this.

1. Create a task force of 200-300 Gardaí, 75 or so on shift round the clock.
    2. Arm them all with tasers too.
    3. Enforce ZERO tolerance on antisocial behaviour, public drug use, public drunkenness, everything, within the canal ring - arrest and straight to court with anyone commiting any offence.
    4. Taze any scumbag who so much as resists or threatens the Gardaí.

Problem solved in a month. Minimal cost.

Use NYC as an example.

fyp

its not laughable at all, ireland needs an army so it has one, africa has a hell of a lot of problems with wars unlike here so stop sensationalizing irelands crime problem and stop reading sensationalist gutter trash rags, and yes you will respect our boys in the army

Ireland can do fine without the defence forces bleeding it dry with a massive amount of money being spent every year on what can only be described as wasters

I'd have more respect for them but the army is full of begrudgers who couldn't make it in the real world, they should join a proper army like British defence forces or the us defence forces

• Registered Users Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

Enforce ZERO tolerance on public drunkenness

:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,005 ✭✭✭Wossack

you'd think in the spirit of european community, some enterprising member states would start importing prisoners for fixed rehabilitation terms

reckon it would be a great money spinner to help out some countries

• Registered Users Posts: 8,785 ✭✭✭SeanW

the ordinary citizens cannot be allowed to have or trusted with guns
    And I suppose criminals can? Because under the current system, those not afraid of (another) conviction can have all the guns they like. Gun control, by its very nature, primarily affects the law-abiding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Gatling wrote: »
    We need to Americanise ,

The right to bear arms ,

That's actually happened a few times over the years ,

Fcuk knows what good wearing t-shirts would have done. More leverage? Less perspiration? A jaunty slogan, along the lines of "O'Connell st is a bit of a kip" emblazoned across the front?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Hope they didn't get away with it, They should allow security guards to use handcuffs or give them some power to restrain people who break the law

Nooooo! those "wannabe Gardai" have enough powers without giving them handcuffs or other restraints or weapons!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Fudge You

Haha. Yeah Warrior, Kick their candy asses.