If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭Truckermal

davycc wrote: »
    Im testing the dangerous eejit filled waters of The Adverts Triangle...:cool:

http://www.adverts.ie/car/honda/civic/1998-honda-civic-for-sale/4844787?notification=3744ec52b6ca8a203848f542643758bc-1392646683

thankfully there is this new feature where I enter my lowest accecpable amount and it automatically rejects the lowball offers for me:D

Swap for a used shag pile carpet and a manky BBQ???:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Truckermal wrote: »
    Swap for a used shag pile carpet and a manky BBQ???:p

deal!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Right - it took me a while but I managed to convince the guy to install the SACHS I just bought on micksgarage.
    He'll charge me €350 + VAT for labour only.

His excuses:
    LUK kit is much better
    Micksgarage is rubbish for parts
    €1.4k for parts + labour (€1k for a LUK kit??)
    No warranty on parts, only on labour in that case (can he do that?)
    He ordered the parts already (without my approval)

I wish we could name and shame, but if you're reading these forums, Sean, I hope I don't have to do business with you again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Typical example of an Irish mechanic chancing his arm that the customer has no clue. (Your mother in this case)

Not giving warranty on parts is pretty standard if you supply them and 350 labour is about right as the gearbox needs to come out (just make sure he doesn't use the cheapest of the cheap transmission fluid)

Many car manufacturers have their parts made by 2/3+ companies and they are pretty standard tbh apart from 1 or 2 crap aftermarket manufacturers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Bought me a new motor. I got a black '02 3 door Stilo off my cousin. 1.2 with the Abarth skirts and 17" 'Claw' alloys. 120,000 miles on the car and about 75,000 on the engine fitted last year (badly fitted timing belt kit made the previous one go boom). Body and paint ain't up to much but will fix it in time. Mechanically, she's A1. All the trim and equipment is intact and working and there ain't even any warning lights on the dash. I got it for €650 and there's even a little tax and test on it. Here's hoping my cheap motoring experiment doesn't blow up in my face again, like it usually does :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭SleeperService

Did you / do you have a Mazda 323 gt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Where could i get one of those tape to mp3 things in the city do any of ye know? One of these things

_CASADPT.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

I always buy them on ebay... cheap chinese ones don't work though so spend a bit more than 1-2 €

ah i only need it for a few days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭thats not gone well

You'd pick one up in the €2 shop/Dealz handy enough

Thats where i was thinking, hopefully they have them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭SleeperService

OSI wrote: »
    That or Maplins

Or maybe some tescos. Both likely to be 5x pound shop prices though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭dar83

If you want the Belkin one like the picture, as OSI said, Maplins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Quite a lot of car shaped holes in hedges along the old N3 that weren't there yesterday!!! :eek:

I think its due to the roads being abnormally slippery, I went all over the shop round one roundabout :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,098 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Stoopid question but would a 2005 E90 320i have been fitted with a standard sized wheel? I'm looking on eBay to buy a spare wheel but don't know off hand if the ones that came with the car are 16" or 17".

Take a look at your tyre walls. It will say something like 225/45/R17. The R17 means the alloys are 17".

D'oh! I should have thought of that. Will have a goo when I get home. Many thanks sir.

The spare tyre thread has made me realise not having one might be quite foolish. It has run flats so not too sure whether I should get a space saver or a full alloy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

D'oh! I should have thought of that. Will have a goo when I get home. Many thanks sir.

The spare tyre thread has made me realise not having one might be quite foolish. It has run flats so not too sure whether I should get a space saver or a full alloy?

Get good tyres instead of run flats next time round and a an of tyre weld. Use the money you saw to buy a spare alloy and a good tyre for it.

Run flats ruin the ride.

So went to maplins, they never heard of what i was on about :rolleyes:

None of the two euro shops had them either, and argos wanted 20 quid for one

CianRyan wrote: »
    Get good tyres instead of run flats next time round and a an of tyre weld. Use the money you saw to buy a spare alloy and a good tyre for it.

Run flats ruin the ride.

Ah run flats will be staying on it. It's driven by the missus and changing what's on it could leave me liable for to lots of complaining!
    I have some tyre weld already so will look into a spare alloy most likely.

So went to maplins, they never heard of what i was on about :rolleyes:

None of the two euro shops had them either, and argos wanted 20 quid for one

What about an FM transmitter? They'll do the same job and can be bought cheaply enough.

I have one but the interference is something terrible I'm just being lazy and avoiding downloading an entire playlist :pac:

Ah run flats will be staying on it. It's driven by the missus and changing what's on it could leave me liable for to lots of complaining!
    I have some tyre weld already so will look into a spare alloy most likely.

Don't tell her then!
    She won't know the difference but she'll save a load of money.

I have one but the interference is something terrible I'm just being lazy and avoiding downloading an entire playlist :pac:

Drive to Temple Bar and take me away from this bloody building site!

Nah, you're getting paid, im not :P

Sitting on my arse right now. :pac:
    There was some fierce work moving scrap into the can earlier but I've feck all to do now.
    I'll probably walk around with a pad saw for a while at about 2. :p

Sitting on my arse right now. :pac:
    There was some fierce work moving scrap into the can earlier but I've feck all to do now.
    I'll probably walk around with a pad saw for a while at about 2. :p

Thats always the case :P Just look busy :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

HA when I was fifteen back in the mid nineties I was a plasterers labourer for about ten of the thickest most hung over impatient feckers alive.

Great for building up character :p

+If they got on my back too much it would be a handful of cement in the skimcoat revenge job :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Thats always the case :P Just look busy :pac:

Always carry a notebook, people with notebooks are busy!

I'm sorted so! :D