If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Sobanek wrote: »
    I owe Supergurrier a bottle of whiskey, that's for sure :D

8 year old Aldi's finiest ! (Joke)

430 labour is still abit steep, i think you need a new mechanic :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Sobanek wrote: »
    I owe Supergurrier a bottle of whiskey, that's for sure :D

I love seeing things like this, the motors forum on boards and more to the point Supergurrier just saved a guy €400 odd.
    Here's to the motors forum, what a great place :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

8 year old Aldi's finiest ! (Joke)

430 labour is still abit steep, i think you need a new mechanic :)

He's not a friend of mine or anything - the car just broke down outside his place (out of all places :rolleyes:)

Won't be dealing with this prick again for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

This car was for auction tonight near enough to me. Had such a temptation to bid! Probably go for as cheap as chips too...

1.8 petrol i think, 2007
    t0gbrn.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭Old diesel

This car was for auction tonight near enough to me. Had such a temptation to bid! Probably go for as cheap as chips too...

1.8 petrol i think, 2007
    t0gbrn.jpg

please tell me that bonnet was just latched open

Looks a nice car though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Ya it was closed properly when I seen it anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭SleeperService

Took a good layer off the nasty accelera alphas on my yoke on the way home. Horrible things. Haven't had this much understeer, four wheel drift since a fiat bravo with nankang teflons.

They came with it! Not my choice.
    Well the nankangs were but I was young and reckless. The squeal off them still comes up for discussion every now and then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Lads just said I'd let you know micks garage has a sale on osram nightbreakers if anyone is looking for a set. (Bear in mind you can get the h7 delivered on ebay for 18 euro but the others look cheap on micksgarage)
    osram nightbreaker plus range

As I have already said I fitted some h7 last week and they have transformed the car. So bright and a fair bit whiter than the normal yellowy halogens. I couldn't recommend them enough I don't think there is any halogen bulb for under 20 quid that would beat them in terms of light although I haven't used the philips ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

I've been offered a 1984 VW Golf MK1 Cabriolet in (owners words) "mint condition" for my Wolseley. Its orange with a beige roof and beige interior.

What think ye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

VILE

ba_barabus wrote: »
    VILE

Thats a "no" from you then?

I love Golf cabriolets, but they're still not that rare, and I do like rare cars.

Kaiser D wrote: »
    Thats a "no" from you then?

I love Golf cabriolets, but they're still not that rare, and I do like rare cars.
    Its a no from me.

How come you're selling the Austin so soon?

Its a no from me.

How come you're selling the Austin so soon?

I'm not really, I'm just quite bored this evening and I'm looking to swap it for something older/more interesting.

I've been offered a 1.6 Subaru Impreza earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Ugly Golf, slow Subaru...
    Why are you valuing it at?

CianRyan wrote: »
    Ugly Golf, slow Subaru...
    Why are you valuing it at?

€2.5K. There are only 8 left in the UK, and one sold recently for £2.5k.

Its the cheapest ADO16 on DD at the moment.

You'll get much nicer cars for that money.
    An absolutely mint first gen MX5 at a thought.
    Hell, you'd get an older WRX for that money, forget a bloody 1.6 one.

There are only 8 currently taxed. Lots more of them are on sorn. And I think the one for £2500 that you're referring to was fully restored recently enough as I spotted one going for that on eBay.

I could have bought one very similar to yours for 950€ 3 weeks ago in Dublin. I think yours is worth a bit more than you paid for it but not the figure you think. There is also a Wolsley 1300 on dd with an interesting past. One point being it was sold for 1000€ a few months ago. Since then it's been polished and had new plates put on and the price is over €3k now. Although it has other more genuinely interesting points in its past.

You'll get much nicer cars for that money.
    An absolutely mint first gen MX5 at a thought.
    Hell, you'd get an older WRX for that money, forget a bloody 1.6 one.

I'm hoping to swap it for something older, 50s or 60s. I'd give cash with it for something properly old and cool too.

Like I said though, I've only put it up because I'm bored. I'll probably take it down in a few days.

There are only 8 currently taxed. Lots more of them are on sorn. And I think the one for £2500 that you're referring to was fully restored recently enough as I spotted one going for that on eBay.

I could have bought one very similar to yours for 950€ 3 weeks ago in Dublin. I think yours is worth a bit more than you paid for it but not the figure you think. There is also a Wolsley 1300 on dd with an interesting past. One point being it was sold for 1000€ a few months ago. Since then it's been polished and had new plates put on and the price is over €3k now. Although it has other more genuinely interesting points in its past.

13 on SORN. And the one that sold recently was on carsandclassics, it needed some bodywork doing.
    I can't find any Wolseley 1300s on Donedeal at the moment. Theres the 73 Austin Princess for €3k, which is lovely. IS that the one?

13 on SORN. And the one that sold recently was on carsandclassics, it needed some bodywork doing.
    I can't find any Wolseley 1300s on Donedeal at the moment. Theres the 73 Austin Princess for €3k, which is lovely. IS that the one?

Aye was just going back to change it to a Vanden Plas 1300. It's not a Austin technically.

That VP isn't as nice as it looks. If it was it would be worth every penny of €3k. Expect a full exterior and interior resto.......neither will be cheap.

There really is no shortage of the 1100/1300's no matter what badge they have. The site that gives those stats breaks them down into every model type and engine mix and isn't known for being accurate.

Aye was just going back to change it to a Vanden Plas 1300. It's not a Austin technically.

That VP isn't as nice as it looks. If it was it would be worth every penny of €3k. Expect a full exterior and interior resto.......neither will be cheap.

There really is no shortage of the 1100/1300's no matter what badge they have. The site that gives those stats breaks them down into every model type and engine mix and isn't known for being accurate.

I don't see many myself, especially automatics. I've bought parts from a guy over here, who has 20-odd ADO16s and some other classic cars. The only other automatic he knows of in Ireland is a 1300 Morris estate which was on Donedeal recently, needing restoration and a gearbox, for €1400.

I don't agree with you re the price of mine at all, so I guess its best to agree to disagree.

At the end if the day it's worth what someone is willing to pay.

..........just don't swap it for an orange Golf cabby or 1.6 Scoobaru.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,970 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Ugly Golf,

:eek: Wash your mouth out young man!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:mad:

Quazzie wrote: »
    :eek: Wash your mouth out young man!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:mad:

Ah come on, orange with a tan roof? It'd look like a rotten orange.
    MK1's are cool but that one sounds manky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Contemplating buying a new clutch for the 520. Will cost me about €109

Someone talk me out of it/tell me why I should do it....

I'll be driving the car for the next week at least then stop using it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

dgt wrote: »
    Contemplating buying a new clutch for the 520. Will cost me about €109

Someone talk me out of it/tell me why I should do it....

I'll be driving the car for the next week at least then stop using it

You could use that 109 on something else, and you won't get to give it a proper send off :pac: seriously stick with it for the week and don't waste the money on something your not gona use again

If the clutch were free, even if it were 2nd hand I'd stick it in providing it was in reasonable condition of course. I'm just not gone on the idea of buying it and no use from it....

Yeah but like you don't have one so whats the point in spending money on one? take the peasant wagon for the week :pac:

I'll NEVER take the peasant wagon for the week :pac:

I may start looking 2nd hand units and refurbing them myself so :D the friction plate has a good bite point still, just need the pressure plate and release bearing (mostly)

I'll NEVER take the peasant wagon for the week :pac:

I may start looking 2nd hand units and refurbing them myself so :D the friction plate has a good bite point still, just need the pressure plate and release bearing (mostly)

Would it be viable to use another car?