If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

cabb8ge wrote: »
    It low down so not to reflect back at driver of car they on, in fog oncoming cars not inconvenienced due to the fog inhibiting the light from them. When no fog they very bright for oncoming cars, which is why they not to be used unless there is fog, it very simple, no fog , no fog lights.

Parking light show how wide car is btw.

That's an absolute load, I have never been dazzled by an oncoming car with their fogs on outside of the rainy conditions I've mention earlier.
    Parking can show width but You'll find a lot of the cars driving around with dodgy lights have no parking lights either.
    So many times, I've had to slow right down until I could clearly see my light reflecting off the other car, which otherwise looked like a motor bike. Parking lights never helped me there.

This steadfast rule you're putting down is completely moronic. For the same reason AGS are allowed use discretion, you can't make the rules black and white.
    You will find yourself in a situation where you will need your fog lights when there is no fog present and when that situation arises, I hope for your self and everyone else you let common sense overcome your arrogance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Been driving with my fogs on day and night for nearly twenty years. Never had a problem with other drivers or Gardai.

OSI wrote: »
    Most cars are fine but for some reason Nissans have the most ridiculous fog lights. The likes of the early '00s Micra and Almera have fogs that are brighter than their main beams.

Yep, those k12 Micras have full beams for dips and neutron stars for fulls.
    I blame Renault. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I for one have never been blinded by fog lights other than the one's fitted to the K12 Micra. They're bigger than the headlights :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,789 ✭✭✭✭flazio

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Lads there is a reason fog light discussion is banned from this forum. Its mind numbingly repetitive and it's never an interesting topic. Lets move on please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Two women ruined the carpet in the back of the car with their stupid heels last night. Put two holes in it. Will get pics up and see what can be done about it. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,957 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Two women ruined the carpet in the back of the car with their stupid heels last night. Put two holes in it. Will get pics up and see what can be done about it. :mad:

At least the roof cloth would've been worth it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Does anyone know the name of the insurance company that only insure high risk cars?? I can't for the life of me remember

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Autosport wrote: »
    Does anyone know the name of the insurance company that only insure high risk cars?? I can't for the life of me remember

XSDirect?

They dont however seem to be providing quotes anymore.

Mycroft H wrote: »

They gave me a ****e quote last time I checked anyway, woman on the phone was rude as hell too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    XSDirect?
    Yeah they seem closed now.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Yup, QuoteMe.ie took them over I think.
    No more M3 insurance for 21 year olds.

****ing hell :( Just got a call from our mechanic - DMF failure on the V50... 1.4k to repair arrrgh!!! (Incl. Labour)

On the other hand, 123.ie seem determined to fob me off on my renewal, they used to be cheap enough for me. Liberty is giving the best quote at the minute

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Don't suppose anyone on here is around Howth now and fancies giving me a jump start in the Wolseley?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Sobanek wrote: »
    ****ing hell :( Just got a call from our mechanic - DMF failure on the V50... 1.4k to repair arrrgh!!! (Incl. Labour)

What type of clutch on those ? The R clutch kit and dmf + labour shouldn't cost 1400 even

Kaiser D wrote: »
    Don't suppose anyone on here is around Howth now and fancies giving me a jump start in the Wolseley?

I actually passed through Howth this morning, home now :o

What type of clutch on those ? The R clutch kit and dmf + labour shouldn't cost 1400 even

DMF + Gearbox issue + clutch. I wish I had more info, but that's my mother to ya :rolleyes: Doesn't even know what was wrong...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I was thinking that myself. I'd expect it finished at 1k to be honest. Unless there is something weird about them I don't know.

Kaiser D wrote: »

I would have loved to kaiser and I was there about an hour ago!

Sobanek wrote: »
    DMF + Gearbox issue + clutch. I wish I had more info, but that's my mother to ya :rolleyes: Doesn't even know what was wrong...

Pm me the reg and I can see what type you want to make sure just the dmf isn't changed if its a gearbox out issie as no point paying labour twice if the clutch is fairly old.

Just don't get stuck with the first quote and make sure what you are being charged for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Pm me the reg and I can see what type you want to make sure just the dmf isn't changed if its a gearbox out issie as no point paying labour twice if the clutch is fairly old.

Just don't get stuck with the first quote and make sure what you are being charged for.

Aren't most DMF changes normally done with a clutch change?

I wouldn't assume anything tbh :P

Anyway here is the fella you need, it's not clear on micksgarage/misterauto if the dmf+slave cylinder is included. Labour should be 300-400 if you are using an indy or so, depends if gearbox was damaged really

http://www.ebay.com/itm/SACHS-Volvo-C30-C70-S40-S80-V50-V70-2-0-D-Dual-Mass-Flywheel-Clutch-kit-Slave-/130785373224

Okey.

http://www.micksgarage.com/proddetails.aspx?pid=3468455

Jim
    http://www.micksgarage.com/proddetails.aspx?pid=3468455
    Hi are dual mass flywheel slave cylinder and bolts included in this clutch kit ?
    You are currently being served by
    Colin

Colin
    Hi Jim, do you have a particular product in mind? If you let me have the product code to hand?

Jim
    http://www.micksgarage.com/proddetails.aspx?pid=3468455 thats link and here is product code Sachs Clutch Kit 2290601020

Colin
    The kit contains the following:
    Contains twin-mass flywheel, clutch cover assembly,
    clutch disc and CSC (central slave cylinder) includes bolt for pressure plate and flyweel mounting.

Jim
    thank you very much i will be in touch

Colin
    Thank you for using MicksGarage.com Chat, Jim. Want to win Free stuff? Follow us on Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/MicksGarage . You can now close this window.

So all you need to work out now is the labour and possible gearbox damage ?

Supergurrier!!! You are a god!

It was the Slave Cylinder that was the "transmission" issue!

Now, I need to find a decent indy who'd fix it, unless you guys know some sort of a garage that would rent a ramp for a day (my uncle's a mechanic)

Supergurrier, Fair play to you man :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

I actually passed through Howth this morning, home now :o
    YbFocus wrote: »
    I would have loved to kaiser and I was there about an hour ago!

Thanks chaps, I got sorted. Someone pulled in and offered to help after 45 minutes. The joys of owning a classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Im testing the dangerous eejit filled waters of The Adverts Triangle...:cool:

http://www.adverts.ie/car/honda/civic/1998-honda-civic-for-sale/4844787?notification=3744ec52b6ca8a203848f542643758bc-1392646683

thankfully there is this new feature where I enter my lowest accecpable amount and it automatically rejects the lowball offers for me:D