Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

menoscemo wrote: »
    Late to the Charleville/Athlone party!!
    Having done Athlone it's a fast course and the fact it has 1:25 pacers swings it for me. (well ok; that and the fact I am going to the Andy Lee fight the night before Charleville).
    I'll still be able to get the early train back to Dublin to watch Tyrone in the All Ireland the day after the Lee fight. The only question is whether it'll be the Dubs or Mayo in the final :) Charleville would leave that a bit too tight.

TbL can i interest you in Andy lee tickets? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

TbL can i interest you in Andy lee tickets? :)

I'll swap them for my Stoke tickets!!!!

TbL

Yesterday: enforced rest day, didn't get home till very late after the match. Good seats close to the sideline.

Today: plan called for a 3 mile Nursing Home Special. got a badly need massage after work, was as stiff as a porn star od'ed on Viagra:)

Massage did the trick as the run was the most comfortable I've done in ages.

Hope that form holds for tomorrow as I've a 400m reps session tomorrow.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

You'd be afraid clicking the link after the viagra comment. Is that Shay Given?
    You enjoyed your tour of the bay?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Best of luck tomorrow Chief.

aquinn wrote: »
    You'd be afraid clicking the link after the viagra comment. Is that Shay Given?
    You enjoyed your tour of the bay?

Yep, indeed it is, signed for Stoke as the reserve goalie.

Yea, Dublin looked great and 'twas great to have some company.

We were keeping an eye out for stranded sail boats, you obviously survived the weekend :)

tang1 wrote: »
    Best of luck tomorrow Chief.

Cheers Mate (sorry a hangover from the weekend!) It would be nice to be get a bit of a confidence booster, but it's not the end of the world and I got a note from coach today telling me to cool the jets and not to be over focusing on paces during this phase.

TbL

Plan today called for 2m wu/cd followed by 8 x 400m at 88-92 seconds off a generous 2 minute recovery.

Was told yesterday evening that I've to be back in London towards the end of the week and the only time I'd could get a slot for a strength & conditioning session was very early this morning.

Hadn't been in over 3 weeks and it showed. She weighed me at the end and surprisingly I've list a kilo since just before the holidays (happy with that as I usually pile it on on hols)

Only had a short window to get the session in as I've to work late tonight so headed up to the pitches and track in Dangan during lunch break. Only got in a 1.75 mile warm and a .75 cool down and I shortened the 2 min recovery between reps to 1.45. Reps were as follows:

1. 90
    2. 86
    3. 88
    4. 88
    5. 88
    6. 87
    7. 89
    8. 81

Fairly happy with that especially as it was only a few hours after the S&C session.

TbL

Today plan called for 7 miles easy.

Woke up this morning very stiff (relax Tang!) and tender, yesterday's strength session and the 400 reps obviously took more out of the auld body that I thought and as I'm heading to London tomorrow and have to change around the rest of the weeks runs I decided to only do 4 or 5 miles very easy.

Ended up doing 5 miles very easy in the rare evening sunshine @ 9.47 pace.

Off for a Epsom salt bath to try and get some blood flowing!

TbL

Woke up this morning very stiff

FFS dont be bragging about, suppose at your age you have to brag when it happpens.......

...and especially without some pharmaceutical assistance...

When you get to my age as the old saying goes, it's like trying to play pool with a rope :)

TbL

Today: as I was to be heading to London mid morning today I'd to juggle around the rest of the weeks runs so today was to be 2m wu & cd followed by 3 x 15 mins at 7.00-7.15 pace off 4 mins recovery.

Left the house before 6am to get into Dangan pitches for this and a beautiful morning for running it was with the sun burning the dew off the grass. Despite the Epsom bath last night the groin muscles are still a little tight and need some work.

Did a 1.5 mile easy warm up interspersed with some dynamic stretching and started into the sets. Happy enough with the effort level.

Set 1. 2.13 miles (7.07 & 6.55 pace for the 2 miles)

Set 2. 2.15 miles (7.01 & 6.50)

Set 3. 2.14 miles (6.55 & 7.04)

Only had time for a short cool down as I had a hour of yoga before work.

Was heading to Dublin airport when I got a call cancelling my trip to London, happy days!

Thought the weather app on my phone was broken as the sun symbol doesn't appear to have been working for the last few weeks but it seems to have fixed itself as its back now :)

TbL

Plan today called for a 3 mile Nursing Home Special.

This morning was the first time in months that I've gotten out of bed without having to hobble around coz of niggles and stiffness, hopefully the body is starting to adapt again, I had a similar complaint on the last cycle and all of a sudden the aches and pains mostly disappeared and my form and times started to improve. Hopefully I'm hitting that point on this cycle.

Got a game of squash in at lunch time and got the heart rate right up. Hit the local beach for a swim in the full tide, with my daughter, just after work. Invigorating and great for the legs.

Got the 3 miles in early this evening nice and easy.

Got all nostalgic hearing this tune on the radio today, brought me back to the days of slow dancing (for anyone under 40 odd this was part of the primitive dating ritual before bucket of fish, instagran, snapshat, or other social media emotional growth inhibitors where you actually interacted with a real live person of the opposite sex) and breathing in the perfume off some young wans neck :))

Sign your name across my heart I want you to be my baby...

http://youtu.be/um4E8994s8c

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,088 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Junior disco. 12 years old. Flashback.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

Jaysus! Why do I have an image of yer man in the mankini doing a slow seductive spin when I hear that!:eek:

Don't forget to dab a bit of perfume on your neck if we hook up on a running date NE :)

Hope your training is going well

TTbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

TTbL

Poor NE, what's the additional T for tonight? Always worried when the signature changes.
    Told you sailing/swimming was great for the legs.

And i got abuse for my choice in music, says yer man that likes the bad half of Milli Vanilli!!

Good song TbL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Ha ha bucket of fish :D ah Terrance, its been way too long, they dont make em like that any more...

aquinn wrote: »
    Poor NE, what's the additional T for tonight? Always worried when the signature changes.
    Told you sailing/swimming was great for the legs.

Just part of my Terence Trent Darby appreciation evening, here on my own with a packet of skittles listening to his album (the missus is in the pub getting in some practice in for a wedding session tomorrow!)

I'll be swimming again tomorrow as the legs felt great after it!

TbL

Yesterday: plan called for 7 miles easy. The missus was at a wedding and I didn't get any chance to get a run in. Went to see Pixels at the flicks with the kids. Jezus that Adam Sandler is a plank, the animated characters had more depth than that clown!!

Today the plan called for 13 miles @ 7.50-8.00 pace.

Thought I'd manage this handy enough and the head was telling me that I should aim for the low end of the pace range but the legs had other ideas and I felt very lethargic throughout. A little frustrating especially as the longer runs used to be my strong point. Notwithstanding today's run the week in general wasn't too bad with 2 sessions, an hour of S&C, an hour of yoga, 45 squash and a medium long run.

It'll click just gotta keep it going and improve the consistency a little.

1. 7.52
    2. 7.35
    3. 8.00
    4. 7.55
    5. 7.54
    6. 8.09
    7. 8.03
    8. 8.10
    9. 7.56
    10. 8.17
    11. 8.12
    12. 8.56!!!!!!!!!
    13. 7.57

TbL

Plan called for a 3 mile Nursing Home Special.

Was put through my paces early this morning with an hour of strength and conditioning. Legs were heavy when I did get out for the run but loosened out as I got into it.

Hope to run every day this week and get a reasonable mileage done.

Finished off the evening with a very enjoyable hour fishing for mackerel off the local hot spot.

TbL

Today: as I was in Dublin this afternoon for work the plan today called for a resurrection of the magical mystery tour with Ecoli. On the way to the rendezvous at the Papal Cross car park at 6pm the car was showing the temp at 24•, so I was a little apprehensive as to what was in store. Was told we would be doing mile reps at a progression from around 7.00 to 6.40 pace. I knew this was gonna hurt as I haven't done mile reps at any sort of pace in ages. Q was gonna join us for part of the session and after a few false sightings (too much hair, he'd never wear leggings, that's a girl :) ) we hooked up with him. Great to catch up with him and he's ramping up the training again.

Running with lads that are way faster than you conflicts me, on the one hand I love the thought of been out with the faster guys as its really motivational and on the other there's always a little voice at the back of my head telling me that they wish the fcuk the gastropod would speed up and stop holding them back!! Was told to relax and after a two mile warm up we hit the reps, the lads were chatting away as if they were knitting while I threw the odd "sure" and "right" into the conversation not coz I'm taciturn but coz I was huffin & puffin from the get go.

We met AMK on our travels and he looks fit and strong, he slapped my ass as he passed me on one of his reps, I knew he was missing me ;)

Q left us after a couple of laps, to continue his easy run, best of luck with the training A.

Found it warm out there tonight and at the end of the last rep I was wrecked and a bit disappointed with the effort level required to hit those paces. Now this is where having a decent coach, that you trust, comes into play, I wasn't getting any hail fellow sympathy and was told (again) to manage my expectations and that we were going through a structured process. Was told that it wasn't where I was at, that I should be concerned about but rather where I was coming from. That really struck a chord as back in June I was still not able to run!

Reps
    1. 6.58
    2. 6.55
    3. 6.51
    4. 6.40
    5. 6.43

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Jaysus...uv come a long way from coolin down with z listers like me and meno ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

I see young Ecoli is copying the TRR plan again. Half of Tallaght were doing 5 mile reps on the track tonight :P
    the other half were out robbin our cars :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

I see young Ecoli is copying the TRR plan again. Half of Tallaght were doing 5 mile reps on the track tonight :P
    the other half were out robbin our cars :mad:
    Are 5 mile reps not a tad long?

ultraman1 wrote: »
    Jaysus...uv come a long way from coolin down with z listers like me and meno ...

Jezus, I don't know, the famous UM and the legend that is meno, ye're more like b listers :)

Nice back to back over the last two days by the way.

TbL

part of that run has me very jealous and its not your splits :D (great n all as they are)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Firedance wrote: »
    part of that run has me very jealous and its not your splits :D (great n all as they are)

The slap on the arse from AMK???:D

Firedance wrote: »

And he was running topless with very short shorts, that'll get your fire dancing :)

TbL

gentlemen please, I was referring to the location, such a beautiful spot the Phoenix Park...;)