Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mispronunciation/ Poor grammar that annoys you?

1192021222325»

• Registered Users Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    He "pled" guilty. (This may actually be correct for all I know, but it drives me nuts!)

I "text" him. (As in five minutes ago, in the past.)

It's 'pleaded'. On that note I know someone who used to think the past tense of clean was 'clen' as in 'I clen my room yesterday'

• Registered Users Posts: 16,125 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

garancafan wrote: »
    It's "hanged" not "hung" (unless it was already dead).

He was hanged like a horse.

Doesn't sound right.

Here's another one: Stephenses. St Stephenses day, St Stephenses Green.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭KungPao

Pherekydes wrote: »
    He was hanged like a horse.

Doesn't sound right.

Here's another one: Stephenses. St Stephenses day, St Stephenses Green.
    I wonder if anybody says Jervises street? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 28,740 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Wreckless instead of RECKLESS

• Registered Users Posts: 16,125 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Wreckless instead of RECKLESS

Is that a mispronunciation?

Here's another one I've noticed lately on Newstalk: ath-eh-lete. It's athlete.

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭AnLonDubh

LorMal wrote: »
    'Ye' is an abomination. I just cannot grasp why so many Irish people cannot understand that the plural of you is you. Is it that difficult?
    Grrrrr.
    And as for sangwidge, sammwidge etc...WTF???
    Ye is the original correct plural, Shakespeare uses 'ye' for instance. You as the plural is a alteration that emerged in Southern English dialects, other dialects kept 'ye'.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,188 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

medjium instead of medium
    and
    witch instead of with (Matt Cooper!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

I notice recently that Newstalk's Ian Guider has got over his problems addressing Jonathan Healy by calling him Jonno instead of Jonnatin. Another university graduate no doubt. :D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

LorMal wrote: »
    'Ye' is an abomination. I just cannot grasp why so many Irish people cannot understand that the plural of you is you. Is it that difficult?
    Grrrrr.
    And as for sangwidge, sammwidge etc...WTF???

Yes, it is difficult when you need to differentiate between singular an plural, which gives rise to regional solutions such as ye/yous/you guys/y'all/you lot/youse boyz/yinz...

'Ye' was the singular in British English back in the day. For some unfathomable reason they discarded it and kept the plural for both.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

FunLover18 wrote: »
    It's 'pleaded'. On that note I know someone who used to think the past tense of clean was 'clen' as in 'I clen my room yesterday'

'Pled' is a perfectly correct form of the preterite of 'plead'.

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭AnLonDubh

'Ye' was the singular in British English back in the day. For some unfathomable reason they discarded it and kept the plural for both.
    Ye was the nominative plural, where as you was the accusative plural:

Ye find the horse.
    The horse findeth you.

Thou was the nominative singular and Thee the accusative singular.

Thou findest the horse.
    The horse findeth thee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Slot Machine

Literally everything annoys me. My head literally exploded from the annoyance. I am literally dead right now and literally typing this as a ghost.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭garancafan

AnLonDubh wrote: »

Ye find the horse.
    The horse findeth you.

Thou findest the horse.
    The horse findeth thee.
    Agreed and the genitive plural in my dialect is "yizzer";)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Literally everything annoys me. My head literally exploded from the annoyance. I am literally dead right now and literally typing this as a ghost.

You need to go to the Trivial things that annoy you" thread:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,948 ✭✭✭gizmo555

This is one that I'd forgotten how much I'm irked by, until I saw it again in the paper today.

"Flaunting" a law would be waving the law about and going "Hey, look at this law!"

If the intended meaning is open disregard for a rule or law, the word is flout.

If you've got good grammar, flaunt it . . .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ezra_pound

AnLonDubh wrote: »

Ye find the horse.
    The horse findeth you.

Thou findest the horse.
    The horse findeth thee.

That's slightly simplified. Remember that there was a polite and impolite version also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

I notice recently that Newstalk's Ian Guider has got over his problems addressing Jonathan Healy by calling him Jonno instead of Jonnatin. Another university graduate no doubt. :D

I have to switch station when that fella is on.
    "Wit tanks to Grant Tornton"

• Registered Users Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

MJ23 wrote: »
    I have to switch station when that fella is on.
    "Wit tanks to Grant Tornton"

I had to stop listening to the movies on George Hook because Philip Molloy has the exact same problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

gizmo555 wrote: »
    This is one that I'd forgotten how much I'm irked by, until I saw it again in the paper today.

"Flaunting" a law would be waving the law about and going "Hey, look at this law!"

If the intended meaning is open disregard for a rule or law, the word is flout.

If you've got good grammar, flaunt it . . .

Oh yes. I just laugh when I see it now. It's so often flaunted , I mean flouted :D, I mean...