Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General chat thread... Links, pictures, banter etc

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

@Sonics2k

Was that you parked next to me earlier in Tower?

That was me lad, me and my annoyingly bouncy fender.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,118 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Sonics2k wrote: »

Fender?

Is that what the kids call it these days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭The QuietMan

Bouncy fender??? More problems?

I think the lads went for beers, I just went home :pac:

Bouncy fender??? More problems?

I think the lads went for beers, I just went home :pac:

Minor but really annoying. One bolt that holds that right crashbar in place is not coming out, and it needs to be removed so the bike can be resprayed. But because the support bars are taken off on the other side the fender is bouncing a fair bit, surprised you didn't notice on the spin yesterday.

Gonna get it down to Rebel Motorcycles tomorrow to see if he can drill it out.
    Fender?

Is that what the kids call it these days?

Mudguard, whatever. You knew what bit I meant!

Minor but really annoying. One bolt that holds that right crashbar in place is not coming out, and it needs to be removed so the bike can be resprayed. But because the support bars are taken off on the other side the fender is bouncing a fair bit, surprised you didn't notice on the spin yesterday.

Gonna get it down to Rebel Motorcycles tomorrow to see if he can drill it out.

Always one feckin bolt! Yeah Dylan will get it out alright, he’s really building up a good reputation.

I only turned up in Blarney after everyone took a route I didn’t expect, I initially went to Blackpool to meet follow on but seen the bikes and headed directly to Blarney, eventually I found ye in the village before going to Tower where you were parked next to me, only then did I realise it may be you.

Well I was more going for innuendo about your bouncing fender! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,459 ✭✭✭zubair

In-your-endo

Always one feckin bolt! Yeah Dylan will get it out alright, he’s really building up a good reputation.

I only turned up in Blarney after everyone took a route I didn’t expect, I initially went to Blackpool to meet follow on but seen the bikes and headed directly to Blarney, eventually I found ye in the village before going to Tower where you were parked next to me, only then did I realise it may be you.

Yeah Noel decided to take the back road from Kileens down through Blarney instead.

I'm not awake enough at all haha.

Finally got that Batwing fairing after re-ordering it from their ebay page. It doesn't fit the bike at all, won't line up at all with the existing mounts and is frankly too small. Myself and two of the lads spent time working on it and it just won't happen. Absolute joke of a company.

• Registered Users Posts: 904 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

Front wheel bearings gone again on the busa. Replaced both front and back in 2018. Suzuki supply crap bearings. Went with SKF 6205-2Z this time to see is it a speed related failure :-))

Yeah Noel decided to take the back road from Kileens down through Blarney instead.

I'm not awake enough at all haha.

Finally got that Batwing fairing after re-ordering it from their ebay page. It doesn't fit the bike at all, won't line up at all with the existing mounts and is frankly too small. Myself and two of the lads spent time working on it and it just won't happen. Absolute joke of a company.

Towards the Blackstone Bridge?

Nah up around the Rocky Road area instead, bit more scenic but a more fun drive.

Had my Almax 1.5m Series IV & Squire SS80 A delivered today.

Sweet Christmas, it's an absolute weapon of a thing. Or would be, if you could swing it properly! My old Oxford chain and lock is like a toy next to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

Sweet Christmas, it's an absolute weapon of a thing. Or would be, if you could swing it properly! My old Oxford chain and lock is like a toy next to it.[/QUOTe

Brill chain, you won't be able to carry it around with by the way, impractical,you'll need to use it with an anchor and leave it stationary.Got one myself

It's a heavy lump alright, but I've read elsewhere someone carried it about in his luggage.

Don't have an anchor, but will use with lamp posts, posts in concrete, etc. same as my other chain.

Did too,but got real tired real quick lugging it around

Bit of a longshot here, anyone got a recommendation for getting some small bits of fabrication work done? Need to get some bits made up to get the fairing on the bike I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭ChelseaRentBoy

Sweet Christmas, it's an absolute weapon of a thing. Or would be, if you could swing it properly! My old Oxford chain and lock is like a toy next to it.[/QUOTe

In the market for a new chain as mine is beginning to show it's age. Can you tell me where you got it and how much it cost roughly. Cheers.

Got it sent from Almax themselves 7 years ago :

https://www.almax-security-chains.co.uk/

They're expensive and I had to use parcel motel

€265 for the Almax Series IV, 1.5m chain with the upgraded Squire SS80CS padlock, delivered. They don't deliver to Parcel Motel or the likes these days.

They are expensive but I figure a few things:

1) It's as secure as a chain can be (bar the Series V). Unless a thief is extremely well equipped and with time and an undisturbed environment, they'll likely opt to leave my bike alone upon seeing this chain and lock.

2) It'll increase the chances of keeping my bike secure and lessen the likelihood of a theft claim.

3) The chain and lock will be with me for a long time, not just this bike. So over 10 years, the chain would cost €26.50 a year. Very cheap for peace of mind

• Registered Users Posts: 11,305 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Gotta say, the Iron 883 is a woeful drive. Skinny wee bike, wouldn't pull you out of bed is my experience.

I'd second this. I own a Fat Bob, big twin and plenty of torque (that is the only thing you buy a Harley for), test rode the 883 and it wasn't up to much, but you COULD do a stage 2/3 on it, you would get more out of it that way for sure.

Overall though, it is probably the most reliable Harley ever made, that engine has been around since the dinosaurs. They look great and you can really make it your own.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,787 ✭✭✭✭listermint

€265 for the Almax Series IV, 1.5m chain with the upgraded Squire SS80CS padlock, delivered. They don't deliver to Parcel Motel or the likes these days.

They are expensive but I figure a few things:

1) It's as secure as a chain can be (bar the Series V). Unless a thief is extremely well equipped and with time and an undisturbed environment, they'll likely opt to leave my bike alone upon seeing this chain and lock.

2) It'll increase the chances of keeping my bike secure and lessen the likelihood of a theft claim.

3) The chain and lock will be with me for a long time, not just this bike. So over 10 years, the chain would cost €26.50 a year. Very cheap for peace of mind

I've one . Absolutely machine of a chain.

Got it 6 years ago I think. Shipped direct was some money on the shipping back then.

Surely addrespal as it's land based UK would be grand ....

• Registered Users Posts: 12,208 ✭✭✭✭blade1

How about ye for a Yoshimura Busa?
    I of 100 made.

https://page.auctions.yahoo.co.jp/jp/auction/g443519437

Screenshot-20200726-123716.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,682 ✭✭✭H_Lime

blade1 wrote: »
    How about ye for a Yoshimura Busa?
    I of 100 made.

https://page.auctions.yahoo.co.jp/jp/auction/g443519437

Screenshot-20200726-123716.jpg
    This was for many years a screen saver on my pc. Would love one, pure jap moto porn.

H_Lime wrote: »
    This was for many years a screen saver on my pc. Would love one, pure jap moto porn.

I'd prefer a tornado.
    Now that would be rare!:eek:

Screenshot-20200726-140116.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Quick question for those with panniers. I have a pair of givi e46s and an E52 back box, all on a wingrack. With the weight of the boxes, I'm nearly maxing the recommended limit for the rack, how much can I realistically put in it before it becomes an issue.

hairyslug wrote: »
    Quick question for those with panniers. I have a pair of givi e46s and an E52 back box, all on a wingrack. With the weight of the boxes, I'm nearly maxing the recommended limit for the rack, how much can I realistically put in it before it becomes an issue.

Depends on the subframe of your bike.

Okay, so I wanted to put up one last post with regards to Motea, who I decided to re-order from after a little chat with The Quiet Man.

The batwing fairing ordered about a week or two after being ordered via eBay, the quality of it was okay for the price, although a bit flimsy and would probably be destroyed after a fall. Screen was included. For some reason they sent two envelops of screws and bits to attach the screen to the fairing, alongside the screen to fairing instructions, also twice.

They however didn't include any instructions for attaching the fairing to the bike itself. I sent them a real quick email and message on Facebook, who said they weren't able to provide any form of instructions for this for some reason.

When I got around to trying to attach the fairing, I wasn't at all surprised to find out that the fairing in no way at all actually lines up with the mounting brackets on the bike, despite their numerous emails that it 100% would.

So I got on to them again and sent videos of myself and other lads trying to get it to line up and it's literally not going to happen. The screws on it aren't even pointing in the right direction, they won't replace it. Just straight up asked me to return it to them and they'll refund it.

To hell with them.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 59,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Was there someone here looking to sell a cb4? I think the posters name was jimmy maybe, I want to try get back on the road again.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 59,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Bit of a longshot here, anyone got a recommendation for getting some small bits of fabrication work done? Need to get some bits made up to get the fairing on the bike I'd say.

Location?. Metal or plastic?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Banana Republic.

Okay, so I wanted to put up one last post with regards to Motea, who I decided to re-order from after a little chat with The Quiet Man.

The batwing fairing ordered about a week or two after being ordered via eBay, the quality of it was okay for the price, although a bit flimsy and would probably be destroyed after a fall. Screen was included. For some reason they sent two envelops of screws and bits to attach the screen to the fairing, alongside the screen to fairing instructions, also twice.

They however didn't include any instructions for attaching the fairing to the bike itself. I sent them a real quick email and message on Facebook, who said they weren't able to provide any form of instructions for this for some reason.

When I got around to trying to attach the fairing, I wasn't at all surprised to find out that the fairing in no way at all actually lines up with the mounting brackets on the bike, despite their numerous emails that it 100% would.

So I got on to them again and sent videos of myself and other lads trying to get it to line up and it's literally not going to happen. The screws on it aren't even pointing in the right direction, they won't replace it. Just straight up asked me to return it to them and they'll refund it.

To hell with them.

Was looking online with them myself but that’s shoddy service not to include instructions. That would put me off that they didn’t even want to help you at all. Refund is no good when you need it and probably be a hassle getting the refund.

Anyone else have positive or negative dealings with these?