Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ming Flanagan this morning

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭buried

Ming knows well what he is doing. He is visibly bringing the angst and anger of his constituents straight into the face of the Government, the same government that lied to these particular citizens (closure of Roscommon A&E) and the same government that continues to ignore them and their substandard public services such as clean usable water. Ming is listening to the people that have put him in his place, Ming is the only TD from the region attending and setting up local meetings to address this serious issue and by doing so he'll walk the next general election even quicker than he did last time.
    To those that don't like it, well, what can you do about it? Maybe stand for election in Ming's constituency and address the viable concerns of his voter base to a greater extent than Ming actually does?? Because that's how it works, cacklin like demented hens about his clothes up on the internet wont do much to dent the actual political game Ming plays (and has every right to play) so well.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users Posts: 682 ✭✭✭LOSTfan57

/Laughs out loud to the point of incontinence, as the interweb people say...

Its all ****s and giggles until someone giggles and ****s

• Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Klair88

I'd trust a ragged hippie every single time over the "suits" of power in this country, who think it's ok to bailout out gambling bankers with taxpayers money, then close hospitals, schools and social welfare programs for the poor, young and elderly.

Cop on to Fcuk. People with your kind of viewpoints need to die out and rid Ireland of the stupidity you spew forth as opinions and let real progress happen.

Fair play to Ming. We need more people like him.

• Registered Users Posts: 41,053 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

LOSTfan57 wrote: »
    Whats wrong with Michael D?????

Nothing. He is a President to be proud of.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Jester252 wrote: »
    yes I have, have you even done a professional debate?
    Does penalty points ring a bell?

So what's it like then in your expert analysis then? Does he have a point? Is the water piss? Proof of corruption by the way?

Professional debate? Judging by your posts I wouldn't say you're very good at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Have you ever been involved in a professional debate?

Are you filibustering?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

He stands up for the little people in society!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

What point are you trying to make other than telling us you like debating?

Parliament needn't be some sedate forum for debate, it's a platform for TDs to raise our grievances in an effective manner. Quite frankly he has done his job better than most politicians in respect to the dirty water issue. If he walked in wearing a suit and politely stated the water was a bit dirty and would somebody mind awfully cleaning it up no one would be talking about it. This was a parliamentary stunt which has gained the intended level of attention.

What he wears and his course language don't matter, effectively raising his constituents issues (disgracefully poor water quality) are more important.

This from someone who generally doesn't think much of him, I thought his stance on bog cutting was appalling and his one man crusade for legalising weed completely isolated and schoolboyish in it's execution, however today, for the water stunt, I congratulate him.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Proud of his large pay I think not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

have you even done a professional debate?

Let me guess.

You're a master-debater right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

I am pie wrote: »

Parliament needn't be some sedate forum for debate, it's a platform for TDs to raise our grievances in an effective manner. Quite frankly he has done his job better than most politicians in respect to the dirty water issue. If he walked in wearing a suit and politely stated the water was a bit dirty and would somebody mind awfully cleaning it up no one would be talking about it. This was a parliamentary stunt which has gained the intended level of attention.

What he wears and his course language don't matter, effectively raising his constituents issues (disgracefully poor water quality) are more important.

This from someone who generally doesn't think much of him, I thought his stance on bog cutting was appalling and his one man crusade for legalising weed completely isolated and schoolboyish in it's execution, however today, for the water stunt, I congratulate him.

Hear hear! I now seek to move a motion [pause for sniggering] of congratulations from the house.

Is the bar open yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

So what's it like then in your expert analysis then? Does he have a point? Is the water piss? Proof of corruption by the way?

Professional debate? Judging by your posts I wouldn't say you're very good at it.

Personal insults already?

The water is not piss, its water ;)

Remember the penalty points?

There where other methods for ming to rise the issue, he just went with the lazy,cheep method

• Registered Users Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Fock you deputy Stag, fock you!!

• Registered Users Posts: 20,178 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...The water is not piss, its water ;)...

Piss is about 97% water. Which is about the same as most of the treated water up around the West, by all accounts. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

So he can curse and swear? Then he gave a minister a glass of water and walked out.

Talk about missing the point OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

I think stunt is the operative word there.

Re-election status: Progressing nicely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Trevor Cortez Zambrano

I once got violently ill from drinking cryptowater. Never as ill in my life. **** anybody who thinks that drinking this muck is acceptable.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

He acted unprofessional in the Dail today. What he said and did could have been done at a professional level. He when for the lowest common denominator. I don't care what he wares and he has a point but word like piss have no place in a Dail debate. They weaken his argument and his position. Would you not find it unprofessional if a doctor asked you for a piss sample?

• Registered Users Posts: 682 ✭✭✭LOSTfan57

Fock you deputy Stag, fock you!!

Fup off

• Registered Users Posts: 20,178 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

He acted unprofessional in the Dail today. What he said and did could have been done at a professional level. He when for the lowest common denominator. I don't care what he wares and he has a point but word like piss have no place in a Dail debate. They weaken his argument and his position. Would you not find it unprofessional if a doctor asked you for a piss sample?

I should find it rather more unprofessional if the doctor didn't ask me for a piss sample, when one was necessary. That is a far more likely scenario these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭IK09

TD's are representatives of a constituency. This is a TD expressing the view of his constituents.

This is ground breaking activity in Dail Eireann as far as I am concerned, the everyday persons opinion being reflected where it is supposed to be, by whom it is supposed to be.

Not Ming's biggest fan, but fair play

• Registered Users Posts: 4,286 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

It could be worse. He could have bankrupted the country through reckless spending. :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Fair play Ming.

Also, A big LOL at the the stiffs and re-reg trolls on this thread............ you sad, sad cunts.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,934 ✭✭✭20Cent

Did anybody see his disgraceful behaviour in the Dáil chamber during the debate on the Water Services Bill this morning? First of all he turns up in a wooly jumper and denim jeans like a crusty while everybody else is wearing a suit (besides that other slob Wallace). Then he started ranting while using coarse language like "piss" - hardly befitting of a parliamentarian.

To anybody on the Left - this is why people laugh at you and don't take you seriously. This is why all the socialists are hidden in the very back corner while the big boys are talking. What an embarrassment. Ming could be in trouble with Dáil authorities after his outburst. Do you honestly thing he will ever progress beyond a one-term novelty backbencher. Imagine somebody like him representing Ireland in the EU parliament or in a ministry.

Why u say he's on the left?
    He's a bit of both left and right from what I can tell, like most people.

The real story of the day is how FG rammed the legislation through without allowing the opposition proper time to debate it.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

I see no issue here, he highlighted a serious problem that the people who elected him have and provided a physical example of it to the people who are in a position to do something about it. How he dresses, styles his hair and speaks really shouldn't come into it.

Also dare I suggest a subtle element of sexism in the supposed expected dress code for male TDs vis a vis the supposed expected one for female TDs?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭golfball37

When whipped TD's refuse to debate and guilotine bills through the Dail this is the sort of Politics you can expect.

Nobody in this sorry shambles today comes out with any credit sadly. The overreaction of the CC to events only cements the view of many- that most of the deputies in there are completely out of touch with reality.

If an African country was charging its citizens for rotten drinking water and the government refused to debate it, I daresay we'd all be looking down on said country. The joke as usual is on us.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,934 ✭✭✭20Cent

In 2012 Anglo writes off 110 million euro of Siteserv ltd's debt.
    In 2013 Sierra a subsidiary of siteserv gets the water meter contract.
    This legislation is being guillotined through with no chance for proper debate.

But the news will be full of Ming and piss rather than looking at that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

20Cent wrote: »
    In 2012 Anglo writes off 110 million euro of Siteserv ltd's debt.
    In 2013 Sierra a subsidiary of siteserv gets the water meter contract.
    This legislation is being guillotined through with no chance for proper debate.

But the news will be full of Ming and piss rather than looking at that.

Who bought Siteserve ?. :eek::eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

“A member walking down and handing a glass of dirty water to a Minister...That is just outrageous and unacceptable behaviour and I have asked for an immediate meeting of the CPP to deal with this matter,’

Good grief, Dail Eireann spending your taxes wisely yet again...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

And the winner of the Hissy Fit Award for over reaction 2013 goes to -

Sean Barrett TD, Ceann Comhairle.

Act of vandalism my arse.

What a feckin eejit.