Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

annapr wrote: »
    don't mention the war!!!

It's ok, Anna, that was last week's rant. I have moved on and am very zen about the whole thing ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Friday called for 3 mile recovery and yesterday called for 7 miles easy. Had visitors this weekend and disappointed that I didn't get any chance to do these runs. Even though this week was a step back week I don't like missing runs as I need the consistency of a routine.

Today plan called for 14 miles steady at 7.50-8.10 pace. I had been offered the chance of a multi participant running date and was really disappointed that I couldn't make it. Put my running gear on after breakfast but the visitors didn't get the hint and didn't leave till lunch time!

I did a 13 mile steady run 2 weeks ago in 8.04 average and I decided to use the same route and try and hit a 7.50 average. The route is an out and back with a net uphill on the return so I tried to run under 7.50 for the out section. Felt strong today and was happy with the effort, especially mile 13 which is almost all uphill and where I've struggled to break 9 min pace lately.

Step up in mileage next week and I'll have to plan the runs carefully as I'm in London for 3 days.

14 miles @ 7.37

1. 7.48
    2. 7.21
    3. 7.45
    4. 7.35
    5. 7.36
    6. 7.49
    7. 7.48
    8. 7.17
    9. 7.35
    10. 7.33
    11. 7.48
    12. 7.32
    13. 7.49
    14. 7.30

Clickety Click another positive step forward for the SS project

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,783 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Pesky visitors. Should have invited them along, that would have gotten rid of them. Nice run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Ferris B

we ran about a mile together before he headed off home.

http://youtu.be/nVhNCTH8pDs

Good to see you this week Mr TbL. Sorry I couldn't do more miles...time pressures (ok, fatigue!) I hope yer man treated you to the traditional cone before sending you back west?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Put my running gear on after breakfast but the visitors didn't get the hint and didn't leave till lunch time!

Maybe next time put the crocs on too, with no sports socks, and see if that gets rid of them? I know I was horrified at the holiday image :D

Today the plan called for a 3 mile Nursing Home Special.

Legs felt good after yesterday's run and I got this run done in the lunchtime sunshine around the pitches in Dangan. Pace was a sedentary 10 min pace.

Had an hour of strength & core after work and she said it was time to up the weights for some of the exercises I was doing, was fairly drained after this.

In other news, Tang has been calling me out to race him over 5 miles this weekend and despite been half my age, half my weight and twice the running talent, I'll probably have to turn up to save Bogger pride! He must be in dire straights, confidence wise, if he's looking for a facile win over an auld lad, with a sore throat :)

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

In other news, Tang has been calling me out to race him over 5 miles this weekend and despite been half my age, half my weight and twice the running talent, I'll probably have to turn up to save Bogger pride! He must be in dire straights, confidence wise, if he's looking for a facile win over an auld lad, with a sore throat :)

TbL

Jaysus the excuses are coming early!! Don't forget you'll have severe jetlag from your flights to London later in the week as an excuse to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

TbL

That's some U-turn from this:
    Send me on the details, I like a smack down!

You'll still talk to me when I hand you your ass won't you? :)

TbL

Today the plan called for a 4/7 mile easy double. This would have been my first double in months but as I was heading to London and was short on time I decided to do tomorrow's session instead. This was 1 mile wu/cd with 8 miles alternating between 7.40 and 7.10 pace.

Headed to the pitches around Dangan early to get this done. They seem to be doing some maintenance on some of the paths and they were a bit uneven so I tried to avoid them. After a slow mile warmup incorporating some dynamic stretching I started on the 8 mile section, the first 7.40 mile felt uncomfortably tough and I wasn't in great form for this. Was finding it hard to focus and hitting 7.39 for the first mile was a struggle. Manage to pick it up a bit but never felt comfortable on this run. Mile 6 & 7 were very tough, on the last slower mile I was running at 8.40 pace after 0.2 of a mile!

The two faster miles (the first and the last) were done mainly around a single pitch so the time from the garmin may be a bit overstated as it's not known for its accuracy around short loops.

Never got into the run at all but happy to have it done. Only managed a half mile cool down walk.

Had to pay an emergency visit to the dentist and have infections in my gums, have to have two teeth extracted!!

It's **** been old!

1. 7.39
    2. 6.52
    3. 7.40
    4. 7.00
    5. 7.45
    6. 7.06
    7. 7.41
    8. 6.39

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

ugh! good luck with the dentist, sadists the lot of them :D

I was going to acuse you of some of the worst sandbagging ever but seeing as you have manky teeth i'll refrain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

That's great running considering your system is fighting an infection.

Good luck with the dentist!

tang1 wrote: »
    I was going to acuse you of some of the worst sandbagging ever but seeing as you have manky teeth i'll refrain.

You should know since you were trying to get close up and personal with my mouth that day along the canal :)

I knew you'd accuse me of sandbagging so see attached photo of antibiotics!

Pressure on now young lad, imagine if you lose to an auld sick man :)

TbL

You should know since you were trying to get close up and personal with my mouth that day along the canal :)

TbL

Doc should have given you some testosterone for those balls of yours, suck it up old man!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

TbL

or a Sick Auld Man :P

who's running the book?!

Firedance wrote: »
    who's running the book?!

Give it up you, up Mayo!

Today I was to do a 4/7 mile easy double that I'd switched around from yesterday.

I'm in London, staying in Nutfield, near Gatwick. I had planned to hit the hotel gym early this morning for the 4 miler but an early unscheduled meeting put paid to that.

Couldn't face the thought of doing anything more than a couple of miles on the treadmill so I hit the narrow uneven paths outside the hotel and on through some small villages. Cars were moving very quickly and it was a bit unsettling on the narrow pathways as they whizzed by just a couple of inches from me arse cheeks! Wasn't bothered with pace but brought the garmin to measure distance and ended up with 10 miles very easy.

Finished up with 30 mins foam rolling and stretching.

Trying to rise to the Tang smack down challenge is causing me some logistic issues and I'll have to try and fit in the weekends planned 16 miler either tomorrow or Friday.

Was told today that I might have to spend 3 of the next 4 weeks here (London) and that would be terrible for my plan as the local terrain isn't suitable for much apart from easy running.

Hoping that the small bit of speed I've done in the last week or two will have my dentures within chomping distance of Tangs ass on the finishing stretch come Sunday :)

TbL

Plan today called for a 3 mile Nursing Home Special. Very tired today, wasn't helped by the fire alarm going off in the hotel last night. While the other hotel guest filed out of the hotel in their pyjamas and dressing gowns, I adopted the Irish approach to alarms, and if I couldn't see flames or smell smoke I wasn't getting out of bed! Eventually I had no choice but to leave due to a staff member incessantly knocking on my door, shouting at me to get out. I didn't make a pretty picture standing out side with a grumpy puss and an ill fitting hotel dressing gown!

The false alarm eventually cost me a few hours kip. I didn't get back to Dublin till around 9 this evening and I was very tempted to crash in the airport hotel bed and can any thoughts of a run.

As I'm trying to juggle the runs this week to accommodate the 5 mile race on Sunday I decided that I needed to do more than 3 miles if I'm going to hit this weeks planned mileage. After listening to some Soft Cell, the Tainted Love/Where has our love gone integration, I eventually coaxed myself out to run for an hour. Ran up from the hotel and up towards Santry, again this was run very slow and I finished with around 6.5 miles (the garmin took ages to spark up) in the hour.

http://youtu.be/oGXpDhNAO1Y

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

seen Mark Almond on Imelda Mae last week. God he was $hite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Best of luck against the "youngfella"....ENJOY!!

Today the plan called for another double 4/7 miles easy I think. Was up very early to drive back to Galway and as I won't get a chance to do a long run this weekend I planned on doing the 16 today.

Mrs TbL threw this plan into disarray by booking a OAP romantic meal out! Left work a little early to try and get some sort of run done. Hit the pitches in Dangan that were busy with plenty of runners about and some tool hitting golf balls across the pitches!!

Was gonna run it steady to try and get more miles in but in the end decided to run it easy. After about 5 miles a friend of mine joined me (he's about at the same level as Tang) so the pace dropped off :) He was doing a few miles at his HMP and asked me to pace him so I got in a 7.40, 7.27 and a 7.23 mile at the end of the run.

Finished up with 13.5 miles in total so happy enough.

1. 8.59
    2. 8.44
    3. 8.30
    4. 8.33
    5. 8.39
    6. 8.46
    7. 9.12
    8. 9.04
    9. 9.11
    10. 9.14
    11. 7.40
    12. 7.27
    13. 7.23
    .5. 4.22

Best of luck to everyone racing tomorrow

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Posting on here isn't much of a way to end a romantic night out :rolleyes:

Best of luck tomorrow Chief, bit of added incentive for you. This is what i'll have on in the morning, now you can't show your face here tomorrow if one of us beat you!!!!

tang1 wrote: »
    Best of luck tomorrow Chief, bit of added incentive for you. This is what i'll have on in the morning, now you can't show your face here tomorrow if one of us beat you!!!!

You'd want to be faster than the Blue response time to burglaries in Connemara :)

TbL

how are you feeling TBL? have the antibiotics sorted you out? good luck tomorrow against that young whippersnapper - I have to back him though, same province n all :)

Good luck tomorrow, TbL ! Don't take any nonsense from the young fella ;)

You'd want to be faster than the Blue response time to burglaries in Connemara :)

TbL

I'd say it's slow alright!!

Firedance wrote: »
    how are you feeling TBL? have the antibiotics sorted you out? good luck tomorrow against that young whippersnapper - I have to back him though, same province n all :)

The antibiotics are causing me stomach problems, my teeth are killing me, the legs are heavy, the missus isn't talking to me, I've to be up at 6am for a 5 mile training run and the recent lack of sleep is causing me to hallucinate but that aside its all good :)

TbL