Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Skittles and wine gums and green pringles, what was the other thing .... oh yeah, the glasses of milk and the Vitamin D.

You were lucky you healed so quick with both 2nd and 3rd being damaged. I'm about 5 weeks in to the rest but not sure how many more weeks I'll need. I'm like a buddist with the "acceptance" at the moment, not sure how I'll feel when I hit the rehab stage ...

Great log btw :)

Looks like there is competition on the block, Tang!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Looks like there is competition on the block, Tang!!

We could set up an eating date & talk about stress fractures since I can't run at the moment

Oh wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Plan today called for 3 miles easy followed by 4,3,2 & 1 mile @ 7.15 pace off 4 mins recovery between sets, with 3 miles easy to finish

Had to get up very early to get this done, lashed a bowl of Alpen & skittles into me and headed out the door.

Nice sunny morning for this but I wasn't feeling the love and my head kept telling me that I'd never manage it! Legs and body were a bit tired so I started with 6 miles easy, before starting the first rep. Laboured over the first mile before getting any sort of rhythm going. The final mile was a bit of a slog, but got it done. Need to stop listening to the head and let the legs do their thing! The last couple of miles were done very very slow.

19.4 miles for the day and just under 50 miles for the week. Happy with that especially given the week at work I had.

Set Paces:

7.21, 7.09, 7.14, 7.01

7.03, 7.10, 7.14

7.10, 7.01

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Fair play C, I wouldn't be able to cycle a mile today if I tried!! Connemara thickness counts for alot!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

+1 to the head, hard to shut it out sometimes so good on you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Outside

Hey TbL, if your interested in Charleville Half Sunday, I'll be driving down and up on the day if you need a lift.

Outside wrote: »
    Hey TbL, if your interested in Charleville Half Sunday, I'll be driving down and up on the day if you need a lift.

Thanks O,

Appreciate the offer, I'd entered Charleville but unfortunately I won't be doing it as I'll be in the UK.

Anyway the way you're going you'd have rigor mortis waiting around for me to finish.

Best of luck, you'll smash it up

TbL

Arrived in Heathrow on Sunday and got a taxi to the hotel. Staying in the One Aldwych hotel, and yes the hotel is as pretentious as it sounds!

The black cab driver drove me nuts, he was speeding and tail gating, slamming on the brakes at the last minute, switching lanes and clipped a kerb or two. He was either on a serious promise at home or insane, judging by the state of him I'd have to guess the latter but one never knows, for every dirty auld sock there's a dirty auld shoe :). I could have flown to Corfu with Ryanair for the price he charged me!

Another mad week here in London with work.

Monday's planned 3 mile recovery was sacrificed for some extra kip and yesterday's planned 4/7 mile easy double turned into a 4 mile midnight trundle on the treadmill.

Today's plan called for 2 miles easy wu/cd with 5 x 5 mins at 6.25-6.35 pace off 3 mins.

Had a break around 6 where I declined a work group dinner and hit the treadmill for this. The gym in the hotel is pretty good but the place was roasting.

Got the 2 miles easy done and started on the 5 min sets. Finished with only a couple of hundred metres cool down as I was caught for time.

By the the time I had finished it looked like the treadmill had given birth with all the bodily fluids that had accumulated at the end of it :)

Wasn't sure of the paces so I did the sets at the following speeds: 15.0, 15.1, 15.2, 15.5 & 16.0 kph.

TbL

Disastrous week from a running perspective!

Work really got in the way and I had family commitments this weekend.

Going to do the Galway Bay half on 3rd October but I don't think I'm even in 1.30 shape! SS is on the last weekend November and I'm starting to doubt I've enough time to get into sub 3 shape. I'll have to have a word with Ecoli.

Thur: 5.7 miles easy around St James Park.

Friday: 3 miles around the Britannia stadium in Stoke.

Sat & Sun: nada.

Probably only got 20 miles in total in for the week (Bulmers runs that most Tuesday's :))

Travelled up to Stoke on Ftiday night and met the family, we were going to the Stoke-Leicester game on Saturday. My young lad was one of the mascots and walked onto the pitch at the start of the game with Jon Walters. (He was brilliant with the young lad, chatted with him and made a bit of a fuss over him, some of the other players didn't even speak to their mascots!) #jonwalterslegend
    My young lad had a blast and was delighted.

I'm in London again towards the end of next week but I can't afford another poor week so one way or another ill have to get my act together.

TbL

Today: plan called for 4/6 miles easy.

Was really pissed off last night thinking of the crap weeks running I put in last week. It was eating away at me and seeing all the great racing reports on here was making it worse!

I decided that I've 10 weeks to get my fat ass in gear and as my Spanish friend would say it was time to, fcuk us (focus) and get with the plan.

Decided if I'm going to do it I might as well try and do it properly.

I'd a busy morning in store so I got up around 5.15 and headed out the door, had the head torch for the first time in months. Got 9.1 easy miles in.

Was happy that I got the longer part of the double out of the way early as I wasn't in a mood to run this evening. Had a kick around with my young lad (he was Johnny Walters of course) and then headed off for 4 easy miles in the lashing rain.

13.1 miles for the day and more importantly back on the wagon.

TbL

You doing Moone at the weekend? You would want to take the finger out in fairness, more time concentrating on the running than looking at TRR's chest rug!!

tang1 wrote: »
    You doing Moone at the weekend? You would want to take the finger out in fairness, more time concentrating on the running than looking at TRR's chest rug!!

And a fine rug it is too, you're only jealous coz you'd like to have it laid out on your head :)

Nah, giving Moone a miss as it'd probably demoralise me at this stage, ran it last year in under 3 hour pace and I'm miles off that at the minute.

I'll probably do the Galway Bay half.

You back on the road?

TbL

And a fine rug it is too, you're only jealous coz you'd like to have it laid out on your head :)

Nah, giving Moone a miss as it'd probably demoralise me at this stage, ran it last year in under 3 hour pace and I'm miles off that at the minute.

I'll probably do the Galway Bay half.

You back on the road?

TbL

I'm at peace with my baldness! Yeah back out for 4 miles this morning, going to run that 5 mile challenge I was on about Saturday. Thinking of doing 2 mile warm up, 6@6.50-7mins, 2 mile cool down and see how I go.

Today the plan called for 2 mile wu/cd easy, 3 miles @ 7.10-7.20min pace, 2 miles @ 6.55-7.05 min pace, 1 mile @ 6.40-6.50 w/ 3 min rec between sets

Beautiful day for a run, had hoped to get this done early this morning but an early start with work put paid to that. Took a bit of a extended lunch break to get this done around the pitches in Dangan. When I looked at the watch during the second warm up mile I was doing 7 min pace!! Was over anxious with trying to finish quickly to get back to work and also with the lack of quality over the last week. Good start to the week but I'm in London from tomorrow and that'll test my resolve/discipline!

Only had time for 1.1 mile cool down, total miles for the day, 10.

Sets:

6.56, 6.48, 6.57

6.39, 6.40

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭TRR_the_turd

tang1 wrote: »

feck sake, I'll be getting a complex soon. Just as well my hairy arse stayed wrapped up!

0843bed43f5a441764fe856287be4aaea3b4d781.jpeg

This sweater was modeleed on me ;)

Today: plan called for 4/7 mile easy double.

Legs were a bit dead this morning when I got up, and the groin is good and tight and badly in need of a massage. You around Tang :)

Cracking morning for a run but my mood didn't match the weather, was in foul humour the thought of another couple of days in London was really pissing me off. Yesterday's session was still in the legs and I plodded around grumbling to myself for 9 miles very easy.

Am staying in the Shard hotel near London Bridge again, it's impressive but a bit up its own ass. After I checked in a young wan insisted on accompanying me to the lift and asked me if I wanted room orienteering. Jazus I thought this was a bit forward. "Wha" says I, my gob almost hittin the floor. "Would Sir, like a room orientation"? "Ah, no, just give me the key please", a little disappointed :) Room orientation, FFS! Here's the jacks, here's the telly, here's the light switch!!

After some self room orientation, I put on the gear and hit the hotel gym. Would have liked a swim to stretch out the muscles but the pool was closed. Got 4 miles easy done.

Total for miles the day 13.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

Did you not ask her how to use the toilet?

is that the hotel with the hi tech jacks?? :p

the groin is good and tight and badly in need of a massage :)

TbL

Thats what you get for looking at TRR's chest rug or was it Murph's backless shorts this time:P:P:P:P

Today the plan called for a 3 mile Nursing Home Special. Was looking forward to a gentle trot after a long day at work. Asked the concierge where was the best place to run and was handed a little map on a lanyard, that was about as useful as a chocolate teapot!

It was a dry clear evening and London Bridge was beautifully lit up so I decided to run along the river. That was the plan but it soon became very frustrating as either the Bogger compass is fcuked or it's not possible to run along the river! I kept encountering dead ends and ended up running through residential streets. I came across a tiny church, St Mary's, down some boreen where a children's playground and the graveyard co existed virtually on top of one another!

The stop - start nature of the run really ruined it and I don't know how I'm going to get sessions done next week while I'm here again. If anyone has any suggestions of a decent uninterrupted route near London Bridge I'd really appreciate it.

Got 5.3 meh miles done very easy.

TbL

I've used this website before to find routes, there might be a few options here

http://www.walkjogrun.net/running-routes/UK/Greater%20London/City%20of%20London/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

I normally head for Hyde Park (a 5k warm up for ya) - irrespective of where I'm working in London I stay in South Kensington for that very reason!

Try these out: https://www.strava.com/local/uk/london/running/routes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭neilc

Here's a grand little 2 miler between London and Tower bridges that I used the day before the London marathon this year.
    No real stop/starting, you could do laps of it and your never to far from your hotel.
    https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/756252349

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

I normally head for Hyde Park (a 5k warm up for ya) - irrespective of where I'm working in London I stay in South Kensington for that very reason!

Try these out: https://www.strava.com/local/uk/london/running/routes

Hyde Park is a good shout - I think its lit up at night too ( or at least a good section of the paths through there are)

Today the plan called for 6 miles easy. Meetings were due to finish at 1.15 and I had a taxi booked to take me to Heathrow, the fecker was late so I had to try and get one out on the street to make my 3.15 flight.

This time I was paying the taxi driver extra to speed, lane change, and take any short cut as I had a date waiting for me on the other side. Just about made it after a bit of a mad dash.

Arrived in Shannon to be personally greeted by the mileage junkie that is Bulmers74! He had agreed to chaperone me around the streets of Shannon for a few easy miles. He's doing some seriously impressive mileage, people rave about Krustys mileage but Bulmers is knocking out seriously high miles too. He's also doing some quality sessions as well and was fresh from a long run yesterday with 10 miles at PMP. He's a sub 3 waiting to happen, is as fit as a butchers dog and almost as good looking :)

As usual we had a good auld gossipy chat and the miles flew by. We got 8 easy miles done.

He then proceeded to drag me kicking and screaming to Supermacs, while still in our running gear, where two ex really fat bastids ate about 5,000 calories :)

Tnx J, definitely wouldn't have done 8 without the company.

TbL

Today tha plan called for 3miles easy wu, 3x3 miles @7.10-7.20 pace off 1 mile recovery @ 8 min pace followed by 3 miles easy cd.

Had family stuff to take care of this morning and wasn't sure I'd get this done. Was feeling a little crappy as well so when the missus dropped me at the Texaco in Spiddal I was a little apprehensive as I wasn't sure I'd make it the 18 miles home. Only did a 2 mile easy warm up before starting on the first rep.

Took a bit of time for the auld body to warm up but I was surprised that I was managing the reps reasonably comfortably.

Finished up with 4 miles easy cool down and am at over 65 miles for the week already with 6 miles easy to come tomorrow. All in all happy with the way this week panned out and hopefully that gets me back on track for the SS project.

18.1 miles for the day.

Reps:

7.15, 7.05, 7.07

7.12, 7.05, 6.57

7.08, 6.42, 6.58

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Nice one - the curry cheese chips must've done the trick ;)

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    Nice one - the curry cheese chips must've done the trick ;)

No, but the thought of you been so far ahead of me did ;)

TbL

Plan today called for 6 miles easy.

When I got up this morning my left glute and lower back were very stiff.

Was a bit uncomfortable running, it never loosened out and the pace was a death crawl.

Needed 3 miles to take the weekly mileage to 70 and ended up doing laps of the local GA pitch to make up the 3 miles.

30 mins stretching to try and loosen it out.

Highest mileage week in 6 months.

Also booked my flights to SS, am on the same flights as PaulieYifter, so it Thunderbirds are go now :)

TbL