Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

so Larry Murphy is back in Ireland. *MOD WARNING FIRST POST*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

GenieOz wrote: »
    So because people know of them and are, understandably, hostile towards them..you think that increases their chances of doing the same thing that people are hostile towards them for? Care to explain that logic?

Yes it 100% will increase his chances.

What do you think works better? Him moving on with his life, getting a job, paying taxes, having a relatively normal life.

Or

Being followed around, on the dole, having posters put up, etc... Do you really think this is some how beneficial for people? Cop on to yourself. It would increase his chances of saying "**** it, they think I'm still a rapist, fine I'll show them exactly who I am".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

Holsten wrote: »

What do you think works better? Him moving on with his life, getting a job, paying taxes, having a relatively normal life.

Or

Being followed around, on the dole, having posters put up, etc... Do you really think this is some how beneficial for people? Cop on to yourself. It would increase his chances of saying "**** it, they think I'm still a rapist, fine I'll show them exactly who I am".

Yeahhhhh I think you're completely wrong there.
    That's some misled psychology and fit for a movie, not real life.

GenieOz wrote: »
    Yeahhhhh I think you're completely wrong there.
    That's some misled psychology and fit for a movie, not real life.
    Do some reading on the topic and it will fit with what I said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭H2UMrsRobinson

Or

What was he doing before he committed his crime. Option A or Option B? And how did that work out ?
    Just because you've served your debt you don't get to pretend like it never happened. You've hurt and traumatised a human being - You've crossed a line and can never go back. I don't want to know or care where he is. But you are seriously misguided if you think he doesn't have the potential at least to reoffend.

sugarman wrote: »
    I agree with the original sentence, but not the final years suspended. Deserved the full brunt for destroying 2 young girls lifes.

Not an awful lot tbh, but then again I wasnt and never will be a sick sadistic rapsist that entraps young girls either.

Do you seriously think someone like than can just change?

:rolleyes: Why dont you take him in so, or ask one of youre female family members or friends to look after him
    I hate this "destroyed lives", why must the girls have their entire lives destroyed by this man? Why do you give him that much power? Is it not possible they have received the treatment they deserved and have moved on from what he put them through? I doubt they would ever fully get over what he done but saying their entire lives are destroyed is too much.

Weird you have not changed much in 12 years. No one I know is the same person they were 12 years ago. Yes I do think they can change, not all but most. If he doesn't rape again then he has changed in my eyes.

Why would I do that? I wouldn't take anyone into my home, you, him, anyone.

What was he doing before he committed his crime. Option A or Option B? And how did that work out ?
    Just because you've served your debt you don't get to pretend like it never happened. You've hurt and traumatised a human being - You've crossed a line and can never go back. I don't want to know or care where he is. But you are seriously misguided if you think he doesn't have the potential at least to reoffend.
    It's completely irrelevant what he was doing before it. We're talking about now, currently after he has committed the crime and served his time for it.

So again you like many others don't agree with our current system of justice. Neither do I completely but I do agree that once the time is served, the punishment is handed down and completed then that is it. That's the end. He moves on from it.

I never said he didn't have the potential to re-offend. EVERYONE has the potential to do anything. The likelihood of him doing it after being in prison for 12 years is very low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭pugsnotdrugs13

Read the first 5 pages of posts on this thread and the amount of people defending Larry Murphy is SCARY

Defending his right as an ex-prisoner to move on and live his life.

NOT and NEVER defending what he done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭zzfh

any ideas where he has been seen lads?i live within 2 miles of his home place and i know fam and friends that go jogging up that way..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

I hate this "destroyed lives", why must the girls have their entire lives destroyed by this man? Why do you give him that much power? Is it not possible they have received the treatment they deserved and have moved on from what he put them through? I doubt they would ever fully get over what he done but saying their entire lives are destroyed is too much.

Weird you have not changed much in 12 years. No one I know is the same person they were 12 years ago. Yes I do think they can change, not all but most. If he doesn't rape again then he has changed in my eyes.

Why would I do that? I wouldn't take anyone into my home, you, him, anyone.

Not sure if serious?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

A malevolent desire to see people like Murphy roam free is more widespread than one would like to think; it is a perverted group-think engaged in by people who willingly blind themselves to the victims of crime. They think they are on some sort of moral high-ground, when the truth is that their outlook is a cowardly surrender to the power of perpetrators; it's easier to defend the strong against the weak. Unfortunately this outlook is becoming more widespread amongst the narcissistic know-nothings who carefully foster a pose of secularism; it would be funny if it were not such a deplorably dumb misplacement of moral value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Or

Rapists will rape whenever the urge overtakes them if their psychological issues are not sufficiently resolved. It matters not one iota whether his face is plastered on every billboard in the country or whether he's left in peaceful obscurity, because the underlying issues haven't gone away.

You seem to have this idea that leaving him alone to live a normal life will salve his violent urges; that being released from prison will magically lower his chance of reoffending and only the ire of the public at large would make him likely to reoffend out of some sort of beligerent act of rebellion against his 'tormentors'.
    I honestly have no idea why you can't fathom why people might be slightly worried that an unrehabilitated rapist who no showed remorse whatsoever for his crime might just be a danger to others in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Larry Murphy gets off an Aer Lingus at Dublin, Cork or Shannon at least 5 times a week. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

It's completely irrelevant what he was doing before it. We're talking about now, currently after he has committed the crime and served his time for it.

So again you like many others don't agree with our current system of justice. Neither do I completely but I do agree that once the time is served, the punishment is handed down and completed then that is it. That's the end. He moves on from it.

I never said he didn't have the potential to re-offend. EVERYONE has the potential to do anything. The likelihood of him doing it after being in prison for 12 years is very low.

The likelihood of him being CAUGHT again is something else entirely.
    It may very well be that he now knows now that a living victim will speak.
    And he most certainly cant risk that

Prisons are great centres of information for degenerates, the do's and dont's if you will. An education in the art of attempting to perfect crimes.

It may very well be that he is now more dangerous than before.
    As for "We can only judge him by what he is doing now"?

Do we know exactly what he is doing while free?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭✭BeerSteakBirds

carzony wrote: »
    Apparently there's been atleast 7 sightings in the last few weeks and gardai are on high alert.

What does '' gardai are on high alert'' even mean ? Gardai live with the reality of serious crime on a daily basis, not just recently . And they usually react to crime with an investigation after it happens so whats the point of this ''high alert'' concept ? It sounds like a tabloid attempt to create hysteria or panic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 383 ✭✭Mike747

sugarman wrote: »
    :rolleyes: Youre so ignorant its unbelievable. Or youre trolling. Either way not worth responding to.

Oh he's being serious alright. Typical liberal idiot, more sympathy for the criminal than the victim.

Hopefully he'll do everyone a favour and kill himself, (Larry Murphy that is, not Holsten).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

What does '' gardai are on high alert'' even mean ? Gardai live with the reality of serious crime on a daily basis, not just recently . And they usually react to crime with an investigation after it happens so whats the point of this ''high alert'' concept ? It sounds like a tabloid attempt to create hysteria or panic.

You're so right. Its actually funny when you think about it. 'Gardai have decided there is nothing to worry about and are reverting to "Low Alert"..zzzzzzzzzz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭✭BeerSteakBirds

LorMal wrote: »
    You're so right. Its actually funny when you think about it. 'Gardai have decided there is nothing to worry about and are reverting to "Low Alert"..zzzzzzzzzz

it annoys me. Those vulnerable to rape should be worried perhaps but no more worried than usual. Young girls etc should always be sensible e.g getting into a taxi drunk without anyone knowing where you are going, and without the taxi driver knowing that someone knows etc , walking through isolated places at night as a short cut home etc . No need to be paranoid or hysterical if you just act sensibly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭turnikett1

I hate this "destroyed lives", why must the girls have their entire lives destroyed by this man?

Because they were brutally raped? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I know. And someone responded to you that what he did is not being defended. Well maybe not, but he the man is being defended, and what he did being minimised. Look at all the backslapping and thanking muck from Fred Swanson and downonthefarm. And some genius posting "Welcome home Larry" - so bad-ass. Not a great attitude to the wimmenz methinks.
    In fairness to Holsten, at least he believes in what he says and is not just on a wind-up (mostly anyway).

Well not agreeing with your callousness towards his victim/women in general doesn't automatically mean wanting mob justice.

I don't want mob justice, I'd just like people telling others not to talk about him on a forum to **** off.

But being callous in relation to it is fine.

People can express concerns on a message forum if they wish too. He'll be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,714 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Mob?

Only 1 person should be labeled anything here and that is a man who brutally raped a woman.

Once **** does not happen on your doorstep eh?

EVENFLOW

But I already made it clear I don't want a lynch mob after him so don't lie.
    It's not my twisted view at all - your posts have been very clearly callous in relation to his crime.
    You are nothing but a troll.
    Presume you're referring to yourself.