If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ireland v. New Zealand build-up thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Valentine1

I'm not that worried tbh, if we can shore up our defense it will go a long way to solving a lot our problems. Obviously some individual performances weren't there but I thought we looked very good in attack until Sexton went off

Sort our defense and cut out the bad kicking and we'll be much more competitive. Think we're missing too many players to win next weekend though

Sorting a defense and bad kicking is much easier said then done, I wouldn't expect any team to turn that round in a week.

I'm not sure who you think we are missing that would likely make a big impact in this Ireland team's performance next week, unless of course you are counting Sexton as missing. Next week is a damage limitation job, if our players give it their all and keep playing for 80 minutes I'll be proud of them, I amn't expecting any more than that.

This Ireland team can play better than they have but they aren't going to be troubling teams from the top four of the world rankings at any stage and if Joe can make them competitive in the 6N I'll be both delighted and impressed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

.ak wrote: »
    Any word on Sexton?

If you were the coach, and Sexton wasn't 100%, would you select him for this game?

No. No doubt I'll get the usual accusations of arrogance, but I don't believe the result of this game is in doubt...and he's needed for the 6N next year. Plus it gives either Jackson or Madigan more valuable experience against a top 3 team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Any word on Sexton?

If you were the coach, and Sexton wasn't 100%, would you select him for this game?

He's out for 6 weeks with a hamstring tear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

Yeah last week was totally bizarre, and hopefully a one off. For my mind of our 3 best performing players, 2 were players I would say are on the fringes of being considered "international standard" Toner and McFadden, and the other was our most inexperienced player Marshall.

As above the likes of Bowe, BOD, Healy, O'Brien etc are not suddenly average players, if they turn in a performance next week we should be spared severe embarrassment at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭former legend

Swiwi. wrote: »
    No. No doubt I'll get the usual accusations of arrogance, but I don't believe the result of this game is in doubt...and he's needed for the 6N next year. Plus it gives either Jackson or Madigan more valuable experience against a top 3 team.

I'd say you're safe enough this time... realistically, most Irish fans will be hoping for a decent showing, an improvement on the Australia match and something to generate a bit of optimism for the six nations, but an Ireland victory is pie in the sky I think.

Teferi wrote: »

Blessing in disguise perhaps, he was being flogged this season

In terms of NZ, with the possibility of 14/14 on the line Hansen has stated he will choose a strong XV. If NZ had beaten England BUT the record wasn't there, I think a more experimental lineup might have got the nod. I expect either

Conservative: Crockett in for Woodcock, Cruden for Carter, and Hore for Mealamu in his final test or
    Tinkering: The above, plus Romano for Whitelock or Rettallick, Luatua for Messam, and Jane for Piutau.

Anything else would be radical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Tox56 wrote: »
    Blessing in disguise perhaps, he was being flogged this season

In fairness to Racing they are not going to pay him €750k a year to have him sitting on the bench..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Teferi wrote: »

Jaysus. What's the story with him only picking up injuries in the Irish camp?

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 43,773 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

I think your ok, 13 from 13 this year is more than enough reason to have arrogance, though you never come across as such on here.
    The bookies have us +20 and I think that's stupidly generous... seeing as we are down our first choice 10.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 43,773 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Tinkering: The above, plus Romano for Whitelock or Rettallick, Luatua for Messam, and Jane for Piutau.

Anything else would be radical.

What we would give to have that choice and consider it tinkering. ....

I imagine if Sexton is out then Darce and BOD will start.

Quint2010 wrote: »
    In fairness to Racing they are not going to pay him €750k a year to have him sitting on the bench..

I'm not saying I blame them but a (hopefully) non serious injury that gives him a decent enforced break wouldn't be the worst thing in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

After Saturday Joe has more or less a clean slate in terms of selection. However selection means zero if we kick the ball (poorly) as much we did on Saturday. Dagg and whatever wingers they play will murder us. We have to build phases and hold possession as much as we can and try to target Ben Smith in defence who isn't a natural 13.

sydthebeat wrote: »
    I think your ok, 13 from 13 this year is more than enough reason to have arrogance, though you never come across as such on here.
    The bookies have us +20 and I think that's stupidly generous... seeing as we are down our first choice 10.

I think NZ will do enough to win, but I imagine the players are actually a bit mentally jaded, and with half an eye on summer back home. I expect once an Irish victory seems out of danger, we might see wholesale changes on the bench and +15-20 might be about right.

Ireland will have to defend WAY better than in the weekend though, not just passive defence, or NZ will cut loose.

I reckon we'll see

Healy, Best, Ross, McCarthy, POC, POM, SOB, Heaslip
    Murray, Jackson
    McF, D'Arcy, BOD, Bowe, Kearney

Replacements:
    Cronin, McGrath, Fitzpatrick, Toner, Locky, Reddan, Madigan, Fitzgerald

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭ScissorPaperRock

I think Jackson can do a good job next weekend. It's a pity that we don't have Sexton, but when Jackson avoids standing deep he's pretty good at getting a backline moving and is generally a good decision maker.

If the players around him play to their optimal, then I wouldn't worry too much about him. That being said, I think we need to stick with Marshall.

The result is, unfortunately, a forgone conclusion, but let's get what we can out of this. We're not going to get much out of starting D'Arcy at 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

I reckon we'll see

Healy, Best, Ross, McCarthy, POC, POM, SOB, Heaslip
    Murray, Jackson
    McF, D'Arcy, BOD, Bowe, Kearney

Replacements:
    Cronin, McGrath, Fitzpatrick, Toner, Locky, Reddan, Madigan, Fitzgerald

You don't think Tuohy might have a chance of starting? Boss? Marshall and Henshaw both jettisoned?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Shout Dust

I reckon the players will be up for this and will bring the intensity that was missing last week.

I'd like to see:

Healy
    Best
    Moore
    Touhy
    Poc
    Pom
    Sob
    Heaslip
    Murray
    Jackson
    McFadden
    Marshall
    Bod
    Bowe
    Kearney

If Bod doesn't perform he needs to be cut loose for the 6N, or at least take a massive step back. Didn't like his attitude to being called off either.

You don't think Tuohy might have a chance of starting? Boss? Marshall and Henshaw both jettisoned?

I think it's a bit late for Tuohy - but it really depends on how Schmidt views the game. Does he look to build squad experience? Then if so yes, we'll see Tuohy and Henshaw involved. Not sure if Boss will be involved tbh.

The team I picked is based on what I think Schmidt will do, go out and try and win the game. That's the best selection available to him right now. Marshall loses out because he doesn't have an experienced 10 inside him, also I don't think he was great on Saturday. Henshaw didn't look too good when he came on and I'd actually blame him over the 2nd try rather than POM - both were equally culpable.

Young lads will make mistakes, that's fine, these AIs are a perfect time for them to get game time and let them make a few mistakes before the 6N rolls around... so I'd be happy to have all the guys involved. However, Schmidt will want to cement in a decent performance against the ABs, and maybe even target a win, so I reckon he'll be more pragmatic in his selections.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭former legend

Comments from Schmidt seemed to indicate that D'Arcy's experience will see him get selected because we'll have an inexperienced guy at 10. Not sure I agree with that logic but D'Arcy might still be the right choice.

Would be very surprised to see Henshaw retained; he wasn't too bad the other night but he'll be rotated out for Fitzgerald, D Kearney or Trimble I'd say.

I'd like to see Tuohy involved but I don't see him starting having not been involved at all to date; maybe on the bench. Ditto for Boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Will there be a squad update today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭Utah_Saint

I'd like to see trimble involved if possible. I think he brings a good level of agression, similar player to McF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,061 ✭✭✭✭bilston

The team I picked is based on what I think Schmidt will do, go out and try and win the game. That's the best selection available to him right now. Marshall loses out because he doesn't have an experienced 10 inside him, also I don't think he was great on Saturday.

You've been saying this quite a bit since Saturday and I think you are really wrong. Saying that his 4 line breaks have clouded people's judgement is a bit strange given that obviously making four line breaks and making the second higheat nunber of metres of anyone in the team is bound to get people saying he played well...because he did...!

Singling him out for his defence when the entire backline were a disgrace defensively is also a bit odd. Maybe I do you a disservice ak by saying you have singled him out but I have noticed you labouring this point quite a bit since Sat.

Personally I blame the system not the individuals. A drift defence usually works on defenders moving up and pushing out, on Sat they just pushed out and gave Australia too much time on the ball. Not just Marshall but the whole team.

Marshall himself said afterwards it was a system he wasnt used to, so I say given he gave us an attacking.outlet in the midfield that has been missing for a couple of years let him have time to get used to the system.

Still you are probably right, D'Arcy will most likely come back in on Sat but.not because Marshall.played badly but because Schmidt will want more experience in the 10/12 axis with Jackson or Madigan at 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭ScissorPaperRock

It certainly won't be Madigan next week. He's not an international level 10 at this time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

Has to be Jackson.

I'd start Touhy alongside POC. Great time for Toner, but we need more physicality

Murray to come back in too and I'd start Luke Fitzgerald instead of McFadden. Very harsh to drop him but we need Luke's imperious defending. Bowe needs a solid boot up the arse during the week too, and I wouldn't be miffed if Fitzgerald came in for him either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Has to be Jackson.

I'd start Touhy alongside POC. Great time for Toner, but we need more physicality

Murray to come back in too and I'd start Luke Fitzgerald instead of McFadden. Very harsh to drop him but we need Luke's imperious defending. Bowe needs a solid boot up the arse during the week too, and I wouldn't be miffed if Fitzgerald came in for him either

I'd drop Bowe and bring in Trimble personally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭eire_lad

only way ireland will ever beat the AB's is by playin the match in thomond. Been up in the Aviva every year for a 6 nations and atmosphere is always dead, really crap....and that has to feed through to the players... crowd will probably end up cheering during the haka and going quiet for the rest of de game on sunday.think silence for the haka is best!! the only thing the aviva is good for is lame mexican waves....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

1 of Bowe or Kearney needs be dropped imo

Trimble for Bowe makes most sense
    Could give Henshaw or Dave Kearney a run at 15 but would choose Trimble myself

Be harsh drop Marshall considering he was one of few posItives from OZ

Macca start with Tuohy on bench

The Reddan gamble didnt work fair to say , murray start with Boss bench