Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

so Larry Murphy is back in Ireland. *MOD WARNING FIRST POST*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Aw diddums... "Leave him alone" - people are only talking about him on a message-board. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Jesus can people not leave him alone.

Ya I know................preferably in a shallow grave somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Joan Burtons Sexy Knickers

TV3 now. This edition of JK is very relevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 mopey

whats the big deal, he's done his time worse people just get moved to a new parish, bank or regulatory body

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

carzony wrote: »
    ye, because all the threads in after hours are dead serious:rolleyes::rolleyes:

like a heart attack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

are people trolling here or genuine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,574 ✭✭✭dobman88

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

I wonder if he'll disappear in "Irelands Vanishing Triangle"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭✭BeerSteakBirds

turnikett1 wrote: »
    Because they were brutally raped? :confused:

Whats the difference between being just ''raped'' and being ''brutally raped'' ?

I'm all for mob justice. However I feel manipulated by the media and the low IQ of the rest of the mob. why ? Because the whole country sat back like a stoned hippy for the last 7 years while suicides shot up, while pensioners froze to death watching their kids and grandkids emigrate and while people died on hospital trolleys and had their pensions and wallets etc dipped into. As I said I'm all for mob justice but one rapist causing nationwide mob hysteria while Bertie and the rest of those who threw away your health service money on helicopter junkets to open off licenses smirk at us guilt free and scot free just irritates me. Its a question of scale and consistency .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

As far as I am concerned his has done his time and should be allowed his freedom .

Right so he's done his time. Can you honestly tell me if your mother/sister/cousin/gf rang you and said 'I've broken down but it's ok Larry murphy picked me up ' you'd be as cool about him as you are here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭up for anything

Holsten wrote: »
    I never said he didn't have the potential to re-offend. EVERYONE has the potential to do anything. The likelihood of him doing it after being in prison for 12 years is very low.

You are joking? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

mopey wrote: »
    whats the big deal, he's done his time worse people just get moved to a new parish, bank or regulatory body

Oh Christ , just because the Catholic Church deems it fit to hide abusers in this way doesn't mean the rest of society should too. Are you mad?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

he's somone that the gardai need to watch really closeley and know his whereabouts, i thought that when he was released in 2010 he had to report to the gardai regarding where is staying etc. of course there othe rapists etc. around but the fact that he has shown no remorse means there is a very high chance of him reoffending

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

the whole country sat back like a stoned hippy for the last 7 years
    Including yourself.
    while suicides shot up, while pensioners froze to death watching their kids and grandkids emigrate and while people died on hospital trolleys and had their pensions and wallets etc dipped into.
    Which pensioners froze to death and how is that our fault?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

he's somone that the gardai need to watch really closeley and know his whereabouts, i thought that when he was released in 2010 he had to report to the gardai regarding where is staying etc. of course there othe rapists etc. around but the fact that he has shown no remorse means there is a very high chance of him reoffending

Don't you understand? leaving him to his own devices and letting him carry on as he always has will give him the LEAST chance of reoffending.
    According to Holsten anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭okedoke

I heard he has teeth three inches long and could break a man's arm with one bite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭DildoFaggins

Aw well life goes on.

• Site Banned Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Shiraz 4.99

Is it true the 2 hunting lads who stumbled upon him that night were prosecuted for poaching deer or is that an urban myth.
    Seems a bit over officious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Larry Murphy has been given bogeyman status in Irish society, people to crazy when they think tht he is around, it's spread like wild fire and people get terrified, I remember last time was supposed to be in my area people were posting things on Facebook like Larry Murphy sighted in such and such staring at the holy Mary statue, Larry Murphy seen in the shop in such and such buying a chicken fillet roll. I knew people who didn't sleep because they were terrified he was going to break into their house, one of my own family members moved the children into their bedroom so that the whole family could sleep in one room I case he broke in. I literally could not believe what I was seeing and hearing, it was complete and utter hysteria, and then it turned out that Larry Murphy was not in even in the country, nevermind the area.

Is Larry Murphy a bad man, yes, of course he is IMHO most likely a psychopathic serial killer but why is everyone so frightened of him, at the end of the day he is human like the rest of us. I am a woman and I live on my own, if I'm honest the last time that all this happened I found it hilarious, the hysteria, the way people were acting I found it funny, I know that I am far more likely to be raped or hurt by someone that I know, most likely by a perpatrator who has offended before but unlike Larry Murphy has not been caught or apprehended, I would personally worry far more about that than the bogeyman.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 383 ✭✭Mike747

I hope so, otherwise he's seriously naive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

Larry Murphy, Irelands version of Purple Aki

• Site Banned Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Shiraz 4.99

Larry Murphy is my username for any non-Irish discussion site.
    The hoots we have on mumsnet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    Larry Murphy has been given bogeyman status in Irish society, people to crazy when they think tht he is around, it's spread like wild fire and people get terrified, I remember last time was supposed to be in my area people were posting things on Facebook like Larry Murphy sighted in such and such staring at the holy Mary statue, Larry Murphy seen in the shop in such and such buying a chicken fillet roll. I knew people who didn't sleep because they were terrified he was going to break into their house, one of my own family members moved the children into their bedroom so that the whole family could sleep in one room I case he broke in. I literally could not believe what I was seeing and hearing, it was complete and utter hysteria, and then it turned out that Larry Murphy was not in even in the country, nevermind the area.

Is Larry Murphy a bad man, yes, of course he is IMHO most likely a psychopathic serial killer but why is everyone so frightened of him, at the end of the day he is human like the rest of us. I am a woman and I live on my own, if I'm honest the last time that all this happened I found it hilarious, the hysteria, the way people were acting I found it funny, I know that I am far more likely to be raped or hurt by someone that I know, most likely by a perpatrator who has offended before but unlike Larry Murphy has not been caught or apprehended, I would personally worry far more about that than the bogeyman.

Eh....you just answered your own question? Not sure if the majority of posters on here are serious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

Just seen this:
    Whats the difference between being just ''raped'' and being ''brutally raped'' ?

Both are horrendous. A rape cold be a guy who takes advantage of a woman when she is inebriated, there are also other instances where the attacker is doing so for self gratification and not although they overpower the victim, they are not doing so with wanton violence. A brutal rape is something a lot different, this is where the attacker is not only looking for self gratification but also to beat and maim the victim, possibly using foreign objects or strangulation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Trailer voice: In a country where no one wants them,
    Larry Murphy and John Gilligan return to Ireland in an action buddy comedy

<Scene of them breaking into a house>

Gilligan: "You take the front door and I'll take the back"

Murphy: "But John, I always take the back"

<pauses>

"Right you are Larry"

Coming to theatres SUMMER 2014

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Is it true the 2 hunting lads who stumbled upon him that night were prosecuted for poaching deer or is that an urban myth.
    Seems a bit over officious.

I read that as punching deer. lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭take everything

okedoke wrote: »
    I heard he has teeth three inches long and could break a man's arm with one bite.

No, you're mistaken.
    He's actually just an evil scumbag who destroyed a woman's life, remains a real danger to women and whom the guards need to watch like a hawk if he is back in the country.

Heard nothing about 3 inch teeth myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

meoklmrk91 wrote: »

Finally someone talking some sense! As I've said before, it's not Larry Murphy people should be afraid of it, it's the people who are closest to them.

Those are the facts and statistic.
    No, I'm not joking at all.

You think he'd be MORE likely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

Holsten wrote: »
    Finally someone talking some sense! As I've said before, it's not Larry Murphy people should be afraid of it, it's the people who are closest to them.

Those are the facts and statistic.

No, I'm not joking at all.

You think he'd be MORE likely?

So we should fear our friends and family more than Larbo Murphy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

So we should fear our friends and family more than Larbo Murphy?
    No of course not. You shouldn't fear neither.

BUT.... according to the statistics you're more likely to be raped by someone you know than by a stranger.

And you're more likely to be raped by someone who has never been convicted against a convicted rapist.

I know it sounds crazy but if you read up on it you'll see it for yourself. I just go by the cold hard facts in this situations and thats what they tell you.