Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Firedance wrote: »
    you'll get there tho, its hard working running on holidays, in the heat when your needed elsewhere so give yourself a break ( :) )

And dont forget your old to!! Give yourself a break as FD says, you'll get back to where you were & better, be patient.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,625 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

tang1 wrote: »
    And dont forget your old to!! Give yourself a break as FD says, you'll get back to where you were & better, be patient.

Thanks for the auld lad reminder B :)

Patience and me make poor bedfellows (apparently unlike yourself and Bulmers ;) )

Was tempted to head out later tonight to try it again but Mrs TbL is lashing down the wine and it looks like I'm in for a strength & conditioning session coz I'll be carrying her home :)

TbL

Today: plan called for a 3 mile Nursing Home Special. Was a a waterpark today and some of the slides would literal scare the crap outta ya. I went down one with eldest daughter (no bother to her) and it was literally a huge sheer drop, I think I left a 20 metre slick of slurry trailing in my wake. Had factor 50 on but still got a bit roasted!

Yesterday's abysmal run was still in my head when I set off late this evening so I decided to do today's miles at yesterday's planned pace (7.30/7.40). Sluggish start but managed to get through it.

Splits; 7.40, 7.49, 7.26 & 7.16 ( did an extra mile coz I got a bit lost).

I've also move on from been a certified auld curmudgeon to a one foot in the grave auld codger as my new Crocks were cutting the feet off me I ended up going to dinner with shorts, green Crocks and a pair of running socks. You can't buy class :)

TbL

Today: plan called for a 3 mile Nursing Home Special. Was a a waterpark today and some of the slides would literal scare the crap outta ya. I went down one with eldest daughter (no bother to her) and it was literally a huge sheer drop, I think I left a 20 metre slick of slurry trailing in my wake. Had factor 50 on but still got a bit roasted!

Yesterday's abysmal run was still in my head when I set off late this evening so I decided to do today's miles at yesterday's planned pace (7.30/7.40). Sluggish start but managed to get through it.

Splits; 7.40, 7.49, 7.26 & 7.16 ( did an extra mile coz I got a bit lost).

I've also move on from been a certified auld curmudgeon to a one foot in the grave auld codger as my new Crocks were cutting the feet off me I ended up going to dinner with shorts, green Crocks and a pair of running socks. You can't buy class :)

TbL

Plan today called for 2m wu/cd followed by 10 x 300m off a minute recovery at 62-64 seconds per rep.

Need to cut back on the ice cream! I hired a bike with a child's seat mounted at the back so I can transport the young lad around as he's not able to properly cycle himself yet. Was coming back from the beach on the bike topless with the young lad on board. Told him to hold on. He grabs me by the side belly fat. "Dad", "yes son", "you've got skin handles". The little fecker :)

Anyway just after 11pm tonight I cycled down to the sea front that is fairly well lit. Decided I was warm enough and only did a 1k warm up and then lashed into the reps. Pace was a bit all over the place so I tried to concentrate on form. After about 6 reps I could see the shadow of my torso in the street lights and my form was going pear shaped, not quite the duck waddle but maybe like a frantic bat (maybe my skin handles were billowing out in the breeze!!)

Was gasping for breath at the end and it put into context the effort levels KU and some of the other shorter distance guys put in. They're still track fairies though :)

1. 68
    2. 65
    3. 60
    4. 61
    5. 61
    6. 62
    7. 61
    8. 62
    9. 65
    10. 63

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

I think you should leave the crocs after you on your return! Crocs are awful ugly foot wear, I won't even let the kids wear them! Well done on getting the runs in, it is nt easy in the heat.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,449 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

The skin handles must be pretty streamlined at least. Good stuff.

Yesterday: plan called for 7 miles easy. We decided to push the boat out and head into Venice for two nights. Treated ourselves to a decent hotel with a nice rooftop pool with views over Venice. We arrived like a gang of red faced, sweat stained, arse scratching hillbillies disturbing the tranquility of the genteel :)

Had a great dinner on the quayside, at Al Cacciatori, they gave all the customers little wooden boxes for under your table and you put your feet up on them when the swell came over the quay. Kids thought it was great craic. Saw a sign in the lobby that said the gym was out of action for maintenance for the day so I took that as a sign to take a rest day. Saw the sign again this morning and only noticed the date, it was from a few days ago, wouldn't happen in Germany :)

Today: plan called for 1 mile wu/cd followed by 4 x 10 mins @ 7.00/7.10 pace off 2 mins recovery.

Spent the day traipsing around bridges, canals and alleyways. Was considering spending the guts of €100 for 30 mins on a Gondola but the kids weren't that keen. My daughter said that it looked like PJ's currach and we could go out on that any day at home for free :) We'd a laugh at that and gave it a skip.

Decided to hit the treadmill in the hotel and the sets paces were:

7.03, 7.03, 7.03 & 6.58

Never sweated as much in my life, runners were soaked through and the last half mile was tough enough.

Back to the hillbillies caravan tomorrow :)

TbL

Some view that ya lucky so and so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Venice!!! There's a lovely run from St Marks down to the public gardens at the mouth of the canal, few laps of the park & run back up. Perfect when done early am before the tourists hoards arrive :-)

Back at the campsite today. Had planned on doing an easy 3 mile Nursing Home Special, headed out the door with the young lad following on the bike. After about 100 metres the foot started to complain a fair bit, the first time in a good while. Not sure if it might have been the treadmill that aggravated it, or the fact that I've done feck all toe yoga since I've come on holiday but I wasn't taking any chances and canned the run. Gonna try and stretch it out as its tender and I'll try a few easy miles tomorrow.

In other news as per the mail I received below it looks like I won't have to worry about the credit card bill when I get home :)

In fairness who falls for this crap!!!!

TbL

Begin forwarded message:

Date: 27 July 2015 14:38:29 CEST
    To: ken@usa.com
    Subject: I NEED YOUR COOPERATION.
    Reply-To: <dr.pauljames110@yahoo.com.sg>

Dear Sir,
    First of all, my name is Dr. Paul James, the Auditor General of ROYAL BANK OF SCOTLAND. I have an urgent and confidential business proposition for you.I am the accounting officer of Mr. Ken Lay, Enron founder, who died on July, 5th 2006, at the age of 64.It will interest to know that on Wednesday, 7th February 2001, Mr. Ken Lay deposited a total sum of 37.5M pounds. These funds were deposited into a non-existing company's account which I opened in our bank (ROYAL BANK OF SCOTLAND) under their instructions, to avoid raising an eyebrow.
    Meanwhile, the 37.5 Million Pounds deposited in my bank has no proof of ownership as it was opened with non-existing companies name and the bank is not aware of the real beneficiaries as the accounts did not bear any name. As their accounting officer and financial adviser in charge of these accounts, I can comfortable present you to the Bank as the real beneficiary of the funds and they have no right to deny the application.
    Regards,
    Dr Paul James

You wouldn't believe the amount of people i have dealt with that fell for the old Spanish lotto trick, one auld dear lost her life savings of over 100 grand thinking she'd get 20 times as much in return. Couldn't get a penny of it back for her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Great email address that: ken@usa.com Ho did you get it?

menoscemo wrote: »
    Great email address that: ken@usa.com Ho did you get it?

Was wondering the same Meno, couldn't see my actual hotmail address anywhere, maybe it was a one shot catches all type of suckers e mail addresses?

Anyway when I get the cash, I'll be able to employ my very own IT security specialist to get to the bottom of things like that :)

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

His holiness, Prince Lemon of Connemara......

• Registered Users Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

I hope you've moved out of the campsite as a result of this new fortune and feasting on wild boar in celebration.

aquinn wrote: »
    I hope you've moved out of the campsite as a result of this new fortune and feasting on wild boar in celebration.

Quit the job on the back of it too Aquinn :)

TbL

Yesterday: had planned on going out last night but the the campsite put a on a fireworks display that the clan wanted to see (it was excellent) and there was a huge thunder storm with lightening than lit up the sky followed by torrential rain that put paid to the run. Probably did the foot good to take another days rest.

Today: plan called for 12 months miles steady but I decided to push this out to tomorrow when I'm back home. Decided to do a 4 mile Nursing Home Special instead and see how the foot was. Stiff enough starting but loosened out as I went along. Pace was very easy.

Back to the auld sod tomorrow and hopefully I won't see pasta, pizza or ice cream again till Christmas :)

TbL

Unfookingbelievable!!!!

Plan today called for 12 miles steady, pace was 7.55-8.10, but was told not to focus too much on time but rather a good steady effort.

Got back into Galway around 6 and was dropped out of the car just after Inverin. I thought I must have travelled in a time machine and landed in November, vicious swirling wind coupled with lashing, stinging rain. Started the slog home not feeling too bad, but that wouldn't last long!!!!

My missus doesn't normally pay any heed to my running but just after mile 8 she had driven back out to collect me, the weather was that bad. A minor spousal dispute ensued with me insisting that I wanted to continue. 10 minutes later I wished I taken the rescue offer!

Horrible run, ended up frozen and had the semblance of the tan I had, water cannoned off me.

Words fail me...

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭ger664

And the I told you so look when you came in the door :)

It had gone well past that Ger, it had moved up a notch to you're a stupid tool look :)

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Pace was 7.55-8.10, but was told not to focus too much on time but rather a good steady effort.

TbL

There's not focussing on time but that's taking the píss :D:D

Tom Joad wrote: »
    There's not focussing on time but that's taking the píss :D:D

Haha TJ, that gave me a laugh.

Those paces bring me back to the days when I was out babysitting you on a run :)

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Haha TJ, that gave me a laugh.

Those paces bring me back to the days when I was out babysitting you on a run :)

TbL

Ha I prefer the term chaperoning :) - must hook up for another run soon to see if I've got any closer to you.

I'm starting to feel sorry for you now - wind has picked up here in last half hour and it's blowing a gale - problem not as strong as what you had earlier so respect for declining the lift and sticking it out!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Welcome Home!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Ha, crazy weather all right - worst storm I've seen around here in a long time !

Tom Joad wrote: »
    Ha I prefer the term chaperoning :) - must hook up for another run soon to see if I've got any closer to you.

I'm starting to feel sorry for you now - wind has picked up here in last half hour and it's blowing a gale - problem not as strong as what you had earlier so respect for declining the lift and sticking it out!

You'd be handing me my ass at the moment TJ, nowhere near your level currently. Hoping to catch up quick though :)

TbL

Yesterday: plan called for a 3 mile nursing home special.

Foul mood, foul weather, foul stomach, no run.

Today: plan called for 7 miles easy. Left the house very early this morning as I'm in London for the rest of the week. Staying in an old manor hotel that makes a welcome change from the Lego City hotel I'm usually in at Gatwick airport. The footpaths are in a bad state and are very narrow and the cars whiz by but at least I was able to run out doors. Never loosened out on this run and a couple of niggles are starting to rear their head. Got 6.88 miles done very easy and spent a half hour in the gym on the foam roller to try and ease out some of the knots.

I'll have to try and find a decent stretch of quiet road tomorrow as I'm supposed to have a 600m rep session.

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Foul mood lingering? Is it because I bailed on Spain?

aquinn wrote: »
    Foul mood lingering? Is it because I bailed on Spain?

Reading about your sailing exploits Aquinn, if you were sailing us to Spain I'd say we'd all be bailing :)

TbL