Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Good work going on here :) When's your next race?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Good work going on here :) When's your next race?

Tnx CM, what you probably wanted to add to the good work comment was "...about time or, at last" :)

You're going well yourself even though it pains me to go over to the Stabilizers and Lycra section to follow how you're doing!

Had hoped to run the Charlieville HM as a MP run but I'm in the UK that weekend so I'm now thinking of the Galway Bay Half on the 3rd Oct. I've 15 weeks to target marathon and need to find a couple of 5 and 10 k's today do in the coming weeks and maybe another 10 miler.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

I hear Claregalway 10k is on this sat eve 6pm.????

Plan today called for 7 miles easy.

Didn't get up early enough before work to get the 7 done and ended up with 6.2 miles from Stephens Green along the canal and back.

Got 70 mins of squash in this evening and I was worked around the court a lot harder than I wanted!

Tired afterwards and had a quick swim in the sea to try and reinvigorate the legs.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭TRR_the_turd

Got 70 mins of squash in this evening and I was worked around the court a lot harder than I wanted!

Is squash not a bastard on the legs? all the short bursts and stop start. Surely can't be good for the feet either! And I remember reading studies about it being quite unhealthy as well (maybe that was more to do with the physical state of people playing it)

Added to all of that, is it not just middle aged yuppie types who play squash ………….

taking-blood-pressure-middle-aged-man-taking-blood-pressure-after-game-of-squash.jpg

Haha Ricky,

My middle age yuppie years are about a decade behind me!

Yep it's pretty intense and I purposely stayed away from it for the last two training cycles but on this cycle I'm using it as cross exercise and I got the ok from the physio to play and am hoping that it helps strengthen the ligaments in the feet.

I've played it on and off for over 35 years and play at a reasonable level (for an auld lad)

Court was boiling hot tonight and I had to dig deep to beat the young lad I was playing (hate losing to young lads!)

It's a fine line between trying to maximise the benefit from it while not affecting the quality of my sessions.

I'm trying lots of new things on this cycle to try and hit my target.

Anyway it beats sitting on the couch with a jumbo bag of skittles.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Is squash not a bastard on the legs? all the short bursts and stop start. Surely can't be good for the feet either! And I remember reading studies about it being quite unhealthy as well (maybe that was more to do with the physical state of people playing it)

I would have thought squash and football v dangerous for a runner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

aquinn wrote: »

Ah here she is. Don't see tbl mentioning much about football? :)

aquinn wrote: »

Not as dangerous as been out in a sailing boat apparently :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

martyboy48 wrote: »
    I hear Claregalway 10k is on this sat eve 6pm.????

And DeCare five miler in Claremorris on sat 29th.

www.mayoac.com/event/move2improve-race-5-dedecare-dental-sport-a-smile-5-mile/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭ger664

At this rate you might even get appearance money :)

Ger

Today the plan called for 5 miles easy and tomorrow for 9 miles with 7 miles at 7.25-7.35 pace. Busy day tomorrow and unlikely to get the session in so I decided to do it today. The legs feel really good from a niggle perspective with considerable improvement in the last 10 days but the body in general feels tired. Might lash into a course of multi vits. Had an hour of yoga before work and despite the crusty hippy bits I'm starting to see some benefits from this so I'll keep it up for another while yet.

For once managed to get out of work a bit early and hit the pitches around Dangan

It was warm enough and I wasn't really confident I'd hit the splits and would have probably benefited from an extra day before doing it. Haven't run more than a couple of 7.30 miles in a long time and after a mile warm up I started on the 7 miles. Was starting to tire at mile 4-5 and was gonna stop but dug in and finished with the last mile been the quickest.

Doesn't look like much but that session was a big confidence booster for me and the Lego is starting to click into place.

Finished with a short cool down very very slow.

1. 7.17
    2. 7.24
    3. 7.28
    4. 7.27
    5. 7.30
    6. 7.28
    7. 7.04

Ps Marty you're right about the flies, they're feckin unbelievable up there at the minute.

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Nice work. All heading in the right direction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

" Might lash into a course of multi vits."

skittles, M+Ms and chewits don't count C....just so you know

Yesterday: plan called for 5 miles easy, never managed to get out for a run but managed 30 mins of squash.

Today: plan called for 7 miles easy, spent the afternoon on the beach and eventually got out for this in the early evening. Legs still very stiff (even after a long swim in the sea) and they never loosened out on this run. Not feeling the love and hopefully the legs will be in better nick for tomorrow's long run.

7 miles very gingerly.

Some great racing by Boardsies today, well done

TbL

Today the plan called for 18 miles easy.

I was apprehensive about this because any run over 10 miles recently hasn't been easy and it was the longest I would have run, by a good couple of miles, in 20 weeks.

Had a Epsom salt bath after 20 mins foam rolling last night and it managed to ease most of the aches apart from a very tight left glute.

Decided to completely ignore the pace as I need the physical and psychological benefit of completing the run.

Glute was very tight so I walked a couple of hundred metres before starting to try and loosen it up.

Nice and dry today for this which was a welcome surprise as the weather was predicting rain all day!

Headed out from the house towards Rossaveal and Tully church before turning and coming back. Bit of a wind in the face on the way back which was nice and refreshing.

Apart from an ever tightening glute felt pretty good on this and am happy enough to have another block in place for the SS project.

TbL

Plan today called for a 3 mile Nursing Home Special.

Was as stiff as a plank this morning with the left buttock having a Kim Kardasian feature!

Managed to get a massage after work and and she told me my ass was like concrete, it's been decades since a young wan told me that, unfortunately, after 30 mins of beatin into it with her elbow, it's back to it auld man saggy best :)

Got 4.15 miles done nice and easy around the pitches in Dangan, with the left cheek collecting gravel as it trailed behind me! Felt grand and hopefully back to normal tomorrow.

This week is a step back week so I'll try and do some extra strength and core.

TbL

Plan today called for 7 miles easy.

Did this run after work around the pitches in Dangan, the trails were pretty mucky but enjoyed this run at a nice easy pace.

Gonna give the squash a miss this week as I think it was responsible for the tighteness in the glute.

Was hoping to get a race in this weekend but visitors have put paid to that plan. I'll just have to jump into a Parkrun if I can't find something soon as I need a race to blow off some cobwebs.

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Good 5 mile on up my way Sunday week, I'll race you!!

tang1 wrote: »
    Good 5 mile on up my way Sunday week, I'll race you!!

Send me on the details, I like a smack down!

You'll still talk to me when I hand you your ass won't you? :)

TbL

Send me on the details, I like a smack down!

You'll still talk to me when I hand you your ass won't you? :)

TbL

The 43rd Rennicks Cup 5 mile i.e Bohermeen 5 mile. Info on Precision Timing, and leave my ass out of it, I told you no that day along the canal!!!

Plan today called for another 7 miles easy and tomorrow was to be 5 miles easy followed by 3 x 10 mins @ 7.00-7.15 pace off two and half mins recovery with a two Mike cool down.

Suited me better to try and get the session done today so I headed up to the pitched in Dangan this evening. Very quiet up there tonight with only a handful of runners out and about.

Body felt ok and after 5 easy miles I set off on the first 10 min rep. Felt very uncomfortable for the first couple of minutes for this but soon settled into it. Nearly ended up on my arse a couple of times taking the corners on the pitches as they were mucky and cut up.

Not sure what average pace the 10 min reps came in at coz I didn't set the Garmin up right but it looked like they all came in under 7 min pace so happy with that as it's another step in the right direction.

Rep 1: 1.46 miles
    Rep2: 1.48 miles
    Rep 3: 1.52 miles

Only managed a mile cool down

TbL

1.48 miles in ten mins was 6.28 pace for me a few weeks ago C, so there all well south of 7 min pace. Nice going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

tang1 wrote: »
    1.48 miles in ten mins was 6.28 pace for me a few weeks ago C, so there all well south of 7 min pace. Nice going.

So he messed up that session is what you are saying really ;)

Nice work by the way C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Calculate the paces at 6:51, 6:45 & 6:35 for the 3 reps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,783 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

You'd think someone who crunches numbers for a living (or at least trained to do so) would be able to divide 10 by 7 to figure out the target distance, wouldn't you? :)

Murph_D wrote: »
    You'd think someone who crunches numbers for a living (or at least trained to do so) would be able to divide 10 by 7 to figure out the target distance, wouldn't you? :)

Ah now Murph the only thing I'm crunching these days is skittles!

As for maths you should know, at our age, mental agility is remembering to put your underpants on the right way around in the morning :)

Are your ears not bleeding from the BS music the Boss is listening to!!!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,783 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Sure don't we all like to think we were Born to Run? :D

Today the plan called for 7 miles easy.

Got an hour of yoga and an hour of strength & core done very early this morning. Was pretty tired afterwards, was doing something new today called goblin squats and they really took it out of me! Had to drive to Dublin this afternoon and was losing motivation for a run so I put a call into FBOT to see if he'd babysit me. Fair play to him he changed around his schedule to accommodate me. I told him it would be slow and to bring a jumper, he said he'd bring his onezee (mother of god!)

The traffic in Dublin was horrendous tonight, I'd hate to be commuting in that ever day, and I ended up been late for my date who was patiently waiting for me (sorry again M) It took me longer to get from Heuston to Clontarf than it did to get from Athlone to Lucan.

Was hoping that Ferris would join us but he'd started earlier. About half a mile in FBOT said "here's the man himself", didn't know who he was talking about but saw this lad rapidly running towards us, Jesus, the bould Ferris is in great nick and running well and we ran about a mile together before he headed off home.

FBOT brought me around St Anne's park, the first time I've been in there sober, and he showed me the new Bungy Girl trail, recently tarred and looking good!

Miles were flying by and with M chatting away we hit 5 miles before I knew it. The park was packed with different groups out playing different sports, great to see.

I'll have to get a Parkrun done there soon.

Lovely evening for a run and thanks for the company M, made it very enjoyable. He even managed to graciously slow to a crawl as we finished with 7.5 miles easy in just under 9 minute pace. Best of luck with the rest of your program M.

Murph, tell the Boss to turn off that other crap and listen to this :)

http://youtu.be/nVhNCTH8pDs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Today the plan called for 7 miles easy.

FBOT brought me around St Anne's park, the first time I've been in there sober, and he showed me the new Bungy Girl trail, recently tarred and looking good!

don't mention the war!!!

QUOTE=ThebitterLemon;96781399]Murph, tell the Boss to turn off that other crap and listen to this :)

http://youtu.be/nVhNCTH8pDs[/QUOTE]

i approve... they're not mutually exclusive you know!