Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ming Flanagan this morning

• Registered Users Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

chopper6 wrote: »
    He was voted in the same was as rage against the machine got an xmas No 1 a while back.

The same way as people put Jedi on the census form under religeon.

Apart from a handfull of commited dope fiends and locals in his area he was voted for as a joke candidate.

Are you from South Roscommon or Leitrim? Do you know this for a fact?

I am as it happens, and its patently untrue.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

Are you from South Roscommon or Leitrim?

God no.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

View wrote: »
    Will the quality of his constituents' water be improved if he doesn't wear a suit?

Because if not, him opting not to wear a suit, won't comfort his constituents either.

No, but I doubt they are tearing their hair out over its absence.

I suspect a good few would prefer he go the "you try drinking this piss" route rather than say something seemly and get ignored.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

He was voted in the same was as rage against the machine got an xmas No 1 a while back.

The same way as people put Jedi on the census form under religeon.

Apart from a handfull of commited dope fiends and locals in his area he was voted for as a joke candidate.

I knew this was about the "wrong sort" having a vote.

• Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭Seaba

I'm from South Roscommon and I can guarantee he was not voted in as a joke candidate - nearly 9,000 (20%) 1st preference votes!, including mine.
    Secondly his constitutents do not care that he does not wear a suit when addressing parliament.

Seaba wrote: »
    I'm from South Roscommon and I can guarantee he was not voted in as a joke candidate - nearly 9,000 (20%) 1st preference votes!, including mine.
    Secondly his constitutents do not care that he does not wear a suit when addressing parliament.

Well in fairness the people from this part of the world arent exactly known for thier sense of style.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

God no.

Well then stop talking ****e about why we voted him in so.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

Did anybody see his disgraceful behaviour in the Dáil chamber during the debate on the Water Services Bill this morning? First of all he turns up in a wooly jumper and denim jeans like a crusty while everybody else is wearing a suit (besides that other slob Wallace). Then he started ranting while using coarse language like "piss" - hardly befitting of a parliamentarian.

First of all, I don't believe his behavior was disgraceful. It was a display of outrage. He is there to represent his constituents, and I'm pretty sure outrage is the voice they want conveyed. Being charged for an infected water supply is 3rd world carry on.

As for not dressing up in a suit and carrying on like he's a big swinging dcik businessman, I firmly believe that more politicians could take a leaf out of his book. Fine to wear a suit for formal or state occasions, but a little unnecessary for every day.

Parliamentarians have lost touch with what they are actually supposed to do - represent the voices of the people. It's fine for cabinet to make decisions & set out policy based on these voices, they are essentially the government. The rest of the folks in Leinster house are representatives of the people.
    Not leaders of industry,
    Not celebrities,
    Not shining examples and role models
    People. And the sooner we start putting real people in those positions the sooner they will start behaving like them, and providing the representation we need.
    The current system is a joke. It's designed to facilitate the illusion of representation, the real questions get asked, then some party backbencher waffles on with a load of irrelevant crap to muddy the waters, then the minister answers the question he wants to answer, nobody gets any wiser or closer to a decision and they all go for pints at the dail bar.
    Meantime, behind closed doors, the cabinet figure out a response that won't cause outright civil disruption or outcry, crunch the numbers, take some money out of essential services to pay for it, and chalk the balance onto the national debt., then they join the rest of the monkeys at the dail bar to celebrate a job well done.
    Meantime, it gets harder and harder for the ordinary decent citizen to maintain a decent standard of living and provide an upbringing for their kids.
    Ming is one of a very few voices trying to make it easier for you, rather than court big business, fillibuster and generally waste everyone's time.

so go ahead call him a crusty, that's your opinion, my opinion is that you sound like a total stuck up intolerant snob. To judge him based on his appearance, when he's the only one addressing the elephant in the room - the quality of the service being provided by the state, is a rather ignorant and irrelevant approach. Well done.:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭Seaba

Well in fairness the people from this part of the world arent exactly known for thier sense of style.

Or you, for your ability to spell.
    Enjoy trolling.
    Good night!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

IMO you should be excluded from this thread over your racists comments.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭Maudi

Did anybody see his disgraceful behaviour in the Dáil chamber during the debate on the Water Services Bill this morning? First of all he turns up in a wooly jumper and denim jeans like a crusty while everybody else is wearing a suit (besides that other slob Wallace). Then he started ranting while using coarse language like "piss" - hardly befitting of a parliamentarian.

To anybody on the Left - this is why people laugh at you and don't take you seriously. This is why all the socialists are hidden in the very back corner while the big boys are talking. What an embarrassment. Ming could be in trouble with Dáil authorities after his outburst. Do you honestly thing he will ever progress beyond a one-term novelty backbencher. Imagine somebody like him representing Ireland in the EU parliament or in a ministry.

I think you'r frightened........

To anybody on the Left - this is why people laugh at you and don't take you seriously. This is why all the socialists are hidden in the very back corner while the big boys are talking. What an embarrassment. Ming could be in trouble with Dáil authorities after his outburst. Do you honestly thing he will ever progress beyond a one-term novelty backbencher. Imagine somebody like him representing Ireland in the EU parliament or in a ministry.

IMO you should be excluded from this thread over your racists comments.

Is a crusty a separate race now??:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 6 grogs01

there's a good youtube video here - good arguement made by him

That says a number of important things about his constituency:
    1. Even as a "joke candidate, he is a more trustworthy and representative candidate than some goon in a suit who knows how to work the parish pump
    2. His constituents consider the "work" accomplished by those in his position is of little or no significance, indicating a complete lack of trust in the government
    3. His constituents have some form of trust in his integrity and dedication to their opinions and his ability to represent them
    4. Or, that his constituency are the most hilarious bunch in the country

I don't know, or care which of these options pans out in your head to justify that ridiculous statement you made above. Fact of the matter is he was elected by the same process as those serving as Taoiseach, and ministers of state. The difference between them, is that he chooses to present himself as himself, instead of putting on the facade of the business stooge in a suit, or the criminal in the dock, while he goes about the business of government.

If "close friends and dope fiends" were enough elect a TD, then there would be a lot more like him.

I think you forget that he has been politically active since 1998 in some way shape or form. That shows an impressive level of dedication to me.....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Just seen VB tonight, clip with Bernard Durkin, and posters complain about Ming, Get a grip.

• Registered Users Posts: 384 ✭✭vapor trails

If only the minister whipped out a bottle of his quad strength black currant and drunk it down like Samuel L drinking his tasty beverage in pulp fiction

• Registered Users Posts: 959 ✭✭✭maringo

On a more serious note, I would regard access to clean water as a basic human right. And while I mightn't agree with Ming Flanagan's stance on every issue he was certainly effective in making his point for his constituents. I hope he keeps highlighting the issue until the people have safe drinking water in their taps. Their current situation is unacceptable.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

It is because deep down Ming has ambitions to destroy the earth.

Alright with you if I wrote an epic comic series based on this post? You've really got something there :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Aestivalis

Unfortunately, a large percentage of afterhours doesnt understand that turning up to your job looking professional is actually quite important.

Can you imagine if any of the people in this thread with the 50+ thanks went to hospital and the doctors were wearing ripped jeans + wooly jumpers with greasy hair?

Or if any public servant, garda, office worker, interviewee, interviewer, etc dressed like somebody suffering from alcoholism. I guarantee you they wouldnt be saying "shur who cares how you dress".

mathie wrote: »
    Not OK - Dresses differently, says "piss"

OK - Be corrupt to the core, bail out corrupt bankers etc etc

Nobody said that.

Seems like a maturity issue. I dress how I want when I'm out shopping or on the town. Today I wore a nike tracksuit pants and a hoodie. Couldnt care less what people thought of me, and likewise I wouldnt glance sideways at some randomer dressed like this, or some lad with long hair.

But then when its time to work you need to have a bit of cop on. Dress smart, tidy and confident. Grow up a bit and take off the pennies clothing and have a bit of dignity.
    These people are running the country, not the local youth club.

• Site Banned Posts: 263 ✭✭Rabelais

This idiotic act has done nothing to address the genuine concerns of the electorate of Roscommon and South Leitrim. Mehole Martin was on the Last Word this evening. He rarely makes a salient point. Suggesting that if every TD was to carry out such acts, then the chamber would soon cease to function as a working parliamentary body, is very much grounded in reality.

This was nothing more than an egotistical act by one of the most nefarious toads to have ever sat in the Dáil. A blowhard sitting up in the peripheries of the chamber looking to create a bit of controversy so as to make his way back into the public consciousness. A half-wit appealing to the parish pump nature of Irish politics.

He would be better served by actually listening to valuable contributions by Stephen Donnelly (a fellow independent) than pulling a cheap and vulgar stunt such as this. Even a rudimentary reading of the parliamentary record shows this chancer to be one of the most brain dead politicians that has parked his ass in a well paid seat.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Rabelais wrote: »
    This idiotic act has done nothing to address the genuine concerns of the electorate of Roscommon and South Leitrim. Mehole Martin was on the Last Word this evening. He rarely makes a salient point. Suggesting that if every TD was to carry out such acts, then the chamber would soon cease to function as a working parliamentary body, is very much grounded in reality.

This was nothing more than an egotistical act by one of the most nefarious toads to have ever sat in the Dáil. A blowhard sitting up in the peripheries of the chamber looking to create a bit of controversy so as to make his way back into the public consciousness. A half-wit appealing to the parish pump nature of Irish politics.

He would be better served by actually listening to valuable contributions by Stephen Donnelly (a fellow independent) than pulling a cheap and vulgar stunt such as this. Even a rudimentary reading of the parliamentary record shows this chancer to be one of the most brain dead politicians that has parked his ass in a well paid seat.

Didn't Michael Martin stage a walkout with all of the opposition parties over the water charge? At least Ming made a concise and valid point before walking out.

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭tapfit2004

He's a gombeen and me-feiner of the worst sort. He has all the debating skills of a rabid drunk and the political acumen of a burst sausage.

A dreadful politician devoid of even the merest hint of civic duty; I look forward to witnessing him lose his seat.

Regardless of what you think of his appearance or anything else about him, he has raised a point about water quality in ireland which is not being realistically considered by those promoting the water charges.

I'm not against paying for good quality public services (water, health roads, etc.) but having lived 6 miles from castlerea, in ennis, co clare and carlow town, I would challange the minister, or anyone on here, to have a glass of water/ cup of tea with the water from the tap and say it tasted okay.

Ennis was cronic bad when I lived there for 4 years from 1999.

Castlerea has been bad for at least the last 30 years, so much so, that my relatives use bottled water all the time, including cooking.

In the last few years I've been staying in carlow town reguarly and the tap water is terrible, especially noticeable in a cup of tea.

I grew up in finglas and still live in dublin. I'm used to decent quality water 99% of the time but I think that before you can charge people for water you have to make sure that 40% of it isn't leaking out through the pipework and that it isn't 'piss water'.

Otherwise we should do away with any notions of a public water system and let everybody do their own thing.

Aestivalis wrote: »
    These people are running the country, not the local youth club.

Actually they aren't (Not supposed to be anyway)

They are representing their constituents, who run the country (supposedly)

And yes, I have been attended by a doctor, in a hospital, wearing thongs (flip-flops), board shorts, a vest and a hawaiian shirt. Whats more, his manner was fantastic, he performed excellent work, and his attire was completely appropriate to the role and the location.

Dressing neatly, and respectably of course is important (TO SOME PEOPLE), but not more important than competence and commitment when it comes to professional roles. The sooner people get that idea, the sooner we can break down the elitist walls and stop putting people on pedestals because of the "prestige" of their position. Its a load of b0llocks. If you are good enough at your job, then you can appear as you please, as long as it's not downright offensive to anyone.

if every TD was to carry out such acts,

He means if they were actually there.......

• Registered Users Posts: 34 PopRocks

If presenting some one with a glass of dirty water is an act of vandalism, what do you call expecting people to pay for it??
    Madness...

• Registered Users Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

He seems a laugh.