Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ming Flanagan this morning

• 19-12-2013 2:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3

Did anybody see his disgraceful behaviour in the Dáil chamber during the debate on the Water Services Bill this morning? First of all he turns up in a wooly jumper and denim jeans like a crusty while everybody else is wearing a suit (besides that other slob Wallace). Then he started ranting while using coarse language like "piss" - hardly befitting of a parliamentarian.

To anybody on the Left - this is why people laugh at you and don't take you seriously. This is why all the socialists are hidden in the very back corner while the big boys are talking. What an embarrassment. Ming could be in trouble with Dáil authorities after his outburst. Do you honestly thing he will ever progress beyond a one-term novelty backbencher. Imagine somebody like him representing Ireland in the EU parliament or in a ministry.
    Tagged:

• Registered Users Posts: 937 ✭✭✭swimming in a sea

If I can find Flash Gordan's phone number I'll send it on to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 564 ✭✭✭2ygb4cmqetsjhx

He can dress and speak as he pleases as far as I am concerned. Who cares what he looks like really?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Romper_Stomper

So he can curse and swear? Then he gave a minister a glass of water and walked out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

If the only bad thing you can say to discredit him is that he dresses badly and uses the word "piss" I'm not convinced.

I haven't been keeping up to date with politics for a while so I'm not sure what he has up to these days but your argument certainly hasn't persuaded me to want rid of him from the dail.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,099 ✭✭✭mathie

He can dress and speak as he pleases as far as I am concerned. Who cares what he looks like really?

His missus?

He's one of the few politicians who is willing to stand up to everyone else. Like him or hate him, you have to give him his dues.

More power to him, I say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭reprazant

To people on the right, Áine Ní Chonaill is the reason people don't take you seriously.

/Controversial :suspicious:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

It's more how he acts. Being all high and mighty and then when exposed, like the time with the penalty points, he tries to hang everyone.

Utterly dislikeable individual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

So he can curse and swear? Then he gave a minister a glass of water and walked out.

I think you missed the point. You clearly believe in style over substance.

He made a very valid point that the government expects people to pay for water but the water system only provides some people with the "piss" he presented to the minister.
    which is undrinkable.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,099 ✭✭✭mathie

Not OK - Dresses differently, says "piss"

OK - Be corrupt to the core, bail out corrupt bankers etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

If 'piss' is a curse word then what Ming Flanagan wears and says are the least of your problems. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Romper_Stomper

He pulled a stunt where he shoved a dirty glass of water at a government minister and stomped out like a child. If you can't debate your point then why be a TD? The Dáil issued this statement
    Whilst I fully appreciate the need for Members to attract publicity and inform their constituents of the work that they do in Leinster House but when a Member decides to pull a stunt such as this, it does nothing other than denigrate our National Parliament.”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

You are right OP. All those guys in suits would never use bad language but they would take a medical card from someone with cancer.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,308 ✭✭✭splashthecash

When I first saw him and Wallace in the Dail wearing their casual clothes (pink polo shirt, wolly jumpers, etc.) I thought ah cool...sticking it to those up tight politicians but the more i think about it, i think there should be professional approach to how you dress coming to the government offices. I know what they wear doesn't have any effect on how they can do their job but it is the perception he gives across when he dresses like this. Is it that he can't be arsed putting some effort into looking slight professional seeing as he has so passion about a lot of things?

If you ever heard the saying "don't dress for the job you have, dress for the job you want"....well those two boyos dress for neither imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

All the Doper-bots will be out to defend their messiah shortly.

• Registered Users Posts: 682 ✭✭✭LOSTfan57

Giggs on the left Beckham on the right.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭coolisin

Fair Play to him for dressing like he wants rather then in a suit like he's forced to do.
    I dont care what he dresses like when he makes sense. His Attitude was perfect this morning, he is saying what his constituents want him to say.
    Charging people will be paying for piss water and he's right to be annoyed.

I find that it more disgusting his act of standing up for people is being called an act of vandalism, shows how up their own arses TD's are. People are expected to drink water that is poison and enjoy paying for it.

Nah, I would much rather have somebody running the country who is not a yes man.
    Im not part of the left but the left at the moment are the ones talking sense. While the two big parties talk the same sh1t they have talked for two long.

So no he wasn't disgraceful, your attitude of "Oh the state of the peasant, another brandy" is disgraceful

• Registered Users Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭wexfordman2

Did anybody see his disgraceful behaviour in the Dáil chamber during the debate on the Water Services Bill this morning? First of all he turns up in a wooly jumper and denim jeans like a crusty while everybody else is wearing a suit (besides that other slob Wallace). Then he started ranting while using coarse language like "piss" - hardly befitting of a parliamentarian.

To anybody on the Left - this is why people laugh at you and don't take you seriously. This is why all the socialists are hidden in the very back corner while the big boys are talking. What an embarrassment. Ming could be in trouble with Dáil authorities after his outburst. Do you honestly thing he will ever progress beyond a one-term novelty backbencher. Imagine somebody like him representing Ireland in the EU parliament or in a ministry.

Yea, cos if you dress in a suit, your obviously competent as we can see from the rest of our td's.

I reckon the should all go back to wearing whigs to be honest

• Registered Users Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

IMO he is better than some of the corrupt in suit's. The suit's do not maketh the man, or something like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

You should sign up to a website and spread this appalling news op.

Oh wait.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

OP has a crush on Ming

• Registered Users Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Thundercats Ho

Damn uncultured lefties swearing again.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,068 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

He pulled a stunt where he shoved a dirty glass of water at a government minister and stomped out like a child. If you can't debate your point then why be a TD?

You could count on one hand the number of TDs that can actually debate in a mature and logical way.

Our glorious Taoiseach isn't even capable of it :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,248 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

It's a disgrace. He should wear the best handmade french shirts like Charlie Haughey did. Good quality clothes means good quality character.
    Fianna Fail always wore good suits. The banking sector were famous for wearing them and look how professional they've been.

You should sign up to a website and spread this appalling news op.

Oh wait.

There an amazing number of new members that start threads in AH immediately after joining

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

If you can't debate your point then why be a TD?

"Don't argue with idiots because they will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Trevor Cortez Zambrano

With all due respect, in the most unparliamentary language, **** you Romper Stomper, **** you.

I apologise now for my use of unparliamentary language. It is most unparliamentary and I now withdraw it and apologise for it.

You could count on one hand the number of TDs that can actually debate in a mature and logical way.

Our glorious Taoiseach isn't even capable of it :rolleyes:

Enda reads good now tbf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Used to think he was alright 'til all that penalty point business came out. Turns out he's just another gombeen looking out for himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 251 ✭✭Terry1985

Did anybody see his disgraceful behaviour in the Dáil chamber during the debate on the Water Services Bill this morning? First of all he turns up in a wooly jumper and denim jeans like a crusty while everybody else is wearing a suit (besides that other slob Wallace). Then he started ranting while using coarse language like "piss" - hardly befitting of a parliamentarian

I don't care about his politics, but he doesn't have to conform to the suit wearing bores. The vast majority of people he represents don't wear suits and are angry at the water charge given the current quality of their supply. I'd say he performed his job of representing the people who voted for him admirably in this case.