If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ireland v. New Zealand build-up thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Trimble was in the initial squad, just released to Ulster for a game. Fitz was only called up into the squad as injury cover for Earls I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 944 ✭✭✭JPCN1

evil_seed wrote: »
    IMHO he shouldn't even be in the squad anymore. He's fading fast.

In relation to the bit I've bolded, there's no room for sentiment in professional sports anymore. That's the way it's going and it has to be. You have to be ruthless anymore. Ruthless compassion is the bs term for it I believe

He was capped for the Lions twice in the summer and played extremely well on his RABO debut this year. He's had two patchy matches, working back to match fitness, as have most of his team mates and the knives are out! Jaysus we're some nation. Who btw would you throw in against the all Blacks?

Les Kiss has more questions to answer imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭former legend

Trimble was in the initial squad, just released to Ulster for a game. Fitz was only called up into the squad as injury cover for Earls I think.

No, he was only called up as a later addition too. (not that it makes any difference now)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

I posted a ridiculous team earlier in the thread, which in my defense was before I watched the game back after being at the match behind the goal

so here's my revised 23 for next week

1 Healy
    2 Best
    3 Fitzpatrick
    4 POC
    5 Touhy
    6 POM
    7 SOB
    8 Heaslip
    9 Murray
    10 Jackson
    11 Luke Fitz
    12 Marshall
    13 BOD
    14 Bowe
    15 Kearney

16 Cronin
    17 McGrath
    18 Moore
    19 Toner
    20 Jennings
    21 Boss
    22 Madigan
    23 McFadden

I posted a ridiculous team earlier in the thread, which in my defense was before I watched the game back after being at the match behind the goal

1 Healy
    2 Best
    3 Fitzpatrick
    4 POC
    5 Touhy
    6 POM
    7 SOB
    8 Heaslip
    9 Murray
    10 Jackson
    11 Luke Fitz
    12 Marshall
    13 BOD
    14 Bowe
    15 Kearney

16 Cronin
    17 McGrath
    18 Moore
    19 Toner
    20 Jennings
    21 Boss
    22 Madigan
    23 McFadden

Henshaw for McFadden (who's injured) and I think you have it!

JPCN1 wrote: »
    Henshaw for McFadden (who's injured) and I think you have it!

Henshaw starts in my team if Kearney isn't fit !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭Berticus

.ak wrote: »
    Who would you play instead of BOD out of interest?

I'd prob bring Darcy in at 12 and shift Marshall to 13 or vice-a-versa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Berticus wrote: »
    I'd prob bring Darcy in at 12 and shift Marshall to 13 or vice-a-versa.

Interesting. Couldn't see Marshall and Darce > Darce and Bod or even Marshall and Bod tbh.

Just thinking, imagine a totally written off BOD and Ireland beat the AB's through and inspired performance from the man himself

You never know!

Interesting. Couldn't see Marshall and Darce > Darce and Bod or even Marshall and Bod tbh.

I suppose it's on the basis that BOD is injured.

Obviously BOD is great etc etc, but I think in a way he's like a cloud hanging over the team in terms of building for the future.

If he is playing great then I think stick with him until Payne becomes eligible and if not then my opinion would be that Marshall is one or the first names on the team sheet and then someone else comes in beside him until as mentioned Payne becomes eligible.

The reality is that BOD will play against the AB's and then if he doesn't regain form I think there is potential for an early retirement from international rugby. We won't see a situation where BOD isn't getting selected, I'm sure that was discussed with Joe when he decided to extend one year. ie. no repeat of what happened ROG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

To be frank, the only 'poor' performance I've seen from BOD in the last 12 months is last Saturday, and even then I'll need to take another look as he wasn't the worst on the field.. He was industrious at worst in the 6n but those team performances weren't great at all. He's been purring away nicely since then, I thought he was on top form for the Lions and was very tidy for Leinster.

There's a good reason why Schmidt is persisting with him when he's winding down... Because he's still playing very, very good rugby.

To be frank, the only 'poor' performance I've seen from BOD in the last 12 months is last Saturday, and even then I'll need to take another look as he wasn't the worst on the field.. He was industrious at worst in the 6n but those team performances weren't great at all. He's been purring away nicely since then, I thought he was on top form for the Lions and was very tidy for Leinster.

There's a good reason why Schmidt is persisting with him when he's winding down... Because he's still playing very, very good rugby.

I was surprised he wasn't more vocal, given his leadership experience. POC had a bad day at the office from this point of view but he had very little help from the senior players. We need far better next week.

I think he is playing OK rugby. He's not setting the world alight or anything and I'd like to see more of an attacking threat from my 13. He looked very sharp, like BOD of old, in a Leinster game at the start of the season but I would want to see that in every game.

I think to summarise my point, I would personally rather Luke Marshall starting against the AB's and then making my decision about the 13 after that - which may well be BOD - I'm not advocating him being dropped at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Just thinking, imagine a totally written off BOD and Ireland beat the AB's through and inspired performance from the man himself

You never know!

We do know
    And it's not gonna be pretty
    :(

O'Driscoll was playing great rugby on the Lions tour. It was overshadowed by the nonsense surrounding the third test, but he was still excellent throughout the tour. He played one match for Leinster this season and was the best player on the park by a country mile.

Suggesting that Luke Marshall, who must be in single figures of professional appearances at 13, should be picked there ahead of O'Driscoll because of one mediocre game, it's absolute lunacy lads.

The utter sh**e that's been talked on this board since Saturday night is beyond my comprehension. Between people who genuinely haven't a clue and people who are only too happy to have a reason to stick the knife into certain players, it's just bananas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭redmca2

O'Driscoll was playing great rugby on the Lions tour. It was overshadowed by the nonsense surrounding the third test, but he was still excellent throughout the tour. He played one match for Leinster this season and was the best player on the park by a country mile.

Suggesting that Luke Marshall, who must be in single figures of professional appearances at 13, should be picked there ahead of O'Driscoll because of one mediocre game, it's absolute lunacy lads.

100% Agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭tbm

Where has it been reported that Ferg is injured?

The utter sh**e that's been talked on this board since Saturday night is beyond my comprehension. Between people who genuinely haven't a clue and people who are only too happy to have a reason to stick the knife into certain players, it's just bananas.

I think you should re-read previous posts.

A question was put out there about "What-if BOD wasn't playing through injury" and people were discussing alternatives in that eventuality.

Then the conversation veered towards discussing BOD's overall performance this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭blackdog1

tbm wrote: »

Heard ferg and possibly another player not sexton injured. Never know the team until it is announced. Physios often work magic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

I was just getting on my high horse to come post something very similar as I was reading through the thread.

You don't drop Bod after a single poor performance who has otherwise been good.

tbm wrote: »

Brendan Fanning tweeted it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

1 Healy
    2 Best
    3 Fitzpatrick
    4 POC
    5 Touhy
    6 POM
    7 SOB
    8 Heaslip
    9 Murray
    10 Jackson
    11 Luke Fitz
    12 Marshall
    13 BOD
    14 Bowe
    15 Kearney

16 Cronin
    17 McGrath
    18 Moore
    19 Toner
    20 Jennings
    21 Boss
    22 Madigan
    23 McFadden

Do you reckon McFadden deserves to drop to the bench after two decent showings? He has given better performances then Bowe really and his hunger seems to be driving his good performances. This is, of course, if he isn't injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭tbm

Brendan Fanning tweeted it

ah poo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

Teferi wrote: »
    Do you reckon McFadden deserves to drop to the bench after two decent showings? He has given better performances then Bowe really and his hunger seems to be driving his good performances. This is, of course, if he isn't injured.
    I certainly don't think so. He's an accomplished player and seems to require high standards from himself and those around him. Lots of people dismiss him as 'not quite good enough', but I've seldom seen him put in a bad performance. He stood up to the kicking duties for Leinster for a good many seasons on an on again, off again basis and always kept to a high standard in that department too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

Oddly enough i'm expecting us to get within maybe 12 points of them sat, as bad as saturday was we rarely play terribly 2 weeks in a row. I think the players will be stung from the criticism of Horgan and ROG and will come out very fired up, and our defence will be a lot less passive

Our scrum also has a habit of miraculous improvement just as it is seen to be about to fall apart

Perhaps its wishful thinking, can't help but feel we will put in some kind of positive performance though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭RoundBox11

BOD always takes a few games to to get to his usual standard.

It's one of these things that annoys me about people's reaction to international rugby - there's no give, or understanding, or logic - a couple of games into a 'new look' Ireland and people are already sharpening the knives for players and coaches alike.

They had an off day, and are still finding their feet. Bit of perspective people.

The way some people are going on we should show Heaslip, Kearney, BOD, Bowe, Darce, POC the door. When infact some of the people I've mentioned are in the top 5 of their position in the world.

Sadly I don't think any of those are in the top 5 of their position anymore.

if it was any team bar a SANZAR team id say start Henshaw in the centre and Morris at fullback next weekend. In fact id be tempted to start Morris this weekend at fullback anyway. Kearneys form doesn't warrent starting and we've got a premiership starting fullback scratching his arse in the stand. I say stick him in and put some pressure on Rob Kearney.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Is Keith Earls training tomorrow do we know? Could be in the frame for A start if he is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

P.Walnuts wrote: »
    Oddly enough i'm expecting us to get within maybe 12 points of them sat, as bad as saturday was we rarely play terribly 2 weeks in a row. I.

unfortunately..we're playing them on Sunday;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,060 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Is Keith Earls training tomorrow do we know? Could be in the frame for A start if he is

If he is available then he should start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭andymx11

Has there been any official word on sexton ? I assume nothing was said today as they weren't training.